Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook

Zondervan The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook

In The Jesus I Never Knew, Philip Yancey reveals the real Jesus beyond the stereotypes, offering a new and different perspective on the life of Christ and his work---his teaching, his miracles, his death and resurrection---and ultimately, who he was and why he came. Relating the gospel events to the world we live in today, The Jesus I Never Knew gives a moving and refreshing portrait of the central figure of history.

With a willingness to tackle difficult questions, Yancey looks at the radical words of this itinerant Jewish carpenter and asks whether we are taking him seriously enough in our own day and age. From the manger in Bethlehem to the cross in Jerusalem, Yancey presents a complex character who generates questions as well as answers; a disturbing and exhilarating Jesus who wants to radically transform your life and stretch your faith; and a Jesus who is brilliant, creative, challenging, fearless, compassionate, unpredictable, and ultimately satisfying.

Average Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
Review 1 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patty M
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not completed the book to date but from what I have read it is a very thought provoking book that has definitely brought my image of Jesus into a whole new light!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When religion eclipses God

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
moira
Location:Seattle WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I'd only heard about Philip Yancey's books over the years, had never read any of them nor been in a study where his book was shared. A friend recently had an experience with Christ and since she was raised in the same faith I was "back in the day," I recalled the confusion about the person of our Savior. Yancey's name came to mind so I ordered this book and it's been the perfect choice. She and I have since found a different denomination to worship with, but we still had assumptions and traditions from childhood that needed to be sorted out - this book does just that and then some. I recommend this for anyone who has felt God is distant, cold, arbitrary, punitive, angry, harsh, or more concerned that we're lost than saved. Using the Bible, Yancey reveals a God of love and tender mercy who weeps over our choice to reject Him as he continues to prove Himself to us. Now that's truth in action, setting us free from the lies and myths of the world.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kmorgan
Location:Daytona Beach, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to read the book for a class I was taking.
Little did I know how much it would challenge me
in my growth. The book opened my eyes to
the culture around the life and times of Jesus.
He became more real to me and I had a
deeper understanding of what it means to
be a follower of Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jesus, on the ground, real, but still heavenly.

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
James Dunker
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Phil Yancey is serious enough about his faith to seek truth and to look for the impact of Jesus wherever it can be found.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annette Welliver
Location:Indiana
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has been a great way to re-look at Jesus and to meet Him again in a fresh way. While Yancey's skepticism is occasionally disconcerting, his willingness to open the discussion and the way he comes back around to a desire to see Jesus for who He truly is refreshing. I am hoping our small group will draw closer to Jesus and develop a better understanding of Him through reading the book together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

surprisingly outstanding concept

Date:May 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
JWall
Location:Houston, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was fairly skeptical when I picked the book up. But by the last page i was a big fan of the book. This book in essence puts flesh on the gospel. It paints a picture of Jesus that I never thought of before. What it must have been like, etc. It takes the reader on a journey to see the human side of Jesus and all the raw emotions that go with it. And the book exhorts us to love the lost like we ought.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Chancey
Location:Linden, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
This is by far my favorite book by Philip Yancey. It impacted my life when I read it as a teenager. Yancey has a way of writing that is extremely unique and effective. At times I felt like I was reading his own journal or diary as he poured out his personal struggles and thoughts. At other times, I felt like I was talking with him over a cup of coffee. And he always has a fascinating illustration or story from history to make his points clear.
Now, I must admit that it wasn't easy to accept all of the statements made in the book. After all, this book challenged some very deep prejudices and assumptions about Christ that I held on to without realizing it.
But when I finished reading, and when all the mental "boxes" in which I had placed Jesus were absolutely demolished, I loved Jesus like I had never loved Him before. He is the most amazing figure in all of History - and He is God in the flesh. How could you possibly assume to know everything there is to know about this Man?
Read this book with an open mind and a soft heart. Allow yourself to see Jesus with brand new eyes. You'll never read the Gospels in the same way again. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes Jesus a totally real personality .

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joe Poole
Location:Burnaby Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book gives Jesus flesh and blood as I have never before considered. The way that He lived in His day encourages me in my walk with Him today. It has filled in a lot of missing blanks about His humanity and thrills my soul that He meets me in my need because He can relate to my needs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brian Chilton
I am a pastor. I bought a copy for each of my deacons for Christmas. This book is a MUST read for every Christian. This should be in everyone's library. I have read this book twice already. Yancey is a wonderful writer with impeccable insight. If you are looking for a book that is not only a good read but a book that will change your perspective, read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Wallace
One of the best books I have ever read.I bought this copy to give as a gift. I have read mine twice and also completed the study guide. Yancey is a gifted author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Crowder
I find this to be extremly helpful, givingnew insights. Some chapters are the best I have ever read such as the chapter on the temptation of Jesus and the Sermon on the Mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Coolidge
Very insightful - totally spiritual- easy to read - mostly easy to understand- my pastor loves this book and recommends it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barry Savage
The best book I've ever read about the person of the Lord Jesur Christ in over 30 years. I've given away a number of copies to friends & family, Christian or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim O'connor
The Jesus I Never Knew is a very interesting book. I'll never think of Jesus the same again. Mr. Yancey brings to light characteristics of Jesus I have often thought of, but never realized. He poses questions about Jesus and then explains the answers. Our church is doing a Wednesday night study of the book, which is why i bought it. I am grateful I read it. Jesus is more real and personal to me now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Fowler
Great book, at a great price. Lots of insight and lots of food for thought. Sometime we really need to check the Jesus we should know, in place of the Jesus we made into what we want Him to be at this moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Clifford Smith
I found Philip Yancey's book "The Jesus I Never Knew" to be very insightful and challenging to the way I had always thought of Christ. He forced me to think about Jesus in ways I had never even considered Him to be. Mr. Yancey's chapter on the Sermon on the Mount was eye opening and caused me to reconsider everything that I thought I understood about His teachings. I would say to anyone read this book it will make you think and it will challenge what you may have always believed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Sink
My Sunday school class is finishing our study of WHAT'S SO AMAZING ABOUT GRACE which has impacted our lives in marvelous ways. We are looking forward to our next study, THE JESUS I NEVER KNEW. I am rating the "Grace" study and will rate the other study in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Paul Julich
Phillip Yancey never fails to challenge me spiritually. This book is a classic. It caused me to look at Jesus in a new and insightful way. After many years of Bible reading and teaching Sunday School and small groups, it is easy to fall into the trap of thinking that one really "knows" Jesus. This book woke me up and caused me to reexamine the Gospels. As a result I now regularly go back to the gospels to "calibrate" my view of God.I used the DVD for a small group study and it was very well received by the classes. This was several years ago and I still hear comments about it from some of our small group members. The movie clips presenting different interpretations of Jesus led to some meaningful discussions about our Savior. You won't regret spending some time with this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Steve Lee, Sr.
On the cover of my book is a banner that says, "Voted Best Book of the Year!" Now that ten years have passed since the original publication, perhaps it is time to proclaim, "Best Book of the Decade!"This is the first book by Philip Yancey that I have read, but it won't be the last. I've read the New Testament many times, yet I had to keep asking myself, "How could I have missed this?" Using the four Gospels as his primary source, Yancey introduces us to Jesus as the original writers saw him.I am sorry to admit that the Jesus I knew was far too small. I am grateful to Yancey for sharing Christ in an honest and real way that has opened my eyes and caused me to see that he is far greater than I ever hoped or dared to believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Jesus I Never Knew - eBook
This review is fromThe Jesus I Never Knew.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Wes
Yancey is an incredible writer. This book will shatter the layers of myth that have been built up around Jesus over the centuries. Like he says, in some ways Jesus is much more comforting than I ever imagined. At the same time, Jesus is scarier in some ways. He also offers great insight into the world of first century Palestine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>