Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook

Zondervan Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook

People matter to God. That foundational truth is why Bill Hybels planted a church where people can hear a clear, contemporary presentation of the gospel, relate to others who have decided to follow Jesus and respond to the life-changing good news of the gospel. In Becoming a Contagious Christian you will discover why we are called to be Contagious Christians, how authenticity, compassion and sacrifice help us relate to seekers and how to clearly share the gospel with those you love. This resource is designed for Sunday school, small group and individual study. Let Becoming a Contagious Christian revitalize your passion for evangelism and enable you to fulfill Christ's Great Commission!
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Review 1 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple way to heed the Great Commission

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
TomW
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this book in conjunction with the Contagious Christian study. This book give simple guidance to empower everyone to by a part in making disciples. For those that feel the call to personal evangelism, this book will be a great start.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! I've since purchased the DVD Bible Study and I'm going to teach it starting in the new year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent teaching

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
RayRay
Location:Rincon, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was engaging and informative. While I wasn't reading this for pleasure it was a pleasant read anyway. Going out witnessing cold was terrifying; now the prospect is a joy! I highly recommend this book to anyone who has not had opportunity to witness before and needs some help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
always1957
Location:Cambridge, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent book about the subject. I recommend it for those trying to teach outreach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this book is OK

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shunter117
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found myself wanting to just be finished with reading this book so that i could get on to the next one which is Just walk across the room. Had some good points and techniques for evangelism though but just thought it was a tad boring.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bill and Mark give very good background and basis information to build from to help us become more "contagious" in sharing our faith. It's not that hard if you get past your fears and this book helps do that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
DonB52
Location:Wenham, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying this book! It is just what every Christian needs to help grow their witness. If you have ever wanted to share your faith, this book will help you do that.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Mcmullin
Our intercessory prayer group did this study last fall and it is awesome. We also did Just Walk Across the room and Becoming a Contagious church that I would also highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brett Rogers
This book is amazing. I only needed it for a class so I skimmed through it the first time. I'm going back to reread it, however, because there was so much meat to it. Good book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terryl Green
From what I have read-this book is great with a lot of wisdom and knowledge.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruby Brown
Very well written. Gave me much to think about. the book provided me with many tools for sharing my faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ferndale Community Church
This book is a user-friendly, practical approach to evangelism. It does not have a "canned" approach or a high-pressure sales pitch method. The authors acknowledge the barriers to effective evangelism--the common fears, apprehensions and excuses--and encourage the reader to grow in their faith, and in confidence, using the style that fits them, and their own unique testimony. There are plenty of tools offered to help a person prepare and build the confidence for effectively sharing their faith. This is a good guide for beginners as well as a good resource for those who are experienced. It is full of biblical examples and is clear and easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Faye Jones
The book is such a blessing. I am teaching the complete course to our church on Wednesday nights. It is important to share our faith with others!!! Jesus died for our sins. Everyone is precious in God's sight. It is our job to carry the Gospel to the world.Matthew 28:18-20 is the great commission to us. The authors are trully gifted in the proper way to share Evangelism. Be a contagious Christian. Make others want what you have in Jesus Christ by having a love for people that the world may not understand. The book helps you to see the style you have and how you can share your faith by being yourself.It is a program every church should provide their congregation. Go be a CONTAGIOUS Christian.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brandan Jones
Overall I liked this book. It has many good points. I especially like Hybells' formula HP+CP+CC=MI. It makes sense. I also like his foundation that everyone is someone that God loves and died for. This rang true with me due to God revealing to me in another way. What I do not like, however, is the motivation given for witnessing and evangelizing. The emphasis for motivating Christians to become contagious Christians revolves mostly around self-gratification, such as adventure, joy, making one closer to God, and improving one's knowledge of the bible. While these are all good and things to be desired, they should not be the central reason for witnessing and evangelizing. I also did not care for the authors' losely interpreted rehashing of scriptures.The central reason should be that sinners are sinners, and if they do not repent they will go to hell. The authors do make this clear; however, it's toward the end and not discussed in nearly enough detail. Things I think Christians can take away from this book are that God loves and died for everyone. We should think of everyone with this in mind. The formula the authors gave is true of evangelizing and people taking us seriously. We must be actively seeking God, bringing ourselves into close proximity to those who need to hear the gospel, and clearly communicating it to them. Perhaps the most important piece of knowledge to be gleaned from the book is that conversion can take years. Some people do not readily accept the gospel; however, through continued, Spirit-led evangelism we can have a drastic impact on people for years to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kris Arndt
This book is great. Every church show be having classes using this book. It tells how to get others to the Lord by just being yourself. Read it and see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Elaine Trotter
This is a wonderful tool for discipling yourself and others to share the gospel in an authentic way. It helps you realize what your style of evangelism is and how to be comfortable with your own style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2002
Customer Avatar
Eb Jackson
The emphasis of Bill Hybels ministry is to attract the unchurched who are seeking answers. This book builds on that practice and teaches the reader how to do the same. The author reminds us that Jesus came to heal the sick, not the healthy. Hybels will teach you how to share the gospel naturally, without intimidating the unsaved.[Because this online service offers shipping discounts for purchasing multiple titles, I encourage to take advantage of that offer by getting the following book(s) that have been a blessing to me, personally.] Also recommended: THE PRAYER OF HANNAH by Kenn Gividen -|- This book has a surprise ending, unusual for non-fiction! In a stroke of genius, the author weaves a hidden message in his book, only revealed by the last footnote on page 127.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2001
Customer Avatar
Gerald Polmateer
I heard Mark Mettelberg speak about six years ago on evangelism and seven ways that the scripture shows it was done. Hearing him speak and reading his book has opened more doors for me than I ever had before. I have recently ordered the curriculum and will begin to train several others to do evangelism.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2000
Customer Avatar
Justin Childers
I would agree with Jason that this book will help you tremendously to share your faith in practical ways with those around you. It is super easy to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Becoming a Contagious Christian - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2000
Customer Avatar
Jason Cruise, TodaysPreacher.Com
I've read all kinds of books on how to share your faith effectively, and this one is BAR NONE the best one out. It's easy to understand, and it's selling point is found in showing you how to share your faith in a way that is consistent and natural with your given personality. It's the best help I've seen yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.