Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook

Abingdon Press Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook

Sandwich represents hope for twenty-year-old Maddie Buckner and Kyle, the eleven-year-old brother Maddie wants to spring out of foster care. Then she loses her new job after less than an hour on the clock. It's all Reuben-the-Jerk's fault, and she's determined to make him right the wrong.

He does so, reluctantly, by giving her a job at his restaurant, The Sandwich Shop. Then crazy things start happening at the restaurant, and Kyle's foster parents apply to adopt him. To stop it all, Maddie must learn the art of humbling herself and accepting the help God has arranged, risking her heart to Reuben in the process.

Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Review 1 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute, sweet romance

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maddie Buckner is having a really bad day. Not only are her chances of regaining guardianship of her younger brother Kyle not going well, but she gets fired from her job on her very first day.
Ruben really doesn’t need a new employee, but if he really was going to be honest, he did overreact and it was his fault that Maddie lost her job, so he hires her as his personal assistant.
My thoughts… This was a very straight-forward, sweet romance, in which both Maddie and Ruben struggle with life while trying to decide what God want’s for them. You don’t really find this kind of story except maybe in the Amish books. There were a few parts that were over the top, but overall they didn’t seem to impact the story.
Maddie is a reformed street girl who has placed her trust in Jesus as her savior and is desperately trying to get her life together. I have to admit in the beginning Maddie really got on my last nerve. All her sarcasm and snarky remarks especially toward God whom she justified it by saying she we just being herself. This type of thing borders on disrespect in my opinion. But, she did grow on me as the book went on. I liked the spiritual and mature growth of Maddie. She made a real effort to grow closer to God which allowed her to grow up and make better choices. I thought this brought a great reality to the story.
Ruben, I don’t know about him. He was supposed to be smart businessman, but there were a few times that he was so clueless about Maddie, about Liv, about his family. His whole identity and focus seemed to be wrapped up in building his father’s sandwich shop into a national business and I just didn’t see the growth in him that I did in Maddie.
There were some great secondary characters, Rubens mom and step-fathers. They took Maddie right in and “killed her with kindness”. Those were some truly hilarious scenes that had me laughing out loud.
Over all, if you are looking for a sweet light romance with lots of God then I would say this is the book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Break From Reality

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I began reading this, I wasn't sure I would like it. I have read so many vapid, sappy Christian romances, and I am often disappointed in both the story and the message. Well, I couldn't have been more wrong. This is a delightful romance, and I can honestly recommend it pretty highly. The story and the characters are fun. Actually, if Reuben is real, I'll drop everything and marry him now. And Maddie is an easy relatable character.
I found the message excellent. In fact, I was reminded that telling God what you want in life is wrong. After all, who is really in charge? I think both Reuben and Maddie learned that valuable lesson, and I only wish that real life could be as wonderful and fun as this story. The book is filled with great humor (I always love that) and one headstrong woman. And an arrogant man. Pretty par for the course.
I honestly can't think of anything that would improve this. It was refreshing to read a clean romance with no profanity nor sex scenes. In fact, the characters believe no sex outside of marriage. They even take precautions to make sure it doesn't happen. And there are some neat twists and turns that should heighten your interest even more.
I don't want to include any spoilers, but I absolutely adored the final line in the book, and it is the ideal way for this sweet book to end. This book will give you a nice break from real life and remind you that God can do anything even when life doesn't make sense.
i was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Newbie You Want to Get to Know

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janice Garey
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Sandwich With a Side of Romance is a well-seasoned and balanced blend of flawed personalities trying to live as the Christians they are. They do falter and then get back on track in varying ways. Despite the personality challenges and realistic obstacles, the main characters grow spiritually. God's favor shines through on their relationship. The book shows Christian love in action helping the needy. It also shows the difficulty in admitting to need.
You will not be disappointed by this book in any way except that it comes to an end. I hope the future will bring the pleasure of another story of Maddie, Reuben and their family and friends. Maddie is an unforgettable character who you want to cheer for as she meets and overcomes challenges.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was good

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The overall book was good and had some funny parts that made me laugh out loud. But, I'm not sure this book should be selling as Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sparks are flyin'!

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oh, what a yummy fun loving novel!
From the first chapter I was drawn into the world of this debut novel. Witty, funny, snarky and mixed with a dose of suave and you’ve got a contemporary romance healthy in humor and nutritious in the romantic conflict department. (Okay, ending the food metaphors here, I promise)
Maddie is a baby Christian with sort of a false sense of prayer and all God is. But she’s trying and she wants to honor the God who has saved her…but on one condition: she cannot fall in love with her boss. I don’t think Maddie knew the meaning yet of the genre she was being written in to…
Sparks fly in this novel of grace, acceptance and trust that God has the very best plans no matter how much we might pray otherwise. So many moments had my family looking at me funny as I snorted and laughed my way through the book. Maddie has got the quirkiest sense of humor and ability to find the snark in each moment. She knows how to make a book fun.
The novel isn’t all light and fluff. It serves up its own dose of painful backstory that affect the characters. At first I thought it a difficult contradiction to reconcile with the amount of humor, but found character growth in the end to make it all a delightful read.
Perfect escape for the too-quick hours this novel takes to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So cute and soo good!! I really did enjoy it!

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yep. We got a winner right here alright!
You know, the can’t-put-down type that’ll leave you wondering how it could possibly be a debut?!
Lately I’ve been floating on a cloud of five-stars-worth debuts, (no exaggerating here) and I’m so glad to be able to add this author’s name to it!
Krista Philips’s good.
Real good.
With characters that come alive throughout the story, witty dialogs, hi-larious moments and deep messages, Sandwich with a Side of Romance is a yummy treat for a relaxing evening with just you and a good book.
Hopeless romantics, this one’s for you! I just loved witnessing the sweet-as-honey romance blossom in this story, crowned in the end with a very satisfying ending.
Just some remarks. The hero in this book had a problem with a family member and I would have loved having a scene where we could have witnessed them reconcile. And Maddie almost swears at one point.
But overall, I really enjoyed this story. It’s worth adding to your TBR pile in my opinion.
This is my honest review. So many thanks to the author and the publisher for a copy of the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance and a Sandwich

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fun read, lots of chuckles! It is such a warm hearted and we begin to pull for her right from the beginning. Maddie Buckner is beginning her new life at Sandwich, IL...but getting fired on her first day wasn't in her plans.
Reuben Callahan is one drop dead gorgeous man, and he becomes Maddie's first customer at the beauty salon. Thus he is responsible for getting her fired. Reuben has a heart for the Lord, and has compassion...well kind of...and hires her to be a Waitress. Calamity Jane has nothing on Maddie...she is now fired again!
In the end Reuben hires her to be his Assistant..and she is marvelous at this job. Only problem?? Her name is Livy...and she is Reuben's long time girlfriend.
The compassion and Grace shown by Reuben's family will make you feel good about the human population. Such a kind and God loving family. They rally around Maddie, and she has a hard time accepting their kindness.
Maddie is a relatively new Christian and has a very checkered past. She now trying so hard and is succeeding in her Love of The Lord. She want to gain custody of her only brother Kyle, before his foster family is able to adopt him.
Enjoy this fast pace read, and travel along, with the sparks of romance, sabotage, and forgiveness.
I received this book Pump Your Book Virtual Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasant Sunday Afternoon Read

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
PatWKirk
Location:Kansas
Gender:female
Back Cover
“Sandwich represents hope for twenty-year-old Maddie Buckner and Kyle, the eleven-year-old brother Maddie wants to spring out of foster care. Then she loses her new job after less than a day. It’s all Reuben-the-jerk’s fault and she’s determined to make him right the wrong.
He does so, reluctantly, by giving her a job in his restaurant, The Sandwich Emporium.”
New Christian, Maddie, comes from a background she regrets. She must prove herself to get custody of Kyle, and with two lost jobs in two days after she accidentally dumps dinner on the mayor, she convinces Reuben that he needs an assistant in the office. Thus begins an unwelcome attraction between them—because of painful (literally) liaisons with men in the past, she wants to forget about romance.
Sandwich with a Side of Romance is just that—a romance. This book provides a pleasant diversion on a Sunday afternoon. Likeable characters walk through these pages, and the Christians who people it seem genuine: no “we’re too perfect to be real”. It maintains a steady pace to keep the reader reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A recipe for love and comedy rolled into one!

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maddie Buckner wonders if she could possibly win the record at Guinness for being fired the most in one day. When she is hired at the Sandwich Cut 'N' Style, she is forced to spend most of the day sweeping floors and cleaning instead of taking the walk-in customers like she was promised by Judy, her Nazi-of-a-boss. However when Judy steps out to run an errand, opportunity knocks when Reuben Callahan, whom she believes is Mr. Gorgeous is in need of a haircut and can't wait for his usual stylist. He opts to try Maddie out, even though she comes highly recommended. As she proceeds to cut his hair in the usual style but a bit shorter, Reuben falls asleep in her chair, slowly nodding off a bit more with each snip of her scissors. It isn't until he jerks father down then up as she began her cut, causing her hands to slip.
Maddie gasped. Dread curled itself around her stomach and squeezed. In her trembling hand she'd caught four full inches of his hair. On the side of Reuben's forehead was a one-and-a-half-inch dusty-blond stub. The image in the mirror was just an illusion. It had to be. Reuben Callahan blinked twice. No such luck. His hair was still in shambles, and a shell-shocked brunette stood next to him holding the evidence of her crime. It was then that Judy, the owner walked back into the salon and immediately fired Maddie. Now without a job, she was desperate, so desperate in fact that she sat on the hood of Reuben's BMW until she was able to convince him to get her a job.
What Maddie didn't know was that Reuben was the owner of a series of restaurants and feeling a bit guilty for his actions in having her fired since he did technically fall asleep he offers her a job as a waitress. Feeling absolved of all guilt, he wonders if he did the right thing in offering her a job, until he is informed that Maddie just dumped an iced tea and Reuben sandwich in the mayor's lap.
In the novel, Sandwich with a Side of Romance by Krista Phillips, poor Maddie has a great heart and a willingness to try hard, but it seems like she can't seem to do anything right. She is on the verge of wondering what God's plan is in all of this, since she has to be able to hold down a job and find suitable housing if she wants to gain custody of her younger brother, Kyle who is living with foster parents that are pursuing the option of adopting him before Maddie can get settled. Will she be able to convince Reuben to give her another opportunity or will she gain the notoriety of being the woman with the most jobs gained and lost in a single day?
I received Sandwich with a Side of Romance by Krista Phillips compliments of Abingdon Press and Pump Up Your Book Tours. This is a heart warming and delightful romantic comedy of a struggle young woman, Maddie who tries so hard to do the right thing all the time, she doesn't realize the effort doesn't need to be so difficult. I love her child-like faith in his simple honest prayers to God even though she just became a Christian six months ago. When God shows her how He can answer her prayers in ways much different than she had hoped, it enables her to see not everyone deserves the stereotype labels she gives them and instead offers her a new perspective on not only her life but romance as well. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and will be adding Krista Phillips to my list of authors to watch. Her writing is amazing and hooks the reader from the very first line in the book!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fiesty and grumpy make a fun read

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our heroine, Maddie, has had a rough life and is one feisty character. Our grumpy hero, Reuben, is a businessman trying to increase is business and that is all he can think of. They meet when he tries to get his hair cut at the salon Maddie has just started to work in. The haircut becomes a disaster which starts them off on a road to romance with lots of banter, more interesting characters. They both have goals and eventually get there. Humor does not hide the growth the characters gain throughout the book.
A great debut for the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read story!

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book! There was humor and a great story line. I will read any book this author writes!
The conversations between the two main characters, Maddie and Reuben really helped this story move quickly. The prayers of Maddie were great and you could imagine the character really praying them. I liked how the story flowed from one scene to the next. I enjoyed the minor characters in the book as much as the main ones! The family that has an influence on Maddie was great and written like they were real. Actually I felt like each character in this book could have been real!
I gave this book 5/5 stars. I thought the story itself was very interesting. I thought the characters were well developed and their interactions were believable. I could not put this book down. I read it in one sitting and enjoyed every bit of it! I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian comedy, romance and family books. This is a very well written book and definitely worth your time!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun page-turner

Date:September 15, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maddie has "graduated" from foster care but her eleven-year-old brother has not. Determined to make it on her own and also gain custody of her brother, Maddie is an independent, street-smart twenty-year-old who is not accustomed to accepting help from anyone. Her heart needs to soften to the good will of others who come into her life. Phillips brings us a strong-willed character that must learn to accept the help others offer if she can gain custody of her brother. Memorable characters and a fun page-turner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romantic Comedy at its Best!

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
S. Ketchersid
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Krista Phillip's debut book, Sandwich, With a Side of Romance is a savory read, flavored with humor and depth!
When Maddie Buckner moves to Sandwich to become a hair stylist, she botches her first haircut and loses her job - and the chance to gain custody of her brother still in foster care. Reuben-the-Jerk, who got her fired, is guilted into giving her a job as his assistant at his restaurant, The Sandwich Emporium.
Maddie is racing against time, as she struggles to build a stable life and get custody of her brother. His foster parents want to adopt him, and Maddie needs to prove herself as a worthy guardian. The problem is she keeps getting herself into a "pickle" and has to be rescued by Reuben-the-Jerk...who has started to become Reuben-the-Dreamboat. Throw in Reuben's jealous fiance and you have one big, messy plate of circumstances.
There are several things I loved about this book. I loved Maddie's new faith and her "realistic" and sometimes funny prayers. There is a realness about Maddie and how she expresses herself and her faith. It's not contrived. It's honest and open. I loved Reuben who, even though he grew up in a Christian family, struggles with himself and his feelings. I love that he is real...he really can be a jerk! But oh, the chemistry between these two....it is tangible and heartfelt.
I also loved Reuben's family who exhibit what it really means to be Jesus in this world. They opened up their homes and their hearts to Maddie when she had no one...and nothing. They gave and they gave, without expecting anything in return. They encouraged and they loved, not pushing Maddie too hard or too fast. They are what I hope to be.
Krista's debut book is a funny and happy read, but it contains meat to chew on. It shows us realness of life. It shows us how we can struggle in life, yet trust God for His blessing. It shows us that God's family IS a real family who love unconditionally. It shows us that two people can learn to trust and love in spite of themselves.
Sandwich, With a Side of Romance is an awesome debut novel and I cannot wait for the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read Romance

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not often I enjoy a book this much. Warning--you will lose sleep over this book!
In Sandwich with a Side of Romance Maddie Buckner wants custody of her eleven-year-old brother, but she is must prove she can take care of him. Upon graduating from beauty school she gets a job in a town an hour from Chicago cutting hair for a horrible boss. Her first client is a handsome man with attitude who promptly falls asleep while she cuts his hair--big mistake--he dips his head, and in the process Maddie accidentally cuts a large chuck of his hair. Since it's her first day on the job she is promptly fired. But Maddie is spunky and desperate. Before the day is over she convinces, Reuben, the man whose hair she ruined that he owes her. He offers her a job at his restaurant.
I won't tell you any more of the story, but suffice it to say I was hooked from page one and read over half of the 317 pg book in one sitting.
Special thanks to Abingdon Press for providing me with this copy. I seriously enjoyed this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Restaurant Sabotage, Foster Care Battles & Romance

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Krista Phillips in her new book, “Sandwich, With a Side of Romance” published by Abingdon Press brings us into the life of Maddie Buckner.
From the back cover: She moved to Sandwich, Illinois, in search of a new life, but ended up in a giant pickle.
Sandwich represents hope for twenty-year-old Maddie Buckner, and her brother, until she loses her new job after less than an hour on the clock. It’s all Reuben-the-Jerk’s fault, and she’s determined to make him right the wrong.
He does so, however reluctantly, by giving her a job at his restaurant, The Sandwich Shop. What Maddie doesn’t count on is losing her heart to her boss. Her engaged boss. When bad things start happening to sabotage the expansion of the restaurant, Maddie must get to the bottom of the craziness in time to save her brother, her job, and her heart.
Ever just want to read a fun book? If so then ”Sandwich, With a Side of Romance” is just the book. First Maddie moves to Sandwich, Illinois and, finally, gets a job at The Sandwich Shop. But this is not just a feel good romance with laugh out loud moments. Kyle, Maddie’s eleven year old brother is in foster care and Maddie wants him with her. However she really needs a job. While she is trying to make that work the foster family apply to adopt Kyle. On top of this Reuben is trying to expand the restaurant but things are happening that sabotage the expansion effort. Then there is the romance between Maddie and Reuben even though Reuben is already engaged. The only way this is ever going to be resolved is if Maddie just lets go and let God handle it. However that is easier said than done. ”Sandwich, With a Side of Romance” is just plain fun and exciting as well. It is an enjoyable story and I look forward to more from Ms. Phillips.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't wait until more comes from this new author

Date:September 7, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this novel, along with several others, in the mail on Wednesday. But life, you know that funny thing that gets in the way of what we WANT to do sometimes, prevented me from starting it right away. Around lunch on Thursday, I had a moment or two while I was eating. I picked up this one because the cover and title called to me. It said, "Read me. You'll laugh." So I did. And I did. That would be I did read it and I did laugh.
The laughing was balanced by a fair amount of seriousness. Krista touched on some serious subjects that some of us may have dealt with. She did an awesome job of showing us the unconditional love and acceptance of Jesus while keeping us holding our sides at some of the misunderstandings between Maddie and Reuben.
I highly recommend "Sandwich, With a Side of Romance". It actually earns 5 stars with this reader. Something I give rarely.
***I received this novel free for the purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Voice!

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brand new Christian Maddie Buckner is desperately trying to get her life on track so she can spring her 11-year-old brother Kyle out of foster care, but her first day on the job at a hair salon in Sandwich, Illinois, brings cause for a desperation of a deeper sort. The very first customer she’s allowed to lay hands on is a guy named Reuben who falls asleep in her chair then lurches upward, messing up the snip she was in the process of making. Patching it up isn’t an option–Maddie finds herself giving him a whole new (and much shorter) style and getting fired anyway.
She demands Reuben fix things. When she won’t get off the hood of his brand new Beemer, he finally says she can work for him as a waitress at The Sandwich Emporium. Maddie proceeds to dump coffee in the mayor’s lap. Hey, she never said she wanted to waitress. She discovers Reuben’s office is such a disaster he couldn’t figure out how to fire her if he wanted to, so she offers her services as an office assistant, bringing her to the attention of Reuben’s almost-fiancee, Livy–who is livid.
Maddie knows she shouldn’t be falling for her boss and announces this to God. Reuben is practically married, for heaven’s sake! Yet God continues to keep her in Reuben’s path–for humor or disaster. Wanting to provide a stable home for Kyle keeps Maddie from doing anything too drastic. Other than that incident with the Beemer. But that might be too much information.
So what did I love about this novel? Is it too gushy or unbelievable to say “everything?”
But if picking one thing to be a favorite, it might be the way Maddie talks to God. She doesn’t know–or care–about the “correct” way to pray. She just tells him what’s on her mind, which is plenty. Sometimes I think we put up walls in prayer, as though God can’t see past them. Maddie certainly doesn’t do this, and I found it totally refreshing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funny yet powerful

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maddie has one goal to find a job so she can prove that she can take care of her brother and get him out of foster care. But the first day on the job she is fired and its not all her fault! Maddie is not one to give up and soon lands herself another job. This time she has a cute boss who slowly starts to steal her heart. Will she get her brother out of foster care and find love along the way?
This was a fun book and I really enjoyed it. This book is very much a romantic comedy. I could not help but smile as I read this book and even laugh a time or two.
What I liked: The humor in this book was great. I really liked Maddie she had such spunk and really dealt with the bad things going on with her life really well. Reuben was also fun and the way these two characters played off each other just made this a great book. The author did a great job of mixing the humor with the serious side of the book as well so it felt well rounded and real. I also liked the message that God is with us all the time even when life seems to be playing hard ball.
What I did not like: I really don’t have any issues with this book.
Over all I really enjoyed this book. This is a new author and I am looking forward to reading more books from her in the future. If you like a good heart felt inspirational romance with plenty of laughs you will enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun, Light-hearted Romance

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Madison Buckner has moved to Sandwich, Illinois, to start a new life and to try and get custody of Kyle, her eleven-year-old brother. She is fired from her job as a hairdresser on her first day, and talks her way into a new job as administrative assistant to Reuben Callahan, owner of The Sandwich Emporium and two other restaurants.
Maddie is a new Christian, trying to live by God’s standards and put her difficult past behind her. She is helped by Allie, who she meets by coincidence in a McDonalds bathroom, and who just happens to be Reuben’s sister. Allie is a good friend and great example of practical Christianity for Maddie, interfering in all the right places.
This is a fast, enjoyable read, with a freethinking and likable heroine and a slightly-uptight hero who is almost engaged to his on-off girlfriend of almost ten years, and is now trying to fight his attraction to his new assistant. If there was one thing that was not quite up to standard, it was the character of Livy – she filled too many ‘other woman’ clichés. But this was more than compensated for by the positives, particularly the way Maddie comes to terms with her past during the course of the novel.
Overall, Sandwich, With a Side of Romance is a perfect beach or holiday read, with a healthy combination of fun and serious.
Thanks to Abingdon and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sandwich, With a Side of Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Served to Order Debut Novel

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pepper
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandwich is a delicious rom com reminiscent of Janice Hannah Thompson and Sandra Bricker. With just the right flavor of humor, drama, and inspiration, Sandwich is a satisfying bite for any time of day.
Maddie Buckner moves to Sandwich for a job as a debut hair stylist which will allow her to get custody of her little brother, Kyle. Unfortunately, she botches the haircut of Mr. Dreamy...aka Reuben and loses her new job...and another opportunity to rescue her brother from foster care. The steaks...er...stakes are high, and desperate times call for desperate measures, so Maddie "convinces" Reuben to find her a new job.
Knowing the botched haircut and getting Maddie fired was partially his fault, Reuben agrees to bring Maddie on as his personal assistant. (Reuben with a Maddie on the side :-)
There's a whole lot of drama on this plate - between Maddie's own past wounds, her dilemma with Kyle, and her unwanted attraction to Mr. Reuben Grumpy-pants, it's going to take a really big God to bring this story to a tasty conclusion. Throw in a manipulative ex-fiance and it's an order for a miracle.
Maddie's faith journey is so genuine. Krista does a great job of really showing the authenticity of a young woman in the early stages of her faith. The questions, the doubts, the innocense and honesty of her prayers are touching and realistic.
I love how this former foster kid is thrust into the middle of a loving Christian family. She doesn't want to accept their charity or their kindness, but she soon realizes that their gifts do not come with strings attached.
Krista sprinkles evidence of God's grace on each page along with a healthy dose of humor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.