Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Mother of Pearl - eBook

Abingdon Press Mother of Pearl - eBook

Barrie Graeber has two great kids, a loving husband, and a respected job as the high school counselor in her close-knit community. Without warning, everything unravels when her teenage daughter, Pearl, is betrayed by friends and lashes out.

Nothing prepares this mother for the helplessness that follows when her attempts to steer her daughter back on course fail and Pearl shuts her out . . . or when she discovers the unthinkable about her nemesis, the football coach.

Emotionally riveting and profoundly moving, Mother of Pearl brings us into the heart of a mother bound by an incredible burden, who ultimately finds she must recognize her own vulnerability and learn to trust in something much bigger.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mother of Pearl - eBook
Review 1 for Mother of Pearl - eBook
This review is fromMother of Pearl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling and relevant, highly recommended

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mother of Pearl is a stand-alone novel by debut author Kellie Coates Gilbert. Set in a close-knit community in Idaho where football reigns supreme, this is an extremely well written and moving story, very relevant for our times. To put it simply, Kellie Coates Gilbert is an author to watch.
Mother of Pearl is a wonderful character-driven, relationship drama with court scenes that are top notch - and while I read a lot of novels that fit that description, this story is quite different from anything I've ever read. Relevant, compelling, heartrending, and thought provoking are a few adjectives that quickly come to mind. The writing is tight, infused with Kellie's dry sense of humor, and will keep you turning the pages.
Who will enjoy this story? Anyone who wants a riveting narrative that grabs you from the first and doesn't let go. Those who like character-driven drama with a heroine who feels so real that you'll want to cheer her on. People who have experienced a heartbreaking loss. Mothers everywhere.
At the heart of this story is a mother's fierce and unfailing love. As Barrie sees her daughter beginning the march toward independence, she reflects, "I find myself wishing I could grab the drumsticks and toss them aside, silencing the beat that is drawing her away." What mother can't relate to that feeling?!
Barrie is a strong character, a school guidance counselor whose job is to advocate for students in a school - and community - where football continually trumps academics. "Sometimes that means protecting them from a coach who has yet to understand that the one with the most trophies can still wind up a loser." Pearl's death shines the light on the growing phenomenon of coaches sexually exploiting students, and Barrie becomes a mother who risks her job, marriage, and Pearl's reputation to find answers and see that justice is served.
Spiritual themes are subtle, but ever present. Parents often grieve in very different ways, and we see that in Barrie and Steve. Barrie struggles with the faith that Steve finds solace in, and feels that he is moving on without her: "I wish I were a religious woman. Maybe faith would be an antidote to a world that crumbles beneath your feet." Spiritual themes of faith, hope, and recovery are always present just beneath the surface.
Watching Barrie grieve reminds me of the many times I have felt awkward around someone who has lost a loved one, not knowing what to say. Barrie feels somewhat detached and notices how uncomfortable her friends seem, "as if my horrible luck might be contagious." And I felt for Barrie because she didn't have an unshakable faith to support her. But her strength and determination to bring justice do eventually lead to the embracing of a timid faith. I like how Kellie leaves some things to our imagination, and after the celebration scene in the last chapter, I can easily envision the advocate for Christ that Barrie will become.
While I would have liked to see certain things explored in more depth - the background surrounding Pearl's birth, the strained relationship between Barrie and her mother, conflict resolution between Barrie and Steve, for instance - the story focused exactly on what it needed to focus on. I will say, however, that if Kellie had written a 500-page novel with more storylines fleshed out, I would have been glued to every page.
Readers, please don't shy away from this book because it deals with a teenager's death, but be drawn by the fact that it tells the story of a woman who overcomes an unexpected, life-changing obstacle. In Kellie's words, "I write about messy lives, and eternal hope."
I eagerly anticipate what Kellie writes next, and highly recommend Mother of Pearl to all readers.
This book was provided by Kellie Coates Gilbert in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mother of Pearl - eBook
This review is fromMother of Pearl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A story for every mother in our times

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katy
Location:Tennessee
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mother of Pearl is an interesting story about commitment to family and staying true to one’s self. The author tackled some difficult themes—accountability, forgiveness, and regeneration—to name a few. I liked the way she handled the fact that families—including Christian families—aren’t always what they seem.
When teen-ager, Pearl, meets with what appears to be a typical, teen-age crisis, we are drawn into the family dynamics and how it affects the whole family. As later events unfold, Pearl’s mother becomes obsessed with getting to the root of the problem, which creates multiple, but realistic, twists and turns in the story.
I found the story disturbing and a bit unsettling, but timely and in sync with issues we are facing today in our society. As a teacher, I was especially interested in the conflict between sports and academics. A major, current social dilemma was woven into the story and astutely addressed--Our adulation and valuation of sports and sports’ figures, at any cost.
I was expecting a lighter read. It is not that. I found Mother of Pearl to be a compelling and thought-provoking novel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mother of Pearl - eBook
This review is fromMother of Pearl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Mothers stand against justice

Date:January 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever judged a book by it's cover and thought hmm that looks like a good book but then once you get into you realise that you are in for a ride because the content of the story is far grittier than you ever imagined ? That's what happened to me with Mother of Pearl, from the cover it looks like quite a posh- upperclassmen novel as we see a mother in a suit and the greens of a field and a rugby ball to the side. Mother of Pearl first introduces us to school guidance counsellor Barrie and her family including daughter Pearl and son Aaron , we then read as Pearl is becoming more and more rebellious, acting out etc and coming home drunk. One night which should have been the happiest day of her life, Barrie is presented with the news that her shining star and daughter Pearl has been killed in a car crash and soon Barrie's straight and narrow life comes crashing down and she lashes out to find someone to blame . It turns out though that Pearl was hiding a dark secret, she was pregnant and then what happens next is one mums race to find out not only the truth and what her daughter went through but also to bring her daughter's lover to justice as he turns out to be an authority and school figure. Can Barrie keep up the trials that she brings to discover the truth or will fighting for the truth, pull her husband and son away for good ?
Mother of Pearl encountered a twist I never imagined but in saying that it was a great twist as it made me want to keep reading the book and also ended up being a story that pulled at your invisible heartstrings causing emotions to be stirred up. I do advise that if you have or no someone that has been involved in a Student/Teacher relationship that has gone to trial etc this book may be a bit too close for comfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mother of Pearl - eBook
This review is fromMother of Pearl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mother of Pearl is a thought provoking book.

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mother of Pearl
By Kellie Coates Gilbert
How far would you go for your child?
In the drive to win at all costs is there ever a time when the cost is too high? Barrie Graeber is about to find out.
As a high school counselor Barrie tries to guide and advise the students in career choices. But her authority is being undermined by football coach Michael Warren. And worse yet the school is unwilling to follow Barrie's suggestions as long as Coach Warren is winning.
Pearl Graeber is the perfect daughter and student until her heart is broken by a betrayal of her boyfriend and her best friend. Pearl's life begins unraveling and Barrie is unsure how to help her hurting daughter.
Then the unthinkable happens and Barrie's life is altered forever. Left with a choice Barrie fights the stand firm and to right a wrong that could have been prevented. But to see justice through Barrie must stand against the the all mighty worship of athletic accolades to protect the vulnerable from the predator.
Mother of Pearl is a timely offering that should open dialog about what the true importance of athletics in today's world and the cost of figures of authority crossing the line.
Mother of Pearl looks at the emptiness of life when we don't have a personal, daily relationship with God. When tragedy strikes how do we react? Do we turn to God? Or do we lean on our own strength?
When we are in the midst of trouble we learn not only who our true friends are, but also the true character of those around us. This is a thought provoking book that I would recommend to anyone involved with high school and sports.
Mother of Pearl deals with the hot topics of teen drinking, pregnancy, inappropriate adult/teen behavior and death. This is the perfect book to use to open dialog with your family about any of these topics.
I received a copy of this title from the publisher for the purpose of this review all opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mother of Pearl - eBook
This review is fromMother of Pearl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not just a good debut...just plain ol' good!

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love discovering new authors, especially when they can produce a debut book as good as this one! Gilbert has written a book featuring beautifully realized characters, a book that draws you in early and keeps you turning the pages. Books featuring characters who are grieving always run the risk of become plodding and slow as the character slowly moves through the stages of grief - but Gilbert avoids that in this book. Despite featuring deep subject matter, the book moves along well throughout, and by the last third of the book I could scarcely put the book down as I waiting to see how the trial would resolve - though of course I expected and hoped for a happy ending! The characters aren't perfect, but instead are human and struggle with things we all do - coping with grief, struggling at times with their marriages, or uncertain how to be the best parent. Yet the characters, especially Barrie, are original and likable, and there is so much to admire and like about them, especially Barrie's determination for justice and to protect other youth from danger.
Mother of Pearl is a wonderful debut, written with skill and deep emotion. Readers looking for a moving and entertaining contemporary read should plan on giving this author a try. I highly recommend this book and award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Abingdon Press, and Glassroad Public Relations, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mother of Pearl - eBook
This review is fromMother of Pearl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2012
The Graeber family seems to have it all together. Barrie is a high school counselor who is still in love with her husband and takes pride in her two children. When her broken-hearted daughter Pearl begins acting out, she's at a loss as to how to help. But when tragedy strikes their family, it seems that Barrie's "mama-bear" instincts may be the only thing to get her family through. But will she destroy what's left of her family and their standing in the community in the process?
Based on Kellie Coates Gilbert's debut offering, Mother of Pearl, I think we can expect great things from her in the future! The story is told in first-person from Barrie's perspective, so I was prepared for this to be a mother's story. However, Gilbert really told both Barrie's and Pearl's stories. Quite an accomplishment for a first-person narrative!
Mother of Pearl packs an emotional punch at every turn. She does a great job of expressing the feelings and emotions of Barrie as well as the other characters. Again, not an easy feat for a first-person story. The author's description of the emotion behind each action really helped me connect with Barrie—even when I was frustrated with Barrie and her actions/responses.
There were plenty of surprises as well. A few times I even muttered, "Well, I did not see THAT coming!" That's always a pleasant surprise—when I can't figure out exactly where the story is going. And Gilbert's legal experience definitely came through in the last third or so of the book. The courtroom scenes and trial play-by-play were really well written.
The religious elements were more understated than in many Christian books, but the Graeber family's faith journey was still an important aspect of the book. I do wish that there would have been a tighter conclusion to this part of the story.
Overall, I was really impressed with Mother of Pearl. Gilbert covers difficult topics with sensitivity and realism, and she paced everything perfectly. The emotional impact of this book will not soon be forgotten. I highly recommend! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Abingdon Press and Glass Road PR in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mother of Pearl - eBook
This review is fromMother of Pearl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great debut novel

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life couldn't be any better for Barrie Graeber, a high school counselor. She has a successful husband, a wonderful home, a great son, and the perfect daughter. Pearl is the high school senior every mother dreams of. She is a cheerleader dating the quarterback.
The perfect picture begins to crack when Barrie is taking Pearl home after a game. They happen to see the quarterback, Pearl's steady boyfriend, kissing her best friend.
Barrie tries to help Pearl cope with the betrayal. There is a sense of helplessness as Pearl shuts out her mother. One night Pearl comes home drunk, something Barrie can hardly imagine from her daughter. The tension mounts until one night the dreaded visit from the police. Pearl had been killed in a one car accident. And the unthinkable – Pearl was pregnant.
The novel follows Barrie as she pursues the real history of her daughters last weeks. When she finds out who impregnated her daughter, she must battle the system to see that justice is done.
What a great novel. My heart went out to Barrie as she tried to understand what happened and how to deal with it. It was so hard when she and her husband disagreed on the course of action. And when she had to fight “the system,” it was all too real.
Kellie has managed to capture the feelings of a mother as she faces the reality of a daughter who was not who she thought she was. This is a very touching and emotional novel. Well done! Discussion Questions at the end of the book make this a fine choice for reading groups.
This is Kellie's debut novel. I'll be looking for the next one.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mother of Pearl - eBook
This review is fromMother of Pearl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sexual Predator, Vengeance Seeking, Faith & Restor

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kellie Coates Gilbert in her new book, “Mother of Pearl” published by Abingdon Press brings us into the life of Barrie Graeber.
From the back cover: “The day my precious Pearl entered this world, I said goodbye to my heart. It would not be the last time.”
School counselor Barrie Graeber’s world shatters when her teenage daughter sneaks out in the middle of the night and is killed in an automobile accident. Amidst her grief, nothing prepares her for the news that Pearl was pregnant at the time of her death and that Barrie’s nemesis, the high school football coach, is responsible.
Barrie vows to do whatever it takes to bring the sexual predator to justice. But when the prosecution accepts the popular coach’s plea bargain, Barrie feels forced to seek her own retribution, placing her marriage at risk and damaging her family and career relationships. Absolute truths and convictions are put to the test, and Barrie must recognize her own vulnerability and find the grace to re-examine her need for vengeance and her trust in God.
This is a book that should be made into a TV movie. “Mother of Pearl” is filled with tension and many twist and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story is about sexual predators and the effects they have on the families of the young people they prey upon. A predatory attack upon an innocent young girl sends her spinning into self-destructive behavior that the parents don’t understand the reason for. When Barrie finds out that Pearl was pregnant when she died she and her husband are shocked. In the hands of a less skillful writer this book could degenerate quickly. However, Ms. Gilbert is highly talented and keeps, not only the story moving, but she keeps it at a high level of quality. Mother of Pearl” is about taking vengeance. Barrie wants to take her own when it seems the courts fail her. However that begins to do all kinds of damage to her relationships. So she finally has to put up her hands and give her desire for vengeance over to God who said that vengeance was His. The last ten pages of this book will keep you reading as fast as you can. Ms. Gilbert makes you care for all the characters and their journey. This is also just plain fun and exciting as well. Don’t start this book late at night because it will cost you sleep.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.