Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook

Zondervan Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook

The title expresses a radical thought for today's marriages! Chapter by chapter, discover how marriage works to develop Christlike character - forgiveness, love, respect, perseverance - in each of you. This book will enrich your marriage in unexpected ways. A Focus on the Family recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.709 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
43 out of 43100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Review 1 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Deborah Lopes
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are serious about serving the Lord with your life and in your marriage this is a must read book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

every married person should read this book

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
disi82
Location:Ottawa, On Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every married person should read this book and there is nothing standing in one's way with the great price on Christianbook.com. Thank you for this deal, CB. We were able to buy extra copies to give away.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous resource to help all marriages

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Graham Cudlipp
Location:Prescott, Ontario
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book entered into our life when we needed some spiritual guidance after 45 years of wonderful marriage.
We found that there is still so much to learn.
We have given a book to our daughter and son-in-law as well as our priest.
Shalom,
Graham & Vivienne.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robbie
Location:Rockport, MA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book compares the discipline needed for a good marriage with the discipline needed to be a good Christian, i.e. serving, forgiving, selfless acts, being available, etc
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely Book

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Odogu
Location:KL, Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As the name implies so is the content within this material.
A good material for anyone who wants his/her marriage to stand the test of storms in marriage need to go through the pages of this book, though one must know the Word of God, the Bible that we have and know what the Bible really say about marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read.

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
senti
Location:NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I were given this book when we were newly married. Now we present it to friends who are newly married. It is an excellent book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a useful book for those getting married

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
pattipenney
Location:Aurora, On. Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought it was very thought provoking and challenging. A good tool for those getting married and those married already.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
JenCF
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book was recommended to me and it did not disappoint. I have already passed on the recommendation to friends in hopes that it would be as helpful and encouraging to them as it was to me during an exceedingly difficult time in my marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational and therapeutic

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
dethragirl
Location:Port St Lucie, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent read; very inspirational and therapeutic for every married person, and especially those struggling in their marriages. This book conveys the heart and perfect will of God for marriage. I thoroughly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alibaba
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely changes how we view marriage as a culture - it's not about what I can get from it. When we see marriage through Christ's eyes we change our focus and whether our marriage is good or bad, we are able to glorify Him.
Easy to read in terms of language but very convicting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring and Insightful.

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
CBGaty
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not the "How to Win Her Back" I was looking for. But it was the Holy Spirit is calling you I needed. Fed my hunger for knowledge and reassurance of His presence and grace as a I began to serve our marriage rather than self. Had me opening my eyes and ears, mind and soul to a message long forgotten. Ought to be required reading for all betrothed couples. Written in a gentle, hopeful, humble and humorous voice. Inspiring.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very inspiring

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Louise Mendenhall
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely very good, this book is going to a friend. I taught marriage classes, and this was one of the books I taught from.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good counseling tool

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
yoyo
Location:Oakland City, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a pastor/counselor and I have purchased several copies of this book to give to the couples I counsel (both pre- and post-marital).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brandy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book that will transform how you look at your spouse and your marriage. Already bought 4 to give away as gifts. christianbook.com is a great resource - I use it often.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is life changing!

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Claudia
Location:Neptune, New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book changed my view of what marriage should, and can, be. A perfect gift for the engaged couple, it also can be of much benefit to the already married. My husband and I have been married for almost forty years, and the theme of this book, marriage as a sacred covenant, resonates with us. This is an excellent book, and one I highly recommend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We recommend this book to every couple we know.

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best book on marriage we have ever read (and we've read many). We recommend it to every couple we meet, especially if they are struggling in their marriage. But ever if they have a great marriage, Gary Thomas helps us focus on the spirtual aspect of marriage. We highly recommend this book to anyone who aspires to a godly marriage!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anand
Location:Boston, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It addresses a very important point in a person's married life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dstrik1
Location:S.d.,CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book. A must read with your spouse or as a bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book on marriage I ever read!

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor NTD
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gary Thomas has brought back to the church the Biblical perspective on how God designed marriage. I not only recommend this book I am buying them and giving them away to every pastor in the San Antonio area. I will transform your marriage and our nation if it is read and lived. Buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sacred Marriage: What If God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent book for group study

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bruceallmighty
Location:Cypress, Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book has completely changed my attitude about marriage and it's goal. I no longer talk about happy ever after, but a ministry to make us more Christ like which develops into happy ever after. I am curently using it in my Sunday school class centered around developing strong relationships in marriage. This book is going to be an eye opener and a tremendous help toward building a solid foundation for marriage.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.