Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook

Zondervan Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook

We know there's something more. We sense it, we feel it, and we want it. But how do we find it---a spirituality that stands up to the questions of an honest, searching mind?

"This book is for those who need a fresh take on Jesus and what it means for us to live the kind of life he teaches us to live," writes Rob Bell. "This pursuit of Jesus is leading us backward as much as forward ... I am learning that what seems brand new is often just the discovery of something that has been there all along---it just got lost somewhere and it needs to be picked up, dusted off, and reclaimed." Velvet Elvis offers original and refreshingly personal perspectives on what Christianity is really about.

Average Customer Rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
11
2 out of 450%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
Review 1 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth the time

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike Bowler
Bell argues that doctrine is not important, and then - ironically - issues a new doctrine to follow. Part of Bell's new doctrine is to ignore what God has revealed in Scripture and, instead, go by what you feel - what you sense. Yet history abounds with the theological, cultural, and social train-wrecks caused by people who ignored God's word and instead did whatever they wanted. Genesis 3 is a great example of this.
Bell's use of scripture will impress only the Biblically illiterate, and his spin on history would have even atheists shaking their heads.
This will likely appeal to those who fail to think through anything they read or hear - which is why it is popular with youth.
Bell's followers would do well to heed Paul's warning in 2 Timothy 4, which says in part: “I charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and by his appearing and his kingdom: preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching. For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions, and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander off into myths.”
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You either love it or hate it

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeremy M
Location:Asheville, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems that people either love this book or hate it. I read through it and honestly can't see what the controversy is all about.
But then again, I also am not a typical Christian. I enjoy reading history books, especially those that deal with church history. Rob Bell touches on history several times throughout his book, and he makes some very good conceptual ties that can help the reader to understand some of the seemingly odd statements made by Jesus.
I think Christians who are not scared by thinking outside of the box will find this book to be captivating. Those who hate to hear anything other than what they are told to believe by their pastor will most likely dislike this book (as well as the majority of books ever written throughout church history).
I would encourage you to read it and make up your own mind. You may find that he's a 'deceptive guy teaching deceptive things in deceptive ways' as some people claim, or you may find it to be an interesting and fresh look on some very old issues.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bending Scripture beyond Recognition

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
True Sayer
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rob Bells "Christianity" is no Christianity at all. Even the title - "Repainting the Christian Faith" should alert us to the fact. The bible does not need Rob Bells "rethinking". Whenever someone "rethinks" a stated idea in the Bible, beware.
To those who love this book, I ask that you read a book on Hermanutics (how to read the Bible Correctly) - so that you can see the heresy's preached in this book as well as see that Rob Bell is a true False Teacher as described in Scripture. Make no mistake he is a False Teacher; be prewarned!
If you like soft, watered down Christian words, you'll love this and all of Rob Bells books. If you want the Real Thing -read something by Dr. John McArthur, John Piper etc.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book with lots of things to consider

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mummybarron
Location:New South Wales; Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read this book before and given it away. I brought it again to reread and to give away again. It provides lots of reasons to consider our relationship with God and how we show God to others.
It gives us a great reason to love God and want to show Him to others.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Moran
I love this book and recommend it to people who want to look into their Christian walk with honesty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brent
I wish I was amazed by some of the negative reviews of this book. Unfortunately, I am not. Thinking is a dead idea in modern Christianity. Thank goodness, in post-modern Christianity it is being resurrected. Rob will make you think. And question. And that's good. What we all believe about the Bible was formed in some part by other people's interpretation of it. Someone who thought and questioned (as in Martin Luther?). You are not going to be led astray by Pastor Bell. You will learn some awesome insight in to 1st century Jewish thought, and maybe even find the life Jesus wants all His followers to live. One based on love. You know- God is love; Jesus is God; we are suppose to be like Jesus... Not exclusion (aka-Pharisees). Read it, discuss it, then decide.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael
I was uneasy about the information Rob Bell preaches. Rob Bell fails to mention that our only salvation is through the only begotten son of God, Jesus Christ. Scripture tells us to be discernful. I would not recommend this or any Rob Bell's teachings for it falls short to pointing his readers to Jesus Christ as Lord and Saviuor. The bible said in the last days there will be many deceivers: 1 John 2:18,22; 1 John 4:3 and 2 John 1:17. Ask the Holy Spirit to guide you. I pray you will not be deceived.
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bethlehem Lutheran Church
One of my all time favorites. It is especially good for young adults but even us older adults can appreciate Rob Bell's writing. I am amazed at his ability to take complex ideas and make them so understandable. He creates modern parables through his study of scripture. LOVE IT!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Was encouraged to read this book by my son. I was discouraged by alot of it. I applaud the passion with which Rob Bell writes but feel that he leads astray on much of his beliefs.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Monica Henriksen
THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!!! I read about 3/4ths of it and got distracted in to reading something else but will commit to re-reading it. Very rarely does a book come along that makes you think like this one does. I was raised in kind of a legalistic home and this book totally goes against that grain - thankfully!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eric
This book is specifically for those of us who have grown up in an ultra-conservative church setting and are content spending Sunday after Sunday going through the routine of church. Rob's purpose for this book is to get people like me to step back and ask WHY do I believe as I say? Thank you, Rob. I have never had a desire to dig deeper into my faith. I choose to no longer be a lock-stepper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Ward
Rob Bell leads the reader in a very artful way through a web that he has woven of questions, doubts and falsehood that strike at the very core of the gospel message. In his conversational tone he comes alongside the reader and disarms him if he is unaware of Bell's underlying presuppositions and the direction he is moving. In the final chapters he claims that "heaven is full of forgiven people ... hell is full of forgiven people," redefining the gospel and nullifying the cross. His final chapter literally tells Christians that we should party more because the present is where we should focus, not on some future heaven promised somewhere else. His lies are so close to the ones told by Satan in the Garden that it is chilling. The popularity of this book and Bell's videos should be a warning that the Church has fallen asleep. No true believer needs to read this book and no one should recommend this to anyone who is searching for truth; he will not find it here.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pastor Adam
I almost ran out of ink noting the fallacies Bell sets forth in his emergent view of Christianity. Within the first few "movements", he can't stand to call them actual chapters, he redefines the Trinity and takes sides with an early heretical view of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. He denies the existence of a literal place called heaven and decides that heaven is what we are to create here on earth and not a place where those who have trusted in Christ will go when they die. There are more issues with this book to speak of than space allows. Review this with the magnifying glass of Scripture. Just because something is produced by a Christian publisher or appears on the shelf in a Christian bookstore does not make it truthful.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janice Trammell Cannon
How wonderful to find a Christian pastor who proclaims that Jesus isn't about religion, but rather about reality! Bell is unafraid to admit he doesn't have all the answers, or even that he had a mental breakdown by trying to do and be too much as his newly formed church grew rapidly. He demonstrates the importance of always being true to one's inner self while practicing Christianity (Chrisitanity in the sense of following Jesus Christ to the depth of the reality of how things are.) I applaud Rob Bell and look forward to reading his book, SEX GOD.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kevin
This book is great for strengthening your walk with Christ. It is a fresh reminder of how Jesus called us to live. It is also a great insight into what is going on in the minds of seekers and people who have strayed away from Christ after growing up in a church. The review from Marc in New York is disappointing because it is exactly the kind of "religion" that turns people away from church. This book opens you up to what is really biblical truth. I hope that Marc and his wife will pray about their decision to disconnect with a person just because they suggested a book. This would be a perfect opportunity to reach out to that person and discuss their differences of opinion. That is what this book is about. Just because we have different doctrines doesn't mean we can't live a life with Christ the way he wanted it to be. Read Stephen's response from MS, he hit it on the head.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shirley Giver
My husband and I have longed for a better understanding of what Jesus' words and actions meant to his contemporaries, and therefore, what they should mean to us. Rob Bell explains the culture of Jesus' time so vividly. There were many "aha" moments as I learned just how radically Jesus engaged his culture - not only Him, but the early church, too. I am looking forward to reading more of his works, and also many of the books he referred to in the bibliography. I recommend this book for anyone regardless of how much you already do or don't know. I wish I'd come across it years earlier!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nicole Douglas
Excellent view on what the Christian faith should be about. Christianity is not just about the church or an hour on Sunday...it's about the Word of God and most importantly the people. Thank you Rob Bell for painting that picture more clearly for me.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah Peden
I recommend this book to anyone. It's a great book for believers and non-believers who want to know more about Christianity
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karla Dulic
Very cool book. It is written like Bell speaks, somewhat as a stream of consciousness. What he struggles with, we ALL have struggled with (if we are honest with ourselves) so it is interesting to learn what conclusions he has come to. I have read the blogs out there, and some think he is a prophet, some a lost blaspheming heretic. I am a more liberal Christian and I thought he made very valid points and observations; he puts Bible passages in historical contexts and gives fresh interpretations. Bottom line -- he wants us to have wonder, awe and love for God and love for one another. Come on, critics, is that so bad??
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith - eBook
This review is fromVelvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynn Eichhorn
Velvet Elvis was a refreshing view of our faith and responsibilities as people of Christ. I bought several copies and shared them with friends and family.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.