Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press The Road to Mercy - eBook

Abingdon Press The Road to Mercy - eBook

Josh Harrison, a contemporary Christian singer, and his wife Bethany face a difficult decision that also tests their faith. A rupture in Beth's carotid artery leaves her on the brink of death even as she's pregnant with their first child. While Dr. Ben Abrams urges her to terminate the pregnancy to save her own life, she and Josh step out on faith and decide to carry the baby to full term.

During the next few months, Josh struggles with his faith, Beth hides a secret that may destroy their marriage. She also discovers a decades-old connection to Dr. Abrams that could change his life forever.

Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Road to Mercy - eBook
Review 1 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith building

Date:March 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Road to Mercy
By: Kathy Harris
This is my first book by Kathy Harris I really enjoyed it. It kept me wanting to read and not put it down. Great Characters. Josh and his wife Bethany are faced with some major decisions they need to make. Can they make these decisions based on being Christians?
Not knowing if Bethany will make it through the decision they make. The decision they make is based on faith. Only god's mercy and their faith can get them through this trial in their life. I love Christian fiction Kathy did a wonderful job with this story. Looking forward to her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Contemporary Fiction

Date:March 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Road to Mercy is an excellent book. Josh Harrison, a Christian singer, is on the road most of the time. Bethany, his wife, has a life threatening health issue along with being pregnant. Even though an abortion was recommended, Bethany decides she wants to maintain the pregnany. She also has a secret she is keeping from her husband. Trust and mercy is stressed throughout the book. Kathy Harris has done an excellent job with this being her first book. I will continue to follow anything she writes.
I recieved this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Christian book

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
AnitaC
Location:Knoxville,TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much. The characters are very true to life and you come away from this book feeling like you know these people. This book handled the difficult subject of abortion with tact and grace, showing God’s love throughout. The faith of the characters in the book are very inspiring to me. If you enjoy Christian fiction, you will love this book.
I received this book for review purposes from The Book Club Network, Inc. for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Paved with God's Love

Date:February 9, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Road To Mercy is a tale that is relevant in our day and age. It first starts out with a plane crash some years before in the prologue and then we are dropped into the lives of Josh and Beth Harrison's lives in the present day. Josh is an up and coming singer, songwriter in the Christian music business and currently on tour when Beth is rushed to the hospital. We find out that Beth has a very serious conditon, one of her arteries is partially dissected. Beth is in a great amount of pain and her life is in danger. On top of that they find out that she is pregnant with their first child. The doctor, Dr. Ben Abrams, suggests an abortion as his first concern is Beth. Beth is adamant that that will not happen and Josh stands by her side. There were so many areas in this story that I thought Kathy Harris described well. The pain from Beth's affliction and her body's dependancy on the pain killers, Josh's tour on the road and the dealings with his band mates, to the next door neighbor and the paitence she had in becoming Beth's caregiver when Josh could not be there. I felt for Beth and became frustrated with Josh. However, I did understand how Josh would feel then I would become frustrated with Beth. All in all this was a page turner and had so much more going on than I have even mentioned. I really liked how the author really showed us the lie that so many women are fed today and how this lie really does affect them for the rest of their lives. I also liked that in this story everything happened for a reason even if it seemed very tragic in the beginning. I recieved this book from The Book Club Network Inc. and the opionions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational Fiction

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
jacquiR
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aspiring contemporary Christian singer, Josh Harrison, has a career on the rise and a happy life with his beautiful wife, Beth. Very soon into the story they must face a life-threatening health issue, complicated by a pregnancy that presents a difficult decision for them. Their faith is shaken and they struggle with their faith journey. A secret that Beth has kept from Josh threatens their marriage. Josh's music in concerts witnesses to thousands of people, but Beth and Josh's lives impact a certain doctor who had chosen to live a life based on science, not religion and admits that he's an agnostic Jew. Moreover, Beth discovers a God "coincidence" linking their two families many years before. The Road to Mercy is written with compassion and truth. God's grace and mercy are open to everyone who asks. In addition, the minor stories woven within Beth and Josh's are just as intriguing and touching as theirs. Kathy Harris's novel will lift your spirits and reaffirm your faith in God's endless love. I received this book through The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Road to Mercy

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a thought provoking novel! Josh Harrison is a contemporary Christian singer and his wife Bethany is pregnant. Bethany also has a serious condition that could take the life of her , her baby, or both. Bethany has a secret that she needs to tell her husband. Bethany's doctor also is somehow connected with this couple. Throughout the whole book, the theme of forgiveness is seen. This book has a wonderful Christian message and is a very easy read. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone!
I received this book from bookfun for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tragedy, Love & Secrets meet Faith

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Josh Harrison is a rising Christian singer, he’s on top of the world. His wife Bethany suffers a spontaneous dissection of the carotid artery, that rocks their world. Soon after they discover she is pregnant. Her doctor Ben Abrams encourages them to terminate her pregnancy for her own healthy. With the weight of the world on their shoulder they face some life changing decisions. This was a good book that touched some hard subjects, like abortion, forgiveness, trust in Christ, His mercy and faith. The back cover says it better than anyone could, “Tragedy, Love & Secrets meet on a journey of faith.”
This was my first book by Kathy Harris I have read. I found it to be well written, well researched and the characters flowed flawlessly. I give this book 4 stars and must warn you it will pull at your heart strings. I recommend The Road to Mercy to all lovers of Christian Fiction lovers.
I want to thank the author Kathy Harris and publisher Abingdon Press for bringing good clean Christian books like this one to readers like me. I would also like to thank The Book Club Network Inc. for providing me with this book in exchange for my honest review. I am grateful for their generosity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, Faith, Forgiveness, Self-forgiveness

Date:January 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Josh Harrison is a Christian singer and his career has taken off. Then his wife is rushed to the hospital while he is on tour. They have a friend and neighbor that comes to help out since none of their families live nearby and are able to come. Bethany finds out that while facing a life-taking problem that she is pregnant. The doctor recommends an abortion to protect her life. Bethany says "no". Read this really good book and find out what Bethany's motives are, what happened in her past that she doesn't want to face. This book kept my interest all the way through. A good novel for a newly published author. Thoroughly enjoyed the pacing. A couple of slow areas but as some authors will tell you, you have to have time to take a breather. That's what the slow part felt like. A moment to reflect, relax and straight to another crisis. In all of these trials, Josh is let go from the label he has been recording under. Then there are problems in the people that are traveling with him. There is enough going on that you won't want to put this book down. Will definitely be looking for more books from this talented author.
I received this book through www.bookfun.org and the author to read, review and leave an honest opinion. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Imperfect people making a brave choice...

Date:January 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Road to Mercy is a story about Life. Living it, Loving it, Misunderstanding it, Enduring it, Bearing it, Healing from its more broken days.
A pregnant woman has been given a disturbing prognosis: Abort this unexpected baby or risk her own newly-fragile health.
She chooses Life, for the baby and for herself, and she's willing to make the sacrifices needed to give them both the best chance possible.
Her husband agrees with his brave wife, and together Josh and Bethany prepare for eight months of challenges.
Bethany will be heavily medicated, on high does of drugs that could be habit forming and may affect the child.
Her style will certainly be cramped, as anything that stresses her could harm her barely stable condition.
Mostly, she needs Josh to understand why she seems to be a different person. Between the mood-swings and the meds, she feels like a stranger to herself!
But Josh seems to be barely coping. He's a rising star in the CCM world, touring and singing his heart out, and he's hardly ever home in Nashville.
The last thing he's doing is supporting Bethany.
Frankly, as I read, I was grinding my teeth almost every time Josh appeared in the story. And that's a good thing. Here's why: Because it was real.
Josh and Bethany were not perfect super-people. He, especially, was not. He worried about providing because he wanted to give her the best, and when he was caught up in the worry he got mad over things that weren't worth it. He made his wife cry. And he was concerned that the heavy medication was going to leave her addicted, which left her feeling pressured. He wanted to be a great husband and planned to be a great father, but he was human and he fell short. He sometimes focused more on himself and his image and career than he did on ministering to her.
Yet... he was growing. He was moving toward a destination, on a journey of faith. Like his wife, he was on The Road to Mercy.
Meanwhile, for Bethany, I rejoiced every time her angels came on the scene. Bethany's main angel was her friend Alex. I called her St. Alex throughout the story, because she was so patient and kind and forbearing. She was with Bethany through all the ups and downs. Alex defines "Friendship."
And I saw two things in this story. When a woman decides to be brave and to sacrifice herself and take the difficult road of Pro-life, she needs all the support she can get. Whether she's married or not, she needs people to step in and be her Alex.
No matter who we are, we are made in the image of God. And no matter what we believe, every human is inherently responsible to honor every other man and woman of any age or stage because they are also images of God.
We know that life is precious and beyond our understanding, and we know that human life is especially sacred.
As Christians, we who have been given eternal life in Jesus Christ, we are doubly responsible to uphold life and to protect life, no matter who's life is at stake.
The Road to Mercy affirms that in a fine piece of story telling.
Thank you Fred and Nora St. Laurent at The Book Club Network, Bookfun.org for my review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A story about healing and mercy

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The Road to Mercy” is a heartwarming book about a young couple that have a lot of challenges in their lives. Bethany has a life threatening health issue, along with being pregnant. Josh has some problems with his career and staff. The doctor suggests abortion. While both Josh and Bethany struggle with their troubles and stress, neither of them wants to abort the baby. Josh has a tendency to keep things to himself, and Bethany is hiding a secret from Josh. What happens when Bethany courageously steps up and shares? I am not telling!
Kathy Harris has written a great book about how God can take our heartaches, sins and weaknesses, and use them to make us better people. This book encourages us to keep working things out, and to never give up, even when our faith is weak, God is strong. Harris does a wonderful job showing us what true mercy is. It is about complete undeserved forgiveness. It is about a fresh start, a new beginning.
This is a great read.
I received this book free from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great debut novel!

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Road to Mercy took me a while to pick up. Every time I’d think about starting this book, it seemed like such a heavy topic so I would lay it aside. I prefer historical romance, as well. But when I finally decided to read it, I was so glad! The heroine, Bethany, suffers from a rupture of her carotid artery. My best friend suffered from a subarachnoid hemorrhage a few years ago so I was instantly drawn in to this story. I related to what the heroine was going through in her recovery. Bethany is married to Josh, A Christian musician who travels a lot. They have a great relationship but the trials they go through cause much stress. They each have decisions to make, secrets that need to be told, and a faith that will be tested until the end. This book is about forgiveness and faith. I believe it’s a great debut novel by Kathy Harris!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher to review. I was asked to give my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Road to Mercy

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once you pick this book up you won't be able to put it down. It is a compelling read.
The story begins with a Prologue, and I felt like I have read this part before? As we travel on we get to almost the end of the book before the pieces fall into place.
The theme of this story is about forgiveness, whether it is forgiving oneself...as Bethany has been unable to do. Or as in Josh forgiving Bethany and then himself.
We deal with a lot of uncertain happenings. Will Beth survive long enough to salvage her relationship with Josh? Will the baby make it. Then there is Josh's Christian Rock Star status. Will he find out who has been stealing from him, and will he be able to forgive?
This is a really great read, and I recommend you taking the time to read it.
I received this book through Pump Your Book Publicity Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Road to Mercy is paved with Grace!

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find in life that sometimes despite our abilities to leave our pasts behind, sometimes it's not possible. Sometimes that past comes calling again, but we have a choice as to whether to open the door and deal with it or keep the door close and hope it stops knocking. In the debut novel, The Road to Mercy, by Kathy Harris, the readers are in for a journey that will outline what it really means to trust in God and learn to walk by faith, faith defined as believing in things we don't see. In each circumstance that the main characters are challenged with, Josh and Bethany Harrison, are tested in a wide variety of ways. The faith will come into question and will at times be doubted in some areas, and whole-heartily accepted in other ways.
The book begs the reader to ask their own question of where their life of faith stands. When hard times or unexpected circumstances come upon us, will we fall apart or fall on our knees. This book is perfect for these hard times we have all fallen upon lately, with job losses, health issues, financial strains, marriage problems, and more, I find if we don't have faith as our foundation, we will fall apart. We will look to fix things ourselves and at times will come up far too short. We must in fact, put our trust in God, because storms will come in each of our lives, our faith will be tested to points of breaking us sometimes, but it's how we weather our storms that makes us stronger and better prepared to deal with what happens next.
In The Road to Mercy, the reader gets to also know what true mercy is. Mercy is when we completely deserve punishment for something we have done wrong, but are instead given a clean slate, a new start, we get what we did not expect in return. I found myself wondering as I read along with Beth's health issue of being on the brink of death and learning she is pregnant, what decision I would make if I were in the same situation. While the well-meaning Dr. Ben Abrams tries to convince Beth and Josh that terminating her pregnancy is the best option, Beth and Josh choose to trust that God can handle the issue and will accept whatever consequences happen by their decision. Sounds like stuff that happens in real life all the time. Josh and Beth also find that dealing with the health issues and the pregnancy that it places them under tremendous personal stress of their own, each wondering if they are doing the right thing, which at times places them at odds with one another. Yet deep within the past are some secrets that may undermine their faith and completely destroy them. You'll have to read the book to see how this all plays out but trust me, it's well worth the search!
I received this book compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours and Abingdon Press for my honest opinion and love that Kathy Harris chose this as a debut novel to write. In this tough times, we need books like this one to remind us of the cost of maintaining our faith. It may not be an easy road to walk but it will be one that pays off unexpectedly in ways we never imagined for our good in the end. For that reason I rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Road to Mercy - eBook
This review is fromThe Road to Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Drama About Struggles and Eventual Victory

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kathy Harris in her new book, “The Road to Mercy” published by Abingdon Press takes us into the lives of Ben Abrams and Josh and Bethany Harrison.
From the back cover: Tragedy, love and secrets meet on a journey of faith
Dr. Ben Abrams, rescued as an infant from a fiery crash that killed his family, turned his adversities into success but lost his heritage of faith. Fifty years later Josh and Bethany Harrison face a difficult decision that also tests their faith. A rupture in Beth’s carotid artery leaves her on the brink of death, even as she’s pregnant with their first child. While Dr. Abrams urges her to abort the baby to save her own life, she and Josh step out on faith and continue the pregnancy.
During the next few months, Josh, a contemporary Christian singer, struggles with his faith while Beth hides a secret that may destroy their marriage. She also discovers a decades-old connection to Dr. Abrams that could change his life forever.
“The Road to Mercy” is a drama that explores real life events in a fictional setting. What sets it apart are the outstanding characters that Ms. Harris brings to life. Dr. Ben Abrams and Josh and Bethany Harrison are individuals who we may know from work or who live down the street that is how real they are. When they go through their pain and suffering we go through with them. God said we would have trials but that He would give us the victory so when these three experience their victory we let out our victory yell that will rival anything heard at a sports stadium. “The Road to Mercy” provides encouragement to keep working through our problems with God’s help. Kathy Harris knows how to tell a story and she has given us an amazingly beautiful story of how God can take our hurts and turn the bad into things that are good. I liked this book and look forward to more stories from Kathy Harris.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and business professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.