Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Inescapable - eBook

Bethany House Publishers Inescapable - eBook

Lizzie Engel is used to running away. At eighteen, she left her Mennonite hometown, her family, and her faith with plans never to return. Five years later, Lizzie finds she'll have to run again. False accusations at her job, a stalker, and a string of anonymous threatening letters have left her with no other options. This time, however, her escape is back to Kingdom, her hometown.

As Lizzie becomes reacquainted with Kingdom, she realizes she may not have left her Mennonite roots and her faith as firmly in the past as she thought. She draws on the support of Noah Housler, an old friend, as she hides out and attempts to plan her next steps. When it becomes painfully clear that the danger has followed Lizzie to Kingdom, suspicions and tensions run high, and she no longer knows who to trust. With her life and the lives of those she loves at risk, Lizzie will have to run one last time--to a Father whose love is inescapable.

Average Customer Rating:
4.578 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 out of 4596%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Inescapable - eBook
Review 1 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable!

Date:March 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
DutchEreader
Location:Brownsville, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished this book. I have to say that it is very enjoyable to read. It's nice to peek into the Mennonite world!
An unexpected plot!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emotionally Involving Mystery

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is, "This is my kind of book in the extreme!" This book has it all: romance, mystery, humor, and a strong Christian message. The characters are extremely well-developed, and every aspect of the story makes perfect sense. I honestly don't think I have a negative thing to say about this book or author.
The Christian message is very strong in this book, and it is woven so expertly into the fabric of the story. This book touched my heart as I read about how God restored everything in Lizzie's life (no spoilers--you have to read it yourself), and my faith is God was strengthened. I do not often find myself in tears as I get to the end of a book, but this one certainly did.
The romance in the book was not "put-on"; it was real. Charity was the sweetest little girl in the world, and her faith was absolutely precious. When Lizzie had to make a choice, I was not sure what choice she would make, and I am so glad she made the right one.
The mystery in this book was absolutely perfect. It took me a while to figure everything out, and I often found myself continuing to the next chapter when I should have been doing something else. I had to know what the outcome was.
I was so happy to discover that there will be a sequel to this book. I definitely want to read "the next chapter." These are some of the most delightful characters I have "met" in a while, and I could read several more volumes about them. I recommend this book highly to anyone who likes inspirational romances.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense filled romance

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book in the Road to Kingdom series.
Lizzie Engel was born and raised as a Mennonite in the town of Kingdom, Kansas. She left her faith and hometown at the age of 18 because of her father's reaction to her giving birth out of wedlock.
5 years later Lizzie is in a bad situation where she loses her job and finds out that someone is stalking her. She decides to return to Kingdom hoping to find safety for her and her daughter.
Can Lizzie start over? Will her family take her back? Can she escape her stalker?
This is the first book that I've read by Nancy Mehl. I am so happy to have found her work. Nancy has a gift for story telling that grips you from the beginning of the book until the very last page. It normally takes me 3-4 days to read a novel, but I just couldn't put this one down. I finished it in two days!!
I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves Amish fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspensful story of love and danger.

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lizzie Engel is a scared woman. A single mother, determined to keep her daughter safe, Lizzie feels that she must return home to the strict Mennonite community that she ran away from years ago. They need a place to hide and the isolated community of Kingdom may be their only safe haven.
Throughout the story, Lizzie struggles with trying to decide whom she can trust. When danger follows her back to her hometown, it is hard for Lizzie to know who to turn to. Is Clay, the father of her child, trustworthy? Or is her heart leading her to Noah? Which man truly loves her and will protect her?
The author does a great job of weaving danger and suspense throughout this story, as well as taking Lizzie on a journey of self-discovery. After the harsh upbringing she experienced in her father's house, Lizzie has a lot to learn about forgiving herself and others, as well as learning that her heavenly Father is very different from her earthly one.
I was blessed to win a free copy of this book from Bethany House. I was not required to write a review, however, I happily do so. I would recommend this book to lovers of suspense, Christian fiction and Christian romance. There is a bit of all three in there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting spin on plain fiction--suspensful!

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book that I’ve read by this author and I honestly really liked it. I’m surprising myself because I’m actually starting to enjoy first-person perspective after finally forcing myself to start reading books written in that view late last year. The interesting thing about this series too is that it’s suspenseful with a mystery. Not something you typically associate with Mennonite or "plain" fiction. I finished this book and quickly picked up book number two in the series. Now I am curious to find out if a book three is in the works and when it is coming out! If anyone happens to know the dates--LET ME KNOW!
About the Story
Lizzie left her Mennonite community after she became an unwed teen mother. Life with her father was difficult and his views kept the community at an arm length from showing their support to Lizzie and her newborn daughter, Charity.
Lizzie has been fairly happy with her new life—that is until someone tries to frame her and she also has a stalker threatening her and her daughter’s life. This causes her to pack up and move back to Kingdom—all the while praying that her father won’t turn her out.
As it turns out, change has come to Kingdom and the promise of a new life exists for Lizzie until her stalker finds her and threatens her and the residents of her sleepy little hometown. I was on the edge of my seat waiting to find out who would have a reason to threaten a single mom and her daughter and I have to say—the culprit wasn’t revealed too fast so I kept reading to figure things out.
Amid the threat of violence and Lizzie’s struggle to reconnect with her family there also was a love story—more like love triangle that had me interested through the very end. I thought it was a great start to a series—a little slow at times for me but that’s still more to do with my struggles with first person perspective more than the story itself. Definitely a keeper for my bookshelf!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!

Date:March 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Inescapable, author Nancy Mehl sweeps us away on a suspense filled journey to Kingdom, Kansas -- a lovely, Mennonite community with a homey atmosphere; replete with quilt making shops, a quaint cafe, cozy homes decorated with window boxes, and a vast array of flowers blanketing the countryside. A seemingly perfect place to live; but underneath the guise of gentle beauty lie secrets, discord...and danger!
Raised by a strict, harsh Mennonite father, Lizzie leaves her home in Kingdom in disgrace, planning never to return there again. But five years later, Lizzie's world begins to fall apart as she finds herself receiving threatening letters and being stalked by a mysterious stranger. Filled with trepidation and misgivings, Lizzie flees to the last place she ever wants to go -- back home to Kingdom.
As Lizzie becomes reacquainted with her hometown and its people, she finds herself reassessing her opinion of Kingdom and begins to enjoy living there...especially when her childhood friendship with elder Noah Housler is renewed. There is still much dissension, however, in the community between the new and the old order Mennonites and Lizzie's obstinate, strict father is the instigator. And just when Lizzie finally begins to feel safe, a body is discovered and she begins to suspect her father or Noah had something to do with it. Who can she trust?... and has the danger she has run from come closer than ever before? Shunned by her earthly father, will Lizzie run to the Father whose love is inescapable?
I absolutely love the combination of Mennonite/suspense/romance mixed with the cozy, hometown atmosphere in Nancy Mehl's novels. Filled with twists and turns, and enough excitement to keep the reader turning those pages, this is a must read for all. I found the main character, Lizzie, strong yet vulnerable as we all are, and the secondary characters stole my heart! With an exciting and satisfying conclusion and a strong spiritual thread of forgiveness and redemption, this novel is guaranteed to leave you reaching for the tissue box! I am anxious to read the second installment in this series, Unbreakable, which awaits me on my Kindle. Super job once again, Nancy Mehl!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an old order mennonite suspense romance

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This novel is well written, with vivid descriptions of the Kansas countryside, the buildings and culture of Kingdom as well as the characters. Reading this I soon understood that not all Old Order Mennonite men, or Elders in perticular are domineering and judgemental, atleast no more so than in any other culture, and not all of the women in this order are timid and subservant. I am a mennonite of slightly more liberal group, and at first I was reading this at constantly making comparisons. However, it was not long before I was completely immersed in the mystery and plot of the story and I forgot to take note of the differences between the Old Order Mennonites and ourselves.
With each novel I read, I feel I am more responsible, and more is required of me, as often these stories show me myself in a clearer way. Do I blame my parents for my insecurities and my unique outlook on life or am I willing to take some of that charge on myself? As I grow older I realize that my parents had a very different childhood than I did, and some of their attitudes came from the way they were treated then. Am I willing to break the cycle? This novel causes me to take another look at my own attitudes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There is a man stalking Lizzie Engle

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
lpeavy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is a man stalking Lizzie Engel.
Five years after leaving Kingdom, Kansas a Strict Mennonite Community, Lizzie finds herself returning to the one place she said she’d never go. But it’s not just about her anymore and she’ll do whatever she must to protect her daughter. With strange and threatening notes arriving at her door and a stranger lurking in the dark watching her, Lizzie knows that Kingdom is the one place she’ll be safe.
Although her first days in Kingdom are difficult, she begins to settle in and even renew old friendships. Particularly, Noah Housler, a young man she knew in her youth, a man who said he would always protect her. But Lizzie cannot out run the danger and as it closes in around her she begins to suspect those she knows and loves. Will she ever escape her stalker? Will she ever find a place she can call home? Or will she finally find safety in the arms of her Heavenly Father?
I truly enjoyed this suspenseful book, Inescapable, by Nancy Mehl. She created a character that was easy to relate to and likable. The story was intriguing and she fleshed out the details of the Mennonite community enough so that a person like me, with no knowledge of this type of community, could understand the setting. At times, I did find the plot a little predictable but she was able to give a twist in the last few chapters that definitely kept me captivated!
Also, although I get to keep the books as a perk, I am in no way obligated to Bethany House to like a book or give it a good review. 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
simplysusan
Location:central Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not a big fan of the Amish/Mennonite genre that seems to be all the rage in Christian fiction in recent years. So, I was a bit hesitant to read Inescapable. This was also the first book by Mehl that I have read. I have to admit, I was pleasantly surprised-I REALLY enjoyed it. I know a lot of people will be put off by the first person point of view, but I actually enjoy them. I enjoyed the story line quite a bit. There were parts that were predictable though. I easily figured out who the "bad guy" was pretty early on. There were quite a few unexpected twists that kept me on my toes to make up for that. I also felt the ending was just a little rushed.
As I am not normally a fan of the Amish/Mennonite genre, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed that aspect of the story line. I also liked how Mehl worked in the themes of forgiveness and mercy. I found the struggle between tradition and God's mercy to be intriguing. It was interesting to see how the older church members concentrated so much on God's judgement, almost to the point of losing the importance of God's loving mercy. This is something that I certainly see in the modern world as well. I also felt that Lizzie's struggle with forgiveness true to life. She doesn't feel God can forgive her for her past sins, as she struggles with forgiving her father for his harshness towards her.
Overall, I really enjoyed Inescapable and am looking forward to reading more from Nancy Mehl. I am especially looking forward to reading more in the Road to Kingdom series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So good it kept me reading long past bedtime

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Relaxing Sunday Reader
Location:Marion, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The characters in Inescapable have incredible depth to them. By the end of the book I felt like some of them were friends of mine.
The descriptions of the books various setting was amazing. Most of Inescapable took place in a small town diner and I often felt like I was right there sitting in a booth watching the story unfold before my eyes.
The book is a romantic suspense, which is not a genre I typically read. I however found myself caught up in the suspense to the point where my husband came to bed to find me still awake and reading.
Considering I normally crawl into bed at 8 pm and he normally crawls into bed around 1 a.m. I think that one would be safe to say that I now might be more willing to at least read the back cover of a suspense novel before turning it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mennonite Mystery

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
About the Book -- Lizzie Engel left Kingdom, Kansas, and her Conservative Mennonite faith five years ago, fleeing abuse and rejection aimed at her when she became pregnant with her daughter, Charity. However, when a strange man begins to hang around outside her apartment building in Kansas City and she receives several odd, threatening messages, she begins to fear for their safety. When an untrue accusation of theft causes her to lose her job, she has no choice but to return to the small Mennonite town. Unfortunately, evil follows her, and she will have to face a storm of lies, deceit and murder as a winter blizzard rages around her and the residents of Kingdom.
My Thoughts -- When Lizzie returns to Kingdom, she reconnects with several of the town's residents and is surprised to learn what many of them really thought of her when she left her home years before. As the story progresses, it becomes obvious that someone in town is involved in the danger that threatens Lizzie's and Charity's chances of staying in Kingdom. Lizzie's main concern is the safety and well-being of her daughter, and she is faced with difficult choices of livelihood and love as she looks out for Charity's best interests.
With lots of questions, mystery, and suspense, Inescapable keeps you guessing about "who-dun-it" and why. A wide range of characters add to the story and provide various glimpses into the Mennonite community. The mystery adds a little different twist from many of the stories set in a Plain community. Some of the people are very interesting to get to know as the story progresses; others seem to fall a little flat. Nancy Mehl shares real-life lessons in faith and forgiveness as she tells Lizzie's story. In general, the book is a very good one. I would recommend it to fans of Amish or Mennonite fiction, and anyone who enjoys a simple mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read - Highly Recommend!

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
BTNSBJ
Location:Ashland, Ky.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Onto another book review..........Bethany House Publishers sent me my choice of another FREE book in exchange for an honest review, so here goes:
This one is called "Inescapable" by Nancy Mehl and let me just say that it kept my full attention from the first chapter to the last. I'm not a big fan of books written in first person, but I'll make an exception w/this book. It was full of mystery, a sweet romance, mother/daughter relationships and a LOT of learning to forgive.
The characters were believable, lovable, and sometimes unstoppable in their quest to find the truth. After having read many Amish fiction books, it was refreshing to learn more about the Mennonite people.
This book is a must read!! I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Roller Coaster Ride Worth Taking!

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sabrina
Location:Laurel, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was super excited to get this book as my first for review through Bethany House. I'm like a kid in a candy shop anytime I get a new book in the mail and it makes it even better if the book is exactly like you picture it to be.
The Blurb: Page-Turning Romantic Suspense Set Against the Backdrop of a Small Mennonite Town Lizzie Engel is used to running away. At eighteen, she left her Mennonite hometown, her family, and her faith with plans never to return. Five years later, Lizzie finds she'll have to run again. False accusations at her job, a stalker, and a string of anonymous threatening letters have left her with no other options. This time, however, her escape is back to Kingdom, her hometown.
As Lizzie becomes reacquainted with Kingdom, she realizes she may not have left her Mennonite roots and her faith as firmly in the past as she thought. She draws on the support of Noah Housler, an old friend, as she hides out and attempts to plan her next steps.
When it becomes painfully clear that the danger has followed Lizzie to Kingdom, suspicions and tensions run high, and she no longer knows who to trust. With her life and the lives of those she loves at risk, Lizzie will have to run one last time--to a Father whose love is inescapable.
The Pros: Nancy Mehl is an author that knows how to write. Her writing is so detailed and descriptive but not in a way that makes the story boring. It adds enough to keep you moving forward and keeps you in the dark long enough to figure out what might happen next. That's always a plus when it comes to a good mystery.
I love it when I can identify with a character. I picture the story as I read. It feels like I'm watching a movie, only in my head. To be able to read something and picture it with extreme clarity is what makes an author stand out and the characters too.
I was able to identify fully with Lizzie Engel. With children of my own, I can fully understand the need to protect your child even if that means running away to do so. I realize that running from false allegations of her stealing from her job is not necessarily the right thing to do, but I can fully understand why her character did so. It did not make her weak. It made her human and I like that about Lizzie. Lizzie is afraid of returning to her tyrant father but she is strong enough to hold her ground. She's a character that any mother or woman in my opinion would be proud of.
Noah Housler is my other favorite. He, of course, is the hero of the story. The Prince Phillip as Lizzie's daughter dubs him. Handsome, smart, courageous, caring....what is there not to like about him? He's in love with Lizzie and Lizzie has to decide between Noah and the father of her child. That was an easy decision for me from the get go but I'll let the readers enjoy and make decisions for themself.
There are other characters in the book such as Lizzie's parents, Cora, Clay, Avery, etc. but I'd be here all day if I were to list each one individually and list my likes and dislikes of each one. They are all characters that need to exist to make the story whole. They represent Kingdom and the residents that live there.
The Cons: Really honestly, the book was so well written I can't say that there were very many cons to this book. There were some slow moments but they pretty much needed to exist for you to play detective. Most mysteries and suspenses need those moments to exist in my opinion for the reader to figure out the next clue. Kind of reminds me of a roller coaster ride. You have to build the momentum slowly to make the quick drop to a spectacular finale.
All in All: This is a must read. I can honestly say that it's a book that entertained. I will defenitely look for more titles by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good characters

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well written characters stand out in Nancy Mehl's Inescapable.
I really liked how this book had a strong main character in Lizzie Engel. She wasn't just strong, she was vulnerable to and I really admired her drive to protect her young daughter at all costs.
All of the characters in this book were so well developed, it's impossible not to notice how much attention the author paid to making the characters so real, with a rawness to them that made them all the deeper.
I liked how this book was written in first person from Lizzie's point of view, because she struck me as a character that would be hard to figure out if we couldn't get such an intimate view of her.
The story was slow for me in a few parts, and the suspense side of it didn't really come to play till around the end. But that didn't bother me, because I'm not the biggest suspense fan any way and I liked the romance and the way that the many characters interacted with each other. I could see so much from just how they interacted.
Overall this was a well written read that had it's lulls, but was for the most part a pretty good read. With many interesting characters. Plus a mystery! For this book was mostly about the characters and their ineractions, which were very well done!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inescapable is a great read!

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inescapable by Nancy Mehl was my first Mennonite book. I surprisingly enjoyed it. Nancy has a way of capturing your heart from the very first few pages. Lizzie Engel ran away from her Mennonite community when she was only eighteen. The last thing she ever wanted to do was return. But five years later, Lizzie finds herself in a dangerous situation and she returns home feeling it would be better to face the scrutiny and criticism of her parents and former community than to become a victim of the person who is sending her threatening letters. When Lizzie returns home, she feels safe for a while but then the threats start back up. She doesn’t know who to trust. This young woman is faced with mending broken relationships and with learning to let go of anger and resentment from her past. It’s really the only way she can learn to love and to trust. I loved the way Nancy mixed the Mennonite world, the secular world (which Lizzie has returned from), and regular non-denominational belief in God. She was able to keep me guessing, keep me engaged, and even mystify me quite a number of times. I received this book free from Bethany House in exchange for a review. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to put down!

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandra
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lizzie Engle fled her childhood home in Kingdom, Kansas with her newborn baby to escape her father's cruelty. She is safe here in Kansas City working for a kindly employer in a womans shelter. Suddenly, her employer has to take medical leave and everyone seems to be turning against her. Lies cause Lizzie to lose her job and a stalker frightens Lizzie to thinking that she must return to the one place she swore she would never go--Kingdom. Her father refuses to see Lizzie and she seeks shelter elsewhere. They are finally safe--or are they? The stalker has found her once again.
I found myself reading large portions of this awesome book. I can hardly wait for the next in series.
I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't wait for next in series

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cheri S
Location:Battle Creek, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Inescapable by Nancy Mehl. What a great book! I loved learning more about the Mennonite way of life sandwiched around romance and suspense.
I found myself relating to Lizzie, the heroine, from the very beginning. My heart went out to her as she viewed her Heavenly Father through misguided eyes - relying on worldly relationships to guide how God loves her instead of reading the Bible and seeking wisdom there. In addition, how many of us have sinned and felt unworthy of God’s love instead of being able to accept that He loves us unconditionally?
I loved the mystery/suspense that complimented the underlying spiritual message and how she kept me guessing until the very end regarding which man Lizzie would ultimately choose. It was great how Nancy sprinkled so many twists and turns throughout the book - it kept me wanting to see what would happen. In addition to the mystery aspect, Nancy was able to bring all the characters in town to life - from the main hero and heroine to the secondary characters. I could see the myself living there and felt like I belonged.
Lastly, the author talked about people feeling judged and shameful of past mistakes and how that can really skew how they view others opinions of themselves. Nancy was able to tie that concept into the last spiritual truth so effortlessly. When a person is truly pursuing their individual God-given passion, their confidence grows “not in ourselves - it is in God, who puts us where we are supposed to be and gives us what we need to succeed.” What a beautiful message full of hope for everyone!
Nancy even gives the reader a little teaser at the end of the book, introducing her second book in this series. Unbreakable comes out in the Spring of 2013. I am ready to read more about these wonderful people, being introduced in more depth to others, and hopefully continue to find out what is going on in Lizzie’s life.
I thoroughly enjoyed the chance to become part of the town of Kingdom and can’t wait to visit again. This is a book I would recommend to anyone who enjoys a little suspense, a little romance, and a quieter, slower-paced life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great mystery and romance

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book one in the series called Road To Kingdom written by author Nancy Mehl. This is a great Christian mystery/romance story.
The main character Lizzie Engel is being followed and decides to head home to hide out. A place she never thought she would return to. Will she be accepted or rejected by her family? Will she and her daughter be safe in her hometown? She meets up with Noah Housler who is an old friend. Will he become more then a friend?
The mystery part of this story is definitely intriguing. The author keeps you guessing as to whom the man following Lizzie might be and even why he is following her. My favorite part was how the author wrote the interaction of the different characters with Lizzie’s daughter Charity.
I gave this book 5/5 stars. I liked the whole story. I enjoyed the characters, especially the main character Lizzie. I think the author has written a great Christian fiction book. If you like mysteries you will enjoy this story just as much as someone who likes a good Christian romance story. This book has it all!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOOD BOOK

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon Leatherman
Location:OWOSSO, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS BOOK IS A WONDERFUL BLEND OF MYSTERY, AMISH, AND ENGLISH PEOPLE. IT KEEPS YOU AUESSING RIGHT UP UNTIL THE END.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inescapable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful romantic suspense

Date:August 8, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Mehl has a way with words, as do most writers, I suppose. The first page of Inescapable made me care for the main character, Lizzie and the subsequent pages just drew me in until I was hooked. While definitely inspirational, Mehl does not bang her readers on the head with God. It's a soft touch, here and there, to remind us that we must run to the Father whose love follows us wherever we go--the highest mountains, the lowest valleys, and everywhere in between. He always has a plan and his love is unconditional and Inescapable. :)
I look forward to Book 2, can't see what happens next.
***I received this book free for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.