Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Balancing The Sword Balancing the Sword 2 Volumes

Balancing The Sword Balancing the Sword 2 Volumes

Read one book of the Bible in depth using both volumes one and two of Balancing the Sword or the whole Bible over a year using the two volumes separately. Develop a comprehensive, working knowledge of each book of the Bible with this question and answer workbook. All questions are objective and can be answered from the text, as well as cross-referenced with space for notes. Read the selected chapter, try to answer the questions without assistance, then read a second time and answer the questions you missed. Annual studies may be used for years of reflection or short studies many be used every day. KJV often used. YHWY is used for the name of God in the Old Testament. Both volumes contain 589 pages each, hardcover. May be used as an entire family, from younger grades through adult studies.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Balancing the Sword 2 Volumes
Review 1 for Balancing the Sword 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
M
Our family is thoroughly enjoying using this book for our family devotions. It works very well when people of different ages come together and everyone gets something out of the study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Balancing the Sword 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Sleep
Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful resource. I've got mine on a 4-page layout, printed as a booklet (1 page, front and back), folded and put in my Bible.I love BTS software almost as much as I love the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Balancing the Sword 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
barb
Are you hesitant towards buying yet another bible reading program, or you have bought in the past a program and use it for a few weeks and then it goes by the wayside? Think again on this one! Balancing the Sword is easy to use and keeps you on task. You read the passage from the Bible for that day, depending on what parameters you have set for your reading program (free software comes with this program for you to decide how and when you want to work through the Bible), and then daily you open your bible and read following your reading schedule. BTS has cross-referenced everything you will be reading, so you can dig in as deep as you like while reading the passages for that day! I have my children listen while I or my husband reads the Bible and then we ask the questions for that chapter and write the children's replies in the blanks. This keeps the children focused while you read, because they know they will be asked questions about what was just read. There are not a large amount of questions either. We have written our answers directly into the BTS hardcover book so that in the years to come as we repeatedly go through the Bible, we will have the answers the children gave when they were younger. It should be interesting to watch their answers mature as they do! This is the first program we have purchased that has made us stay on task with reading through the Bible. We set our reading program for a 2 year study. With younger children we thought it best to slow down and make sure the children understand. We have really had some interesting conversations sparked by what we have read in the Bible. Some of the conversations would never have happened if we hadn't been reading through the Bible. So thank you BTS, great job!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Balancing the Sword 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
scott shields
I was tired of all those individual little books on the Bible and was looking for one comprehensive workbook. Well in Balancing the Sword I found two!!These books are pure delight in their scope. Two 600 page hardback books full of illustrations, charts and questions that are objective taken right from the Bible. If your looking for a good coursebook don't look any farther.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Balancing the Sword 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joseph Williams
BTS is a wonderful tool for Bible study! These books can be used alone or in conjunction with other Bible reading plans. Both volumes cover the entire old and new testaments. It's like having a giant hardcover workbook with the Bible as the textbook. The first volume asks basic factual questions while the second volume tends to dig deeper by asking more thought provoking questions. The historical info adds a really nice touch. The drawings are beautiful and the quotes are also great. The only drawback is the limited amount of space to answer questions if you want to write in the book. However, there is ample space for note taking. For younger children it's OK to just discuss the questions but you may want individual copies for older children to take their own notes.This book is good for every stage of Christian development; from new believers to more seasoned saints.The format is very simple yet quite comprehensive. It encourages bible study line by line. Read the preface.Worth buying!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Balancing the Sword 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Miles Blaine
My family has enjoyed and learned so much from this study. We are currently about halfway through the first volume. We use it daily during our family worship time. I appreciate that we are actually studying the Word of God, with comprehension questions asked AFTER reading of the Word is completed for the day. We customized a reading schedule to complete the first volume plus a complete read-through of the Bible in one year, but you could adjust the schedule to fit your own needs. This purchase has been worth every penny!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Balancing the Sword 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Christy Bryson
Easy to use, fill-in-the-blank questions. Easily 2-4 year's worth of Bible study. Bible, not doctrine.Customizable reading plan cd-romExtensive cross-references.This curriculum has breathed life into our family Bible study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Balancing the Sword 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joy
This has been an invaluable resource for our family. Dad reads the Bible every morning while we all listen. But how do we know all the children are listening? Because they each try to answer the questions when he's done (even the younger ones) and when he gets to the end of each day's reading... "Awww! Read some more, Daddy! Please!"I used the software to print out a reading schedule for our high schooler. She'll read through the entire Bible by the time she graduates!If you get a copy for your family, be sure to get an extra set for yourself. The wide margins are a great place to record prayers and notes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.