Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim

Gathering a year's worth of reflections from the expanse of his writing---and some never-before-published works---Yancey invites you on a journey that reveals his understanding of God, the world, and faith. You'll explore the wonders of God in nature, music, and romantic love; the practice of prayer; the spiritual in unexpected places; and more. 384 pages, hardcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Review 1 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

TRULY A BLESSING

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
louissca
Location:WILLIAMSPORT, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAVE ALWAYS LOVED PHILIP YANCEY'S BOOKS AND GRACE NOTES IS ALL I EXPECTED IT TO BE. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace Notes

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennie Heberg
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled with this. Plans are to begin 2014 with it and continue through the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Big Bob
Location:Tahlequah, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed Phillip's books in the past, so I was looking forward to this daily devotional. It more than met my expectations. Every day, he points out another area of my life that needs to be examined and re-examined in order to be a full-time Christian in our world. His point of view is unique, but always in line with Scripture and in step with the Spirit. What a great help to have a friend who fearlessly shares what God would have us be and do every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
JCGSS413fan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed Philip Yancey's writing for a number of years and I found this devotional to be a wonderfully insightful read. I'm very pleased to be able to share this terrific book with many of my friends and family members!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Surprise

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Raymond James Betz
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never read anything by Phil Yancey before, and I must say that I'm very impressed. I will be reading more by this author. Each page of this devotional is a pure spiritual wonder. Mr. Yancey is well traveled and his stories are thought provoking, challenging, and inspirational. I look forward every day to reading this devotional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is book inspires daily!!

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Searcher
Location:Lansing, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr. Yancey, in his one-day-at-a-time format, reveals the diverse ways in which the power of grace is at work in the lives of each individual believer. Through these mini-stories he inspires each of us to seek to operate in the grace-power that God has imparted to each of us, to make a difference
in the lives of those within our circle of influence. God so loves each individual; and Yancey's respect for our diversity, reveals that love is in, for and through us who believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritually poignant and full of God's wonder

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
josie
Location:kenosha wi.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yancy is extremely interesting and full of amazing everyday life stories. Viewed through God's providence, he provides us with an array of fascinating people and events from around the world. Reading this is experiencing life while sitting down. A great author and a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not what I thought it would be

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
terilam
Location:South Carolona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found the devotions shallow and not very thought provoking. I have liked the author in other books but this one was not for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Useful, helpful and thoughtful entries!

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Calla Wells
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best daily devotionals I have found in recent times...gently calling me to a deeper more thoughtful walk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great supplement to daily Bible reading

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy Nusen
Location:Groveland, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been a fan of Yancey's for years. Find him very easy to read while being challenging. Have given this to many friends & recommend it too. A great addition to my daily Bible readings. Always gives me much to think about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb companion for my quiet time.....

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deacon Thomas Shea
Location:Bordentown, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been blessed with the freedom to have a whole hour or so from my daily "quiet time" each morning. I think that most will agree that is too great a gift to waste. So, aside from my obligatory prayer of the breviary and scripture study, I believe that it is important to have some inspirational, edifying reading to augment the latter. "Grace Notes" is one of those sources of inspiration and edification. Over the years I have read a fair amount of Philip Yancey's offerings and have never been disappointed. "Grace Notes" brings me back to many of the key points of wisdom that I read in his other works. The really neat part is that many times it FOCUSES me on ideas that I missed in the original works. The concepts are sort of "distilled" for me. They console me, provoke me, but they always seem to lift me up a bit. Yes, many times, maybe most times, the insanity of the ensuing day's events washes away the good beginning, but, sometimes, that good beginning sticks. Those days are more beautiful than the others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Ponto
Philip Yancey is one of my favorite non fiction authors. I have read all of his books and I love the daily excerpts in this book as excellent "food for thought" for the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah Keenan
Grace Notes:Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim is a wonderful accompaniment to reading the Bible and prayer during daily quiet times. Philip Yancey has such a succinct way of expressing his insight into the Christian life and daily walk with God. The points he makes are credible because, as the title suggests, Philip Yancey is travelling the same road as the reader, with similar struggles, self doubts, questions about God, fears, elation, joy and wonder. Because Philip Yancey's writings are God inspired, it is little wonder then that each reading is 'a word in season'.Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Rosati
Excellent Devotional!! Our small group order it for a person in our group who was being baptised. She loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah Keenan
What a treasure! Challenging, comforting, inspirational and eye-opening all in one!Excellent companion to daily Bible reading.Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joe Poole
Better than i expected. It really is relevent and reaches the every day situations in my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynn Bova
My husband loves Philip Yancey's books and this is a nice addition to his collection. The fact that Yancey takes excerpts from his books brings recall as you do the daily devotionals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elaine Newton
Philip Yancey answers the questions I find myself asking, and raises some others that I never thought of, all of which help me to define my own faith. Would highly recommend this book for any pilgrim on the pathway to better understand the route. The daily readings stimulate thought each day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
caffeineepiphanies
A spoonful of Philip Yancey for everyday! If youre as fond of his writing as I am, youll appreciate this book of daily readings. Thank you Zondervan for this wonderful devotional. Each reading is one-two pages long taken from some of his best work such as Disappointment with God; Finding God in Unexpected Places; I Was Just Wondering; Rumors of Another World; The Jesus I Never Knew (my personal fave); and The Bible Jesus Read (highly recommended.) There are also a few writings from his road trips and a few excerpts from Christianity Today articles.If youre a Philip Yancey fan, as I am, youll like getting a thought or word often; daily if you're so inclined. For instance, from the December 14th reading: I know of only one way to answer the question Does God care? and for me it has proved decisive: Jesus is the answer. Jesus never attempted a philosophical answer to the problem of pain, yet he did give an existential answer. Although I cannot learn from him why a particular bad thing occurs, I can learn how God feels about it. Jesus gives God a face, and that face is streaked with tears. PYThis book would be a nice gift for that intellectual friend at the office who hasn't yet made that final step into faith, but is ever so close.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grace Notes: Daily Readings with a Fellow Pilgrim
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
shirley rempel
Throughout the last few years I have had the opportunity to read several of Philip Yancey's books. Yancey writes with a very deep and introspective method causing me to reflect on my life. As I reflect on his writings and how I can implement his ideas in my life, I continue to be amazed.I was generously sent "Grace Notes: Daily Readings with Philip Yancey" from Zondervan Publishers recently and have spent the last couple weeks using this daily devotional book. Once again, I was not disappointed.The one thing that I loved about this book is that it contains a great combination of many of Yancey's writing. If you have never read his books this is a great introduction of his work. It includes devotions based on 16 of his books, as well as other writings he has either published or not.He touches on all emotions and topics. He makes us think when we don't want to necessarily go to that place, or think in that way.Grace Notes would be a great gift for a loved one, and for yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.