Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook

Barbour Publishing A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Review 1 for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie Graves
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Elenora Watkins and her daughter are headed for a brand new life in El Dorado, California when their stage is stopped by a bandit. Knowing that her prayers have not been answered lately Elenora decides that she will have to take care of the situation for herself as always.
Upon arrival in El Dorado Elenora’s plans quickly fall apart when mercantile owner Miles Rutledge refuses to take her on as a partner in his store. Elenora, not to be daunted decides to open a store of her own instead. Opening her mercantile right across the street from Miles’, Elenora is determined to prove to him and to the other men in town that she can run a business just as well as any man.
With Miles’ mother taking care of Tildy, Elenora’s daughter, and much of the women in town excited about the new products that Elenora brings into her mercantile a battle of the sexes soon ensues between Miles and Elenora.
Miles is determined to never let another strong-willed woman enter his life but slowly Elenora begins to touch his heart. Elenora wants to be able to provide for herself and Tildy and to be treated as an equal partner in the mercantile business. Will these two ever be able to see eye to eye?
I loved this story! There were several parts that made me laugh out loud. The interchanges between Elenora and Miles had sparks flying. From the opening pages with the stagecoach robber to the satisfying ending A BRIDE OPENS SHOP IN EL DORADO, CALIFORNIA kept me entertained throughout. This is definitely going on my favorites shelf!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sparkling!

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Erica Vetsch
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delightful, with witty dialogue, A Bride Opens Shop is an entertaining battle of the sexes where both Miles and Elenora come out the winners.
You'll enjoy the setting, the characters, and the satisfying resolution in this wonderful debut novel from Keli Gwyn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Romantic Comedy

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Witty and charming and so much fun! The kind of read you chuckle the whole way through. I could totally see this on the big screen as a romantic comedy. Snappy dialogue -- the whole competition between Miles and Elenora is just a hoot. They're both so stubborn!!! I'd have to say that Elenora came out on top though -- she has such ingenuous marketing strategies! Poor Miles didn't stand a chance.
Then there's Elenora's daughter, Tildy. I love the warmth and humour a child can bring to a story and Tildy has both in spades along with enough spunk to keep her mother on her toes. And it isn't long before the little girl has Miles wrapped around her pinky finger. Their special friendship is another highlight of the book.
Secondary characters fill out a quirky town and contribute to meddlesome matchmaking which raises the stakes on both an emotional and comedic level.
An intricate plot filled with quite a few surprises kept me eagerly turning pages right to the end. A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California is a wonderful debut novel and I look forward to reading more of Gwyn's books in the years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful debut!

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California deftly balances romance, humor, and a thoughtful message. Keli Gwyn has a marvelous knack for dialogue, banter, and humor. But I was even more struck by the message of not letting pride destroy relationships. Both Elenora and Miles long to best the other and prove themselves, but they each learn that being respectful and kind is far better. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and look forward to more from Keli Gwyn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely debut! (4.5 glittering, gold stars!)

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, my, what a cover! Gorge-ous! The back of it makes me want to join these characters in El Dorado.
A Bride Opens Shop was a pleasure to read. Gwyn has crafted interesting characters and has included sweetness and fun in the story. Miles and Elenora's struggle with pride- and their pasts- was realistic and the story has a ending that made me sigh.
In addition, not only is this book carefully penned, it also smoothly unfolds with humour (get ready to laugh at least once!), charming romance, a good storyline and truths that will have readers nodding right along.
But let me warn you, there's a special little girl to look out for because she will steal your heart!
Tildy! Oh Lord, I simply LOVE her! If only to 'see' her once more, I'd pick this book up again and again! (I also enjoyed the affections given to her by Miles and Elenora).
Simply put: Delightful. From beginning till end.
This is my honest review. Thanks to the author for a copy of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational Historical Romance at its Best!

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marji Laine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a delightful story; three crying opportunities! LOL!
This book is propelled by its characters. And such characters! A widow/single mom with bull-dozing determination insists on proving her capabilities. A fastidious widower harboring a guilt-filled secret refuses to revisit the vulnerable position in which affection places him. An adoring mother whose meddling ways instigate complicated interaction. A talkative nine-year-old with the sincerity and wonder of one much younger, but the intellect and daring of one much older.
A Bride Opens Shop follows Elenora Watkins to the rather new California town of El Dorado where she finds disappointment, unwarranted suspicion, and discrimination. Rather than allowing the attitudes to defeat her, Elenora used them to strengthen her resolve to prove to the townspeople, and maybe more to herself, that she has the capabilities to accomplish her goal.
What I loved most about this book was the consistency of the characters. Not that they remain the same, both main characters complete a satisfying arc. But as they adjust and redirect, they stayed true to their personalities. For example, only a desperate emergency would persuade the always well-dressed Miles Rutledge to disregard his appearance.
In fact, Elenora stays so true to her character, she builds up regrets about it. I must say, during a special contest, I had hopes that she would step down rather than risk injury to someone else, but true to form, she can’t seem to shrink from a challenge.
These people seemed so real in their reactions, they make the reading easy, the changes believable, and the story an absolute gold mine, worthy of the name El Dorado!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED this book!

Date:July 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patti Jo
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a fan of historical romance, I'd been looking forward to reading Author Keli Gwyn's debut novel. I was not disappointed! Keli's characters, setting, and action kept me completely immersed in the story, and I was genuinely sorry to see the story end. I LOVED this book, and look forward to reading many more books by Keli Gwyn. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive Debut!

Date:July 17, 2012
Elenora Watkins arrives in El Dorado, California with her precocious daughter Tildy, ready to start a new life and planning to become a partner in the Rutledge Mercantile. When Miles refuses to take her on as partner, she decides she will open her own shop and prove to everyone that women can run successful businesses. The more they get to know one another, though, the more they fight the mutual attraction that seems to draw them together time and time again. With pasts that continue to haunt them and competitive natures that threaten to destroy their friendship, will Miles and Elenora overcome all that stands in the way of their happily-ever-after?
A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California is Keli Gwyn's debut novel. And what a debut! The story started off with a bang as Elenora and Tildy arrive in El Dorado, and I found myself loving these two from the very first pages. As Miles and Mrs. Rutledge and the other quirky characters of El Dorado were introduced, I found myself falling in love—not just with the characters, but also with the town!
Keli has a writing style that many strive for but few achieve. The writing is tight and full of action. She successfully moves the story along with each scene, without giving in to the temptation to have long "thought" monologues from the main characters. She delivers humor in all the right places (that had me chuckling aloud!) and poured just the right amount of emotion into the story to connect readers with the characters.
I was impressed with A Bride Opens Shop from beginning to end and was sad to reach the last page. I can't wait to read Keli's next release. (Maybe another visit to El Dorado? Hint, hint!) I'll be honest, though, if this is her debut, she has set the bar pretty high for whatever's next! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fresh New Historical

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen Lange
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miles Rutledge’s mercantile carries everything a home in 1870 needs. He is looking forward to meeting his new business partner, confident that he will be an asset to the thriving business. Miles’ mother is not opposed to seeing him take on a partner; she just knows something Miles does not.
E. Watkins, also known as the widow Elenora Watkins, is eager for a fresh start for her 9-year-old daughter Matilda and herself. Her recently remarried, overbearing father has made it clear that she is no longer welcome in his home or working with his business. Elenora thinks that a partnership with the Rutledge Mercantile in El Dorado, CA is the perfect fit. That is, until she met the proprietor.
To say that Miles and Elenora get off on the wrong foot is an understatement. Miles is stunned to learn that E. Watkins is a woman, and rescinds his offer of partnership. Elenora is equally dismayed over the mix-up. Returning home is not an option, so Elenora decides to set up her own mercantile in El Dorado to support her daughter. This, of course, does not go over well with Miles.
For some reason, I suspected that Keli Gwyn would be a good storyteller. I am happy to report that I wasn’t disappointed. In this, her debut novel, Keli brings life to these stubborn, ambitious characters who butt heads at every turn. This engaging tale is sure to appeal to historical fiction fans. Although A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California just released, I’m already looking forward to Keli’s next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Completely Charming!

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book for the heart. “A Bride Opens Shop…” has a cast of characters to adore, situations to inspire conflict and a love romance that will blossom in the heart of even the most reticent of participants.
Tildy. Oh. My. Goodness. What a little girl. She had me giggling by the first time I met her and sharing her witty tidbits with my family. Elenora is a very determined woman. Nothing is going to get in her way, especially Miles. Her drive at times got her into trouble, physically and emotionally. Watching her bloom was a pleasure and at times I thought moved too gradually, but read further into the novel and you’ll see as I did that all was preparation for crafting her character.
Elenora and Miles are very proper young people with backstories rich in conflict. Each background played a strong role in the story and how they accepted each other in their romance.
Between Tildy, the romance and the feuding mercantiles, the story was kept lively and enjoyable with something always going to happen. The ending was absolutely charming. I loved it most of all and once you’ve watched these characters grow together, I have no doubt it will be your favorite part of the novel as well!
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the author for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Summer Debut: A Bride Opens Shop in El Dor

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
It's not often that so many debut novels impress me but so far this year I've read a ton (probably a ton, literally!) that I loved and would highly recommend for any romance readers. This latest debut, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, is making my list of awesome first books and has earned its spot in my permanent library. Going into this book I knew that I'd probably enjoy it simply because I've really enjoyed all the "destination" romances that have been published by Barbour but this one is by far my favorite.
Elenora Watkins left her old life behind with the hopes of starting a new life for herself and her daughter, Tildy as a junior partner in Rutledge Mercantile of El Dorado, California. Miles Rutledge's new partner, E. F. Watkins, is not quite what he was expecting especially since she's a Elenora and not an Edward. Unwilling to return to her old life Elenora takes her meager savings and starts her own little shop across the street.
Never before has the lyric, "Anything you can do I can do better..," come to my mind while reading a romance but it certainly fit with this story. I absolutely loved the back and forth competition between Miles and Elenora concerning everything from their shops, their violin playing, to shooting a gun all while watching them grow closer together. I was a little worried about Miles at first since he admitted to being something of a dandy but as the story unfolded he began to remind me of a certain Austen hero (yeah, that Darcy fellow) we all know an love. He was a bit cold at first but boy does he warm up! As for Ellie she is the perfect heroine. She is probably the most stubborn woman that I've ever come across in a book but it's not off-putting at all. Sometimes hardheaded heroines definitely make for some serious eye roll moments in a book but not so with Ellie! She definitely does not give in easily and she goes for EVERYTHING with gusto.
Between Miles and Ellie alone I didn't want their story to end but throw in her precocious daughter, Matilida aka Tildy, and you definitely have a winner. Hopefully Tildy grows up and gets her own story. She is a bundle of energy and never quits gabbing so I think I'd like her to meet a man whose ears she can talk off. ;-)
A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, is a fine debut that was worth the wait. Keli Gwyn is a truly talented writer who has a knack for writing an engaging and fun story that's perfect to read on a sunny summer day. Bring on the next book Ms. Gwyn!
*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.