Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books Mariah's Quest - eBook

Barbour Books Mariah's Quest - eBook

Journey back to 1753 Baltimore, where Mariah Harwood is sold as an indentured servant to Colin Barclay. Her handsome new master just may be her ticket to paradise, but Mariah soon has her hands full as Colin plots to seduce her without being trapped into a commitment. Then when Colin is blinded in battle, Mariah must search within for qualities other than beauty to secure a marriage proposal. But how much will she sacrifice to garner true love?
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mariah's Quest - eBook
Review 1 for Mariah's Quest - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mazy
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first book in the series was thoroughly enjoyable - this second one, not so much. I thought it was rather plodding, with too much "fluff". It didn't get to the good stuff till right near the very end. I made myself finish it, but it became a chore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mariah's Quest - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tough to get through at points

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A tough beginning leads to a poignant ending.
Mariah Harwood is purchased as an indentured servant by the handsome Colin Barclay. Mariah and Colin go through many trials, will they find that authentic love can prevail?
I'm gonna be honest this book did not get off to a great start for me, and Mariah was very hard to love, or even like. Because while Colin was surprisingly honorable, despite one fleeting thought, Mariah had a tough time committing to Colin.
I really loved the setting, and how well done it was done. There aren't alot of books written in this era so I loved learning more about the time during the French and Indian War.
I think that this book was good but the characters were hard to cheer for at first. I kind of felt like Mariah and Colin didn't have a lot of time to get to know each other. But if you hang in there with them till the end, I think the ending is well worth the wait.
I received this ebook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mariah's Quest - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

French & Indian War, Indentured Servant Romance

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sally Laity & Dianna Crawford in their new book, “Mariah’s Quest”, Book Two in the Daughters Of Harwood House series published by Barbour takes us to Maryland in the turbulent 1753.
From the back cover: Bound to serve…longing to love.
Mariah Harwood, one of three indentured sisters, stands on a Baltimore auction block in 1753. The dashing young gentleman who buys her may be her ticket to marriage, wealth and freedom. Once in Colin Barclay’s possession, Mariah grows to realize her pursuit won’t be as easy as she planned.
Colin Barclay is as charming and rash a Mariah is reckless. He willingly outbids the other men for Mariah’s indenturement papers, but as he claims the grateful beauty, her overbearing sister dampens his anticipation by making him solemnly promise to deliver Mariah untouched to his family’s plantation. Undeterred, Colin welcomes the challenge of seducing Mariah–no strings attached.
But best-laid plans soon go awry when Colin is wounded in battle. As he faces a world of bitterness, Mariah finds she needs more than charm to win his heart. Can she summon the inner beauty and faith to prove her love?
It is always amazing to me that one set of parents can produce three children that are very different from each other in terms of temperament and viewpoints. Mariah is not like her two sisters; not in looks, not in her faith and not in her character. Can you imagine selling yourself into servanthood to pay off your father’s debt? Mariah’s sister Rose thought so and the three sisters came from England to America to do so. Rose’s story was told in book one, “Rose’s Pledge”, now it is Mariah’s turn. I like history and “Mariah’s Quest” is loaded with it. There are Plantation owners and slaves, the French And Indian War and indentured servants. One of the themes I enjoyed was can God change our selfish personalities so that we can give ourselves to the needs of others? The answer, of course, is yes but the thrill ride that this story turns out to be has some real surprises before we find out that answer. “Mariah’s Quest” is a great read, filled with drama, romance, history and suspense. I recommend this book highly. I am greatly looking forward to book three in the series.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mariah's Quest - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining Christian Historical Fiction

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mariah relied on her beauty all her life to catch eyes and gather marriage proposals. Now, she and her sisters have sold themselves into indentured servitude to help their father and she believes that her beauty will catch her a wealthy bachelor. When she stands on the block a good looking, young man calls out the winning bid and she rides next to him to live with his family. When she gets there, though, his mother is a powerful woman who has other ideas for her son than to marry a bondswoman. Just when things are looking up, Colin goes off to war against the French with George Washington. Mariah doesn’t know if he will ever come back, and if he does, will he still want to marry her?
This is a fun well-written Christian romance that follows the silly Mariah as she grows up and learns to rely on Jesus instead of her looks. The historical setting is during the pre-Revolutionary War era, when most of the east coast was still unsettled. If you enjoy Christian historical romances, put this one on your list.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mariah's Quest - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Harwood House Book 2

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mariah’s Quest by Sally Laity and Dianna Crawford
Daughters of Harwood House Book Two
Three young women arrive by ship from Bath, England to the shores of Baltimore, Maryland in 1753. To save their father from debtors prison, the eldest agreed to sell herself as an indentured servant. Her two sisters agreed to come along. Lily because she only knew Rose as her mother figure and Mariah had visions of a wealthy husband. It was agreed they would all be sold together….funny how things don’t turn out as you imagine. The greedy ship captain sells them separately. This is the story of Mariah Harwood.
Colin Barclay happened past the auction block when the most beautiful woman was being auctioned off, how could he not buy her? And he did. He brings her to his parents plantation and his mother seems pleased until she finds out that the beautiful girl is not a local belle but a bond servant. She is convinced to take Mariah in as a tutoress for his three sisters under the condition that Colin is to stay away from her, she only wants her children marrying well.
Mariah is on the vain side and not surprised the handsome man has chosen her. She is not strong in the faith like her sisters and for all her outward beauty, Mariah is lacking in inward beauty. Through some tough life lessons and humbling situations will she finally sink low enough to look up to God?
This was a really good read. You get to ride to war with a young George Washington and deal with slavery. At times it’s an emotional ride between Mariah’s shallowness, Mistress Barclay’s uppityness and the war. But it was all brought together for an ending that had me wiping my eyes while trying to read the last few chapters. Book one in the series is called Rose’s Pledge. As there are three sisters, there will most likely be a third book in the series as well.
**Received through NetGalley for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mariah's Quest - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
In Rose's Pledge, book one in the Harwood House trilogy, we already met Mariah Harwood. She's the most beautiful of her sisters Rose and Lilly. Rose was very worried about Mariah being bought by a handsome young man.
This book starts at the auction and we get to read Mariah's story.
Mariah is a selfish young woman who came with her sisters to the colonies in hopes to find a wealthy young man to marry. When wealthy Colin Barclay laid eyes upon beautiful Mariah he only wants to buy her because of her beauty. While traveling to his parents plantation he fantasizes about Mariah becoming his mistress.
Colin's mother is not pleased with his purchase. They have enough servants. She suspects that Colin bought her to become his mistress. So, on Mariah’s first day, Mrs. Barlay makes it clear that she will never agree upon a marriage between Colin and Mariah, even if she gets pregnant. Mariah doesn't want to be Colin's mistress. She only wants to be his wife—that seems very unlikely now.
Colin really wants Mariah and he's thinking about an opportunity to be alone with her, but that proofs to be almost impossible.
When Colin has to go on a business trip for a couple of months, he promises Mariah they will get married when he comes back. Mariah can't tell anyone that she's secretly betrothed to Colin. When Colin finally comes home they want to make wedding plans. But then his best friend Tuck comes by with bad news. They have to join the militia and fight against the French. Colin has to leave again and gets injured in battle. Everything changes. Colin and Mariah have to search their hearts if there’s still hope and love for each other.
This was a nice and easy read. I'm sure lovers of romance will enjoy this book a lot. The book is very different from the first book in this series—where the first book took place in the wilderness, this book takes place on a beautiful plantation.
I'm looking forward to reading Lilly's story in the last book in this series.
*I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and was not required to write a positive review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mariah's Quest - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Job on Book 2!

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description:
Journey back to 1753 Baltimore, where Mariah Harwood is sold as an indentured servant to Colin Barclay. Her handsome new master just may be her ticket to paradise, but Mariah soon has her hands full as Colin plots to seduce her without being trapped into a commitment. Then when Colin is blinded in battle, Mariah must search within for qualities other than beauty to secure a marriage proposal. But how much will she sacrifice to garner true love?
I was excited to read the second book in the Harwood House Series. I reviewed Rose's Pledge and I fell in love with these three sisters. After reading book 2, I am even more intrigued to find out what happens to the third sister in this series!
I must say that book 2 was even better than book 1. I love that the authors take the time to fill in their stories with historical facts, real people and interesting places. This was an intriguing time in our nation's history and the authors have done a fantastic job of writing solid stories of people (fictional and real) in this era.
I loved Mariah, the main character in the book. She is the middle of the Harwood sisters. I am a middle sister so maybe that is why I liked her so much!
In this book, we see Mariah grow in character, overcome personal weaknesses and develop a deeper relationship with God. I appreciated how this book really is more about her heart for God than it is her heart for Colin. Although, she has quite a heart for Colin!
For a history loving girl like me, this book was the perfect blend of romance, history, family, struggle and faith. And, it leaves the door wide open for book 3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mariah's Quest - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mariah's Quest

Date:May 3, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The year is 1753. Mariah and her sisters, Rose and Lily, have just arrived in Baltimore after a long journey from England. They had sold themselves as indentured servants to keep their father from debtor’s prison. Upon arriving in this new land, they are quickly sold and leave in totally different directions.
Mariah ends up at a plantation in Virginia. Colin Barclay brings her to his family home where she becomes a tutor to his three sisters. Colin is drawn to Mariah’s beauty but his mother has other plans for him. Mariah and Colin have another plan and become secretly engaged. It will remain a secret from his family until he returns from battle.
Unfortunately, Colin returns home wounded. The story becomes very interesting as he learns to function as a blind man. Both Mariah and Colin learn to trust God in this new and uncertain situation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.