Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook

WaterBrook Press Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.795 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 out of 39100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Review 1 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Experience the holidays with the Plain folk of Apple Ridge, Pennsylvania, in these touching novellas centered around love, romance, heartache, and restoration from best-selling author Cindy Woodsmall.
The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Beth Hertzler is unable to let go of a past tragedy, but when she discovers a large, intricately carved scene of Amish children playing in the snow, something deep inside Beth’s soul responds. Determined that her niece meet the gifted artist, her aunt tracks him down, but it’s not that simple – will Jonah be able to offer Beth the sleigh ride she’s always dreamed of and a second chance at real love?
The Christmas Singing
Mattie thought her childhood sweetheart adored her until he abruptly ended their engagement on Christmas Eve. Brokenhearted, Mattie moves away and pursues her longtime dream of becoming a cake decorator, and even finds a new beau. But when Mattie is forced to return home three years later, will learning the truth behind Gideon’s rejection restore her Christmas joy – or open the door to even deeper heartbreak?
The Dawn of Christmas
Sadie enjoys her freedom away from home and her mission trips to Peru, but after four years, her Old Order Amish family insists it’s time to come home and settle down. Levi, a bachelor who distrusts women after a family heartbreak, also has no desire for romance. To keep their families from meddling in their lives, Sadie and Levi devise a plan—but soon discover that the walls around their hearts are breaking down. Can they let go of their prejudices, learn to trust each other, and embrace a future together?
My review:
Let me be honest and put it out there that I am not a Christmas fan. Maybe it's because I work in retail, or because I didn't grow up with a traditional Christmas. But I don't see the point, and it just isn't a special or magical time for me. That being said, despite this omnibus being portrayed as a Christmas novel, I almost didn't want to read it. But I was pleasantly surprised to discover that while the stories lead up to and end at Christmas, the novellas did not center solely around the holiday. This factor was my number one reason for absolutely loving this work of fiction.
In the first novella, I had a time of an afternoon laughing at the relationship between Lizzy and Beth. They might as well have been mother and daughter, instead of aunt and niece. But Lizzy's antics and ideas had me hooting with laughter while I eagerly anticipated what would happen with the "Old Man" woodcarver. A very enjoyable way to spend a quiet evening, fast paced, but with developed characters and great back stories.
In the second story, Gideon and Mattie have been at odds for years. Gideon's betrayal still stings, and Mattie is not ready to forgive him. Knowing the truth will not ease her pain, but he has a side to the story he wants to tell. When circumstances force her to return home, she is also forced to come to terms with the past. I felt that these characters just drove each other crazy at some points in the story, but it was also a very enjoyable read.
In the last novel, Sadie catches her beau in a compromising position with her cousin. Angry and unwilling to remain in Apple Ridge, Sadie packs up and heads to Peru on a mission trip. She loves the work and the people there, but home beckons when her parents want her to return and get married. Levi, a neighbor, is also trying to convince his family he does not need a wife, and he and Sadie soon join forces to remain single. The concept of this one also got me laughing at several points, as it is rather humorous how two single people are determined to make it NOT happen.
A lot of laughs and good writing came forth in this omnibus, and I have to say I really enjoyed the entire work immensely.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this Christmas Collection!

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is this collection was such a blessing to read! I have never read an Amish book that was so captivating and enthralling from beginning to end. I wasn't sure what to expect since I don't read a lot of books in the Amish category, but I was pleasantly surprised!
The Sound of Sleigh Bells features Beth and Jonah. Beth is a very no-nonsense, business-like woman who was deeply wounded in the past and determined not to let it happen again. Jonah is a damaged soul who learned that God is good no matter what. Can he teach Beth that despite her past, she can open up to love? I loved the message of the book. If you don't let go of your past, you aren't letting in all that God has for you.
The Christmas Singing features Mattie and Gideon. Mattie was heartbroken when Gideon broke up with her on Christmas Eve and has worked hard to hide her heart from anyone who tries to take it. Gideon has lived with a secret illness and brokenness since his break-up with Mattie. Can they get along enough to figure out they still love each other? The message in this book was to trust God with everything. You can't protect everyone, only God can do that.
The Dawn of Christmas was my favorite! Sadie and Levi suffer from the same affliction - aversion to marraige and the other sex. They have both seen or been hurt by someone and are determined never to let it happen again. So, when Sadie finds Levi injured in a field, neither expects anything to happen. Reading their story was amusing. I figured out long before the characters did that they were meant for each other. Can they open their hearts to let in what God has planned for them, or will they turn away out of fear? The message in this story is to not let fear rule your lives.
Overall, this was the most enjoyable Christmas book I've ever read. I would recommend it to anyone who loves reading about the magic of Christmas and the blessings it can bring.
**I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for my honest review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3-in-1 enjoyable read

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet Albertson
Location:Johnstown, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book One: The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Beth has been mourning the loss of her fiancé for over a year. Her friends and family want her to get beyond the grief and enter into activities and have joy in living again. But she can’t let go of her sadness, because she has stuffed secrets about Henry’s death. Beth’s Aunt Lizzy is afraid Beth will be an old maid, like herself, and miss out on the joys of sharing life with a family. Lizzy concocts a plan to get Beth writing Jonah, a wood carver, (whom Beth has never met and she thinks is an old man), because Lizzy knows Jonah has wisdom to share about surviving loss and pain.
Lizzy’s plan seems to be working: Beth has renewed interest in life and has released her secrets to Jonah. But what will happen when Beth finds out that Jonah is not an old man and she has been “tricked” into sharing her pain?
Book Two: The Christmas Singing
I had read The Christmas Singing previously, but I found it more enjoyable to read this time because of knowing the characters and their stories already started in Book One.
Mattie has just come to Apple Ridge after her bakery shop in Ohio burned to the ground. The move puts her back in the vicinity of Gideon, her first love, who broke up with her four years ago, letting her believe that he wanted to date non-Amish girls. She didn't know his real reason for breaking up was to protect her from knowing about him having leukemia, which he did not expect to survive. In the meantime, she has a safe, boring relationship with someone else that she hopes would never hurt her. Should she “settle” for Sol, or find out what Gideon was and is thinking?
Book Three: The Dawn of Christmas
In The Dawn of Christmas, Sadie has been lied about by her fiancé Daniel, whom she caught with her beautiful cousin the day before their planned wedding day. Broken-hearted, she moved away from Apple Ridge, learned to be independent and developed a love for mission trips to Peru.
On a visit to her family, she discovers Levi, injured from being thrown from a spooked horse. Her actions save his life and make him eternally grateful to her. They both have sworn off marriage, but they decide to pretend to be courting to keep their families from bugging them about their singleness. What will happen when they find out they love each other at the same time they realize Levi’s brother Daniel is the one by whom Sadie was betrayed?
I enjoyed reading these books. I like the 3-in-1 version of a series, because of the continuity of the story line, and getting to read the next one right away before I forget the characters.
I received the Kindle version of these books for free from WaterBrook/Multnomah Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Warning: You will be reminded of the true reason

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ajb1303
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading Christmas books always puts me in the mood for the season. I begin to anticipate the season of Advent, Christmas carols, decorating my home, doing a little shopping, holiday baking and rereading the story of Christ’s birth.
Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three in One Collection was sent my way via WaterBrook Multnomah. It’s a collection of three novels in one and tells the stories of three couples as they discover the true meaning of Christmas and life.
In The Sound of Sleigh Bells, we meet Beth and Jonah. Beth is a business woman, mourning over the loss of her fiancé. Each year, she travels to find Amish goods to sell in the shops her family owns and one trip, she finds a carving that unites her with Jonah. Let the match-making begin! Jonah also has his own story and it’s their grief that brings them together – and together, they overcome and find more than they were looking for.
In The Christmas Singing, we meet Mattie and Gideon, childhood sweethearts who were pledges to be married, but just before the wedding, Gideon calls it off and marries another. Mattie, upset, moves away to start a business and be closer to family, only to return a few years later when Gideon finally tells her the reason for the failed engagement and the choices she has to make.
In The Dawn of Christmas, we meet Levi and Sadie. After both parties have experienced great heartache, life literally throws them together. Yet, after both make feeble attempts at staying single, they come to realize that life may have had more in store for them after all.
Overall, each story was a great read and I plan on rereading them again in the future (next Christmas, perhaps). I would recommend them to anyone looking for an easy and truthful holiday read.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review; all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Christmas in Apple Ridge" Review

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the first novella - The Sound of Sleigh Bells - I was immediately drawn in to the story of Beth and Jonah. I liked both of them as characters, and I was rooting for them to get together the whole time. I also liked how they communicated through letters, even though it was kind of strange that neither of them completely knew who they were writing to. I was interested in Beth's past very much, but I did think that it got to be a little drawn out that the reader didn't know for so long what actually happened in Beth's past. I think her development would have been even better if I knew exactly what she was struggling with through at least half of the novella instead of just having it be revealed closer to the end.
Since I have already reviewed The Christmas Singing, I won't rehash it here. You can read that review here.
As for The Dawn of Christmas, I think it was my favorite of the three. I was truly rooting for them to get together throughout the course of the novella - maybe even more than I was rooting for Beth and Jonah in the first one! Sadie was such a realistic character, and even though the reason Levi had "sworn off women" seemed a little far-fetched, I still was sympathetic towards him. The Dawn of Christmas was probably the most humorous of the three as well, which helped to endear it to me.
I also liked how the characters from the first novella were in the second and so on. It was neat seeing these characters "later on" in the story.
For a nice, heartwarming read at Christmas, Christmas in Apple Ridge is a good bet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for Christmas

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are three wonderful stories in this collection by Cindy Woodsmall. Two of them I'd read before, "The Sound of Sleigh Bells" and "The Christmas Singing" and one new story "The Dawn of Christmas". I reread the first two and enjoyed them just as much as I did the first time, I could not put the book down. The third story was just as enjoyable to read as the first two.
I like the fact that they were all connected, the characters knew each other. Cindy did a wonderful job of bringing the three stories together. Also, the fact that they would get out in bad snowstorms, I love that, it reminds me of my step-father, whenever there was a blizzard he JUST HAD to go someplace. We were a lot warmer though as we were in a car with a heater, except for the time we got stuck and had to walk about a mile.
Cindy draws you in and makes you feel like you are dealing with the heart tugging problems each person has to deal with. That is what keeps you reading late into the night, wanting them to realize that they are not seeing the whole story and they should listen to their heart. I think we are all guilty of that sometimes, especially when we have been stung before when the feelings are what we 'want' to feel, not what God wants for us. A definite must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interconnected Stories Make a Fun Collection

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Christmas in Apple Ridge" by Cindy Woodsmall is a collection of three Amish love stories all set in Apple Ridge, Pennsylvania. The books were released individually in 2011, 2012, and 2013, but I loved reading them all together in one package. Though each story is self-contained, characters from previous stories make appearances in the newer ones, so readers get a glimpse into their happily-ever-afters. Woodsmall even worked characters from another novella, "The Scent of Cherry Blossoms," into the mix. I liked that.
Each of these stories focuses on one woman and one man who must overcome some tragedy from the past in order to find the strength to take a chance on falling in love. These characters are strong and determined and often quite stubborn, so there are lots of misunderstandings and issues for them to overcome as they find themselves drawn together. Their stories are sweet and fun to read; the Christmas setting in each adds an extra romantic touch.
If you enjoy simple stories with subtle messages and haven’t read any of Woodsmall’s Christmas novellas yet, I recommend this collection, "Christmas in Apple Ridge," to you. Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers sent me a complimentary copy for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Collection of Christmas Stories

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a wonderful read for Christmas, pick up this collection of three novellas by Cindy Woodsmall. All three stories are great! They each are long enough to be a full story, with great plot development and wonderful characters.
In The Sound of Sleigh Bells, we meet Beth and Jonah. Beth is in mourning over the loss of her fiancé the year before and never expects to marry in the future. Through insight into Beth's thoughts, we discover that there is a deeper reason, a secret that she is keeping that causes her to balk at the thought of marrying any other man in the years to come. Her secret is weighing her down and causing a deep depression that her family is very worried she won't come out of. Through some interference from her loving aunt, Beth connects with Jonah. Can he help Beth overcome her fears and open up to her family about the dark secret weighing her down? Is there a chance for love between these two people?
In The Christmas Singing, we meet Mattie and Gideon. In this instance, Gideon is the one carrying a secret. Years ago, Mattie and Gideon were together. They grew up together and entered a wonderful courtship. When Mattie found Gideon in the arms of another, the courtship was abruptly halted. Mattie left town and is involved with another man. When unforeseen circumstances bring Mattie back to her hometown, will she and Gideon reconnect? What is the secret Gideon is hiding and can he find the courage to tell Mattie what was really going on that night so many years ago?
In The Dawn of Christmas, we meet Sadie and Levi. Both of these characters are very wounded by events from the past. Sadie is wounded that she caught her intended cheating on her with another woman on the day before their wedding. The community chose to believe his lies over her truth and now Sadie does not trust men. Levi, on the other hand does not trust women. This is because of two instances that he knows about where two of his family members were hurt by women who left them. Will Levi and Sadie ever learn to trust? Could it be possible for these two hurt people to find love?
Great stories! I loved each one and am thankful to WaterBrook Multnomah for the complimentary copy they provided to me in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved Christmas at Apple Ridge

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bern
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't help but enjoy books centered around some of my favorite things. In the Three in One Collection Christmas in Apple Ridge, the author's novellas are sweet short stories of the "Plain People" during the Christmas season - and I thoroughly enjoyed each of the books. The collection includes: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, and the Dawn of Christmas. Although each of the novellas could stand alone, I appreciated how the Ms. Woodsmall was able to weave the stories together and the characters play small parts in each of the stories.
The Sound of Sleigh Bells introduces us to Beth Hertzler. She is a woman that has held fast to an awful past memory and tragedy. She is unable to reconcile with the present. Through a wood carving, she forms an unexpected bond with the wood carver - who she believes to be a lonely grandfather. As they forge a friendship, God does a work in Beth's heart, enabling her to have a spark of life once lost.
Mattie and Gideon are the stars of the Christmas Singing. Feeling rejected when Gideon unexpectedly puts an end to their marriage plans, Mattie determines to leave her home. She begins her life as a cake decorator, fulfilling a dream she's had since she was a girl. Despite trying to begin life with a new love, a return home shows her that it won't be that easy and she learns the truth of Gideon's rejection.
Sadie is also nursing heartache in The Dawn of Christmas. Like Mattie, she runs away and attempts to forge a new life living with a Mennonite family, helping them run their store. After four years of life away, her family wants her back home. She reluctantly returns, secretly plotting to leave again. She finds an unexpectedly friend in Levi, a bachelor, against marriage and courting, harboring his own broken dreams.
Of course, each of the stories are simple ones of misunderstanding and hurt, however it was nice to witness each character grow and change. In the end, it was their shared faith in God that enabled reconciliation to prevail in the most unexpected ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

'Christmas in Apple Ridge' (3-in-1 collection) by

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Texas
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Series: The Apple Ridge Series, books 1-3
~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Book 1- ‘The Sound of Sleigh Bells’ by Cindy Woodsmall
“Beth Hertzler works alongside her beloved Aunt Lizzy in their dry goods store, and serving as contact of sorts between Amish craftsmen and Englischers who want to sell the Plain people’s wares. But remorse and loneliness still echo in her heart everyday as she still wears the dark garb, indicating mourning of her fiancé. When she discovers a large, intricately carved scene of Amish children playing in the snow, something deep inside Beth’s soul responds and she wants to help the unknown artist find homes for his work–including Lizzy’s dry goods store. But she doesn’t know if her bishop will approve of the gorgeous carving or deem it idolatry.
Lizzy sees the changes in her niece when Beth shows her the woodworking, and after Lizzy hunts down Jonah, the artist, she is all the more determined that Beth meets this man with the hands that create healing art. But it’s not that simple–will Lizzy’s elaborate plan to reintroduce her niece to love work? Will Jonah be able to offer Beth the sleigh ride she’s always dreamed of and a second chance at real love–or just more heartbreak?”
Spiritual Content- Psalm 4:8, Many Scriptures & Prayers are said.
Negative Elements- N/A
Sexual Content- Two almost kisses that get interrupted.
-Beth Hertzler
-Jonah Kinsinger
P.O.V. switches between Beth & Jonah
~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Book 2- ‘The Christmas Singing’ by Cindy Woodsmall
“After Gideon coldly broke her heart, can the warmth of the season revive Mattie’s hopes?
Mattie thought her childhood sweetheart adored her until he abruptly ended their engagement on Christmas Eve.
Three years later, will learning the truth behind his rejection restore her Christmas joy – or open the door to even deeper heartbreak?
Spend Christmas with the Amish in this story of love, romance, heartache, and restoration.
Experience the holidays with the Plain folk and discover the power of second chances in this touching story from the author of the New York Times bestseller, The Bridge of Peace.
Gideon Beiler has loved Mattie Eash since they were children. But when faced with unexpected circumstances, he makes up an excuse to end their engagement. He doesn’t want to lie to her, but he believes that telling Mattie the truth will be more hurtful.
Brokenhearted, Mattie moves from Apple Ridge, Pennsylvania to Ohio, where she pursues her longtime dream of becoming a cake decorator. She finds a new beau—a man offering the secure relationship Gideon has denied her.
When Mattie is forced to return to Apple Ridge, she and Gideon must confront the suffering created by his dishonesty – and address the powerful emotions that continue to bind the two childhood friends.”
Spiritual Content- Scriptures & Prayers are said.
Negative Elements-
N/A
Sexual Content- A Kiss
-Mattie
-Gideon
P.O.V. switches between them & Sol
~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Book 3- ‘The Dawn of Christmas’ by Cindy Woodsmall
“Sadie enjoys her freedom away from home and her mission trips to Peru, but after four years, her Old Order Amish family insists it’s time to come home and settle down. Levi, a bachelor who distrusts women after a family heartbreak, also has no desire for romance. To keep their families from meddling in their lives, Sadie and Levi devise a plan—but soon discover that the walls around their hearts are breaking down. Can they let go of their prejudices, learn to trust each other, and embrace a future together?”
Spiritual Content- Like the first two, Scriptures & Prayers are said.
Negative Elements- N/A
Sexual Content- Kisses
-Sadie
-Levi
P.O.V. switches between them, Beth & Jonah
~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
I really enjoy Amish fiction, and this one was very good! My favorite was the first one. :)
Don't forget to check out the Author's website, read chapter one, and buy it here!
*I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.
*BFCG recommends this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3 Heart-warming Amish Christmas novels in one book

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a surprise I got when I asked to review Christmas in Apple Ridge from best selling author Cindy Woodsmall, a collection of three novels all rolled into one beautiful book!!! This novel combines three beautiful Amish novels in one beginning with The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing and wrapping up with the newest The Dawn of Christmas. For those of you looking for a great collection all in one book, then this is it for fans of Amish Christian fiction. Cindy Woodsmall is known for writing amazing Amish fiction and couple this with the celebration of Christmas and you know you have a true winner.
The Sound of Sleigh Bells begins this collection when Beth Hetzler heads off on her yearly journey out of town to find new items to carry in Hertzler's Dry Goods among the Amish and English. What she doesn't expect to find is an item carved in wood that truly speaks to her heart and soul. It is one she simply must have and it true is one-of-a-kind. One that just might make this Christmas more memorable when she discovers through writing letters to a wood carver that she just might have found her soul mate.
The Christmas Singing is must like the first novel in this collection involving heart ache and moving on in life. This time Mattie is struggling to find that new purpose in life after losing her heart to her childhood sweetheart. She finds that she must leave her past behind her and start over beginning with a new town and a new business that will keep her mind off her past making cakes. But can Mattie really forget all about the past including the man who still has a piece of her heart?
The Dawn of Christmas wraps up this collection with Sadie dealing with the loss of the man she once loved, whom she believes has lied to her. Not only is she finding it hard to come to terms with, but the whole town believes him as well. Sadie vows that she will never find love again until it quite literally falls into her lap. When Levi is thrown from his horse, she stays with him to make sure help arrives. They have more in common than they are willing to meet and when they both come up with a plan to prevent people for meddling in their love life, soon they will discover it may not be an act after all!
I received Christmas in Apple Ridge by Cindy Woodsmall compliments of WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. The Christmas season tends to always bring about healing, forgiveness and restoration and these three stories demonstrate that in their own ways. Each of them is dealing with the pain of heartbreak in some way and each vows to accept the hand of fate they have been given until faith in God reveals a much greater plan instead. Each of these stories will make you fall in love with the sense that during Christmas love can be found in the unlikeliest of places. I rate this collection a true 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Seasonal Read!!

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
DEE LANA
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finished reading the three collections of Christmas in Apple Ridge series and it really got me into the spirit of the season. I enjoyed every story in this collection.
Each of the three main characters have experienced heartache but love will find them during the Christmas season.
In the Sound of Sleigh Bells, Beth Hertzler is still mouring over the death of Henry. Shr can't go of this tragedy and it keeps her from living her life. Beth leaves on a selling trip and meets Jonah, an Amish man that is a talented carver. Beth and Jonah write letters to each other throughout the story.
In the Christmas Singing, when Gideon broke off their engagement suddenly, Mattie leaves home to become a cake decorator. When she returns home unexpectedly after her bake shop burns down, she finds Gideon there again and finally discovers what really happened to end their relationship. For three years Mattie has lived with the idea that Gideon has cheated on her.
In the Dawn of Christmas, Sadie leaves her Amish Family after catching her fiance embracing her cousin in the shed before their wedding. She distrusts men and is determined to remain single and serve the Lord on the mission field in Peru with a Mennonite family. After four years of serving, Sadie's family insists it's time for her to come home and settle down. When Sadie returns home she meets Levi, who also distrusts women. Levi and Sadie make a plan, they pretend to be courting in order to get their parents to leave them alone.
**I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Christmas Read

Date:November 3, 2013
Christmas in Apple Ridge is a three-in-one collection of Amish stories. This edition has a new story The Christmas Singing. All the stories were really good, and I loved the twists in them. The characters were so realistically written.
The Sound of Sleigh Bells introduces you to Beth Hertzler who shows up in all of the novellas. Beth works at Hertzler's Dry Goods store and travels around once a year to find Amish goods to sell to Englisch and Amish stores. On her travels, she finds a beautiful carving on a tree trunk. Something about it calls to her so when she starts receiving letters from the "old man" who made it a part of he starts to open. Until she finds out who was really writing the letters...
The Christmas Singing is about Mattie who owns a bakery in Ohio Amish land. She specializes in making beautiful cakes, and for the last three years her business has been booming. But then tragedy strikes, leaving Mattie devastated. Going home for the holidays isn't what Mattie wants because of her old beau Gideon who broke off their engagement. But when Mattie sees Gideon, she isn't sure how to handle it all.
The Dawn of Christmas features Sadie who has been away on numerous mission trips to Peru for the last three years because she found out on the eve of her wedding day that she couldn't trust her intended. Scarred from the ordeal, Sadie doesn't trust much of anything anymore so when she finally comes home for a visit she is surprised to find that she can get along with a man who doesn't want to marry either. Is it even possible for Levi and Sadie to get together with their trust issues?
I really enjoyed these novellas! The writing was superb and reeled me in right away. I couldn't wait to see what happened in all of them. I think I need to read it again during Christmas... :-D It would make a great Christmas present. Now I want to read the spring novella that goes along with these, The Scent of Cherry Blossoms.
I was given this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christmas in Apple Ridge, by Cindy Woodsmall , is a three-in-one collection of books that take place in Apple Ridge, Pennsylvania. While the characters in each story intertwine, each can be read easily as a stand-alone book.
The first story, The Sound of Sleigh Bells, tells the tale of Beth and Jonah, who meet as a result of a beautiful carving the he makes and she buys. The second, The Christmas Singing, is the story of Mattie and Gideon, who were childhood sweethearts, broken apart due an illness on his part, and meet again awkwardly three years later. The third and final story, The Dawn of Christmas, introduces readers to Sadie and Levi, who both wish to remain single, but have a difficult time dealing with the pressure from their families to marry.
Cindy Woodsmall does a wonderful job of developing each story. The characters are loveable, causing you to wish they were real people. I appreciated the emphasis on how the Amish people help each other out whenever possible, a lesson all of us can benefit from.
I would recommend this trilogy to anyone who loves Amish fiction.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Christmas Novels

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie L
Location:Winterville, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sound of Sleigh Bells: This is a heart-warming story of Beth Hertzler who has been hiding herself from love, ever since her fiancé died. She wears black and avoids all the single’s activities and has resigned herself to never fall in love again. She lives with her Aunt Lizzy, helps her run their store and she takes care of all the ordering and selling. One day her Aunt Lizzy ends up in another Amish community and sees a beautiful wood carving and she buys it and brings it home. Beth is immediately drawn to the beauty of the carving, it’s the most excitement Lizzy has seen in her niece in a very long time. Lizzy uses a bit of creative manipulation in getting Beth and the carver, Jonah “who is called the Old Man” to write each other. This is a wonderful “pen-pal” type of relationship and they immediately connect. But each one thinks they are writing to someone else. What will happen when they discover who they are really writing too? And will the hurt and trickery be something they can overcome? This is a wonderful love story, one of hurts, pain, disappointments and how letting God touch your very soul can heal anything and bring joy in the most unexpected ways. Here’s a wonderful quote from the book:
“Well, time and medicine and family would have eventually helped, but during the worst of it, I caught a glimpse of how Jesus let go of His anger. Just a fraction of a second, mind you, but I saw Him on the cross, looking beyond the people who’d put Him there and to the Father He trusted. It seemed that He didn’t hold the people accountable because He wasn’t looking at them. When in the worst pain, He kept his focus on everything above.”
The Christmas Singing: This was a delicious novel because the main character, Mattie, is the owner of Mattie Cakes. She designs and bakes specialty cakes and all other types of delicious sweets! She has a notebook full of drawings, magazine clippings, and notes that she has been collecting since she was a young girl. And Gideon, her best friend, helped her with her notebook and listened to her talk about her dreams. They were bound to fall in love, then something happened and Gideon broke Mattie’s heart. She left Apple Ridge and moved to Ohio to another Amish community and lived near her brother and sister-in-law and their family. She even met a new man, Sol. He seemed perfect for her. Yet, nothing was like it was with Gideon! Then a tragedy struck Mattie and her life was suddenly turned upside down. Who would really be there for her, Sol or Gideon? Could she trust Gideon and what was he hiding? You’ll love this book! I think this may be my favorite! Could it be all the delicious cakes????
The Dawn of Christmas: This book is about Sadie Yoder. She was marrying Daniel Miller until he broke her heart before the wedding. Then she decided she was through with men and would devote her life to mission work. She’d already been to Peru once and was back home making crafts saving money to go back again. But her family would not let up...they kept trying their best to matchmake and she was so tired of it. Many miles away, back in “The Sound of Sleigh Bells”, there was Levi. He lived with his brother and nephew. He decided women were not worth the trouble either and was tired of his family matchmaking. Then Sadie and Levi met and forged a strange friendship. They came up with a scheme to keep both of their families off their backs about marriage. But would this plan backfire? Probably? And what of Sadie’s old boyfriend, Daniel? This is a great novel, full of doubt, love, distrust, and the learning of how to love and trust again...and who to trust because some people lie so well.
You’ll love each one of these books. They are sold separately, but I loved reading them all together in this order. They are separate books with separate stories, but the characters and communities are the same in all three books and it’s neat to be able to see the lives of the other character’s as you read the next book.
I received a copy of this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for the purpose of this review and for my honest opinion and did not receive any compensation for a favorable review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Stories

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christmas time is my favorite time of the year. This book, Christmas in Apple Ridge by Cindy Woodsmall should be on your holiday reading list. It is three amazing books in one. It was hard to stop reading. All three books were interesting to read.
The first two books I have already read before a couple years ago. I'm thankful that our library has a great selection of Amish fiction. I re-read them to refresh my memory. Still awesome stories even though I usually don't read a book twice.
The first book is The Sound of Sleigh Bells. Beth Hertzler was still in mourning and wearing black after over a year since her fiance past away. She helps run the dry goods store. That is pretty much her life. She went on a buying trip and due to a detour and getting a bit lost, Gloria, Beth's driver and herself ended up in a small town. Beth went to see an antique shop while Gloria got some food. Beth finds this awesome carving of a scene of Amish children playing in the snow. This speaks to her heart and soul and so she buys it. Because of this carving, Beth's life is changing. How? You'll have to read this story for yourself.
The second book is The Christmas Singing. Mattie, Beth's cousin has moved to Ohio from Apple Ridge, PA. She moved because her heart was broken to pieces by her childhood sweetheart. Gideon ended their engagement due to reasons he didn't share, not the real reason, that is. She has a successful cake decorating business there in Ohio. She has a boyfriend and seems happy. Unfortunately her cake business burns to the ground. Her mom wants her home for a while so she goes back to Apple Ridge, where Gideon still resides. Will seeing him again cause problems & more heartache for Mattie, even though she has a special someone back in Ohio? How will her time in PA go? Read and find out.
The last book, which I haven't read before is The Dawn of Christmas. I really enjoyed this book. Maybe my favorite out of the three. Sadie was getting ready for her wedding day. She didn't know Daniel was over for a visit when she found her fiance and her cousin kissing/touching each other in the shed. Oh her world just ended then and there. She ended the relationship. Most people in the community didn't believe when she said what had happened. Daniel wasn't truthful about what really happened. Sadie got permission from her father to move away from home and go on a mission trip. She enjoyed the extra freedoms for four years. Unfortunately that time has to come to an end since her Old Order family is requiring that she come back home. Her family hopes that she finally settles down but Sadie has no interest any type of romance. Levi, a bachelor, doesn't trust any women due to seeing his brother's wife leave him and their baby. Both Sadie and Levi do meet and adventures happen for them both. Read and find out.
I also enjoyed the recipes at the end of each book. I'll have to try some of them.
I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christmas In Apple Ridge

Date:October 15, 2013
This review gives more insight than just "it was/wasn't a good book" or "this is/isn't a must read". While I try not to give too much away, sometimes it's difficult to write about the story and have it not be revealing.
The Sound Of Sleigh Bells
Beth was engaged to Henry when he unexpectedly died. After his death, she refused to open herself up to hurt again, but not for the reasons that everyone thought. She had a secret hurt that no one knew about. She walked around in her black mourning clothes, refusing to let anyone into her pain. It was very sad to see Beth with a guilt and hurt that she couldn’t let go. Like so many people who are hurting, Beth thought she was putting up a good front, but everyone who cared about her saw through it.
Beth was on a buying and selling trip for her Aunt Lizzy’s store when she discovered a carving made by The Old Man. This carving seemed to speak to her soul and brought a spark of life back into her. She didn’t meet the carver but soon began writing to him, at times revealing more than she could believe herself. The letters became a type of therapy for her. I enjoyed reading their exchanges.
Jonah Kinsinger was The Old Man, the carver that had touched Beth’s life with his work. He had pain of his own that he had buried years before.
The story gets very interesting because Beth and Jonah believed they were writing to someone else. Jonah thought he was corresponding to Lizzy, while Beth assumed she was writing to an elderly gentleman. We’ve all seen friends and family do anything to help a loved one get through a problem, even use deceit. Lizzy knew it was wrong to trick them but she was desperate to help Beth.
The Christmas Singing
Mattie was planning on spending the rest of her days with Gideon until he betrayed her. Mattie moved on with her life in another town. Mattie was a little flighty and haphazard but very sweet. Her heart lit up when someone enjoyed her bakery creations. She had started dating again after moving. She was looking for someone who wouldn’t break her heart and she found Sol. Their relationship was convenient and comfortable. They had a passion for their hobbies, but not for each other.
Mattie returned to Apple Ridge and ran into Gideon after not seeing him for three years. She felt nothing but dislike for him. But Gideon had never gotten over Mattie, even though he had broken off their engagement. I was frustrated when I discovered why he broke up with her. Unplanned events caused Mattie and Gideon to have to spend a lot of time together. Mattie soon discovered she had some choices to make and where her heart really wanted to be.
The Dawn Of Christmas
The day Sadie was to be married, she discovered her fiancé, Daniel in the arms of another. Needless to say, the wedding was off. I was annoyed at everyone who believed that Sadie was over reacting to the situation. Sadie determined from that point to remain single the rest of her life. She moved to a different town and began doing mission work with the Mennonite church.
Levi Fisher had also decided that he would never be in a relationship. His sister-in-law left his brother and their son with no explanation. He would never be able to trust the opposite sex again. I found it interesting to read that Jonah’s brother couldn’t remarry as long as his wife, who left him, was alive.
Levi had an accident while riding his horse and was injured. Sadie was the one who found him. They had an instant connection and became great friends. Feeling pressure from family to settle down, they pretended to be a couple. They never planned on what happened next. While I know that Levi and Sadie chose to be deceitful and fake a relationship with one another, they shouldn’t have felt such pressure from their families to marry.
All three women in the stories suffer betrayal from the love of their life. Because of this, it was hard to love again. As you read this collection, you’ll see how God works in their lives and helps them to love again.
One of the stories touches the subject of abuse and how the victim responded to it. It’s not told in a disturbing way. We see the lies the abuse let the victim believe. But we also see that there can be healing from the pain it caused.
There are subplots going on in the stories that involved characters from Cindy Woodsmall’s books that take place in Apple Ridge. It was fun to see what was going on in their lives and catching up with them.
Cindy Woodsmall got me involved in the lives of the characters. I couldn’t help but root for everyone to find happiness and true love.
I received a free copy of this book from The Christian Manifesto and Multnomah/Waterbook Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Experience the holidays with the Plain folk of Apple Ridge, Pennsylvania, in these touching novellas centered around love, romance, heartache, and restoration from best-selling author Cindy Woodsmall.
The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Beth Hertzler is unable to let go of a past tragedy, but when she discovers a large, intricately carved scene of Amish children playing in the snow, something deep inside Beth’s soul responds. Determined that her niece meet the gifted artist, her aunt tracks him down, but it’s not that simple – will Jonah be able to offer Beth the sleigh ride she’s always dreamed of and a second chance at real love?
The Christmas Singing
Mattie thought her childhood sweetheart adored her until he abruptly ended their engagement on Christmas Eve. Brokenhearted, Mattie moves away and pursues her longtime dream of becoming a cake decorator, and even finds a new beau. But when Mattie is forced to return home three years later, will learning the truth behind Gideon’s rejection restore her Christmas joy – or open the door to even deeper heartbreak?
The Dawn of Christmas
Sadie enjoys her freedom away from home and her mission trips to Peru, but after four years, her Old Order Amish family insists it’s time to come home and settle down. Levi, a bachelor who distrusts women after a family heartbreak, also has no desire for romance. To keep their families from meddling in their lives, Sadie and Levi devise a plan—but soon discover that the walls around their hearts are breaking down. Can they let go of their prejudices, learn to trust each other, and embrace a future together?
My review:
Let me be honest and put it out there that I am not a Christmas fan. Maybe it's because I work in retail, or because I didn't grow up with a traditional Christmas. But I don't see the point, and it just isn't a special or magical time for me. That being said, despite this omnibus being portrayed as a Christmas novel, I almost didn't want to read it. But I was pleasantly surprised to discover that while the stories lead up to and end at Christmas, the novellas did not center solely around the holiday. This factor was my number one reason for absolutely loving this work of fiction.
In the first novella, I had a time of an afternoon laughing at the relationship between Lizzy and Beth. They might as well have been mother and daughter, instead of aunt and niece. But Lizzy's antics and ideas had me hooting with laughter while I eagerly anticipated what would happen with the "Old Man" woodcarver. A very enjoyable way to spend a quiet evening, fast paced, but with developed characters and great back stories.
In the second story, Gideon and Mattie have been at odds for years. Gideon's betrayal still stings, and Mattie is not ready to forgive him. Knowing the truth will not ease her pain, but he has a side to the story he wants to tell. When circumstances force her to return home, she is also forced to come to terms with the past. I felt that these characters just drove each other crazy at some points in the story, but it was also a very enjoyable read.
In the last novel, Sadie catches her beau in a compromising position with her cousin. Angry and unwilling to remain in Apple Ridge, Sadie packs up and heads to Peru on a mission trip. She loves the work and the people there, but home beckons when her parents want her to return and get married. Levi, a neighbor, is also trying to convince his family he does not need a wife, and he and Sadie soon join forces to remain single. The concept of this one also got me laughing at several points, as it is rather humorous how two single people are determined to make it NOT happen.
A lot of laughs and good writing came forth in this omnibus, and I have to say I really enjoyed the entire work immensely.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Three Christmas Novellas in One Volume!

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Location:Prospect,KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a year, Beth has mourned over the death of her fiancé. Everyone is encouraging her to move on but she is still dressed in black and appears content to live above and work in the dry goods store with her spinster Aunt Lizzy. Lizzy fears that Beth may hold on to the past forever and end up just like her--alone. Every day Beth pastes on a smile that would leave most to believe she is okay but it is the secret she hides that makes her hesitant to open her heart even if the man be to the artist who stirs her soul with his work.
Mattie runs her own shop and is fulfilling her dream of being a cake decorator after having her heart broken and leaving Pennsylvania for Ohio. Mattie has found someone new, Sol, whom she plans to marry--some day. But Mattie lacks the bond with Sol that should be present with the one you want to spend the rest of your life with even if Sol does have all the characteristics she ever wanted in a husband. So why does her ex-fiance, Gideon's, voice keep popping up in her head? When tragedy strikes, Mattie is forced to return to her Pennsylvania home. Here she will be faced with the truth behind her broken heart.
Sadie has finally found love--Daniel. That is until Daniel betrayed Sadie, with her own cousin whom she had invited to visit for the months leading up to hers and Daniel's wedding. But her whole family believes exactly as she does. If she doesn't marry Daniel, she will never marry. Sadie is torn between suffering the scorn of calling off a wedding and being strong enough to marry the man who has lied to her. Unable to bear either, she moves away and is permitted to go on Mennonite mission trips to Peru until her family insists she return home several years later. Might she open her heart and learn t o trust again?
Christmas in Apple Ridge is a collection of three Amish novels in one, all of which are centered around the Christmas season. Each story is connected through either family or friendship. The first two novellas have been released previously but the third story is new and a continuation of the first two. Difficult circumstances resulting in broken people who, through God and the love of his people, begin to heal and open their hearts again make for some very believable and touching characters. As always, Cindy Woodsmall does an excellent job of capturing the Amish way of life and includes an Amish soap recipe for the reader to try their hand at the Amish way of doing things. I have never been disappointed in a Cindy Woodsmall book and this one is no exception. There are times when escaping to a less commercial, "simple" lifestyle sounds quite appealing and doing so in the pages of an Amish story is preferable to my cutting off the electricity. They were all a joy to read and got better with each one.
I did receive this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review and was in no way obligated to leave a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, NEW! The Dawn of Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Attention keeping

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rednexx Girl
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this series. From book 1 to book 3, the author kept you wanting to read more. I love her style of writing as it really brings things alive in your imagination. Definitely a new favorite author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>