Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed

Oxford University Press NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed

The premier study Bible used by scholars, pastors, undergraduate and graduate students, The New Oxford Annotated Bible offers a vast range of information, including extensive notes by experts in their fields; in-text maps, charts, and diagrams; supplementary essays on translation, biblical interpretation, cultural and historical background, and other general topics.

Extensively revised—half of the material is brand new—featuring a new design to enhance readability, and brand-new color maps, the Annotated Fourth Edition adds to the established reputation of this essential biblical studies resource. Many new and revised maps, charts, and diagrams further clarify information found in the Scripture text. In addition, section introductions have been expanded and the book introductions present their information in a standard format so that students can find what they need to know. Of course, the Fourth Edition retains the features prized by students, including single column annotations at the foot of the pages, in-text charts, and maps, a page number-keyed index of all the study materials in the volume, and Oxford's renowned Bible maps. This timely edition maintains and extends the excellence the Annotated's users have come to expect, bringing still more insights, information, and perspectives to bear upon the understanding of the biblical text.

Features

  • The renowned New Revised Standard Version Bible translation, the scholarly standard for study of the Bible
  • Wholly revised, and greatly expanded book introductions and annotations
  • Two-column Bible text layout with single-column annotations across the page bottom
  • In-text background essays on the major divisions of the biblical text
  • Essays on the history of the formation of the biblical canon for Jews and various Christian churches
  • Detailed explanations of the historical background of the text
  • In-depth treatment of the history and varieties of biblical criticism
  • A timeline of major events in the ancient Near East
  • A full index to all of the study materials, keyed to the page numbers on which they occur
  • A full glossary of scholarly and critical terms
  • Concordance
  • 27 pages of full color New Oxford Bible Maps—with index, approximately 40 in-text line drawing maps and diagrams
  • Genuine leather, black
  • Gold page edges, thumb-indexed
  • 2 Ribbon markers
  • Presentation page
  • 9-point text size
  • 9.50" x 7.00" x 2.00"

Classic but not stodgy, up-to-date but not trendy, The New Oxford Annotated Bible: 4th Edition is ready to serve new generations of students, teachers, and general readers

Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Study Bible

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
GoVols
Location:Tennessee
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this Bible daily along with other translations and it always provides a clear description of the word. The punctuation also helps. Overall, very pleased. CBD is awesome! I will continue doing business with you! God bless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best keeps getting better

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
I need to understand Paul
Location:Dayton
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just received my copy of the 4th edition. Went to the passages (most of them in Rom) to see any updates. I've had the third edition several years now, the best out there keeps getting better. Praise be to God and her Messiah the Lord (King of the Universe) Jesus Christ, for the best study bible out there, this is it!
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good essays, but commentaries lack.

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Benjamin
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This has become my main Bible since I acquired it. I purchased it because of the inclusion of apocryphal writings from not only the Roman Catholic canon, but also the Orthodox canons, and because it features introductions and commentaries on those works. The conservative Christian may find that the commentaries and introductions to the books of the protestant canon are excessively critical, and I would perhaps agree. What this Bible edition represents though, is the position of the majority of critical scholars on the biblical text. For the believer who does not have a solid academic grounding, and some familiarity with the scholars who have a higher, more orthodox view of scripture, this product could cause some discomfort. Basically, I would highly recommend this for someone seeking brief academic introductions to the biblical texts from a very modern, critical, scholarly perspective. Do not expect the notes to be spiritually edifying, to support Christian doctrine, or anything of the like, but expect them to be technical and academic.
A few thoughts on the physical quality of the product: The paper is excellent quality, much better even than on Bibles which are more expensive. The type is incredibly easy to read, and there's very little transparency to the pages; they are actually probably the least transparent pages of any Bible I have seen. The leather and binding all seem solid and durable, and the leather is comfortable to hold. I personally find the thumb indexing to be more of a hindrance than a help, but many would disagree. I hope these comments help any prospective buyers in the future. This Bible is a great resource, for a very particular audience.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best NRSV/Study Bible Combo On The Market!

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Jackson, TN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Physically this Bible is a beauty to behold! The leather is some of the nicest leather I've ever seen. It is very limp, flexible, thick, and durable. The grain is very nice and attractive. The font size in the edition that includes the Apocrypha is set at 8pt and the font size in the edition without it is set at 9pt.
The ribbons are thick, durable, and very attractive. They add to the overall elegance of this Bible. The box is modern and sleek, yet classy! I can truly say this is one of the best Bibles I have ever owned.
It is a larger Bible, definitely larger than thin line or personal size Bibles. It is about the average size as far as study Bibles go (although it has much more useful information). You will need at least an X-Large Bible cover for this Bible if you are looking to purchase one of those.
The pages are thin, but very white with little ghosting. The print is consistent and dark, printed on high quality paper out of the Netherlands!
This edition has some of the best study notes I've ever seen, and they have only improved in the 4th edition. They employ not only religious knowledge but secular knowledge to further expose the majesty of God's truths!
Secular knowledge is not the enemy I grew up being taught it was. Secular knowledge is the greatest asset to proving the validity of Christianity. Discoveries are made quite frequently proving Christian assertions. Thus, after tireless and (at times) stressful research, I settled on the perfect study bible that meets all of my requirements: The New Oxford Annotated Study Bible 4th Edition in the New Revised Standard Version.
Not only was this the translation and study bible of choice by my most influential, intelligent, educated, and beloved instructor, but it has been the standard in intellectual studies of the bible in college classes around the country for over 3 decades. My best professor was neither on either extreme of the spectrum (i.e. - conservative/liberal), but could best be described as a "moderate", which is something I think all Christians should seek to find (that happy medium). Due to his class opening up a whole new realm of thought in my mind towards the Old Testament history (especially the major prophets), I decided after much thought to give this study bible a try.
It comes in the Revised Standard Version (RSV) and the New Revised Standard Version (NRSV), both with and without the Apocrypha (deuterocanonical books). I chose the NRSV, because not only is it one of the most accurate and scholarly translations available (by this I mean it uses the oldest and best manuscripts, and the latest biblical/archaeological knowledge from the world's leading religious authorities), it also removes much of the archaic language used in the RSV.
One of the most common criticisms of the NRSV is that it is "liberal." The term liberal is relative. To an average Republican, a Democrat is liberal. Likewise to an average Democrat, the average Republican is conservative. To a member of the Tea Party, both are liberal. To a member of Occupy Wall Street, both are conservative. Thus I repeat, the term liberal is relative.
It is accused of being liberal because it is different than what most are accustomed to. It was translated by possibly the most scholarly translation team in history, and sometimes violates tradition in order to be accurate. One example would be its use of what is called "gender-inclusiveness." In traditional bibles, where it would say "brothers," the NRSV translates in "brothers and sisters." Some people see this as a bad thing, but I think any reasonable person would see this as a step towards more accuracy. The Greek word aldephoi which literally refers to a brother and sister in the same family, is the Greek word used in the New Testament when addressing the church, usually rendered brothers. It would be false to assume, and even the most conservative of Christians concede, that the early church was not merely made up of men. This can only mean that the rendering "brothers and sisters" is truly more accurate.
To further defend this move in translation by the NRSV, look at Acts 8:12 which states: "But when they believed Philip as he preached good news about the kingdom of God and the name of Jesus Christ, they were baptized, both men and women." Both men and women were baptized (thus added to the church). Not to mention Lois and Eunice, Timothy's Christian mother and grandmother, who were most certainly members of the early Christian church. It is also commendable how the translators render neutrally in reference to a city (i.e. - instead of 'America, she sure is great,' it would be rendered 'America, it sure is great.')
The New Oxford Annotated Bible, already using an accurate, scholarly, and well established translation, has excellent notes. It is an ecumenical edition, which basically means it is made up of many different views instead of being heavily influenced by a single narrow view. This is definitely a plus, since this would lead to it being less biased, therefore leading the student to come to their own conclusions instead of siding with predetermined bias.
These editors and contributors are the top religious experts in the world in their fields, so you can rest assured that the information found therein is the most up-to-date, accurate, and scholarly information currently available.
+38points
38of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully complete bible.

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
sleepingquail
Location:Concord, NH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the nicest Bible that I've seen, though I wish that there were more ribbon bookmarks. The accompanying commentary makes up for the paucity of footnotes in most NRSV Bibles.
I recommend this Bible to anyone that is curious about the Apocrypha. It is placed separate between the testaments and not dispersed as in the Catholic Bibles. I love this translation for it's clarity.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING!

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Isaac Curtis Johnson
Location:Clinton, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought many Bibles from Oxford over the years and know that they are know for their quality. I have an RSV Oxford Annotated Bible, an NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible 3rd edition and now this, the NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible 4th edition. With all of these Bibles I have opted to get the leather edition.
After having the RSV and NRSV 3rd edition NRSV NOAB, I figured that I knew what I was getting; thin pages with lots of seethrough, a handsome but stiff genuine leather cover, and pages that are in need of being un stuck because of the gold gilt. I know that I am sounding critical; however, I have truly enjoyed my other editions. I knew I wasn't paying premium price, so I expected what I got.
This Bible completely blew my exceptions out of the water! First off, the box is classy yet modern in its presentation; it is also of a very high quality with what seems to be a cloth material on the bottom of the box.
When I opened the box, I was surprised by the wonderful smell of leather. The other editions have a leather smell, but not like this. Upon opening the box, the whole room was filled with the smell of this wonderful leather.
After smelling such a wonderful aroma, I was all the more excited about getting the Bible out of the wrapper as quickly as possible without scratching the gold gilt page edges.
When I freed the Bible of it plastic cover, my hands confirmed what my nose had suspected. You see, it was some of the finest leather I had ever handled; it was thick, soft and supple. I quickly looked at the box again to make sure it did not say Calfskin Leather, because that is exactly what it felt like. This is one of the most flexible Bibles I have ever had the pleasure of holding. Where ever the Bible was not supported my my hands, it gracefully plunged toward the floor.
I realized that I was experiencing something very special, because this Bible had all the makings of a wonderful binding. It is smyth-sewn which allows the Bible to lay flat coupled with a limp leather cover that lays flat without the need of assistance. With that combo this Bible was able to lay flat at Genesis 1 to the end of the concordance. There is also a gold gilt line that goes completely around the edges if the inside of the cover. Most publishers don't do this anymore, so I am thankful that Oxford has kept doing it.
I am also thankful that Oxford has found a way to increase the content of the Bible while making it a hair less thick than the 3rd edition. This was achieved by making the pages a little thinner. Even though the pages are thinner, they seem to be more opaque, so you don't have to worry about a ton of seethrough.
The font in this edition is a little smaller, (which also helps to cut down on thickness) but the readability still retained do to spacing being improved.
I would recommend this Bible to anyone looking for a quality copy of the NRSV. Even if you don't agree with the notes, the quality is so good that it could be used without reading the notes. I have to say that this is the best New Oxford Annotated Bible I have ever seen and held, and quite possibly the best Oxford Oxford in general.
You can't go wrong with this one!
Thanks Oxford for producing such a wonderful edition.
Be Encouraged:-)
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible!

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nate
Location:Tazewell, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd NOAB I've owned! They are great! Great text, footnotes, and tools!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Classic Continues

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hanleyes
Location:South Milwaukee, WI
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible has been printed for years and recently the 4th Edition has been released. First I have to say when you open the box for the first time you are greeted by a wonderful smell of leather, this Bible has a scent all its own. I've had MANY leather bibles over the years but none had the smell of this leather. Also, when you pick it up, this is the softest genuine leather Bible I've ever had. You could even roll up the cover like a map and it folds back down flat. This is a good quality Bible. However, it can have a few issues. With that soft of a leather, it can be a bit limp when holding it in one hand. Also, I don't know what it is with Oxford Bibles, but the ribbons always seem to start fraying immediately...and you do get two which is helpful!
As for the content, the layout of it is great with it being one column making it easy to differentiate between the text of the Bible and the notes. Some say it doesn't have headings in the Biblical text, and it doesn't. But if you look at the notes, the "story" headings are there in bold. With all this good there was one bad: My first day I found a typo on page 592 for a caption on a map it says "Firsth Chronicles." Other than that little find everything about this Bible is amazing, highly recommended for content and quality.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
JuJu
Location:Earlville, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most informative bible I have ever used! I love it!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect - Beautiful Leather study bible

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
AirforceMama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband just started some seminary classes, and needed an excellent study bible. I was delighted to find this version in a leather binding - the leather is beautiful and classic (and manly!) and the quality of the study additions is exceptional. Had his name engraved, and I was proud to present it - perfect anniversary present!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, 4th Edition, Black, Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Crystal Clear

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ksilly
Location:Suburb of Chicagoo
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anyone that wants to understand the bible, this is the version for you!! Tons of info and maps!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.