Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2

Zondervan A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2

In the second book in the Kauffman Amish Bakery series, a widow discovers her deceased husband had disturbing secrets. As she tries to come to grips with the past, she considers a loveless marriage to ensure stability for her young family--with her faith in God hanging in the balance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.913 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Review 1 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Promise of Hope

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed this second installment of the Kauffman Amish Bakery series for the most part. Sarah is a young widow pregnant with twins, and grieving her husband's death. A relative of her husband, Luke, comes to town to check on him, except Sarah was told her husband was an orphan. The misunderstandings piled on from there. I get that Sarah was grieving, but the whining was overdone. I found several distracting repetitive phrases sprinkled throughout the book. I hope the third book is better, because I like the storyline of the series and will continue reading for that reason.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed the book very much

Date:February 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Darolyn Davis
Location:American Canyon, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed the book very much. Good romance. Kept me in suspence.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book with even better value!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2read
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is sure to become a favorite with those who love to read amish fiction. You'll want to read it again, and again, AND AGAIN! A great value!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clipston rocks it out again!

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want the Kauffman family to adopt me. I could learn to bake well enough to work in the bakery. The author paints such a lovely portrait of the family businesses, family connections and family ties in this brilliant series of hers. I read the book several months ago and still have the vivid imagery alive and well with me. The characters are well developed and the story is chock full of originality. Don't miss this one. It would be a shame. I don't think it is unreasonable to wish this series would never end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely awesome

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Lewiston, Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!! I have now read both of Amy's Kaufman Amish Bakery Series books, and I thought they were both wonderful. Amy Clipston is now my favorite author of Amish fiction. When I started reading A Promise of Hope, I could not put it down. I read it in two days. I love how she includes Bible verses in her writings and emphasises how we should turn our struggles and trials over to
God and rely on him. My heart really went to Sarah when she lost her husband in the fire. I cried when I read that part. I cannot wait until December for the third book to be released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
This is the second book in the Kauffman Amish Bakery series and the book that made me realise that Clipston is definitely my favourite author of Amish fiction. Beverly Lewis may well have earned a name for herself but I've fallen in love with the Kauffman novels. Clipston portrays the Amish as normal people who have the same problems as us "Englishers" and have to rely on God to help them through these struggles. I particularly like the fact that Clipston mentions specific Bible verses through her novels, rather than simply having vague references to characters praying. I really got the feeling that these characters looked to the Lord when they experienced problems. I also loved the sense of community that exists in the Kauffman family. I really envy the togetherness and commitment of Amish communities, which Clipston captures beautifully. I wasn't completely sure what to think of the storyline initially, as the idea of an Amish husband with a hidden past seemed a bit over-the-top, but it panned out wonderfully and I really felt the emotions of Sarah Rose and Luke. I've rather fallen in love with Clipston's characters and I hope that the epilogue was hinting at a third book in the series about Sarah Rose's brother Timothy. Another 5* from my favourite Amish author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul And Jean Tye
I loved this book. My heart ached for Sarah in losing her husband, finding out she is expecting twins and then to learn her husband had an affair and a child she knew nothing about. Then to have her husband's brother come and decease everyone who he is, was heartbreaking for Sarah. I loved how Sarah and Luke were brought back together again and his relationship with the family was restored. I loved how the Lord helped Sarah, her family and Luke thru all the trials they faced and brought them thru victoriously. I highly recommend this book and looking forward to book 3. I so appreciate the recipes as well. They sound delicious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Lou Freeman
The story certainly had a bit of mystery and twists to it. I was happy that the ending turned out the way it did. I hope there will be more series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky Eagle
Plain & simple...I couldn't put it down! As always, her books are awesome and I can't wait until the next one in the series comes out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Leatherman
This was good book. I really enjoyed book 1. Amy Clipston is a fairly recent author, but she is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amber
Absolutely Brilliant!Amy has done it again! I couldn't put this book down, just like the first one! I am hooked on Amy's books! Can't wait for the next one. Thank you Amy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Enjoyed this book Am waiting for book three to come out Have passed it on to other women to read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanna Laitinen
I thoroughly enjoyed Amy Clipstons first book A Gift of Grace, and this next book in her Kauffmann Bakery Series didn't disappoint either. The story is wonderful, well written, and keeps you wanting more. Its the story of having faith, struggling in your faith, and finding it again. A well written story worth reading. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Holly Eschenbrenner
Amy Clipston has written another wonderful book. For an uplifiting tale of faith, family, and friends, you can't do better than A Promise of Hope. Young widow Sarah Troyer's faith is shaken when she learns about her late husband's secret past. She finds love again when her brother-in-law Luke Troyer visits Bird-in-Hand to find out what has become of his estranged brother. The Kauffmans and Troyers are real friends by the end of the book; indeed, it takes a talented writer to make fictional characters seem so real for the reader. Read this book and let Amy's work bless your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Crabtree
I loved this book even more than the first in the series. Hopefully there will be more in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Well Amy has done it again. I thought Gift of Grace was an amazing book but the Promise of Hope is even better. From the first paragraph to the final sentence you will become a part of the characters and their lives. You cannot put this book down. It captures you and you get so involves in it and then when you are through it leaves you wanting more. I can wait till book 3 comes out. It is a must for everyone to read. If you havent read a book this year then you need to but this one. It's awesome. Thanks Amy and we are counting the days till Book 3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dawn S.
A Promise of Hope by Amy Clipston has yet again proven what a awesome Author Amy is! Her books just get better and better! If you love the Amish Fiction Books, this Series is a must!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sheila Groves
I love A Promise of Hope. I won a copy of the first book in the series A Gift of Grace, I loved it and bought several copies for gifts. I think A Promise of Hope is even better. I had to put it down and go to work this morning, and I was upset. Once you start this book, you will not be able to put it down. I love this book . My sister and I take turns buying books and the buyer gets to read it first, she is so anxious to read this book, she may buy her own copy. If you are thinking of buying this book, DO NOT HESITATE. IT IS WELLWORTH THE MONEY, THEN SOME.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sue
Amy Clipstons A Promise of Hope is one amazing story about a pregnant Amish woman whos suddenly widowed. She feels such loss, she doesnt know how shell raise the child on her own. I loved this story, the emotion so fantastic that I felt Sarahs pain, wondering what Id do in the same situation. Sarah has the love and support of her community, however, it all still came down to her being a single parent. How could she make it? She has to develop a stronger backbone, even learning to stand up for herself with others. The research done for this story is very evident, because I grew up in Lancaster, and it really rings true to the area and true to the Amish community. Id heartily recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a wonderful story about a woman in a strict community, faced with a tough life ahead. I bought the book at our local bookstore and cant wait to buy more of the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Promise of Hope, Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica Kotzbeck
I read Amy Clipston's first book in the Kauffman Amish Bakery,A Gift of Grace: A Novel (Kauffman Amish Bakery Series) and loved it. When I was given the oppertunity to read an advanced copy of the book not only was I honored, but excited to see what was going on with the Kauffman Family. I certainly suggest picking up a copy of ' A Gift of Grace' by Amy Clipston, but if you haven't read it, no worries, you can absolutely pick right up with this book. Set in Bird-In-Hand, PA, the main character, Sarah, is a first time expectant mother who is greiving over the tragic loss of her husband. Sarah moves back in with her parents who are trying their best to love and support their greiving daughter, reassuring her that people will help her take care of her babies. Sarah is overwhelmed with greif and sadness. While working in the family bakery she meets a man who has come to Bird-In-Hand to learn more about her husband's death. This man, Luke, claims to be a realitive. Sarah learns many things, some quite troubling, about her husband's past that she never knew, but she also learns quite a bit about herself as well. You'll laugh, you'll cry and you'll definitely fall in love with the hero of the story, as I did. A MUST READ for anyone who is a fan of Amish Fiction. If you like Wanda Brunstetter and Beverly Lewis, well the Amy Clipston should be a new favorite author of yours as well! I personally, cannot wait until the 3rd book in the series becomes available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>