Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Lost Melody

Zondervan Lost Melody

The beautiful piano sitting in the corner of Jill King's apartment begs to be played. For over a year, it has sat untouched, ever since a terrible accident shattered Jill's ambition of becoming a concert pianist. The ragged scar on her left hand is a cruel and constant reminder of the death of her dream.

But another dream is about to come to life-an unexpected, horrifying dream that will present Jill with a responsibility she never wanted. And choices she never wanted to make. Hundreds of lives depend on Jill's willingness to warn her small, oceanside town in Nova Scotia of a nameless, looming disaster. But doing so could cost Jill her reputation, jeopardize the political career of the man she loves, and ruin their plans for a future together.

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lost Melody
Review 1 for Lost Melody
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sideways

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While well written I just couldn't get into this different plot perspective. Nothing wrong, just didn't hit the target for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lost Melody
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Catt
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was an interesting story with a lot of twists and turns. I just had difficulty getting into the plot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lost Melody
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I love a novel that makes me think about my life.

Date:December 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the concept of this story and the underlying romantic elements. I also enjoyed the theme that true love sticks with someone during hard times. I think it's interesting that several stories have popped up this year that have similar themes of visions, dreams etc. being given to people. That said, the story had some compelling undertones. If we felt like God was telling us to warn people, would we keep silent in order to save ourselves from looking like we were nuts? That's a tough question.
Greg was a great hero. He struggled like anyone would with the whole thing and how it was influencing the campaign, but he was so supportive. He was a great example of how love is shown by holding another person up who is struggling, rather than abandoning them because how their problem might negatively reflect on you. I loved the symbolism there. Greg had guts. But Jill's belief was pretty compelling. It's hard not to say much that won't spoil the story. I wouldn't want someone to tip me off ahead of time.
That said, I loved the little old ladies who supported her as well. How many of us are lucky enough to have so many people stick with us through hard times and in the face of adversity? What a great bunch of gals! I got some warm fuzzies, too, that some people who were skeptical at first ended up heeding her warning. No doubt Jill felt affirmation as well. I grieved a bit toward the end there, plus my heart swelled with anticipation and joy at some of the events that took place. Hard to say what they are again due to the spoiler thing.
This novel made me think about how hard it would be to be called by God to be a modern day prophet. They were killed in the past. Nowadays they'd be shut up in an insane asylum, or drugged up to stop it. I could see the inspiration in this story by providing courage to someone who feels God is wanting them to do something, and they have been afraid to go ahead with whatever that thing is due to being ridiculed. If nothing else, Lost Melody shows that it's important to stick by your convictions and to listen to God's voice. It's also important to support those you love and not abandon them. Plus, the crisis gave Jill the courage to play again. That was heart-warming. All in all, a good read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lost Melody
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book! Must read!

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abubuff
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Virginia Smith and Lori Copeland have created a wonderful novel together. I was sucked in from the very beginning of the book and could not put it down. Each time I planned to read only a page or two I would find myself reading chapter after chapter.
It was so easy to instantly love the main character Jill. She is on top of the world when the accident happens and her life is forever changed. She struggles with issues that many of us have faced and yet she continues on with life - even at times when she may not want to.
This is an incredible book and I would suggest it to anyone looking for a book that you won't be able to put down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lost Melody
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book! I couldn't put it down!

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
AngelaRednour
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith did a great job penning Lost Melody. They did a great job of combining drama, humor and suspense. I especially love the 'Real Romance' between Jill and Greg. You see and feel all the doubts and fears that Greg has about Jill and her dream and he chooses to love her through it all anyway.
I received the book in the mail on a Friday Afternoon, by Saturday morning I finished it. And when I say Saturday morning, I mean, the wee hours of the morning. There was no putting it down for me!
This book will keep you guessing. It's not predictable, it's a book that will make you wonder if everything is going to turn out ok at the end.
I hope to see more Copeland/Smith books in the future!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lost Melody
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful, haunting storyline

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jill King's shining career as a concert pianist died a painful death when a subway crash severely injured her left hand. As she lay in the wreckage next to a mysterious, dying stranger, he promised her that God would not take away her dream.
But He did.
Jill's trying to survive, making every attempt to bury her bitterness and move on. And she's making progress, until a terrifying dream changes her life and makes her doubt her own sanity. When she finally accepts the dream as a warning of overwhelming disaster, it's becomes her responsibility to warn the town. In doing so, she runs the risk of destroying her relationship with the man she loves…along with his political career.
Lost Melody is a beautiful, haunting tale of lost dreams and wounded spirits…and of blind obedience to God's voice, despite a heartful of scars, damaged faith, and high-impact risk.
Copeland and Smith deliver a gripping storyline that forces the reader to find out what happens on the next page. The next day. The next dream.
A beautifully written, unforgettable tale.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lost Melody
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prophecy, tragedy, and romance and more

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An uplifting story to me. The struggles a person face in obeying God are not easy. The world shuns the warnings Jill feels lead to give to the town.
As Jill King survived a subway accident with Robert, an angel with her all the way until she was rescued. Later he appears to her again. I can relate to angels being there for you in an accident. My daughter and I turned upside in our car in 2003 and angel wings wrapped around both of us.
Prophecy is still real today but because of so many false prophecy a lot don't listen. You need wisdom to know whether it is from God or not.
Greg loves Jill and during all the taunts, etc. thrown at her after the prophecy, love wins out. He stands by her even though he does not believe at first.
God has a way of lining up events. He knows what is going to happen before it does. Jill's Grandma and her knitting club pray about it and line up with Jill to support her.
Jill feels the scars on her hand caused by the subway diaster has stolen her gift of music. But God sees the greater picture and as always he has a plan.
A story you won't be able to lay down. Hopefully it will renew your faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lost Melody
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More than just a story!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved the premise of this book, Lost Melody. We can lose our melody in many different ways. Circumstances happen and our lives are destroyed with no hope of looking back. We think they are destroyed, but what we see as destruction, God sees as an opportunity to turn ash into beauty. There isn't anything He cannot use. As we see a no answer happening in our lives, there is a yes from God waiting.
The main character, Jill King, has heard the no answer we never expect to hear, an accident took the gift of being a concert pianist away. One night changed her life forever. But love is alive in her life and that love is helping her to move forward. Dreams begin to come to Jill. She pretty much thinks she going crazy. If she shares these dreams it could destroy the career of the very one she loves, but if she doesn't destruction may come to the town she loves.
Again, I LOVE this premise! Do we listen to that still small voice or do we ignore it in fear? This is one of those great stories that carries such valuable life lessons. I love when a writer not only tells a story, but brings that story home to your heart and makes you ponder over it for days.
This book was a gift from Zondervan for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.