Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook

Zondervan Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
Review 1 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very helpful

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
rachael
Location:Cortland< ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
What an excellent book! We generally aren't taught who safe and unsafe people are and this really opened my eyes up. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone I know.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jaybee Dallas

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jaybee Dallas
Location:Atlanta, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book in 2009 right after a major engagement break up and this book changed my life. I was able to understand why I was attracting the wrong type of people. I learned how to set strong boundaries by recognizing unhealthy relationships before I got involved. I also learned how to look for and attract the right people.
I am now married to a wonderful man of God as a result of applying these learned principles. And I am now a Ministry Leader in our church, counseling others in God and inter-self wholeness. I have recommended this book to so many people needing healing of bad or broken relationships.
So Thank you Dr. Townsend & Dr. Cloud for your heart to heal and help the body of Christ and aboard with Truth, Grace & Love!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dani Bentle
Great book. This book really helped me to see and understand friends that really love and accept me unconditionally and those that do not. It also helps to explain how to not be one of those "unsafe" people yourself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cleveland Morrison
The principals the authors communicate in Safe People, is without question the most rewarding and fulfilling series I have ever taught. As a church planter who is currently leading a bible study that looks to be sensitive to people who are un-churched, I have found that Safe People not only taps into the felt needs of the un-churched but at the same time challenged those who consider themselves mature Christians to examine their attitudes, beliefs, and behaviors. It has also made them see scripture in a way they have never seen it before.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judith A. Mixell
This is a "must" read for all professing Christians. As a Lay Biblical Counselor and facilitator of a Christian 12-Step Codependency Support Group, I have encouraged all to add this book to their study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
dragonfly0213
This is an excellent book. Actually, anything by Cloud and Townsend is helpful. I would recommend this book as well as "Boundries" for everyone to read and to put into practice.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2008
Cloud and Townsend, authors of the classic relational book "Boundaries," offer a wealth of insight here on developing healthy Christian relationships. They distinguish between safe and unsafe people, listing three categories of the latter: abandoners, critics and irresponsibles. They then continue to describe the character traits of unsafe people, and their interpersonal traits. Part two of the book asks the question, "Do I attract unsafe people?" The authors explore why so many of us get into unsafe relationships. In part three, safe people are portrayed, and the need of them explained. They close with a chapter on deciding whether or not to repair or to replace a relationship that is unsafe.The portion of this book I found the most helpful was the valid point that churches do not always contain safe people. Many people in churches are unsafe, and some churches themselves are unsafe. The great need is for Christian discernment, and the authors provide insight in that regard.I loved this book. I recommend it highly to anyone seeking to build healthy relationships that strengthen one another in Jesus Christ.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janet Murray
This book reveals the differences between safe and unsafe people. It explains very clearly why we are drawn to unhealthy relationships and how to avoid them. Scriptures back up the facts. Learn how to know good people and understand that we are all worthy of great relationships with Jesus' blessing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Prayer Team Leader
This is a great resource for small group after a lesson from the Boundaries study by Drs. Townsend and Cloud. I highly recommend this easy reading, short book if you find a pattern of unhealthy relationships in your life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pastor Deronica Austin
As a Christ-centered counselor and Pastor, this book has provided answers to keeping vulnerable members safe they are strong to recognized the unsafe persons in the House of God. I wish this book was available years ago, it would have helped to save many others. I have incorporated most of their teaching into my lessons, Great Pastoral reference.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Charlene Quezada
My wife and I currently lead a divorce recovery small group from our church and the Safe People book is the second book we use in the process of recovery. We have now been using this book along with the workbook for the past 3 years with various groups and it definitely delivers the biblical insight and common sense to become a better judge of character and not of people. Our folks love it. We do feel that the authors could have included more in this book about healing from damaged emotions. However, they've done an outstanding job with this material. It's worth having this book be part of your library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Safe People: How to Find Relationships That Are Good for You and Avoid Those That Aren't - eBook
This review is fromSafe People.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2001
Customer Avatar
Gabrielle
This book is amazing. I saw me in so many of the pages. It's written in a personal tone, not an academic or clinical one. Townsend and Cloud talk to you, not at you. This was an eye-opening, life-changing book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.