Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Gods Aren't Angry, DVD

Zondervan The Gods Aren't Angry, DVD

Where did early humans get the idea that a divine being existed and needed to be appeased? How did Jesus transform the notion of sacrifice? Weaving together anthropology, history, and theology, Rob Bell explores the evolution of religion, shedding fresh light on Jesus' death---and what it means for us in the postmodern era. English and Spanish subtitles. 90 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Gods Aren't Angry, DVD
Review 1 for The Gods Aren't Angry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Find

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
AlwaysSeeking
Location:Chicago,IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of this product is excellent and the content was even better. This minister is one of the most unique I have ever seen. The mannerisms that he uses and or teaching methods are very thought provoking. I could not believe how much criticism he had received from the very people he is trying to teach, anyone who will listen. The content as a whole gives you a unique perspective on the sacrifice and person who is the great I AM, how we as a people have stumbled in the darkness to find favor, and how centuries of lost souls have invented ways to get close to God and how in Christ's sacrifice we finally have the light and guidance to see the way.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Gods Aren't Angry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Marion, Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I grew up in a very legalistic environment. My father was a career military man and both parents were "show no mercy" Christians. My 7 siblings and I could write volumes on the pure motives and methods of madness our parents displayed in rearing us. What a joy to hear Rob Bell describe the deep, abiding and ever reaching love of God! Feel free to share these comments; there are many others who need to know they are not alone in believing that God is angry because their parents were.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Gods Aren't Angry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tami Almason
This video was amazing. I would highly recommend it. Rob Bell is not only entertaining but he has a wonderful message to convey in "The God's aren't angry". You will never look at sacrifice the same.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Gods Aren't Angry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Myshrall
My heart is deeply saddened that Mr Bell and his sympathizers have so quickly abandoned the gospel of Christ for a man-made philosophy, with no basis in objective biblical truth, that makes the Word of God of no effect. The only reason Mr Bell can't reconcile a God of wrath is because his god is not the sovereign, holy, omniscient, omnipotent God of the Scriptures. The god he is pedaling is a god made in his own image after his own likeness. Life is so short, and I can only hope people will not waste their time by watching or reading Mr Bell's false teaching, but will rather search the Scriptures again and find the one true and living God who is holy in His love and His justice.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Gods Aren't Angry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lelia Batten
Many years ago in a moment of closeness with God, it occurred to me that the idea that we were taught that God needed a blood sacrifice so he provided one might be the other way around that we were the ones who believed God needed a blood sacrifice and God provided one that would forever remove that burden from us was more in tune with the loving heart of God. I didn't dare to say it because I knew it would sound heretical to the church. But Bob Bell in this book explains about a God so loving and less violent than we can possibly imagine. He does is simply and with humor but to think this way is truly revolutionary. Many will have problems with this teaching. It is hard to change one's way of thinking. I loved this DVD and will order eventually order the book. There is only one requirement for relationship with God and that is to believe in Jesus and this man does. His God has a heart to meet people where they are at.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Gods Aren't Angry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Monica Henriksen
My daughter and I had the pleasure of seeing Rob Bell in person during his The Gods Aren't Angry tour. Because of that of course I had to have the DVD as a remembrance. His teaching really makes you think and he really did shed new light on some things I thought I really knew about the Bible. It gave me a new perspective about my faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Gods Aren't Angry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kristine Brisson
Excellent teaching by Rob Bell (as always). Very insightful about the human condition and as always, very well applied to us. Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Gods Aren't Angry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
William Marks
Truly outstanding! This is a unique approach to explaining the relationship of God to man throughout history. Rob Bell's approach is captivating and thought provoking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.