Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Single Sashimi - eBook

Zondervan Single Sashimi - eBook

Venus Chau is a high-powered video game developer. Now she might be working for the man she's always hated . but what if he's no longer the man she thought she knew? The third book in the Sushi series offers romance with the spice of ginger.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Single Sashimi - eBook
Review 1 for Single Sashimi - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sushi Series Book 3

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Single Sashimi By Camy Tang
Sushi Series Book 3
Venus Chau lives a very controlled life. She works in the gaming world and being a woman is a disadvantage. When she was fat she was one of the guys or invisible. Now that she lost weight they look at her with other ideas. She just wants to get her program bug free and start her own company. Even if it means taking a job with Drake Yu and going to Grandma for help. Two things that go against everything in Venus.
I found this book to the be the most emotional. The characters are written in a way that they come to life and their trials come through the pages. The jealousy, betrayal, aggravation and trying to walk in four inch stilettos all seem to come alive. I say this in a positive way as the author has done a really good job of bringing the book to life.
Four cousins out of a large family have become Christians. The books are their struggles within the family and in their own personal walk with God. The series starts with Sushi for One? and then book 1.1 The Sushi Toss, which is a short, free read on Camy Tang's blog. Book two is Trish's tale in Only Uni and it ends with the fourth book, Jenn's story, Weddings and Wasabi. A unique series worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Crystal Laine Miller
Each cousin in this series is so real, I expect to meet her. (And I think I do know the Grandma.)The entire series is one to read, and I so wanted the final book to come out, too. What I love most about these books is the voice.My favorite kind of book to read. A master storyteller, Tang is one to watch for whenever she brings out a new story. I look forward to more from her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Keley
I was wondering why Zondervan had not released the audio book Single Sashimi. I was so taken by the story Sushi for One? Where a rape victim is forced back into dating by Her control-freak grandma issues an ultimatumif Lex cant find a date for Marikos wedding, her ruthless Grandma will cut off funding to the girls volleyball team that Lex coaches, that had been formerly coached by her deceased mother. A powerful moving story.Then I had to hear Only Uni a continuation of the five Christen cousins in a large Buddhist family. Where a flaky relationship obsessed person really refocuses her life on God only to be tempted and pressured to get back into a bad relationship. I would write more but it would be like telling you that Bruce Willis is a ghost in the The Sixth Sense. The book was stellar!Then Single Sashimi. I was a page turner, it was not boring. Major theme Honor your father and your mother, and latter tossed in Trust God. But it lacked the punch, Camy Tang was doing an Asian American modern Gilbert Morris style of Appomattox Saga that lasted him 14 books and Im on number 7 and they are cool!! But the Sushi series was awesome. In my review of Only Uni I said I beloved that is why God gave us the written language. But the depth of the soul and reachablity of the characters was missing. It did let you better understand grandma , but what was happening in Camys life.that when you expect a grand slam you get this bunt!!!This book is comparable to Amy Grants Next Time I Fall in loveAnd what is with this new book?? Deadly Intent
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
It's so exciting when an author you already love just gets better and better with every book - and this is definitely the case for me with Camy Tang's final installment in Ms. Tang's fun and sassy Sushi series, Single Shashimi. Of course, it could be the fact that Venus Chau is the most driven and snarkiest cousin in this colorful and hilariously realistic Asian family, but I don't think so. As much as I loved books one and two in this delightful series, Ms Tang has nailed this novel with a force that leaves you longing for more. But, alas, this is the final installment in the Sushi series trilogy, and I, for one, wish there were more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Missy Tippens
I'm a little late reviewing this book. It was my "leave in the car and read in carpool line" book. But I eventually, near the end, just had to bring it inside so I could finish it. I've loved each of the three books of the series! And I really loved Venus. I loved the way Camy brought her to life on the page--faults and all. I was rooting for her to get her happy ending. So once again, a fun read. Lots of laugh out loud moments. I think you'll really enjoy another installment of the Sushi Series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia A Perry
Camy Tang's Sushi Series books always make me hungry! Single Sashimi was no exception. Half the time I didn't even know what food Venus and the book's other fun characters were digging into--but somehow Camy Tang made me want it. There were plenty of other things I wanted while reading this entertaining novel: professional justice for our bright young heroine when she was wronged by sleazy competitors; confidence for her when she wavered about her worth; and, of course, love, love, love for the stiletto-heeled gaming whiz. There were a few chapters that ended with hero Drake arriving on the scene at just the right moment. Loved them--always made me smile. One thing you can count on with Camy Tang--she always gives the reader what she wants. Okay, maybe she doesn't deliver the food, but everything else? You bet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia A Perry
Camy Tang's Sushi Series books always make me hungry! Single Sashimi was no exception. Half the time I didn't even know what food Venus and the book's other fun characters were digging into--but somehow Camy Tang made me want it. There were plenty of other things I wanted while reading this entertaining novel: professional justice for our bright young heroine when she was wronged by sleazy competitors; confidence for her when she wavered about her worth; and, of course, love, love, love for the stiletto-heeled gaming whiz. There were a few chapters that ended with hero Drake arriving on the scene at just the right moment. Loved them--always made me smile. One thing you can count on with Camy Tang--she always gives the reader what she wants. Okay, maybe she doesn't deliver the food, but everything else? You bet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Holly O
Single Sashimi was different than its predecessors in that it has less of an Asian focus. Instead it's more centered on Venus' workplace. That being said, the characters are just as quirky, fun and wonderful as they were in the first two books. Camy has truly made Venus and her coworkers come to life. I wanted to strangle some of her coworkers, and I could picture the scenes in Jenn's kitchen. All in all, an excellent addition to the series. I only wish that Jenn's book would be released in print as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lainee
Single Sashimi was a very good book! I thought it was very interesting to read since I've never played video games, so to go inside someone's head who does on a regular basis was rather fun. The only downside of reading this book was being tempted to eat a Reece's everytime Venus mentioned it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2009
The story was engaging, but I didn't feel quite the same connection with Venus, the main character, as I did with the previous Cousins. But that being said Camy, once again, made a "real" woman who is dealing with some serious image issues. I liked that Camy took something I wasn't very familar with(the video gaming world) and explained it clearly and made it interesting.This is a great book for someone who wants to read something that has a great message and isn't "preachy" christian fiction. The author also tied up some loose ends in Single Sashimi, so if you've read the previous books in the Sushi Series, you better read this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Veronica
I thoroughly enjoyed this book with the very straight forward Venus. I just could not put this book down from the near three stooges accident at the beginning to the passionate spontaneous kiss to the mud covered ending. Camy Tang writes a delight can't wait to keep reading book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Livvie
There are a few things I love about series... You get to extend the story longer, learn more about other people. The bad part of about the series is that they eventually must end, and this is the last of Camy's Sushi series, but it is a winner like the first two. Camy really lets God shine through her work, and you get to apply Venus's life lessons to your life which is what you really want in a christian novel. :) Awesome, awesome book, get the ENTIRE set! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tara Robertson
Single Sashimi is an amazing third book in the Sushi series by Camy Tang. I loved ALL THREE books in this fun series. I especially loved the message in Single Sashimi- the female lead character can be strong, independent and completely imperfect and still follow God.The character of the Grandmother is fascinating, crazy, infuriating, and a wonderful addition to this series. I love this look into a typical Asian family.Camy Tang writes extremely well and I was engaged in this story from the very first page. Her descriptions make you feel like you are RIGHT THERE and that these characters are ones you could know in real life.I love this series because it is not your typical Christian chick lit. There are no flaky platitudes just real life women doing their best to follow God even when it is tough. Give this series a try, you won't regret it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tina
Right when I started reading the series and the blurb about this book and the excerpt, I knew Id like this. Why? Because Venus is a game developer. In short, shes a geek! I love it when the protagonist is a techie, or at least, works in a tech field because it is indeed a male-dominated industry indeed. Plus I love that I can somehow understand the industry terms that Camy used in this book. Venus is probably the strongest character among the four cousins in the series. Not only because shes in a very demanding field of work, but also because of her experiences in the past on how she used to be overweight and how she lost it because of a stomach virus and not because of any weight loss product, and when she was finally thin, the guys she work with suddenly view her as a sex object rather than a person. In that kind of world, you really have to be tough. But even in her toughness, I like that shes very professional and she knows when to draw the line between work and her personal life.Similar to Sushi for One?, the novel is kind of long, but its never without a dull moment. It feels like I was watching a movie, and theres always something interesting ahead. The climax was fun it made me want to stop reading because I didnt want to read what would happen next because I just know that its not going to be good for Venus, but at the same time I couldnt put down the book! The ending was very satisfying and romantic it felt like Venus and Drake were just doing a dance during the story where they werent allowed to touch each other, and until finally, they do so at the end.The faith aspect is neatly tied in too, and its not preachy at all. The message is delivered in a simple and straightforward way with a cute symbolism for the character. Great book, something I would definitely recommend to everyone I know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katie
This is the first book I've had the pleasure of reading by Camy Tang, but it won't be the last. I literally couldn't put it down. I can't wait to go back and read the first two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
I bought all three books together and read them in sequence. They were each a fun read, although the three cousins were all quite different so the books were each unique as well. I didn't particularly like the grandmother, who came across as obnoxious and very controlling - but maybe all relationships were a bit slanted through the eyes of the cousins who didn't quite "fit" in the family. And while the cousins each professed to be Christians, it sure took them awhile to figure out what that meant in terms of life! They didn't radiate much testimony to their unsaved relatives, but maybe they'd improve as they each finally got their act together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Mmmmm! May I have seconds, please? I think this book was my favorite out of the Sushi Series, which is weird because I didn't think I was going to like Venus at all. She often seemed cold, hard-nosed, and almost heartless, especially around Trish. But as happens sometimes with real people, once I got to know Venus, I liked her. I even found myself identifying with her intelligence, her workaholic-ism, and her weight struggles. And when she met Drake dressed in the Marchessa gown...oh, how fairytale was that? I also loved her interactions with Mia and the other girls, and enjoyed her spiritual journey from legalism to truly listening to God.Overall, I feel this series was one of the funniest and best I have read. I would have liked to see more of each character's relationship with God, and I found it odd that sometimes, the cousins seemed almost too much alike. But like my favorite Chinese restaurant, I will gladly be coming back to this one again. Good job, Camy! I hope you can give us more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carole Frankel
This is a very enjoyable book. Even though it's the third in a series, anyone can start with it. The family dynamics of this Asian family transcends any culture. The book is informative of the gaming industry, one I knew nothing about. At the same time trying to develop her own business, Venus grows in her personal prayer life. Making the jump from rote prayer to really letting God lead her in life's decisions is a central theme. Venus starts slowly by volunteering at a churches teen group. In her efforts to answer tough questions by the teen girls, Venus finds she has to answer similar questions in her own life.I recommend not only this book but the others in the series. Camy Tang shows an easy reading style in her books and she develops the inner struggles we all share in living the Christian life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sandra Lee Smith
Once again Camy Tang delights us with another fun read. I love her portrayal of family and even love Grandma. Who doesn't have someone like grandma to relate to?? What a kick of Wasabi. And I loved her characters. Camy's writing style brings them alive with passion and fun. Venus is great, my favorite so far. If you haven't read the first two in the series, you must find SUSHI FOR ONE and ONLY UNI.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Single Sashimi - eBook
This review is fromSingle Sashimi, Sushi Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2008
Sashimi is a Japanese dish of thinly sliced fish served with wasabi or Japanese horseradish made into a paste from the root plant, wasabi. Understanding the title of Camy Tangs latest release, Single Sashimi, I believe Camy Tang has indeed created a character that is fresh, spicy and delectable Venus Chau. Single Sashim is the third book in the Sushi series, and it is hands down my favorite!Venus Chau is a smart, aggressive talented software programmer who is trying to make a place for herself in the male dominated world of video/computer gaming. Venus has combined great discipline and sheer determination to re-create her image both physically and emotionally in order to reach the pinnacle of success in her chosen field. However, as a Christian, she is struggling to determine whether or not she is actually seeking Gods direction or whether she is simply going forward in her own strength and only performing her daily devotions and prayer from sheer routine and without meaning.Surrounded by a colorful, vocal set of cousins who are also fellow Christians, Venus finds a true sounding board for the unexpected events that begin to take place as this story unfolds. Suddenly, her grandmother and mother begin to insert themselves into a variety of personal situations in her life at the same time her carefully crafted career path begins to unravel. What on earth is going on? Well, Gods ways are always so much higher than our ways, and it is absolutely beautiful to watch the way He reveals Himself to Venus! Besides the colorful family dynamic, there is an eclectic cast of co-workers, inner-office spies, investors that arent all they appear to be and a series of events that will keep you reading at a frantic pace. Interspersed among the action are scenes that will have you holding your sides with laughter!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>