Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook

Revell Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook

Cate Kincaid is just dipping her toe into the world of private investigating until one of the many resumes she has floating around lands her a real job. All she has to do is determine that a particular woman lives at a particular address. Simple, right? When the big and brooding house happens to contain a dead body, this routine PI job turns out to be anything but simple. Is Cate in over her head?
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 2896%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun, quirky mystery

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meet Cate Kincaid - private eye. Or at least temporary help for her retiring private investigator uncle until she finds a real job. On her first assignment, all she must do is verify the current address of a young woman who is receiving an inheritance - simple right? Until she encounters the Whodunit Book Club and a dead body at the residence. Then things get a bit more complicated in the first of Lorena McCourtney's Cate Kincaid Files - her mystery novel, "Dying to Read."
For all those twenty-somethings who are out of college and can't find jobs in their respective career fields or discover it's not exactly what on wanted to do after all, this book is most appropriate - through a rather self-deprecating comedy, it speaks to the longing to find a job one loves, to the discontent of being stuck and not really going anywhere in life, and to the resulting desperation to do just about anything to finally do something with one's life. Cate is stuck in this stage of life: her job, her love life, her haircut - nothing has been going right. While the author may not be a twenty-something herself, she definitely must have some in her acquaintance to capture the feel so well.
While a number of the characters are on the eccentric side, making for a delightfully colorful cast, Cate is fairly down-to-earth (aside from taking advice from an overweight, deaf cat; but then who doesn't do something odd now and then?) and easy to connect with. I found myself agreeing with her about characters she liked and wanting to believe the best of them, much like real people - when I like someone, I want them to always do the right thing, to live up to their potential. Sadly, humans are broken creatures in a broken world, so no one can meet our expectations all the time. Fiction mirrors life in that aspect.
Like her wonderful Ivy Malone mysteries, "Dying to Read" is a quirky cozy mystery that is full of humor. There's no big lesson to be learned in the book, but Cate is obviously a believer who is willing to "do the prayer thing" for the people in her life who don't want to be preached at but need some help. It is a highly enjoyable read for any time one is in the mood for a lighthearted piece of inspirational fiction. 4 out of 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quirky humor adds to zany mystery

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would-be private investigator Cate Kinkaid fills in for her uncle and discovers more than she expected. She follows up on a suspicious death with too many suspects and finds her own life may be in danger. Helpful handyman Mitch Berenski comes to her aid and wants to rescue her love life too. A tree-loving lookalike seems to complicate things rather than help find the answers. Will Cate be able to solve this Whodunit?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad that this author is back to writing and that she has come back with a bang! In this new book young Cate Kinkad, who is down on her luck, picks up a job with her uncle who is a private investigator. While on a routine missing person search, Cate runs across a dead body at a book club meeting. Chaos soon follows.
I love the Cate character, she is fun and smart, but with a touch of human insecurity that made her all the more realistic.
Mitch was great and I thought he was a terrific counterpart for Cate. I wish he had a bigger part in this story, but maybe he'll be a bigger part of the story in book # 2.
Other than the fact that I wish the women of the book club were more a part of the story, ( they kinda got pushed into the background) I loved the story. I finished it in a day and half. I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I'm Dying to Read another Cate Kincaid adventure!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:Lodi, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Because I so adore Lorena McCourtney's cozy mystery series featuring Ivy Malone, I will read any new book she authors with excitement. Dying to Read started out a bit slowly, but once I got into it, I had to keep reading.
Cate Kinkaid finds temporary work for her recuperating Uncle Joe as a Private Investigator. For her first assignment, all she has to do is find out if a woman named Willow Bishop lives at a certain house. Simple enough. But when she arrives at the Victorian house, instead of finding Willow, she discovers a suspicious book club of gray-haired mystery readers, a deaf cat, and a dead body.
The situation is pure cozy mystery fare and as an amateur sleuth Cate Kinkaid doesn't disappoint. Added to the list of suspicious characters, are some very bad people. But sometimes it is difficult to tell them apart. Willow Bishop turns out to be a quirky lookalike for Cate Kinkaid. Willow turns out to be my favorite character, although I am not entirely certain I understand her motives. Willow is a free-spritied, outside the box thinker. Not your average character for a cozy mystery. Of course, Cate also meets a handsome guy and before many chapters, this case proves to be the perfect light adventure to read on a chilly winter day.
I thoroughly enjoyed this cozy mystery and hope to read more about Cate Kinkaid in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love Lorena McCourtney's books!

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
htlpshuck
Location:Louisiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another good mystery, Lorena McCourtney is one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Start to a New Series!

Date:November 9, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is such a fun read! Loved the new character of Cate Kinkaid. The author did a wonderful job of character and story development. The story features a eclectic group of characters, some you root for and some you don’t.
The storyline moves along at a good pace and kept me guessing right until the end. The relationship between Cate and her Uncle and Aunt is explored with a background history included and I found it refreshing. Cate relies on the Lord prays through most situations she unwittingly gets in to and gets several opportunities to witness to people.
Looking forward to Book Two of The Cate Kinkaid Files!!
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a quirky read

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I chose this book, because I wanted to find out what a ‘cosy mystery’ is. Since ‘cosy’ is not a word I would associate with mystery, I was always intrigued when I saw the phrase. So, I learned that ‘cozies’ include amateur detectives, take place in a small community, have quirky character and violence is often toned down by humour. (Hope I got all that right.) And this book has a whole lot of quirky.
The storyline in this book didn’t really keep my eyes glued to the page, but just piqued my interest enough to keep reading. I also didn’t come away yearning for the next book in the series. I did however enjoy the quirky characters, especially the ladies in the Whodunit Club and Cate Kincade, a clueless, but lovable private investigator wannabe. Octavia, the cat, who also falls under ‘quirky’ is a good fit with the other characters. With all the lies dished out in this tale, I was eager to find out ‘whodunit’.
I would have loved to see more dialogue – much of the story is Cate’s thought process. But it is an interesting way to get to know a main character, I suppose. If you like a slow-paced, peculiar and amusing read, this one will do. As for me, if it’s a mystery, I like the characters who solve it to be professionals in the field.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Many Plot Twists!

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Intricate plot, with many twists.
Cate Kincaid is a private-eye-in-training, who stumbles upon the body of a who-done-it mystery bookclub member. Cate finds clues and escapes numerous perils in this cozy mystery novel.
I've never read a book classified as a true mystery before, I've read suspense and action, but never a true mystery. And to my surprise I found that I enjoyed it--alot!
This book had a wonderfully, full cast of characters with multiple suspects that kept me guessing till the end. I loved how the characters were well developed and I really liked the friendship that was developing between Mitch and Cate. I really liked seeing them together, I thought that they intereacted very well. Mitch was a really great guy, who made a great side-kick!
I really liked how Cate wasn't a perfect main character in that she was far from perfect and she realized it. There were a few times when I questioned her actions but I came to see latere why she acted the way that she did.
Overall I loved how there was alot of action and things were always happening so that there was never a dull moment, the story was engaging with a intricate plotine, and there were tons of characters that were all very full and developed. I haven't read a ton of mysteries like this one before, but after reading this one, I'm thinking that I'll have to read some more!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Murder mystery with a dash of humor and romance

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Cate has bounced from job to job and failed at each one. She takes a part time job for her private investigator uncle and from an easy assignment of finding a woman, becomes embroiled in a murder mystery. The web of deceit seems to be everywhere, how do you know who to believe and who you can trust? Enters the knight in shining armor, who seems to be the armor bearer, but who comes to her rescue several times. Her reluctance to accept help plays havoc with the romance.
There are many interesting characters throughout the story, they often are not what they first seem, which keeps the reader interested in the story. It is a fun read with lots of humor interspersed with the mystery. The romance is real and happens in realistic moments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun mystery

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dying to Read is one of those books that you simply don't want to put down because the character is so utterly likable, as human as you or I, and you have to find out how they are going to get out of the mess they find themselves in! Cate Kinkaid is a fun character, one who refuses to give up on her life despite one disappointment or dead end after the other, and who as a result ends up discovering her real passion in life. This mystery isn't one of those suspense books where you don't want to turn off the lights or you find yourself holding your breathe as you watch a scene unfold. In fact, I had to suspend my belief quite a bit at the end as Cate finds herself in some life threatening circumstances that resolve themselves a bit too neatly. But I had such fun reading this book, and it's one of those mysteries where I turned the last page satisfied by the story and yet wanting to return to the world of Cate Kinkaid to see what other mischief she finds herself in. The plot definitely has some twists and turns that held my interest, and I absolutely loved how the situation with the cat turned out! (I won't say more for fear of ruining the book for you).
So, if you are looking for a fun mystery with stellar characters, and even a bit of romance to keep things interesting, then this is the book for you. I award this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2.5 stars

Date:August 25, 2012
Dying to Read by Lorena McCourtney is a cute, cozy mystery featuring the trials of Cate Kinkaid as she steps up to help her uncle and take on her first case as a private investigator. I had high hopes for the novel after reading only a few pages. McCourtney had me laughing and certain that I would enjoy getting to know Cate over the next 300 pages. Unfortunately, the novel moved along slowly and I had trouble staying motivated to read. The last 70-80 pages picked up, though, and the novel ended with a bang—including an ending to the mystery that was unexpected (in a good way). By the end, I had also warmed up to Cate's character.
This novel didn't totally click with me, but many of the other reviews have been singing McCourtney's praise for this cozy. [2.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Brand New P.I. And A Mystery Thriller

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorena McCourtney in her new book “Dying to Read” Book One in The Cate Kinkaid Files series published by Revell Books introduces us to Cate Kinkaid.
From the Back Cover: All she wanted was a paycheck. What she got was a murder.
Cate Kinkaid’s life is . . . well, frankly it’s floundering. Her social life, her career, her haircut–they’re all a mess. Unemployed, she jumps at the chance to work for her PI uncle, even though she has no experience and no instincts. After all, she is just dabbling in the world of private investigating until she can find a “real” job.
All she has to do for her first assignment is determine that a particular woman lives at a particular address. Simple, right? But when she reaches the dark Victorian house, she runs into an hungry horde of gray-haired mystery readers and a dead body. This routine PI job is turning out to be anything but simple. Is Cate in over her head?
The classic murder mystery tales are not dead they just took a long siesta that’s all. However, with “Dying to Read” nap time is over and it is time to do some serious investigating. There have always been amateur sleuths, most of them knew what they were doing this is the first time I have ever found an investigator that really didn’t have a clue as to what to do. Ms. McCourtney has given us a prize in Cate Kincaid. She is just a lot of fun and we are with her as she is just like us as most of us would not know what to handle an investigation either. This is a fun read, it is a fast read, however I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Ms. McCourtney is an excellent writer who knows how to twist your nerve endings as she tightens the suspense. I recommend this book, and I am glad I have found Lorena McCourtney and am looking forward to the next book in this series.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I want to read more!

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Are you Dying To Read? Gotta love that book title, eh? :)
I found this book to be entertaining. Lorena definitely kept me guessing and eager to keep reading in order to solve the mystery. I never did solve the mystery and had an ah-ha moment when it was finally revealed.
Though Cate's character didn't seem to think very highly of herself. I found her to be strong, not easily swayed and possessed a very good work ethic.
I liked that this book only had a hint of romance. It was mostly about the mystery and how Cate went about trying to solve it. I can't say there was anything I didn't like about it, only that it ended too soon and I want the second book....now!
This was the first book I have read by Lorena McCourtney and Dying to Read made me want to read her other books. It was quite refreshing.
“Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

JOIN YOUR BOOK CLUB CAREFULLY. . .

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cate Kinkaid is ...ummm....going through a career crisis. She always intended to be a teacher, but after graduating from college with a degree in education, she discovered that she just isn't a good teacher. She has had some interesting jobs since then, but nothing permanent. While waiting for something to turn up, she has accepted an offer from her uncle to work in his PI firm. Nothing too exciting; just an address confirmation. But when the address confirmation turns up a dead body and a long list of suspects, Cate finds her temp position to be more exciting than she ever imagined.
Yay! This "cozy little mystery" turned out to be good! Certain phrases often worry me, and that's one of them. And to perfectly honest, I often worry about Christian fiction. Anyone who has read my reviews in the past already knows that, but I just have to say it; in the past, authors have had a hard time combining Christian values with either romance, murder, or dishonesty. They usually went heavy handed with the values and soft-soaped the "bad stuff". NEWS FLASH: It's a real world and bad stuff happens. So, when an author comes along like Ms. McCourtney and manages to realistically portray Christians in a real world, I'm happy. I know it's still fiction, and it's still a "cozy" mystery, but it's not too cozy. And that's the way I like my mysteries.
5 stars
“Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a fun book!

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Lorena McCourtney's books and was so excited that she has this new series out. This is such a fun book. It's interesting with its plot twists and also funny. I don't know how she comes up with such funny and unexpected turns. I'm very much looking forward to the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to read more books about Cate Kinkaid. I’ve always loved mysteries, and have to admit to a secret desire to become a PI. Well, I guess that’s not a secret anymore.
Cate seems to have spent a lot of time bungling through life. I guess that’s why it was no surprise to see her bungle through a murder investigation.
She also managed to bungle through one love relationship, and got off to a rough start with another one.
I certainly hope Ms. McCourtney plans on writing a lot of these Cate mysteries. I’m also interested in learning more about Mitch. And then there’s Willow. I hope she pops up every now and then.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dying To Read

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dying to Read is an action packed book. Cate Kincaid is now living with her Aunt Rachael an Uncle Joe, after trying a number of job, she is now trying a hand at being a PI. Uncle Joe trusts her, and gives her a case to find a missing niece of a man from TX.
She ends up at the last place Willow lived and ends up at a murder scene. This is just the beginning of the adventure we are about to embark on. Once started you have to read to the end to find out the ins and outs of what is going on. Throw in a bit of romance...may two, new friends and foes. There is a lot of action going on...and your going for a great ride.
Enjoy this great mystery, and you will have trouble figuring it all out ahead of time. I recommend this book to cozy up with.
I received this book from the Publisher Revell, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A job turns into more than she bargained for

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My thoughts: I found Dying to Read to be an entertaining, light cozy mystery read. It is full of absurd situations and conversations, but that makes it all the more charming and entertaining. It is replete with little old ladies who gossip behind each others backs but who are in a mystery reading group. But read is not all they do together. It seems there is a bit of risk taking involving money and/or scams taking place.
Out-of-work Cate is simply suppose to locate a "missing" person for her temporarily disabled uncle who is a private investigator. Cate stumbles head over heels into a most convoluted mystery situation involving murder, bribery, lying, cheating, and down-right danger.
During her investigations into the missing person, who just happens to look like a twin sister to Cate, she meets her knight in shining armour who is strong, handsome, protective, and caring. Now this sounds interesting, but there is an old fiance who wants to creep in, too. But this is a mystery and not a real romance, yet it never hurts to have a bit of sweet newly blooming romance on the fringes.
A fun read that will help you while away some time when you just want a little bit of relaxing.
READ AN EXCERPT NOW! (pdf Format) http://www.bakerpublishinggroup.com/M...
“Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.” ISBN: 978-0-8007-2158-9 $14.99, 320 pages.
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of Dying to Read by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing in order to render my honest opinion and review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Move Over Janet Evanovich!

Date:August 20, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Move over, Janet Evanovich! An unemployed Cate Kincade’s life is a mess: her social life, career, and haircut. Her PI uncle hires her to do her first assignment as an inexperienced private investigator. All she has to do is locate someone. But, of course, after she finds the person she can’t walk away. She goes from one predicament to a more complicated predicament and on and on. Some kooky characters, a murder mystery, and a budding romance move this cozy mystery along. The dialogue is witty and the action is snappy, making this a page-turner. The laugh-out-loud moments are delightful. Cate Kincade will be around for a long time. Can’t wait for her next adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dying to Read, Cate Kincaid Files Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Female Sleuth

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Mystery lovers have a new, female sleuth: Cate Kincaid. In addition to her bright mind and her ability to ferret out details, she sometimes trips over clues, but she manages to solve the crimes.
At the beginning of this light-hearted cozy mystery, Cate is grabbing the chance to work in a temporary position of Assistant Private Investigator; after all, it's the only paid job she can find. As she stumbles along, her curiosity takes her places few would venture.
The story is rich in quirky characters. There's the Whodunit book club, a group of middle-aged mystery readers; Willow, a tree hugger, who wins people over with her cooking; Octavia, a blue-eyed, fluffy, white cat who seems to direct Cate; and a hint of romance supplied by a couple of eager young males.
I can't wait for the next Cate Kincaid Files to be published! Thank you to Donna Hausler for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>