Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook

Revell Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook

The police say her father's death was suicide. But Kelly Warren says it was murder--and she has new evidence that she believes proves it. Detective Cole Taylor doesn't put much credence in her claim, and nothing in his case review suggests foul play. But when Kelly ends up in the emergency room with a suspicious life-threatening medical condition, the incident strikes him as more than just coincidence. Digging deeper, he discovers she's linked to a long-ago crime. Is history repeating itself? And who wants Kelly silenced?
Average Customer Rating:
4.703 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 out of 3797%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was an enjoyable read.

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wink
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read all the books in this series and found them to be quite enjoyable. There is suspense, romance and enviable family relationships all done in a clean and godly manner. While there were no deep, dark plots to figure out, I found myself looking forward to picking up the novel and curling up in my chair with a frosty ice tea to enjoy my favorite past time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOOVED MEETING THIS FAMILY!

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oh, yes the Taylors are definitely a GREAT bunch and I absolutely loved meeting them in the Guardian of Justice series! Seriously.
What a pleasant surprise it was to witness more funny, heart-warming family moments in the last book, which had me grinning every time I re-read them.
People, I love them!
Kudos to Hannon because she really does know how to develop her characters and make a reader fall for them. (And we're excluding the evil ones in this!)
Lethal Legacy is a story full of surprising twits, de-lightful and humorous moments and a very sweet romance. I found that compared to the other books in this series there was less suspense in this one, but I'm not complaining since I'm not an avid reader of Suspense! I was really shocked and disgusted by the criminal in this book, but the smooth, sweet conclusion to this series left me wishing it wouldn't end so soon!
Just a couple of things. I do admit that some parts were a bit slow and like I said for the 2nd book, I wished Liz's character had played a more active role in this!
Nevertheless, I give Lethal Legacy 5 stars and I think this series is of the best I've read in 2012.
What a great writer!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipferling
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great story, good series... looking forward to next book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

loved it, but

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love Irene Hannon's suspense books. This one was no exception. Cole's story was as good as his two siblings. He finally realizes he wants to settle down and he thinks he has found the right girl. Can he solve her father's murder? Or was it really suicide. The story and suspense were great. And here is my but. This story ended exactly as the previous 2 in this series. Boy meets girl and falls in love. At the end of the book girl gets kidnapped and almost dies, but lives. Boy gets girl. I love happy endings and wouldn't want it any other way. I am no writer, not even close, but can't we catch the bad guy a little different at the end? Still love her books and will continue to buy them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful series!

Date:September 11, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The third book in the Guardians of Justice series, this book is full of suspense. I was kept turning pages....and yes, sometimes even looking ahead because I am sadly, that type of reader. I like to prepare myself for what lies ahead. (I hate admitting that about myself, but that's the only way I can read a suspense novel!) I had read the first book of hers and now the third, but I want to go back to read the second one. I don't feel like I was missing anything, but I know that reading all the books in a series definitely helps complete the story.
Kelly's father is dead and Detective Cole is certain it was just another suicide. Kelly feels strongly that something else is wrong and that her father was actually murdered. If Kelly is correct, is her life put in danger, too? Will she reveal a secret that just might provide more information on her father's death? If so, will Cole be able to protect her?
I don't read very many suspense books, but I have read hers and a few others. I feel like it's an honor for me to say that I liked an author's suspenseful novel because of how much I tend to avoid them! Even if you don't tend to like these type of books, Hannon writes with such wonderful skill that it becomes a book that is extremely hard to put down and out of your mind. I'm still thinking about it!
___________________
I received this book free from Revell in exchange for my honest opinion of this book. Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Hard to Put Down

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So hard to put down!
They said it was suicide. Kelly doesn't believe them. Kelly believes that it was murder. And she is determined to prove it.
Cole Taylor thinks this is another open and shut case. Can Kelly prove him wrong so that together they can confront her father's murderer?
Non-stop action, with no "good stopping place." I can always count on Irene Hannon to write a great suspense novel, full of action, mystery, not to mention the sparks of love that light up the air.
This is the kind of book where if you read wnat to read one chapter, you are gonna end up reading twenty. The characters and plot are well written and realistic, making the story utterly believable. And there is never a dull moment, something is always happening!
I loved how there were moments where I would hold my breath, the suspense was so thick. I also thought that the romance element of it was really well done, and I liked watching Kelly and Cole's relationship grow.
Overall, this was a perfect conclusion to a heart-pulsing series. The only thing that isn't perfect about it is that that it is the last one of the series! This is a book that I highly recommend and had a hard tiem putting down!
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's Official!

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leigh
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's official! Irene Hannon sealed the deal as my favorite author with this final book in the Guardians of Justice series. I will have to admit to a little disappointment as the pages kept turning and I realized I was coming to the end of the book. Somehow, you feel as if you know these people. Great plot, intriguing characters, and all-around well-written novel. Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good read - couldn't put it down.

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
teatime
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Irene Hannon always writes brilliant suspense / romance and this one doesn't disappoint. Read it when you know nothing else will interrupt as it's hard to put down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her best yet - and that says plenty.

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
masherri8
Location:Middle Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Literally read in one session. It helps that I am retired. When does her next one come out?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Irene Hannon does it Again!

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
living4Christ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Irene Hannon books never fails to impress and this book is no exception. It you're looking for a book that has engaging chracters, nail bitting suspense and deep thread of faith throughout then pick up this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent mystery

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
When Irene Hannon's books arrive in the mail, I have to drop what I'm doing and start reading. They suck me in and don't let go. I love the level of suspense and mystery her books contain without surrendering excellent characters that I can fall in love with. Kelly is one of those characters and of course we get to revisit Cole Taylor and his family that we have gotten to meet in the first two books in this series. Kelly is just about ready to let go of her suspicions in her father's sudden death when something unexpected shows up at her house that cinches that gut feeling for her that her dad did not commit suicide. The detective on the job isn't there when she goes in to discuss the latest revelation and she ends up talking with Detective Cole Taylor. The story rapidly picks up from there with Cole being called on to rescue Kelly over and over as it becomes clear that someone is not happy that Kelly won't let this drop. Excellent ending to this series, but I was sad to see it go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Irene Hannon completes her Guardians of Justice series with Cole Taylor’s story, brother to Jake and Alison who featured in Fatal Judgment and Deadly Pursuit, respectively. With a solid blend of suspense, mystery and romance, Irene provides readers with another satisfying story that engages and entertains. Cole and Kelly are sound characters who are easy to connect with and while their attraction and burgeoning romance is a fait accompli their relationship journey was fun to read. The banter between Cole and soon to be brother in law, Mitch, added some lighthearted moments to the story. Those who have read Irene’s previous novels in the series with tread recognisable territory with this couple thus appealing to the many readers who find comfort in the familiar. Lethal Legacy will well please Irene’s many fans and instill an anticipation for her new Private Justice series commencing with Vanished, releasing this January.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like all of Irene Hannon's other books, I flew through this page-turner in a day and a half. This book was written with the same enthusiasm, grit and romance that is her trademark. If I had down side to this book, it was the fact that I figured out who the bad guy was fairly early on in the book, but even with that, I still needed to know how things ended. Great ending to her second series and I can't wait to get started on her new series. This was a great read don't miss it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Two thumbs up from me!

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved the main character, Kelly Warren's, determination. She refused to believe her father committed suicide and displayed persistence in trying to convince the police detectives there was more to her father's death. I cannot even fathom being able to do that in the midst of grieving, even six months later. Her character definitely lived out the motto, "Never Give Up."
The detective on the case seemed to have lost his way when he felt God had not answered his prayer the way he wanted Him to. It was a quick reminder to me that God doesn't always answer my prayers in the way or timing I think He should. His ways and timing are not mine.
One last thought stood out in the book - Relationships are hard work, but in the end it's always better to mend them before it's too late and not have to live with regret in the end.
I really enjoyed this book. It was an easy read, which is the kind I reach for when I want to relax. No heavy thoughts for me when I just want to zone out for a little while. For the most part the story kept me guessing. I was kind of surprised when the "mystery" was revealed. The romance part was predictable, but sweet nonetheless. :)
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A TRULY ENJOYABLE READ

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelly Warren lost her father five months ago. Although evidence points to suicide, and the police believe that to be the case, Kelly refuses to accept that. She is steadfast in her belief that her father was murdered, but with no apparent motive, the case has stalled. When she finds a small piece of evidence, there is enough doubt raised in the mind of Detective Cole Taylor to reopen the case. As they get closer to the answer, they also draw closer to one another. Will they be able to find the answer without losing their one chance at love?
In this third and last installment of the Guardians of Justice series, Irene Hannon has spun a spellbinder that keeps the reader on the edge of their seat. Although this is a series, it is not necessary to read the preceding installments in order to enjoy this book. The characters are believable, and while Kelly's Christian faith is clearly portrayed, it is not emphasized over the rest of the plot. A truly enjoyable read and worthy of 4 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Taylor family is back. Every one of these family members is special.
Cole Taylor is the lone romantic holdout, but maybe that won’t last.
A very stubborn and attractive Kelly Warren is determined to get her father’s case reopened. She thinks his death was a murder. There’s just no way her father would commit suicide.
You’ll find love mixed in with danger in this story. The suspense will keep you reading long into the night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Series Finale: Lethal Legacy (Guardians of Justice

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Who would have thought that a Christian suspense novel could have elements of The Godfather movies, Castle TV series, and a James Patterson book all while exploring faith and spiritual relationships? I think that Irene Hannon is the only author with the talent to pull it off. Lethal Legacy, the final book in the Guardians of Justice trilogy brings so much stuff that I love about great fiction (TV too!) and puts them all together to make a story that was very difficult for me to put down.
From the first I was very intrigued, it's not everyday you read a Christian book centered around murder and organized crime so this was a refreshing and a bit spine-tingling to boot. I always enjoy the heroines of Irene's stories as TSTL (too stupid to live) is never an issue and Kelly Warren is no exception. Her heroes are great too, they always have the alpha male thing going on without being overly arrogant jerks. Cole Taylor is one delish detective who is officially a member of Black 'n Gold Girl's Book Boyfriend Club. His devotion to finding the truth and getting justice for Kelly's late father as well his willingness to take as much time as needed to win Kelly's heart make's him an A-Okay guy in my book.
The story did lull a bit for me about 2/3 of the way through since there really wasn't any mystery surrounding the "bad guys" since we learned who they were pretty much straight off. Usually about that time in a story I'm looking for a red herring to throw me off a bit but that didn't happen. That said, the latter parts of the book were very suspenseful. I was really surprised at how Ms. Hannon handled one of the characters but then again this is a book about a crime family so I guess I should have known that somebody would get, to put it bluntly, knocked off.All in all Lethal Legacy is a book I'd recommend to anyone, whether they be male or female, who loves a good suspense story.
*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A crime of the past that bleeds into the present

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the book:
A determined daughter . . . .
A skeptical detective . . . .
A deadly secret . . .
The police say her father's death was suicide. Kelly Warren says it was murder--and she has new evidence to prove it. Detective Cole Taylor doesn't put much credence in her claim, and nothing in the case history review suggests foul play. But when he digs deeper and discovers startling information linking her to a long-buried secret, the danger escalates. Is history repeating itself? And who wants Kelly silenced?
My thoughts: WOW! A closed case with new information brought to light that leads to further unsettling incidences and coincidences. Skepticism gives way to tenacity as they probe deeper and deeper into the case.
Detective Cole Taylor takes a call from Kelly Warren whose father's death was ruled a suicide by the department. Kelly has new information that she believes confirms her intuitive opinion that her father absolutely did not commit suicide. Out of courtesy to a grieving only relative of the deceased man, Kelly who is stunningly beautiful, detective Taylor investigates. They further pursue a re-do of the scene of the death - her father's home.
Events turn deadly when Kelly reacts to her deadly peanut allergy at a location where there should not have been any peanut allergens. Fast forward....... things begin to enliven and move at a quicker pace as the killer tries to take the killing to a newer level.
A beautiful lady who is in harms way. A determined detective who sees her as a potential romantic interest. An effort to maintain true professionalism during the investigation. A chilling and calculating murderer. A crime of the past that bleeds into the present. All this makes for a sit-down-and-finish-it-now read!
About the author: Irene Hannon is the author of more than 35 novels, including the bestselling Heroes of Quantico and Guardians of Justice series. Her books have been honored with two coveted RITA Awards from Romance Writers of America, a Carol Award, a HOLT Medallion, a Daphne du Maurier Award, and two Reviewers' Choice Awards from RT Book Reviews magazine. Booklist also included one of her novels in its "Top 10 Inspirational Fiction" list for 2011. For more information about her and her books, Irene invites you to visit her website at www.irenehannon.com.
DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary review copy from Revell a Division of Baker Publishing Group on behalf of the author for the purpose of rendering my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Romantic Suspense!

Date:August 6, 2012
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first discovered Irene Hannon, I read everything of hers I could get my hands on. Since then, I've been waiting on the next great book to come out, and Lethal Legacy lived up to every expectation I had! With challenge after challenge thrown in front of them, Cole and Kelly get to know each other under less-than-ideal circumstances. When Cole begins to believe the suspicions Kelly has about how her father died, he won't stop until they solve the mystery.
Hannon has a talent for writing stories that grab your attention and don't let go until the very last page. While readers will probably figure out "whodunit" early on, all the pieces don't fall into place until the very end of the book, which kept me guessing about various aspects of the mystery. Plus, when you throw in the romance between the two main characters, I couldn't put the book down! I also appreciated the way that the main characters grew in their faith walks throughout the story—but in ways that weren't over-the-top or unrealistic.
I'm already looking forward to the next Irene Hannon release . . . too bad it's quite a few months away! Fans of romantic fiction will enjoy Lethal Remedy and the other books in this series! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lethal Legacy: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Irene Hannon Hit

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Lethal Legacy, Irene Hannon concludes her Guardians of Justice series just the way she started it -- with a suspenseful story full of action, romance, and faith.
Readers of Fatal Judgment and Deadly Pursuit will find familiar characters -- Mitch, Alison, Jake, Liz and Cole -- all involved in law-enforcement related professions. This story focuses on Cole, as he is drawn in to the case of Kelly Warren, a distraught daughter who needs someone to believe that her father's death could not have been suicide. Cole wants to help Kelly search for answers to her questions, but nothing in the case files seems to support her theory. As too many "coincidences" happen and Kelly continues to dig through her father's belongings, though, things come to light that complicate the "facts" of the case. Eventually, finding the truth becomes a matter of life and death.
As always, Irene develops an exciting, page-turning story that makes the book hard to put down. (In fact, I read the first chapter one day and then the entire remainder of the book in one more sitting!) Her characters are complex and draw you into their stories from the very beginning. Even as some of the pieces of the plot start to come together, there remains enough suspense to keep you engaged until the very last page.
I highly recommend all the books I have read by Irene Hannon -- two three-book series: Heroes of Quantico and Guardians of Justice. Any of them can easily be read as stand-alone titles, but both series are well worth your time to read.
How long do we have to wait for Irene's next series? . . . Well, that's too long!
This book was provided free by Revell for my honest review.
Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>