Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Simon & Schuster When God Builds a Church

Simon & Schuster When God Builds a Church

Is it possible for a church to grow large enough to attract seekers and loving enough to care for each individual? Russell says "yes!" Pastor of one of the largest churches in America, he uses the story of Southeast Christian Church in Louisville to illustrate 10 time-tested, farsighted church-growth principles for you to follow. 304 pages, hardcover from Howard.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for When God Builds a Church
Review 1 for When God Builds a Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Danny Minton
Excellent book! Make sure and read the introduction which sets the tone for the entire book. This is a good book for any church leader of any Christian group. It's not about doctrine, it's simply about what it means to be a Christ led church. I've bought and given away more than 40 copies in the last few years and am reading it now for the third time and it is in my I-Pad library as well. Written with a great spirit, it's not a "do what we do" book but a do what God wants book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When God Builds a Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Urban Rogers
This book provides many great ideas and perspectives without getting mired in "opinion". It was very enlightening and I found many things in it that will help me in my ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When God Builds a Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Doug Duty
GREAT book... I would recommend any pastor read this book and then pas it around to your church leaders (formal and informal). Bob Russell uses real life examples and backs them all up with an over abundance of scripture. This book is straight forward and easy to read. It is a "keep it real" - "keep it simple" approach that can and should be used at any church - regardless of worship format, style or setting. One of the best books on church that I have ever read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When God Builds a Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
James Mclachlin
an outstanding guide to church boards and pastors who need to keep focused on the idea of "keeping the main thing, the main thing".Christians need to look at this model to see where it fits in their church as each church is different and has a different calling. The basics apply however to all churches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When God Builds a Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jere Davis
This is the best book I have ever read on the subject of church growth. It clearly defines the essential elements found in healthly churches and focuses on the spiritual components of success. All church leaders should read this book for the practicle help it offers and for the inspiration it provides. As a church leader I have read it multiple times and try to read it every year. It continues to teach me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When God Builds a Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2002
Customer Avatar
Ronald Woodward
This is one of the most practical books that church leaders could use, to address the critical issues of building a God-centered church. In spite of their success at Southeast, Bob has kept the focus of their success on what God is doing there. EXCELLENT reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When God Builds a Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2000
Customer Avatar
Mark
Our Pastor's study group used this book for our weekly study. The ten principles for growing a dynamic church are practical and biblical. Through Russell's examples and experience, there is easy application for your church whether a 100 or a 1000. Nothing earth shattering here...just the biblical mandate and definition of a great church!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When God Builds a Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2000
Customer Avatar
Lori
Awesome book! I would have enjoyed this even if I didn't attend Southeast. Bob is truly a man of God, but also could be your neighbor. He relates to people so well...and it shows through the progress of his ministry. It was great to have some of the 'behind the scene' details of Southeast and the way this awesome church has touched thousands of lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.