Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications Proof: A Novel - eBook

Kregel Publications Proof: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

spine-tingling medical mystery

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Lilly Reeves seeks to stop a serial rapist and murderer, even as her own life is endangered. This chilling thriller takes readers into the medical and personal world of an ER physician who fights to unravel a mystery as well as a scientific puzzle. Jordyn Redwood’s Proof offers clear proof that she’s capable of producing a quality material that satisfies readers and makes them long for her next novel. Congratulations on being an INSPY finalist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

medical thriller with personal trauma

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is every woman's worst nightmare.
Dr. Lilly Reeves, an ER doctor, is savagely raped. After the police interview her, she finds there is a serial rapist on the loose. Several women identify the same man with the unusual tattoo and eyes of different colors. Not wanting to cause panic, the police are hesitant to make a public announcement.
Lilly suffers a psychological decline after her rape, sinking into alcohol. She has a couple of good friends who help her through the trauma. She certainly questions God and her friends help her there too.
A couple of the raped women have become pregnant and Lilly realizes the rapist has killed those women and their children. Then the nightmare becomes worse as she finds herself pregnant from her rape.
Lilly, during a bloody event in the emergency room, sees the identifying marks of the rapist – on a fellow doctor. But when DNA evidences indicates he is not the rapist, Lilly knows her life is in danger and she flees.
She must somehow prove what she knows to be true before he finds her and kills her.
This is a well written thriller. The action is tight and the character development well done.
Lilly ends up being a very strong character and is able to pursue the truth. I learned a great deal about DNA and how it can, in rare cases, give a false conclusion.
Redwood knows her medical facts. This novel makes for informative reading while providing stay awake suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Explodes into action from the first page!

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Lilly Reeves has put her troubled childhood behind her, and now lives a successful, largley content life as an ER physician. However, after she becomes victim to a brutal crime, she plumets into darkness, struggling to make her way through each day. When DNA evidence clears the suspect of his crimes, Lilly decides to find the proof she needs to put the perpetrator away forever. As she forays into a "mystery that science cannot comprehend", she finds herself on the run from evil, with her very life at stake.
Proof explodes into action from the first scene, full of dark suspense that made me regret reading the novel late at night! I know a writer has thoroughly succeed at drawing me into a story when every creak in the dark makes me jumpy and convinces me someone has broken into my house. Jordyn Redwood writes as one who has far more experience under her belt, with taut scenes, crisp dialogue, and just the right of characterized balanced with the suspense. Her characters are full of life, and I enjoyed getting to know Lilly and watch her relationship with Nathan unfold. I am so grateful that I don't have to wait long until I get to dive into book 2 in the Bloodline Trilogy, because I have become a new fan of Jordyn Redwood! Readers who haven't yet tried out this relatively new author should really plan on picking up a book by Jordyn Redwood. They will be thoroughly entertained and left longing for more! I highly recommend this book and award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher and Kregel Blog Tour services, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent read

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent read, especially if you love medical mysteries as much as I do. This is the first of the Bloodlines trilogy by Jordyn Redwood, and I'm pretty sure if you read one you will grab the others, too. I give this one a solid five thumbs up.
Lilly Reeves is an emergency room physician on duty when a pregnant young woman involved in a traffic "accident" is wheeled through the door. The cops follow, wanting to talk to the unconscious woman because it appears a truck deliberately rammed her. The baby the woman carries is the product of an encounter with a serial rapist, and she is a key witness if they ever arrest a suspect.
It's difficult to find this suspect, despite the fact that he's left semen filled with DNA behind in all his victims. Apparently the perpetrator is in the medical profession or at least somehow has access to syringes filled with a substance, ketamine, that knocks out his prey. Other clues are the location of the attacks, apparently centering on the hospital where Lilly works; that all of the victims have their keys missing for a number of hours before the attacks; and that the victims describe a man with blue and brown eyes--one of each--and a horrific monster tattooed on his chest. He has one other quirk--when his victims become pregnant, he makes sure the child does not live.
Then it's Lilly's turn. Her keys come up missing, and her black belt in karate and dead-eye shooting expertise do her no good once he injects her with ketamine.
Lilly accuses another physician, but it backfires when the DNA appears to prove him innocent. Suddenly, it's Lilly who is on the run.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jordyn Redwood is an amazing Author!

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
living4Christ
Location:Canada, Quebec
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had everything I love.Suspense, Romance and engaging chracters. This book is one of the best medical thillers I have read in awhile.I could not put this book down! The chracters stay in your mind long after you turn the last page. Which is a mark of an amazing book. Lily is a excellent ER doctor but her life is changed forever when she is raped.This book keeps you guessing as Lily tries to prove that her attacker is guilty of his crimes. This book kept me up most of the night because I had to find out what happeded next. I cannot wait for the next book in the series called Poison to be released next year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Exciting Medical Mystery Thriller

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jordyn Redwood in her new book, “Proof” Book One in the Bloodline Trilogy series published by Kregel Publications brings us into the life of Dr. Lilly Reeves.
From the back cover: After DNA evidence clears a suspected serial rapist of grisly crimes, ER physician Dr. Lilly Reeves takes matters into her own hands. Police detectives think she’s a danger to the case, and her colleges worry her obsession will be detrimental to her health. But Lilly can’t stop, even if it means digging into a dark mystery that science cannot comprehend. Alone and on the run, Lilly wonders: is there any proof that will bring a monster to justice?
Acclaimed as “a rollercoaster of a story,” Proof debuts the twists and turns that make the Bloodline Trilogy an undeniable adventure for all fiction fans.
If you ever read anything from the late Michael Crichton then you know you was famous for starting with an area that was believed to be foolproof and then showing that something went horrible wrong. That premise is exactly what Jordyn Redwood brings out in “Proof”. We see so many police shows where they rely so heavily on DNA evidence to bring the suspect to justice. And it always works. Not so in “Proof”. Dr. Lilly Reeves has the DNA evidence and they bring the suspect to trial and the evidence gets him off because it doesn’t match. Something has gone horribly wrong and Dr. Reeves must figure out what it is before this serial rapist tries again.
I think Jordyn Redwood is an extremely talented writer who really knows how to tell a story that will grab you and keep you flipping pages until you find out who did it. Not only does Dr. Reeves go down blind alleys in her efforts to prove who the rapist is she also becomes a target putting her life in deadly danger. “Proof” is a very exciting book that will keep you engrossed in the characters as Ms. Redwood puts them through their paces. This is a wonderful series and I am glad I discovered Jordyn Redwood. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Kregel Publications. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great medical thriller

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patti Shene
Location:Southeastern Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy thrillers, so this book was a great read for me. I also enjoy books where the author brings his/her own experience to the story, as this author does with her knowledge of emergency and critical care nursing.
This was an action-packed page turner with a compelling plot. I loved Jordyn's ability to create believable characters who submit to the pressure of adversity, yet demonstrate enough resilience to bounce back and meet challenges head on.
Jordyn kept me guessing up to the very end as to how Dr Lilly Reeves was going to prove her case against her attacker. The story kept me up late and sent chills down my spine as the author put us inside the head of the perpetrator and the victims.
The book takes the reader on a journey that begins with the first page and concludes with a resolution not soon forgotten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Medical Thriller

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Henry McLaughlin
Location:Saginaw, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Proof, Jordyn Redwood’s debut novel, is the best medical thriller I have read in years. She challenges Robin Cook at his best.
The medical science is accurate, yet not overwhelming so we non-medical people can keep up with the rapid pace of the story.
The medical settings are also spot on, as our British friends would say.
The characters engage us in their stories and their problems. Our hearts are with Dr. Lilly Reeves as she seeks the serial rapist who violated her and framed her for murder. The villain is no stick-figure antagonist, but rather is well-rounded and complex.
The plot has more twists than braided bread but Jordyn unravels them all to give us a complete and satisfactory ending.
5 stars plus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
connib
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very glad I didn't pass this up. Great book, great writer. Look forward to the next installment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shocking Medical Mystery

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Torrence Campbell was transported to Sage Medical Center ER after her involvement in a high-speed, T-boned motor vehicle accident. And she’s pregnant. Dr. Lilly Reeves is ready to leave at the end of her shift, but can’t find her keys, so she takes the Trauma Code call. Mother and baby don’t survive. One of the nurses, Sonya, knew her and they were due on the same day.
Detective Nathan Long thinks the MVA was intentional. But he has skeletons in his closet that cause him to second guess himself throughout the story. He will need to learn to push through it. Will he be able to set it aside and work it out to be of value to Lilly?
Dr. Lilly Reeves is brutally raped. Her coping skills deteriorate to the point of losing her job. She’s outraged that a serial rapist is out there and the police have yet to notify the public. She’s now pregnant, livid, and obsessed! Once she’s stabilized, she decides to search on her own to find the proof she needs to put away the man she knows is the serial rapist. But the DNA doesn’t match!
Jordyn Redwood, in Proof, has outdone herself in her debut medical and crime thriller novel. The trauma is portrayed so realistically that you feel like you know the women personally. The medical aspects were thorough and educational. All the characters are richly described and personable, except for the rapist. He’s haughty, bold, and vicious in his attacks. He’s one person I would love to see behind bars!
The multiple twists and turns in the storyline are hair-raising episodes that don’t stop, beginning with the first page to the very last. The scenarios keep you pumped and on the edge of your seat as they transpire. The cat-and-mouse games become dangerous and deadly. Will Lilly find the information that is necessary to take down the perpetrator before he gets to her? And what a medical mystery! I never saw it coming!
Lilly learns to reach out to the Lord to keep her sanity and to stay safe. The help of her friends, Dana and Kadin, is the beginning of a changed life.
To distract from the horrors of the trauma and dangerous episodes, there is a rival romance going on between Detective Long and Dr. Daughtry for the hand of Lilly. You’ll have to read the book to see if she chooses either one.
Jordyn is an author you will definitely want to keep tabs on. This is only book one of the Bloodline Trilogy. Can’t wait for the next book!
This book was provided free by Susan Sleeman of The Suspense Zone in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Strong start for Jordyn Redwood!

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This is a pretty strong debut from a new author, Jordyn Redwood. I was impressed with the originality of the story line in a medical suspense. Sometimes medical books can get over your head but this one didn't even though there is a lot of talk of DNA, genetics and a couple things I don't want to give away. Jordyn kept it understandable and engaging. On top of that she gives us some very interesting characters to connect with. Lily and Dana are best friends and medical professionals. Kadin is an OB/GYN that works with them and would like a relationship with Lily but she isn't a Christian. Nathan enters the story as a detective who gets wrapped up with them through a case that Lily stumbles into and then is shoved head long into. There is a serial rapist on the loose that the police haven't informed the public about and things are going to get much worse before they can possibly get better.
I was very engaged in this story from the beginning. I also couldn't predict exactly what would happen or why they couldn't pin the rapist for his crimes... normally I can by part way into the book. It was nice to be reading a suspense that was really suspenseful for me - looking forward to more from Jordyn Redwood!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A heart-stopping suspense debut thriller!

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warning: If you are about to read this book, late at night, loss of sleep is almost guaranteed. You will NOT want to put this one down until you finish, but trust me, it's well worth it! If you love a great suspense thriller, then you will want to pick up Proof by Jordyn Redwood, the first book in the Bloodline Trilogy. This one is definitely geared to hook you from the first page and keep you turning pages as fast as you can because it's that good!
Emergency Room doctor, Lilly Reeves has seemed to misplace her keys and since she can't head home without them. Until she does, her boss Dr. Anderson, suggests she take the next trauma case slated to arrive. Little does Lilly know how different her life will be connected with the victim, Torrence Campbell. She's been involved in a car accident and upon arriving in the ER, Lilly learns that the victim is pregnant. Not only that, she learns that this may have not been an accident after all and that someone intentionally meant to cause this. While she fights to save Torrence's life, she pages the OB on call and learns that Kadin is the attending. He retrieves the baby so they can concentrate on saving the mother.
When Detective Nathan Long arrives at the ER, he immediately wants to talk to Torrence, but she is completely unresponsive and Lilly isn't sure she will make it. She learns that besides being the target of intended car accident, she is also the only witness in her rape case. She can identify her attacker and it seems that his case is about to go unsolved unless they can save Torrence's life.
Aside from waiting on the results of what Lilly believes is brain swelling, she has to wait to see if Torrence will regain consciousnesses but it doesn't look like it. Only time will tell. So as she heads home, she finds her keys sitting on her bag as if someone just set them there. Lilly will soon learn just how this insignificant event is about to change her life forever.
In the Bloodline Trilogy, Proof by Jordyn Redwood is a physiological thriller that will literally keep you on the edge of your seat as you work with Detective Nathan Long to figure out who this serial rapist is and if they can stop him before he claims his next victim. Will Lilly survive or does she possess something that the killer wants to keep hidden and will stop at nothing until she is dead? This novel combines some of the best elements in Christian fiction, spiritual warfare along with roller-coaster suspense for a faith filled book that will definitely leave you wanting more.
I received this book compliments of Kregel Publications and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and have this one on my top MUST READ list to make sure I stay on top of each the sequels to see how this will all end up! Jordyn Redwood is the next and coming author that you will want to remember after reading this debut novel! She will be the one to watch! I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars because for me, if I can't put the book down to finish anything in my life at the current moment, then that's a keeper for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Debut!

Date:September 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Proof” is nothing short of an adrenaline ride from beginning to end. From that first trauma ER scene in the opening chapter, I was hooked. Lilly Reeves is a competent doctor, able to tackle whatever barrels through her ER doors, but she never expected to lose the strength she placed in her job, in her security, when it’s all stripped away from her.
The crimes are grisly ones. The victims are suffering. The villain seemingly uncatchable, even when it would seem he’s in the cop’s grasp.
I was in awe of the intricacies that went into plotting these crimes. The novel certainly isn’t for the faint of heart, but while Lilly might come across as unlikeable to some readers, I found her a hurting soul in need of healing.
I couldn’t imagine being traumatized as Lilly was and then not having faith on top of that? I’m not sure how she made it through, but she did and none of it on her own power. When I finally made it to the happily ever after, I was so pleased to see the changes made in her “life” on the pages of the novel.
“Proof” is definitely what I’d consider an excellent debut novel. It has adrenaline thrills and shattering lows and above all, the promising glimmer of hope that the best is yet to come.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through CFBA for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense medical thriller that is a clean read

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author, Jordyn Redmond writes from the standpoint and first-hand knowledge of a long-time experienced emergency room nurse. In her first novel, Proof, she opens with a fast paced scene in the ER with Dr. Lilly Reeves handling a recent rape case. She confronts the on hand detective in the ER about the "serial" rapist at large. Little did Dr. Reeves know that she would be the next victim.
The character of Dr. Reeves is strong as is typical of a woman doctor. She is strong in the medical profession and in her ability to diagnose and investigate medically the cases brought to her. She is not so strong emotionally because she is has a complex history which creates in her a complex individual.
Dr. Lilly realizes that she know facts that will help identify the assailant and an accusation is made. DNA Tests are run but the accused is freed because the results say he is not the one. However, she knows identifying characteristics that make her realize that something is askew about the test results. The medical twists and turns of this maze will confound even the experts.
She has friends in the ER with whom she works that are supportive and caring. They are also the ones who believe her - up to a point - as she tries to find proof of her assailant before he finds and eliminates her. As the story unfolds and her life seems to completely unravel, we find a soft romance beginning to bloom and it is really a treat to see this need filled in her life.
This is a fast paced story that is replete with medical terminology that will sit well with those "in the know" an will be a strong selling point for authenticity for this the first in Jordyn Redmond's Bloodline Triology.
This book would be categorized as a medical/criminal thriller. It is indeed that. I look forward to the next book from Jordyn Redmond in the Bloodline Triology. It is sure to be another block buster.
I received my copy of Proof as a prize from an online drawing. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A rollercoaster of a story

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A rollercoaster of a story. Jordyn Redwood’s Proof has everything you could want in a thriller—believable characters, a villain who makes your skin crawl, a touch of humor, and a twisting plot—all bound by fascinating medical and scientific details. What a fabulous debut!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best Medical/Police Thrillers I've read

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christine Lindsay
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to read PROOF in one sitting, almost. I love a fast-paced, edgy medical / police thriller and this one was like butter icing, it was so good. PROOF had twists and turns that had me turning the pages, dying to find out how it was possible. This medical specialist author stunned me with her ability to throw me curves I did not expect.
Each aspect of the heroine’s life as an ER physician is perfectly detailed. You feel you are right there in the emergency room seeing the patients through the eyes of Dr. Lilly Reeves. Same with the hero, Police Detective, Nathan Long, formerly of the FBI, the detail of what a cop honestly goes through drew me in.
Dr. Lilly Reeves is definitely not your typical female heroine—no shrinking violet here. Lilly is a complex character, who not only is a doctor, but is an expert on guns and marksmanship, and one who struggles with past issues that make her inclined to drinking in order to bury her own heartaches. This is a realistic and totally likeable hero that will appeal to men and women.
PROOF is a book that I can wholeheartedly recommend to the Christian audience and those who do not normally read Christian fiction. In fact I’m taking this book to my brother today, as he too loves a hard-hitting thriller the likes of John Grisham.
Jordyn Redwood is an author that I believe will soon be in the Best-Seller lists along with Randy Alcorn and Ted Dekker to name a few.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great medical/crime thriller!

Date:July 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
mustlovetoread
Location:Newport VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Proof
By: Jordyn Redwood
This is an awesome book! Proof will grab hold of you from page one and not turn lose. The main question running through the whole book is, “Is there any proof that will bring a monster to justice?” Dr Lilly Reeves knows who the serial rapist is, but she can’t prove it. She is struggling with her own demons and isn’t credited with knowing what is going on. With everyone against her, she strikes out on her own to find proof that will condemn the serial rapist, and come to grips with what is going on in her own life.
Jordyn Redwood does a great job of developing characters that you will care about. This medical/crime thriller will keep you on the edge of your seat from page one through the end. As the back cover states, this is “a rollercoaster of a story.” You will keep reading just to see where Lilly ends up and if she can prove that a monster is living and working amongst them. Who can Lilly trust? No one; no one believes her or will help her find the answers she needs. Read this book to see what happens. Jordyn Redwood takes you on a journey you won’t believe. I cannot wait to read more by this author. This is one of the best medical/crime thrillers I have ever read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can't put down read

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author's background as a critical care and emergency nurse shines through in this detailed, but not bogged down thriller. From the first page I was thrown in to the race to find a serial rapist. Some of the clues pointed me toward the perpetrator and what was coming next, but that only made the pages turn faster as I wondered if I could be right. The timeline is long but the pacing tight. The plot doesn't wander down unnecessary paths. Instead, it is finely tuned on the journey and the proof required to find justice. This novel is perfect for those who love a suspense that rings with authenticity and will pull you from page one to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plenty of Twists and Turns

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan Marlow
Location:Washington state
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always enjoyed medical thrillers. When I learned that Proof, by debut author Jordyn Redwood, was similar to a Robin Cook read (but without all the offensive language), I was quick on the draw to load my Kindle up with this story. I was not disappointed! I confess I am somewhat of a picky reader. You'd better hook me by at least the end of the second chapter. It didn't take near that long with Proof. From the opening scene, the author weaves a seamless plot involving a serial rapist, a spunky ER doctor (our heroine!), and a compassionate yet gutsy former FBI agent-turned police detective. Even the perp is multi-layered and presented as a real person, yet strangely creepy. The DNA and medical threads of the plot really gripped me and piqued my interest by its uniqueness and believability. Best of all, the book is clean and well-written. Considering the premise of the book (a serial rapist), my hat is off to Ms. Redwood for her godly and excellent presentation of a horrible crime and for surprising me! I can't wait for her next installment of the Bloodline Trilogy: Poison.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Proof: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! What a ride!

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimzzzzzs
Location:KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first confession is that I'm in the medical profession. My second is that I don't normally read medical fiction or watch medical dramas because it bugs me when mistakes are made. I made an exception when I had the chance to read Proof, Jordyn Redwood's debut novel. I'm so glad I did!
I read this book in a day and a half--it took that long only because I had to work, sleep and eat! Warning: Don't start this book before bed because you won't be able to put it down and get some sleep.It's a page-turning wild ride.Part true to life medical story of the big city ER where the action never stops and part true crime drama that could be taken from the files of the FBI, the crime story and medical drama are blended seamlessly. Jordyn has done a masterful job of letting the reader know the depth of a horrific crime without unneccessary gore. Dwelling on the outcome and emotions instead of the crime itself allows the reader to empathize with the desperation Lilly Reeves feels when she is targeted by a serial rapist. The characters are well developed. The action is non-stop and the conclusion was satisfying. I loved that the faith element was very organic to the story which allowed the story to end with hope. I have read my share of true crime dramas that left me feeling like I needed a shower.
I loved this book and can't wait for more from this new voice on the Christian fiction scene.
(Kregal Publishing provided me with a copy of this book. I was in no way required to write a positive review. These views are completely my own after reading Proof by Jordyn Redwood)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>