Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2

Barbour Publishing Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2

After losing her beloved husband and daughter and surviving Hitler's Sobibor death camp, Quaker widow Anja Steinberg dedicates her life to helping others and keeping her son safe. As a member of the resistance, she helps displaced Allied airmen get back to their units in England. The journey is rigorous and filled with danger and there is no time for romance. Then American Peter Trent parachutes into her life. She must face facts-her heart did not die with her late husband and true love could be hers again. But will a romance hurt Peter's chance of escape from the Nazis-and endanger her life as well?
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Review 1 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed book 1 and #2 is even better!

Date:May 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've not read very many World War II novels, kinda seems like historical stories end for me in 1920, but lately I have been coming across some really good ones that take place during the 40's, and this is one of those books. I read the first book in this series, All God's Children, and definitely enjoyed but I think I liked Simple Faith even more.
There was more adventure and intrigue in book 2. I also really liked how the heroine, Anja, is a strong woman. Going beyond her own pain at the loss of her husband and baby, having survived and escaped a concentration camp, she endangers her own life trying to save as many people as she can. Then everything changes, instead of guiding people towards safety she is the one needing help. On the run with an American pilot she is beginning to fall in love with, she winds up trekking across several European countries in a desperate bid to save his life, her own, and more importantly, her young son.
Each of the characters have their own battles, their own fears, and really their own inner demons. How far will each of them go to save the others? Are they willing to pay the ultimate sacrifice? To me, the story was much about choices and personal sacrifice and I found myself wondering how far I would go, would I be strong enough to do what Anja does?
Once again the pacifist faith of the Quakers is put to the test in the horrors of war. The Quaker faith is something I know very little about and I very much liked learning more about their beliefs and practices through entertaining pages of a novel.
This is a great book for fans of WWII fiction. Anna Schmidt has outdone herself with Simple Faith. In many ways this book had the same qualities of those wonderful old WWII classic movies, kind of like Casablanca without the questionable morals and dubious ending.
Excellent, enjoyable story, and I am definitely looking forward to book 3 when it comes out.
(I received a copy of this book from Revell through The Book Club Network for my honest review. All opinions are my own)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Based on historical facts, this is a must read!

Date:May 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have followed my book reviews for any length of time, then you know I am a huge WWII fan of both historical fiction and non fiction books. I am so thrilled I got the opportunity to review Anna Schmidt's novel, Simple Faith, the second novel in the Peacemakers Series. In this one she utilizes the true story of a group of German medical students who banded together in what came to be known as the White Rose to speak out against Hitler and the Nazis.
The journey of the characters of Anja and Josef and Beth take in this novel is set against the background of historical fact. "Amazingly, during World War II there were several so-called escape lines managed by brave local citizens of countries occupied by the Nazis. Like those who worked on the Underground Railroad, these individuals - at considerable risk to their own lives and safety - provided false papers, safe houses, food, shelter, and clothing to move Allied airmen from the site of their downed planes behind enemy lines across much of Europe until they could reach Gibraltar - a British territory - and move from there back to England. They traveled hundreds, even thousands of miles by train, bicycle, or on foot, and perhaps the most amazing piece of this story is that the best known of these escape lines - the Comet Line - was created and manage by a young woman." (excerpt).
This is the story of Second Lieutenant Peter Trent who was shot down while attempting to escape a fire in his bomber that was activated by a photoflash bomb and thus requiring an immediate evacuation of the plane. This was not before being shot in the leg and as he tries to remember all his survival training tips as he parachutes into Belgium in November of 1943, he only hopes he can make it out alive along with the five other crewmen who jumped with him. But for now with being shot in the leg, he can only hope that a "friendly" comes to rescue him before the Nazi Gestapos do.
What Peter does discover is a band of people who are willing to risk their lives and those of their children to make sure that he finds his way back home instead of being shot or captured by the Nazi's. Peter and Anja are about to embark on a life changing journey that will do more than test their survival skills but also test their faith in God along the way.
I received Simple Faith by Anna Schmidt compliments of Shiloh Publishing and Pump Up Your Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained in this review are strictly my own unless otherwise noted. For me, this one was aspect of the war, I have never heard about until picking up Anna's novel. I can't imagine how difficult it would be the not only find an Allied airmen, but to risk their own personal safety against being arrested or killed while trying to get him home while the Nazis continually searched for these men. Knowing their plane was shot down, it only seems logical that they would search nearby farms, homes and businesses looking for people who were willing to hide them. Almost like what countries did during the Holocaust to hide the Jews who were being shipped off into concentration camps. I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the research that went into the creation of this amazing novel and can easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars. I look forward to picking up the first novel in this series, to see how Anja escaped the Nazi death camp in All God's Children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple Faith by Anna Schmidt

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
SIMPLE FAITH by Anna Schmidt is another exciting Peacemakers, Inspirational Historical Romance/Fiction set in 1943 Europe. #2 in “The Peacemakers” series, but can be read as a stand alone, although, I would recommend reading book 1, “All God’s Children”. Simple Faith, picks up where “All God’s Children” finished.
Quaker Anja Steinberg, had her whole world taken away in All God’s Children by the Nazis, after losing her Jewish husband and daughter to the Nazis. In, Simple Faith, she is helping Allied airmen escape from behind enemy lines. She feels this is her calling. Enter, Peter Trent, an American, who was shot down……
Second Lieutenant Peter Trent has been shot down near Anja’s grandfather’s farm. He must travel across enemy territory, through Western Europe to get back to England with the Gestapo hot on his trail. One of many problems, Anja, is falling in love with Peter, but this could endanger, that only her life, but the life of her precious ten-year old son,Daniel, as well.
Filled with tension, emotional turmoil, faith, healing, romance and love. You don’t want to miss a second of Simple Faith. Fast paced and filled with drama from the first page to the last.
Readers of historical fiction, World War II, the flight of Jews, sacrifice and romance. A brilliant tale of love, sacrifice, the war and healing. A must read! Received for an honest review.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Courageous Anja!

Date:April 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did have to refresh my memory a bit, as I read book one, All God's Children, quite awhile ago. Although Simple Faith is not a true continuation of Josef and Beth's story from book one (they play a large role, but aren't the main characters any longer), and Simple Faith could be read as a standalone, I would suggest reading All God's Children first. It is helpful in knowing the characters of Josef and Beth, along with Anja and her history.
Trying to get downed fliers back to their units was exciting, and I especially loved the addition of LeClerq, the master of disguises! Peter was a likeable character, and I enjoyed the 'Sound of Music' feel of the nuns and the priest at the funeral (remember when the nuns pull out the missing car parts from under their robes...haha)! I've always enjoyed characters who performed 'innocent' sabotage whenever possible!
Ultimately, I enjoyed the story in this second book of Anna's 'Peacemakers' series!
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the continuing story of Anja, Beth and others first introduced in All God’s Children, the audience will be captivated by the way locals help downed airmen to safety. The network of characters brought to life on the pages will remind people of other acts of bravery done to help during times of war. The Gestapo is always on the heels of the main characters, attempting to keep them from leaving Germany. Not only is the Gestapo presence more visual to locals, the risk of dangers grows exponentially with each attempt to return men to their homeland while keeping the locals from being caught. Even with the main characters from the first story having to obtain new identities there are no guarantees that they will ever be safe. Plus some dark sinister man has infiltrated the escape route used and as the safe houses begin to be torn apart by the Nazis, time becomes even more crucial to moving people before they are caught.
In book 2, the tension builds as readers might find themselves wondering who the antagonist is and who is not. Lives are at stake as well as the future welfare of Germany once the way is over, with most people knowing that their lives and country has been forever changed. Again, the author reveals a couple tenets of the Quaker faith as the tale climaxes and will be completed in book three to be released this summer.
While some author’s books can be read as stand alone, the Peacemakers series isn’t one of them so please read All God’s Children first so you can follow the developing tale. The tension, love, faith, romance and description of scenes capture the imagination from the first to the last page. Personally, I cannot wait to see how the author wraps up the series. I have enjoyed the books very much!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Date:April 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thereadmaster
Location:Davenport,Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was fantastic. The courage that these people had during such a trying time. I don't know if I would have that kind of courage to do the things they did. Great WWII novel. I received this through the bookclub network for a fair and honest opinion. Look forward to many more books by Anna Schmidt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Historical Fiction

Date:April 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple Faith is Book 2 in The PeaceMakers Series. After reading All God's Children, I couldn't wait to read this one. It was well worth waiting for. It continues the saga of the Quakers in Europe during WWII. This book can be read as a stand alone but is much more enjoyable if read as a series. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes history, with romance, and faith. I can't wait for the next one, Safe Haven, to be released.
I recieved this book from bookfun.org in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful book

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple Faith
By: Anna Schmidt
What a wonderful story great characters. I have always liked these kind of stories. main character Anja Steinberg is a Quaker but married a Jew. Because he was a Jew he was killed and also their daughter. All she has left is her son. They must leave there and go into hiding only place to go would be to go to her grandparents. There is a American plane goes down and they rescue the soldier and get him to safety. She begins to risk her own life to help others to escape the Nazi 's . Two men come into her life one she really loves but will she have to sacrifice that love to keep him alive? Loved the book great story. This book is full of drama, history, romance and most importantly Faith. I would recommend it for anyone who likes any of these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith and Determination

Date:April 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
memakf
Location:Ephrata,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a beautiful, heart-pounding story that is a testament to the perseverance of those that lived through World War II in Europe. Anna Schmidt weaves a wonderful story around an American and the young woman that saved his life when he crashes behind Nazi lines in Europe. Her Quaker faith, and those involved in the intricate “underground railroad” of Europe at that time, remains steadfast through harrowing circumstances. Anja has much to teach all of us that follow the journey of Peter as so many work to get him free. Although this is a work of fiction, it has much to offer in showing the reader what life was like during this time and the sacrifices so many were forced to relinquish. I recommend this book to anyone interested in history and students studying the World War II era. It is also a wonderful love story of two people that come from very different backgrounds and how faith can bring them together.
I received this book from bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical fiction

Date:March 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Simple Faith” is a wonderful book that takes place toward the end of World War II. The land and people are devastated by war, cruelty of the Nazis and lack of food and basic freedoms, yet there are still kind-hearted people. These people are the ones that help the downed airmen travel safely across the war torn country, providing housing, food and shelter. Anja, the main character, has suffered a great deal, yet she is still determined to help keep the “evaders” safe. She works hard to teach the men how to act, talk and be alert for traps. She often risks her own life, as well as her family members, in order to help bring the airmen to safety. Anja’s faith (Quaker) is the center of her life and this book stresses the importance of prayer and God.
Peter Trent is one of the downed airmen that needs saving. As Anja works to help him she also begins to develop feelings for him. Peter has an injury that requires him to stay hidden longer than usual and so the two spend many hours together. During this time they explore many topics together and he realizes that he might need a greater faith. Will he find it? Will he escape? Will Anja give up her love for him in order to keep him safe? I guess you will have to read this book to find out…
Anna Schmidt is a great author! “Simple Faith” is book two of “The Peacemakers” series. It stands alone perfectly and is easy to read and understand. It contains a lot of information about WWII and some of the issues that pervaded the country then.
I received this book free from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book in the Peacemakers Series

Date:March 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple Faith is the sequel to Anna Schmidt’s book, All God’s Children, which I really enjoyed. It is set during WWII and picks up where All God’s Children leaves off and tells us Anja’s story. Anja is a widowed mother of a ten year old boy, Daniel. She has suffered horribly through the war and her back story is told in All God’s Children. However, Simple Faith can be read as a stand alone book and the reader will learn all that has happened in Anja’s life. The trials she has suffered, along with her Quaker faith, fuel Anja’s desire to help Allied airmen escape across Europe and past the enemy lines.
As much as I enjoyed the first book in this series and looked forward to reading Simple Faith, I was unprepared for how much I was going to love this book! It starts off with a bang right from the beginning as we watch Peter Trent make his escape by parachuting into enemy territory. He finds himself injured and trapped in Belgium. He must learn to trust in the ability of Anja, Mikel, Josef and Lisbeth to help him heal and escape. This is no simple feat and danger follows them throughout the whole novel. Peter has to hide and recuperate, all the while the Gestapo is searching for him. Then the book really takes off as we read about the daring and very elaborate escape route and the drastic measures that must be taken to stay hidden while fleeing. There are great twists and turns in this book and an absolutely beautiful love story that develops throughout.
I recommend Simple Faith to fans of historical fiction. Although you can read it as a stand alone, I believe that your reading experience will be greatly enhanced if you have also read All God’s Children. You will truly understand more about what Anja has persevered through and will enjoy seeing what has happened in the lives of Josef and Lisbeth.
I received a complimentary copy of Simple Faith from the author through The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reviews From A Man's Perspective

Date:March 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the next book in a grouping that, while they aren’t my normal genre to read, I thought I would read in an attempt to broaden my reading lists. So if you like to visit my page to get some insight into what men enjoy reading, hang onto your thoughts as some of these books may surprise even me. This book is book 2 in the “Peacemaker’s” series by Anna Schmidt. While it may be the 2nd in the series, this book can be read as a stand-alone.
Peter Trent is on his first mission and like most guys flying into enemy territory, he is scared of what the outcome may be. When the plane is shot down, he finds himself hurt and being rescued by a young boy who helped him hide in the ditch away from the Nazis. His mother, Anja, already part of the movement to help soldiers, is busy defending off a group of Nazis that have ransacked her grandparent’s house looking for any Americans that were on the plane that went down. When she finds out that Daniel has helped hide the soldier, she is both angry and impressed. As the process begins to reunite Peter with his country, so begins the journey of these two strangers. Across enemy lands, being pursued by Nazis, danger around every mountain passage, can Anja deliver Peter to safety? Will this be the rescue that puts Anja and her son’s life in danger? Get on board for the answers to these questions and many others when you BUY THE BOOK!!!
Ok, so maybe these books are beginning to grow on me, and not just because I’m just an old softie at heart. Having not read the first in the series, I was a little concerned that I may be lost in picking this up instead of the first one. No worries though, this is a solid stand alone read. This is also my first book by Anna Schmidt. I enjoyed her writing style, I liked the way that the story flowed, each piece of action building upon the one before it. I could picture this book as a movie, I could even see where the producers or directors would break for a commercial. I like that, I like that there were times that I was holding my breath, then the author would allow me to breath, then I was holding it again. All of this taking you to the final crescendo where…… Well, that wouldn’t be right if I gave it away, now would it? J
Is this a "guy's book"? It could be. This had action, suspense and danger. The perils that the characters face as they make their way towards freedom would keep any guy interested. The romance angle was there, but it was made to be a part of the story, not an addition to the story.
I received this book from the Book Fun Network (bookfun.org) and the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not required to write a positive review, it just turns out that I enjoyed the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Christian fiction novel

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the Peacemakers series and like the first book it was great. A fast paced story full of danger, suspense, sorrow and romance. It did not take long to read as I did not want to put it down. The story can be read as a stand alone book but I recommend, if possible, that you read the first book All God's Children before reading Simple Faith.
An amazing story of men and women who sacrificed much during World War II and worked undercover in order to help allied airmen who had fallen behind enemy lines back to freedom.
Anja, a Quaker by faith, is a nurse whose husband and daughter were murdered by the Nazis. She escaped from a death camp and volunteers with the Friends War Victims Relief Committee.
American Peter Trent's plane is shot down. He parachutes and lands near Anja's grandparents farm. Badly wounded he is found by Anja's young son Daniel and is hidden on the farm while he heals. While he is recovering from his wounds Anja realizes that she is falling in love with Peter.
As they start the long journey across the mountains to England, they face, danger, betrayal, hardships,lives lost, romance, dodging the Gestapo and much more. During this time Anja struggles to keep her son, grandparents and friends safe.
I recommend this book.
I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Captivating Story of Love and Sacrifice

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna Schmidt does not fail to deliver a fantastic read in the sequel to All God’s Children. Simple Faith is a suspenseful and thought provoking continuation in the Peacekeeper Series. In the ugliness of a war that required too much of too many and destroyed lives and families unmercifully, a group of friends work toward rescuing those in danger of the Nazis and Gestapo. Although it is a great sequel, Simple Faith is a standalone story.
Anja rises above her own despair and circumstances as she chooses to work in the efforts of helping evaders to escape the Gestapo. Although physically small, she holds a mountainous amount of courage and strives to let God work through her. In the mission, she finds herself falling for an American airman but commitment and friendship keep her dear friend, Mikel in the middle.
When true love is present, sacrifice comes alongside. In this story, two men both in love with Anja, are willing to lay down their own wants for her ultimate good. Anja in turn, is willing to sacrifice her own life for the good of her son. Each person is willing to do what’s best for the other and it’s a lovely example of living the gospel.
There’s no lack of suspense in the story and the book is a page turner from the start. Simple Faith holds an air of romance, adventure and excitement. At the end of each chapter, I struggled to put the book down and would require ‘one more chapter’. But the story held my attention throughout and I was captivated all the while.
I received this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tremendous faith!

Date:March 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna Schmidt has outdone herself with Simple Faith, the second novel in her series, ‘The Peacekeepers’! It can be read as a stand-alone book without having read the first book, All God’s Children. Until now I was most familiar with her excellent ‘Celery Fields’ series. In Simple Faith she demonstrates an incredible eye for research and rich detail in this outstanding story of what ordinary people of faith did as they followed the leading of their Lord through the destruction and terror of Hitler’s rule in 1940’s Europe. This reader was completely drawn into the setting depicted by Anna Schmidt; I felt as if I were part of the action! And I now greatly admire the faith of the Quakers who inspired the characters of Anja, her grandparents and friends and their activities.
Simple Faith opens to the explosion and crash of an American plane shot down by Nazis near the farm belonging to Anja’s grandparents, where she and her young son Daniel called home. Nazis quickly surrounded the burning wreckage to capture any airmen who might still be alive. Peter Trent, one of the injured American airmen who parachuted from the plane as it went down, dragged himself as far away as he could, to a ditch on the farm. Anja assisted with Peter’s medical care as Peter’s escape from enemy territory was planned. There was something different, however, about Peter that Anja had not noticed with the rest of the troops she had helped, an attraction that couldn’t be explained. An attraction that she had no time to consider during this time of her life. And even though it wasn’t part of her plan, she had to help this man on the treacherous trail to freedom that took her further from the farm, and her family as the Gestapo’s men pursued them across Europe.
A veteran escapee of a death camp, Anja attempted to live an obscure life befitting her Quaker faith as a nurse during the week. By weekend and often by night, she was a secret operative of those who helped airmen of the Allied troops escape from enemy territory to return to their country’s service. These elaborately designed avenues of escape were not unlike the Underground Railroad that helped African American slaves in 1800’s America, and those who helped the Allied troops escape faced if apprehended, torture and death at the hand of the Nazi’s.
This reader found the book nearly impossible to put down! It is hard to imagine the lifestyle of one dedicated to helping people to freedom from the Nazi regime, especially of one who had already been in a death camp. The physical stamina alone would be daunting – and the spiritual strength tremendous! It would require a uniquely gifted, determined, and impassioned person who could think quickly on their feet, plan and make changes to those plans without notice. It also required a kind of acceptance that postponed one’s own emotions until such a time – if any – that it was safe to let those emotions out, and a persevering faith in God. I tried to imagine throughout the book - could I have done so, in that position? It is with deepest admiration and respect that I consider those men and women who actually did help many men and women to freedom through war-torn Europe! It is with great admiration for Anna Schmidt, also, that I highly recommend this incredible book.
I received a copy of this book through the “For Readers Only” group at The Book Club Network, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great WW II fiction

Date:March 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second in The Peacemaker series. While it can be read alone, the story is better understood if All God's Children has been read.
From the first novel: Anja is a Quaker woman whose husband and daughter were killed by the Nazis. She managed to escape with her son, Daniel. Anja is now aiding downed Allied airmen travel over the mountains to France, then Spain and eventually back to their own troops.
As this novel opens, an American plane goes down near Anja's grandparents. Daniel helps Peter, a wounded airman, hide from the soon arriving Nazis. He is taken in and hidden by Anja's grandparents. Plans are made for Peter to traverse the secret resistance route and because the Nazis are on to Anja, she and Daniel must escape too.
This is a great historical novel. Schmidt bases the novels in this series on historical facts so they are very interesting to read. The resistance had safe houses along the torturous route for rest. People along the way took over the task of leading individuals to the next safe spot. The dangers of going over the mountains showed the dedication the resistance had in helping Allied troops escape Nazi held territory. It was good to read how nuns and monks helped protect those whose lives were in danger. Along with the adventure of traveling the escape route was the very real possibility of betrayal by Nazi sympathizers who infiltrated the resistance.
Readers of historical fiction will like this novel. There is lots of adventure, several periods of suspense, and some romance thrown in. I also found it interesting to become more familiar with Anja's Quaker faith. A very good novel of the World War II era.
I requested and received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this independent and honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WWII Historical Romance, Danger, Fast Paced

Date:March 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read several of Anna Schmidt's books and I haven't been disappointed in any of them. This book is my favorite of the ones I've read. Well written, from what I remember the scenes are accurate. I lived in Germany in Post WWII, my father was in the military. It didn't take much area to put myself back in that era and see the destruction and the way the people were. Some loved the Americans and our Allies and others hated us. This book is about the underground railroad to get the Allie troops safely back to England. This book is the 2nd one but you can read it as a stand-alone. Just enough background information to catch you up without making you feel you just read the other book.
Anja Steinbert lost her husband and daughter to the Nazi's in book one. American Peter Trent's plane is shot down. The pilot went down with the plane. They are separated but Peter has been injured before he bailed out of the damaged plane. He hides and tries to make his way to safety but the Nazi troops are looking for him. A young boy of about 8 years old finds him, hides him and then gets his mother and grandfather to help. Because of the wounds and infection, winter setting in, he has to stay hidden before being able to move on. He has to be in good shape and with shrapnel and a bullet wound in his leg they know he can't make the trip. Then the Nazi officer starts to going by their farm and checking on a regular basis. Its safer to move him to another location. The trip is hazardous, dangerous for all of them, they are betrayed, make new friends. All the while Peter is learning about Anja and her Quaker faith. When the Gestapo captures Peter things really start to pop.
Enough of the story description, I don't want to ruin the book for you. Needless to say, its the best book I've read by Anna Schmidt. I've read books by her based on the Amish and they are terrific too. If you want a good Christian book showing how faith governs their lives, how they depend on God leading them in all areas, friendships made and a budding romance.
I received this book through www.bookclub.org and the author to read, review and leave my honest opinion. If you've never read Anna Schmidt before, this is a good one to start reading. The first book in the series "All God's Children" was a very good book. I've read both and I read it in a day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Simple Faith, The Peacemakers Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Exciting Historical Read

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
KGD history teacher
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having recently read Anna Schmidt’s All God’s Children, I was eagerly anticipating her next book, Simple Faith, which would continue the story of those who had been caught in Hitler’s diabolical web during WWII. When we last met Anja, Lisbeth, and Josef, they had just escaped from a Nazi concentration camp and had made their way to Anja’s home in Denmark. In the new book, in trying to stay ahead of the Nazis, they have left Denmark and are living in Belgium. In keeping with their Quaker faith and personal motivation, they are now involved with in underground movement which seeks to help downed Allied pilots escape to Spain and get back to their units in England.
As in her last book, the author has down quite a bit of historical research and accurately depicts the events and times. We come to appreciate the unsung heroes of WWII who often gave the ultimate sacrifice to help bring the war to a close. It becomes personal when we meet Peter, a wounded and desperate pilot who finds himself a beneficiary of this brave underground. We will never know how many common civilians risked and often gave their lives for Allied success as they lived under the brutality of the Nazi occupation of their countries.
My only criticism, is that I thought the Epilogue was a little abrupt. It did not explain how some characters arrived at the final destination from which the ending was taking place. The final resolution and plans for the main characters left out quite a bit and seemed too contrived. Otherwise, as a history teacher, I really enjoyed reading a carefully researched work of historical fiction. I had great difficulty putting it down!
I received an advance manuscript of this from NetGalley in return for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.