Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6

Barbour Publishing A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6

In A Vow for Always, the conclusion of Wanda E. Brunsetter's The Discovery, Luke Stoltzfus' memory completely returns, and he rushes home to Lancaster County. When Meredith reunites with Luke, hours before her wedding to Jonah, she realizes her feelings for Jonah were never true love. Can Jonah's heart withstand the way Meredith must break it to regain real love and restore her family?

Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 2195%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Review 1 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Vow For Always

Date:October 16, 2013
In Bird-In-Hand, PA Meredith Stolzfus has agreed to marry childhood friend, Jonah Miller. With her husband Luke having died nearly a year ago, she thinks she’s ready to commit again.
Eddie already remembered his name is “Luke” and is now slowly recovering bits and pieces of his memory while living at the Bailey’s house in Philadelphia, PA. Susan Bailey, who has fallen in love with him, is devastated when Luke remembers that he is married.
How frustrating it must have been for Luke not being able to fully recover his memory all at once. When I discovered that Meredith and Jonah were going to marry I figured Luke would be cutting it close when he fully recovered his memory. I just didn’t know how close!
Meredith and Luke, although separate from one another, were still listening to God and being lead by him. Not knowing his past, Luke knew he shouldn’t get involved with Susan even though he was falling for her. Meredith was not one hundred percent sure she should be marrying Jonah.
Jonah, since he was introduced, has been a God-honoring man. His reaction to Luke being alive was no surprise, especially when he realized that he actually had met Luke when he was younger. This earlier meeting gives an interesting twist to the story that I didn’t expect.
I couldn’t imagine the story ending any other way than the way it did. From the very first novella I knew there would be a happy ending. I just didn’t always know how Wanda Brunstetter would get there.
While I liked The Discovery Series as a whole, I didn’t care for it being in six different novellas. It would have been much better as one novel. I read other books throughout the month so it was hard to remember from month to month what I previously read. Regardless of this, I always enjoy Wanda E. Brunstetter and her simple, style of writing.
The Discovery – A Lancaster County Saga Serial Novel:
#1 Goodbye to Yesterday
#2 The Silence of Winter
#3 The Hope of Spring
#4 The Pieces of Summer
#5 A Revelation in Autumn
#6 A Vow for Always
I received a copy of this book from Barbour Publishing Inc. and The Christian Manifesto in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish fiction that inspires and entertains

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Wanda Brunstetter can always be counted on to deliver Amish fiction that inspires and entertains. She writes in a comfortable, easy-flowing style that is easy to read and she knows how to tell a good story.
This series differs from most Amish fiction in that it is divided into six parts released monthly, around 120 pages each, and each section ends in a cliffhanger. I got to know the characters pretty well and enjoyed the story overall, but I prefer a novel over the serialization format.
My favorite was part 1, Goodbye to Yesterday. This section lays the foundation and has some serious overtones, as Luke and Meredith deal with Luke's job loss and the impact that has on their openness with each other, financial decisions, and Luke's desire to provide for his family without Meredith's help. Strong and likeable secondary characters appear throughout the series, and Wanda is good at conveying a beauty and appreciation of nature.
I was drawn to Luke and Meredith as lead characters and their reunion at the end is sweet to behold. Although an epilogue satisfactorily brings the storylines to a conclusion, I wish they could have somehow had more time together in the novel's pages.
Fans of Wanda Brunstetter will certainly enjoy The Discovery series. I definitely recommend it to those who, like me, enjoy inspirational Amish fiction.
These books were provided by Barbour Publishing through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Appropriate Title "A Vow for Always"

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mari
Location:Charleston, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed the series and book 6 "A Vow for Always" demonstrates that marriage is for life. As Luke and Meredith are reunited after Luke's memory returns. Even though Meredith was to be married to another when Luke returned home she followed her heart and broke the engagement. Would like to see a follow-up to the series with Luke and Meredith's life moving forward with their family. Knowing Wanda for her series she may have this in mind already. Great series and the power of God's love in your life to overcome obstacles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully inspiring

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Granny Jan
Location:Greensburg, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book as well as this series. This book (and series) is also an inspirational, uplifting book that walks the reader through the lives of a family who encounters challenges but holds their lives together throuh faith. Lessons of faith are presented for all of us. Another tribute to Wanda Brunstetter and her wonderful talent for depicting the Amish factually. Thank you Brenda for another wonderful and uplifting series. FYI - just returned from a trip to Amish country in Ohio and I found that I experienced exactly what Brenda depicts in her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Vow for Always, Book 6 ~ Wanda E. Brunstetter

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is book 6 of the Discovery Series. In this short book, it concludes where book 5 left off as a cliff hanger, Meredith has begun to start courting Joshua and becoming part of his life. Joshua start to remember things from his past and with the help of his new friends he finds his way back home. With a happy ending the book does conclude with you just hanging again. I wish the ending had more of a closure to the story. But as Wanda is known for series, I am sure she did this as a plan to be able to write another to go with this whole discovery series.
I liked this book, but I really don't enjoy the small book series. I would have enjoyed the series being all in one book. I would recommend this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through net galley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
ashley
Location:Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This whole series was absolutely fantastic. This is one that I would re-read for sure and definitely would recommend it to any reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent book!!!

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Miss Kally
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this entire series and couldn't wait to read this book. When I began reading it, I couldn't put it down. I was so glad that Luke was able to gain his memory back and find Meredith before she got married. I really enjoyed these books and was sad to finally finish the series, but I know that Wanda writes some of the best books and I am excited to read more of hers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Finale!

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Soupie
Location:Sandown, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read just about any and everything written by Wanda Brunstetter, I was anxious for the conclusion to the Discovery Series and I wasn't disappointed. Though I knew that Luke and Meredith would find each other in the end, the conclusion with happy endings for both Jonah and Susan was great. Now that I have the entire set of six and 3 additional signed copies of books 1 - 3, I look forward to the next edition to my Wanda Brunstetter bookshelf! I may need to buy another bookcase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
I was sorry the series ended . Wanda E. Brunstetter is such a good author. I was glad Luke got his memory back and got to Meredith before she was married again .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great quality book

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:Chesapeake beach, Md
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed read all of the authors books. She is one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!!!!! A MUST READ

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the whole series book 6 was fantastic I read it in an afternoon, I could not put it down I loved the ending, I wanted to read the last chapter but I did not I wanted to know the ending so bad but I waited. This whole series is a must read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful as Always

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
brandyp
Location:Waterloo, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A vow for always is another book that you just can't put down. I went to 3 different stores to purchase this book. This book had me wishing time would stand still so that I could finish it as well as all the other things in my life going on all in one day. I really didn't know if I wanted Luke to get his memory back or not because he was seeing things for the first time. And Jonah had loved Meredith for so long and he was finally going to get to marry her. But, I am glad that Luke finally remembered who he was, because his wife and son needed him so much. And I believe that it made their love stronger for each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect ending

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I feel terrible for not getting the whole series. All I can say is that this sweet touching short part of the series has touched my heart deeply..Sometimes things- cruel things happen to us and depending how we look at them they can be a blessing or a curse. Luke lost all his money was almost mortally beaten and lost his memory for over a whole year, while his wife gave up on him and was going to marry another man . Would you call it a blessing?! I would deffenetely not. But when you look at the alternative, and see that if not for that gritty man Luke could have been killed in explosion and had not had a second chance at life, I take it as not just a blessing in disguise but also a lesson of trust in the One-God- that knows the good plans that He has for our future.. Lovely short story that touches heart and makes you look at bad things that happen to us as a blessing instead of a bad unfair situation that we just tend to blame our Creator for.
Disclaimer: I got a free copy of this book from a publisher, through NetGalley, in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

keeps you on the edge of your seat

Date:July 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
mom932
Location:eagle,AK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recieved this book and couldn't put it down. It will keep you on the edge of your seat, trying and hopping he will regain his memory in time before his wife marries someone else.
Wanda E. Brunstetter is a wonderful author, I have all her books read them over many times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Booklover
Location:Lakebay WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic ending kept me on the edge of my seat wondering how the story was going to resolve the issues with Luke and Meredith! Great to the last word!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Ending To A Great Saga!

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such a good read! I flew through the pages because I just had to know how it ended. I was not disappointed! If you plan to read A Vow for Always have tissues handy. Through my tears yesterday morning I was telling my husband a little bit of what was going on with Luke and Meredith. I finished reading this book after he left for work. Imagine my surprise when he asked me last night how it ended!
I thoroughly enjoyed all 6 parts in this Saga. At the end of each part it ended with a cliffhanger, so of course I had to quickly buy the next part just as soon as it was published. I hope that Wanda Brunstetter will have these characters popping up in other novels she writes. I hated saying goodbye to them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
sonya
Location:alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The perfect ending to a perfect series. I love reading these books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellant series

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Snoozy1955
Location:Lebanon, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Remembering memories makes life so sweet, this finale shares them. Jonah and Meredith were to marry, but Eddie (Luke) recalls his past life. He and Jonah even have a history. Wanda' s ending touches the spirit with a love that is everlasting,as is the love of our Holy Father. Amish stories touch ones' heartstrings, with a loving, spiritual feel. Thank you for such a wonderful series.
I really enjoyed the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sweet Amish Saga Concludes

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lois Lane
Location:Los Angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I remember my first visit to Lancaster County as a little girl and being fascinated by the horse drawn black buggies. As a fan of Little House on the Prairie, it seemed like a place lost in time. Amish books have grown in popularity and I have enjoyed many of Wanda Brunstetter’s books, many of them being series books. These novellas were especially unique in that they were very short books that end with a cliff hanger that leads right into the next book. Originally published 6 months apart, I enjoyed being able to read them as one complete novel back to back. I expect that they will probably be released as one complete novel in the future. None of these books work as a stand alone title.
The final book in the series, A Vow for Always, finally brings Luke and Meredith back together just hours before her wedding to Jonah. This book again has many twists and turns which lead the reader to begin to wonder if Luke and Meredith might actually both just move on with their separate lives as Jonah becomes a father figure to little Levi; Luke and Susan begin to fall in love. You would think with the action in this book, it would be my favorite. However, I have to say that you have to feel for Jonah and Susan who are really set up at the end of the book through no fault of their own. Kind of leaves you with that “life just isn’t fair” feeling. The author does try to resolve this in a quick epilogue, but, I’m sorry, it just doesn’t quite work for me. However, I love the romantic reunion between Luke and Meredith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Vow for Always, Discovery Series #6
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Anticlimatic

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katrina72
Location:Beecher, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Read all the books in this series and could not wait for the next one to become available. Was excited when this one came out, but it was a real disappointment with how it unfolded and ended. Not as good as the others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>