Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing The Bartered Bride Collection: 9 Historical Stories of Arranged Marriages

Barbour Publishing The Bartered Bride Collection: 9 Historical Stories of Arranged Marriages

Follow nine adventurous young women as they journey to Oregon, Dakota Territory, Colorado, Missouri, and Louisiana in this romantic collection from your favorite authors! Includes Joie de Vivre, Button Strong Bride, The Wedding Wagon, From Halter to Altar, From Carriage to Marriage, From Pride to Bride, From Alarming to Charming, A Vow Unbroken, and Finishing Touches. 448 pages, softcover from Barbour.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bartered Bride Collection: 9 Historical Stories of Arranged Marriages
Review 1 for The Bartered Bride Collection: 9 Historical Stories of Arranged Marriages
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleasing reading!

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
prayerpower
Location:St. Petersburg FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a handy book to have around. The stories are not long or laborious. They are upbeat and positive and are a delight to read. This is light, encouraging reading that's good before bed at night or other times when you want to enjoy a good story and come away feeling encouraged in the Lord! I will order more of these collections.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bartered Bride Collection: 9 Historical Stories of Arranged Marriages
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Is In The Air

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book 1
Josée has been brought up by LaBlanc family since she was 6 years old. She is starting to have feelings for her friend/brother. It is the custom in this Buyou Community that the father pick a spouse for his daughter when she reaches 18. That is where Josée is now, and is surprised when she finds herself engaged to wed Edouard, the older aloof brother.
Will she give up her feeling for one and turn them to another? Will she be able to reach Edouard?
We shall find out!
Book 2 One of my favorite authors Cathy Marie Hake wrote this short story and she does not disappoint. We are traveling on a wagon train to Willomet Valley, and when the story opens Ethan's wife has passed and he is traveling with his two young children, and having a hard time and needing to depend on others to help with their care. Charity was traveling with her Mother and Father, when first her Mom and then her Dad died.
The Wagon Master is insisting Charity cannot travel alone, and must be sent back….or combine the two wagons. So begins, a really sweet journey, with Charity and the children, and Ethan.
You will have to read this one! It is a must read!
Book 3 When Bethany's friend Penny brings her home over a Christmas Holiday, she loves being part of this family. A relationship develops between Penny's brother, Dr. Joshua Rogers, and Beth.
He eventually asks her to be his wife, and travel with him to go to Oregon, by wagon train.
Did Bethany marry him for love, or a family, that is the question to be answered in this story!
Book 4 Starts out quite funny, James Collingsworth has ordered 4 horse bridles, and ends up receiving 4 brides! He is not interested in a Woman. He can't leave them in town, and ends up bringing the sisters to his Ranch. He and his brother Luke end up sleeping in the barn. Will either he or Luke end up with one of these pretty woman.
Book 5 This is the second and continuing story of the Brides..not bridles, and this is Corrie Craigs. Her husband died a few months prior and she is in a family way, but that doesn't keep Luke from having feelings for her. Can Corrie who really loved her husband, ever have feelings for Luke?
Book 6 This is also a continuation of the Craig Sister. Bess Criag wants to move to town and Mr Riker or Gideon, offers Bess and Bertie his new house to use. Bessie sets up a kitchen and starts earning money from baking, and cooking meals. She also starts teaching some of the young boys how to read, and then some of the Soiled Doves from the Saloon. She begins to have feeling for Gideon, but as a Christian can not have anything to do with a saloon.
Book 7 This is Bertie's story, and the final and youngest of the Craigs Sisters. She is the a "tomboy", and loving it…that is until she meets Thomas Harding. All of a sudden another woman her age appears, married, and in a family way. It was like a light bulb went off in Roberta's head. You will have to read to see what happens to this one.
Book 8 The eighth novella is Abby's and James. Abby's Aunt plays a big trick on both of them! Abby is very pregnant when she arrives to be James's new Housekeeper, and James is surprised to find his new mail order bride to be with child.
Will Abby ever be able to break her vow to God? Will there ever be a real marriage? Surprising turn of events!
Book 9 Captain Gregory Royce has lent Mr Collier a lot of money to save his business. In return he is to marry Tabitha, whom he is in Love with. When the day before his wedding Tabitha elopes with another, her father offers his other daughter, Elizabeth or Libby as she is known.
Does this marriage have a chance? Will the Captain be able to Love Libby, and not pine for Tabitha.
A surprising romance.
I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Barbour Books, and was not required to give a positive review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bartered Bride Collection: 9 Historical Stories of Arranged Marriages
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Collection!

Date:December 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great collection of 9 stories. Each story can be read on its own and all are about brides and weddings. I liked that these were all put into one book; it makes for a great gift book.
I will not go into the details of all the stories as you can read the summary for that. I will say however that each story is worth reading. The characters and stories kept my attention. I thought each author wrote well and kept their story moving with interesting dialog and fun characters.
I gave this collection 5/5 stars. I enjoyed each story and would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction. I especially liked that although this book has the 9 stories they still kept the print normal size and therefore it is easy to read. I highly recommend this book!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bartered Bride Collection: 9 Historical Stories of Arranged Marriages
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:December 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice collection of historical romances. Though not all of the stories are arranged marriages exactly.
What I liked: I really enjoyed the four stories about the sisters who came west. They where very well written and considering the stories are shorter then a normal novel they really did not feel shorter they where so well written. I really enjoyed all of these stories!
What I did not like: Nothing really. This was a very well written and put together collection.
Over all I really liked this book! I liked all the stories for the most part and was kind of sad to see the book end. If you like collection books this is a great one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bartered Bride Collection: 9 Historical Stories of Arranged Marriages
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Collection

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A lovely collection for the reader who loves arranged marriage tales.
From the Bayou to the wilds of the prairie nine couples find love in a marriage that isn't exactly what they dreamed of.
Can God bring these couples together under unusual circumstances?
A delightful collection of stories, by a variety of authors, with great characters, and believeable storylines. I really liked how some of the stories were connected and others weren't, I really enjoyed the variety in time and setting, as well!
The one thing that I think I should probably note is that many of the stories were previously published in other collections, which is something to be aware of just in case you might have read some of the stories already. I was a bit disappointed to find that they weren't all new stories, even though I enjoyed each of them both times through.
Overall, a wonderfull collection that is sure to be enjoyable!
I recieved this ebook from the publisher in return for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bartered Bride Collection: 9 Historical Stories of Arranged Marriages
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Who'll Take This Woman?

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bartered Bride Collection
Nine Stories by Seven Authors
Joie De Vivre © 2006 by Lynette Sowell
1819 Louisiana
Edouard LeBlanc had lost much in the war. A scarred face, a bad leg and the loss of his one true love. He lived in a cabin on the Bayou and stayed away from people as much as he could. And then his father went and betrothed him to the lovely Josee.
Josee Broussard was taken into the LeBlanc family when she was orphaned at age six. Now she was eighteen and if she had to marry she hoped it would be her fun loving friend, Jacques LeBlanc. Instead it was his older brother Edouard who was always dark and brooding. Josee resigned herself to a loveless marriage. Or did God have bigger plans?
Button Strong Bride © 2001 by Cathy Marie Hake
Widower Ethan Cole is traveling to Oregon with his two children. His sister started out with him but when she had the chance to turn tail and run, she did. When the opportunity comes to help a young woman who lost both parents on the trail and in return she can help him Ethan takes on Charity Davis. As feelings for the young woman grow he realizes that she’s a wealthy lady and he’s a simple carpenter. Worlds apart. Can God cross that divide?
The Wedding Wagon © 2002 by Cathy Marie Hake
Dr. Joshua Rogers quickly fell for Bethany Handley after she spent a Christmas with them. He was pleased that she agreed to marry and go on the Oregon Trail with him. Joshua was quickly falling in love with her but did the beautiful orphan marry him only because of her close friendship with his sister Penny? And was it because with Papa and Penny she had a family? And would the secret Bethany kept from her husband, for fear that he wouldn’t want to marry her, damage their relationship as well?
The next four stories are all connected. Originally part of the Barbour Novella, Bride for a Bit
From Halter to Altar © 2003 by Cathy Marie Hake
Ellis Stack had four sister-in-laws to get off his hands. When he reads a notice for a man wanting a bridle order he misunderstands it as bridal and sends Matilda, Corrine, Bess and Bertie Craig off to James Collingswood in Lickwind. When Jim meets the train to get his bridles he instead has four women. What is he to do with them now?
From Carriage to Marriage © 2003 by Janelle Burnham Schneider
This is the continued story from Halter to Altar. Luke Collingswood was pulled towards Corrie Craig from the start. The young widow who was already in the family way seemed so fragile and something in him felt the need to protect her. He’d like that responsibility for good but would the young widow ever learn to love a second time or forever mourn her late husband?
From Pride to Bride © 2003 by JoAnne A. Grote
This is the third story in the continuing sage with the four brides instead of bridles that arrived in Lickwind, Wyoming. Bess Craig is considered bossy and very independent. Gideon Riker is the local saloon owner but is there more to him than meets the eye? This unusual team join forces when he offers to rent his brand new house to Bess and Bertie to start a business out of.
From Alarming to Charming © 2003 by Pamela Kaye Tracy
The fourth and final book of the Craig sisters and Lickwind, Wyoming. Thomas Hardin is returning to Lickwind after seven long years. At age fifteen his father and him were chased out of town. His dad was labeled a cattle rustler. He knew returning wouldn’t be easy. And it wasn’t.
Bertie Craig found that for the first time in her life she wanted to be noticed as a female. She didn’t understand why she felt different around Thomas but she did know his ranch was the first time she felt like she was home in many a year. If only he didn’t think of her as nothing more than a squirt.
A Vow Unbroken © 2000 by Amy Rognlie
James Parrish was so excited, his future wife was to arrive on the train. God had answered his prayers and he would have a wife to love and share his life with. When Abby Cantrell arrived James thought her to be absolutely beautiful. And then his world shattered. She was not the same woman he expected and this one carried several burdens. Would God bring her into his life to torture him or was there hope for a real marriage?
Finishing Touches © 2007 by Kelly Eileen Hake
Captain Gregory Royce was looking forward to wedding the love of his life….until she ran off with another and he was left with her spinster sister, Libby Collier. The happiest day of his life became the worse day. Unlike Libby who had a secret longing to be loved by the handsome Captain but knew he loved her sister. How can anything good come from this
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bartered Bride Collection: 9 Historical Stories of Arranged Marriages
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Bartered Brides Collection

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Book Description from CBD:
Follow nine adventurous young women as they journey to Oregon, Dakota Territory, Colorado, Missouri, and Louisiana in this romantic collection from your favorite authors! Includes Joie de Vivre, Button Strong Bride, The Wedding Wagon, From Halter to Altar, From Carriage to Marriage, From Pride to Bride, From Alarming to Charming, A Vow Unbroken, and Finishing Touches. 448 pages, softcover from Barbour.
My Thoughts:
If you enjoy very simple, easy, short stories with a little romance, you will love this book. I was excited to read it because the very thought of mail-order-brides or arranged marriages is just intriguing to me.
I did enjoy this book and the short stories. I liked some of them better than others. There were a few that I skimmed to get the general idea so I could move on to the next book. Some of them go together in a short series, others are stand alone titles.
Because of the book's brevity, the characters are not too deep. The relationships seem to move along much faster than they would have in a longer book. But, the authors did a great job with the space they had to create a collection of heart-warming romantic stories.
The books weave history, romance and faith together to create a wonderful book that readers will enjoy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bartered Bride Collection: 9 Historical Stories of Arranged Marriages
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Collection

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs Amy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There are 9 different short stories in the collection. Overall the collection was good, but I think that the 7 in the middle absolutely went together in a collection and the first and last were a little out of place.
The last story, Finishing Touches, was good, but didn't fit the wagon train/frontier genre. The first story, Joie de Vivre, was not only out of place, but just wasn't an enjoyable read for me. There was too much french without translation and I understand a little bit of french from the years I took classes. The setting of the first story didn't appeal to me and therefore made the story just ok.
THe 2nd story, Button Strong Bride, was wagon train marriage that was right up my alley. I liked the button strand that was a major part of the sweet story. I had never heard of it before. I don't know if is was a real tradition to start a button collection for young girls, but if it wasn't it should have been.
The 3rd story, The Wedding Wagon, was once again a wagon train marriage that I really enjoyed. It was a sweet story of a young lady marrying her best friends brother that she has only met just a few times. I think I would have liked to have read more about this family.
Stories 4-7 were all connected. In Halter to Alter four sisters are sent off to be mail order brides, but arrive to meet a man who wanted four bridles and not four brides. All four books are the stories of the four sisters and the men that win their hearts. The other stories are From Carriage to Marriage, From Bride to Pride, From Alarming to Charming. I enjoyed reading about the sisters and how they found love.
The 8th story was A Vow Unbroken. It was a sweet mail order bride story that I enjoyed reading. It probably had the most spiritual content of any of the stories and made for a nice afternoon read.
The last story, Finishing Touches, was a good story although a little misplaced. It was an arranged marriage were the sister took the place of the bride. The setting was different than the majority of the book, but still a good read.
This book was given to me free of charge from Barbour Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.