Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Sacred Echo - eBook

Zondervan The Sacred Echo - eBook

Most of the time life seems pretty ordinary. But into these normal, everyday moments God chooses to whisper His love and truth to us. In "The Sacred Echo" Margaret Feinberg shares what God showed her during times of prayer and ministry. These sacred echoes reveal the God who is as persistent to communicate with us, as we are with Him.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sacred Echo - eBook
Review 1 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

She is so personable

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
RhythmGrace
Location:Banner Elk, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feinberg's writing style and personal stories are perfect for our new Women's Sunday School Class!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
judy
Location:Spencerville, Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is a workbook and DVD that goes with this book on prayer and together it makes a great Bible study or Growth Group topic. The book stands alone if you are looking for a book on prayer that gives you a different perspective. It is thought-provoking and an easy read. J.W.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jana Hege
I picked up this book because I kept hearing a certain "echo" in my own life and wanted to get the author's take on it. I am so glad I did. This book really opened my eyes to listening for God's voice in the everyday. Margaret Feinberg is extremely relatable and gives wonderful examples in every chapter. She writes in a clear, friendly voice that makes you feel like you're chatting with a friend instead of being talked down to by someone wiser than you.This is a book I will pick up time and time again, just to remind myself to open my heart and mind to what God wants to say to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mimiladybug
This is the type of book that causes the reader to think in different ways from the norm and to want to delve deeper into your own relationship with God. Whether you agree or disagree with everything Ms. Feinberg says, you will be forced to think of prayer and God's love in different ways.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tirzah
I would first like to say that I am a Born-again Bible believing Christian. Before reading each chapter of this book, I asked the Lord to give me wisdom and discernment, to not be overly critical and to have an understanding heart. As each chapter was reviewed it was weighed against the whole of Scripture. I believe that Ms. Feinberg has a sincere desire to serve the Lord and encourage others in their personal walk with the Lord. She no doubt is a talented writer.I found a few things to be untrue. Ms. Feinberg speaks of unanswered prayers. God answers EVERY prayer. He may not answer it the way we desire for Him to or in our timing, but He does answer our prayers. All of our prayers are heard if we truly are believers and followers of the Lord Jesus Christ. Our main focus should be to glorify the Lord Jesus Christ by conforming to His will not our own. We need to be equipped in the knowledge of His word. To not only read it but to study to make sure that we are not tossed to and fro with winds of doctrine.With that being said, I am very disappointed that yet another writer and publisher have fallen into the false doctrine of the Emerging Church.Does anyone study their Bible anymore? Or do these "Christians" just go with the latest trend or whatever makes them feel good? 2 Timothy tells us in Chapter 3, verses 16-17:"All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work"I would also like to mention the fact that Ms. Feinberg brings up how she and her husband were amazed and disgusted by the mega churches and their Miracle-Gro formulas yet she endorses Rob Bell one of the largest deceivers in the Emergent movement.I wish I had a good review to give, however I am grieved that more people will be deceived by the Emerging Church. 2 Timothy 4:1-5
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Sacred Echo by Margaret Feinberg is a lovely devotional about listening for God to speak to you. Feinberg exposes some of her deepest and most painful conversations with God to show the reader how to learn to hear God and understand him. She encourages daily reading and rereading of the Bible to learn to discern God's words from our own. It's a fascinating, insightful read with a powerful but quiet message. God does still speak today, and he longs to speak to our hearts, but we need to learn his language and then listen for the sacred echo. Feinberg uses the story of Elijah who didn't find God in a raging fire, powerful earthquake or fierce wind, but in the quiet voice that spoke to him the words he needed to hear. This is the perfect book to settle in with at the end of a long busy day. It helped to center my mind and soul on the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather Novak
"The Sacred Echo" by Margaret Feinberg was a FABULOUS book! I easily sunk into this every lunch hour...and eagerly read every page. The organization and content was very meaningful to anyone wanting to know God better or even for the first time. Feinberg was very willing to be transparent in her own faith conflicts and offered realistic resolution...or even appropriate lack thereof. Thank you for writing it Lady Feinberg!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dylonno
The great strength of Margaret Feinbergs the Sacred echo lies in its weakness and vulnerability. Not often have I found a book on prayer that is written from a perspective immersed in Scripture where the author is so open and real. It is much more common to find works that are strictly intellectual theology of prayer or, alternatively, books which are written and flippantly refer to Scripture as a sort of endorsement. But this book, in its profound simplicity, continually invites the reader to share: to befriend the author, to share with others, and to share everything (openly) with God. The sacred echo is Gods persisting voice. And in hearing about this echo in the lives of others, the invitation is to listen for it in our own lives. Especially because we live in a world which tells us that there isnt anything more to life than the dullness which we see, we need the constant reminder that the teachings of Jesus are real life, both now and to come.Structured around simple yet profound echoes in her own life, Margaret displays something of what it can look like to be gripped by the Father in such a way that we require nothing else. As we pray, Margaret shows that it is not always God who changes, but it is often us who change to become closer to who we truly are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tina
I have just finished readin The Sacred Echo by Margaret Feinberg. I have always had a bit of a problem with prayer - that is I always kind of felt as though I somehow wasn't doing it right, that it was bad to ask for anything or that I wasn't saying the right thing.IN this book, the author tells us that prayer is about repetition - that each time we pray - we open our hearts up just a little bit more to ourselves and to God. I like this concept, like slowly but surely we are building a more trusting relationship with God.Interestingly, the author also states that its not necessarily the sound of the prayer that gets through to God, but the echo (which I interpret as the true meaning of what we are are praying for and resonates back and forth between God and I).This book is encouraging - it made me realize that God is infinitely patient and asks us to pay attention to the things around us. See the beauty in everything.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
C.E. Moore
Margaret Feinbergs writing is superb, like a fine concerto. Her new work, The Sacred Echo will reverberate through the hollows of your soul and expose the depths that God has indwelled you with. Quite simply put, Feinbergs opus on prayer is one of the most beautifully moving manuscripts I have ever had the privilege of reading. It made me laugh, it made me regret, it made me hopeful, it brought me to my knees. Above all, The Sacred Echo reminded me that we serve not only a God who we can openly speak to but a God who speaks to us in return. He is there and he is not silent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
~Sarah~
The Sacred Echo by Margaret Feinberg was a great, quick read. It is, to me, written in a witty style that speaks to young adults. However, I feel anyone of any age can read this book and find it enjoyable. I believe the reader could learn many new life lessons, and really connect with the material. I know I have. This book contains religious teachings, but they do not scream out at you from each paragraph you read. The teaching are nicely interwoven into the book, and they flow with an easy style with each turn of the page. ~Sarah
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda
I was lucky enough to be able to read an advanced copy. I enjoyed it. In this book she describes listening for God's voice, not just as whisper, but as an--echo!She is convinced that when we listen for God's persistant voice in our daily lives, then we will walk more confidently and fully into all that He has for us. Throughtout the book she is not afraid to express her doubts, fears, and lack of faith which is what really drew me to this book. She says what many of us Christians have been thinking and wondering. I would recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Sacred Echo - eBook
This review is fromThe Sacred Echo.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy
Margaret Feinbergs sweet little book, The Sacred Echo is one ladys everyday moments with God. Her cheerful stories and anecdotes serve to remind each of us that God is connected to every one of us, present in all things.The rain that inundates the yards then follows the gutters and streams to the creeks and rivers wash away the old leaving room for Gods gifts to us.The grass fires that rampage and burn all the foliage in sight, renews itself with bright fresh greenery in the coming spring, just as we, through our universal God consciousness renew our lives and the lives of others through our daily thoughts and talks with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.