Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook

Thomas Nelson Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook

What you see is not always what you get - and this true story of a man and his dog is no exception. Woven just under the surface of this simple parable, Keller presents profound spiritual truth. It is the story of Lass, a worthless animal thought to be untrainable, who becomes a magnificent and valuable sheepdog - not terribly unlike how God's love can transform our worst characteristics into blessings that serve to further His Kingdom. Allow yourself to see Biblical truth in this classic tale of what can happen when you yield to the Master.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 out of 2396%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Review 1 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lessons that touch the heart

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:Kitimat, B.C.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I chose to give a few copies of this book to friends, and then had to order more! Hearts have been touched deeply as we identify with the lessons Jesus has for us in the parables of a dog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best books i have read

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Woodstock
Location:Vancleave, MS
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The truths behind the story of Lass are very well brought out in this book. Mr. Keller is quite discerning lessons from the training of Lass. They are hard hitting and make you think about your own relationship to our master Jesus Christ, who becomes our Savior when we trust and obey. Very relevant in the part about the crows for me. Excellent truths of God's working with us and growing in grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jones
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the story and how Keller related it to our relationship with Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good read with many valuable lessons.

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Johanna
Location:Rural Ohio
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This true story of a new and useful life for an abused border collie, brought about by the patience and love of his master is a touching example of the difference God's love can make in our lives. There is no hurt or wound too deep to be beyond the salvation of His love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Millie
Location:Painted Post, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed this book very much. I enjoy books about animals.
This book was well written with lots of personal lessons within the story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judi Evans
Location:N C
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely moving, and certainly applicable to our lives. We are all a work in progress and this book gives us hope.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It Touched My Heart

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
dreamcatcher
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Lessons from a Sheep Dog" is an extremely heart-warming, charming and loving book filled with moments that will touch your heart and speak to your soul. Its amazing what one of God's amazing little creatures can teach us, if we only listen with our heart.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love at its best.

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carlett
Location:Horsham, Victoria, Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A short but beautiful story for all ages with a heavenly meaning. I read the introduction to residents at a nursing home and had to leave the book behind so they could read the rest of the book!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a "life book"

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth H
Location:TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book I give to graduating students who have a love for animals. It is not restricted to only that type of person. It is an easy read; full of thought provoking insights parallel with our relationship with God. Love this book. CBD always gives great deals and delivery has been problem free for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Woodie
Location:Seaford East Sussex England
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I saw thiis book on one of your emaills and as I have a Border Collie of my own I wanted to read someone else`s experiance of one.Well written and enjoyable. an easy read and it is now in my wifes pile of books to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lessons From a Sheepdog

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debi
Location:Jackson, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic little book. I enjoy all of Phillip Keller's books, but use this one for high school graduation presents. I also used it to teach church camp lessons while in Northern Ireland. They really understand sheepdogs there, and the children seemed to enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful devotional reading for dog lovers

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
rayrockfinder
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Profound lessons to everyone who truely desires to be a devoted follower of Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Gift Book

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
jomilco
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice smaller book with nice print. Very easy reading.
I am giving this as a gift to my grandaughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great analogy!

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerolyn B. Holland
Location:Estes Park, Colorado
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful understanding of our relationship with Jesus Christ as this loyal sheepdog has to the Shepard! Good for young teens as well as adults!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I gave this book as a gift

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:El Paso, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I gave this book to a young woman who loves dogs. She is a new and enthusiastic Christian, and I remember what an impact the book had on me at her age. I highly recommend it as an excellent example of how the Lord loves us unconditionally, desires that we use our talents to the fullest, and waits patiently for us to return to Him, even when we wander in the hills of confusion and fear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shreeves
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent! As if the Lord was speaking about me and my life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A simple easy to understand book

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
walking mama
Location:Mt Morris, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book, made me think of how wonderful our God is, and how we can lean, trust Him with all of our life. The writer puts it in words that we all can relate to. It is full of "golden nuggets."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific analogy

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
AuntTrish
Location:MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this book on a whim with Phillip Keller's "A Shepherd looks at Psalm 23". Was going to give both to my 16 year old niece. Ended up keeping this one and giving it to a friend instead. Am in the process of buying more to pass on. The analogy between the relationship of God & man and this man & his dog made God's truth come to light. I loved it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Analogy is fantastic

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
BATBOY711
Location:Wichita, Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone who has ever had a pet or a dog should be able to relate to how love and trust between a person and an animal creates a bond that the Lord wants with us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lessons from a Sheep Dog - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too small

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gram
Location:Wyoming
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Disappointed in this purchase. I was expecting a full size hardcover edition. I had purchased this for a friend for a Christmas gift. In the description on-line when I ordered it didn't specify the size and for the price I expected more.
Would have returned it but it wasn't worth it to me to have to pay the shipping to return it.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.