Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Affirm Films Faith Like Potatoes DVD

Affirm Films Faith Like Potatoes DVD

Where there's love, there's hope. Adapted from the best-selling autobiography Faith like Potatoes, this inspirational film weaves together the moving journey of a man who, like his potatoes, grows his faith - unseen until the harvest. This powerful DVD includes God's Farmer, a gripping, 54-minute documentary on the real life of Angus Buchan. Rated PG. Approx 116 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • God's Farmer: The Angus Buchan Story (54-Minute Documentary)
  • Making-of Featurette
  • English, French and Spanish Subtitles
  • Widescreen
  • Closed Captions
Average Customer Rating:
4.457 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
107
4 stars
25
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
6
35 out of 4088%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Review 1 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

didn't like all the reading.

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marg
Location:Simcoe, On. Canada.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Presented good and had a good message, but didn't like all the reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dale
Location:Ont.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great movie! A bit slow moving for awhile, but always interesting. Lots to learn from a movie like this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This DVD tells a powerful story.

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Betty Booper
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD is absolutely excellent. The family's story could be about anyone and the filming is excellent. It was recommended to us and I would certainly recommend to anyone I know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith in God

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Polar bear
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes life gets really hard, and that is what Angus and his family face. But once he turns to God, he has meaning in his life.
There is a graphic scene, but unfortunately, life can be very gruesome.
Great movie about trusting God. One of our family's favorite movies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The story is heatwarming and realistic.

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
smihssen
Location:Valparaiso, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the movie and the true story behind it. This movie would be good for anyone ages 10 and up as the death scene is hard for young children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

could not get into this movie

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
csdavis
Location:Wake Forest NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I watched for 45-1 hr but just could not get into this movie. I do not like the content BUT I would suggest others see the movie. I was told it was a great movie and just because it was hard for me does not mean it would be for others, I just don't relate to the harshness
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome movie

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
charvann
Location:St. Maries, Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great movie. To see the anger in this man disolve in the presence of God was just a real joy. He totally turned his life around, and his families life, and to see the way that he shared the Lord with the country was amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gaby
Location:az
Age:35-44
Gender:female
It is a very inspirational movie that demonstrates what can happen when you believe God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An encouraging movie.

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ralph
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great story of God's faithfulness when we trust in Him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The storyline is very inspirational.

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
dhoug
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because a friend recommended this film, I was eager to order from Christianbook.com. My friend was correct since I found the film very enjoyable, extremely inspirational. Plus the setting for the film was thoroughly captivating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good movie

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne Marie Sargent
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved watching this movie with my daughter. Great example of trusting in God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Brentwood, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I will need to watch this movie again. It's quite long but very engaging. I thought it was believable. The first part of the movie had me wondering how this got on a Christian shelf but the transformation made it absolutely clear. Yes...I would recommend this to a friend. And especially to someone who is struggling or who needs encouragement. What a blessing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Another mediocre Christian production...

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl MacMillan
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God IS awesome! This movie is not. Poor dialogue, stilted cinematography and hoaky special effects are par for the course of low-budget Christian films.
On the other hand, what God did in the life of Angus Buchan is miraculous, inspiring and challenging - he continues to live a life of faith, as he depends upon the Living God who keeps His promises. It's a shame that Christian films aren't equal to or above secular films in quality - perhaps then non-believers would take them more seriously. NOTHING should diminish the glory of God! This movie does. If you want to watch a great film made by a church, see "Courageous". It's the best Christian flick I've seen yet!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

IF YOU ONLY OWNED ONE MOVIE--THIS IS IT!

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lindy
Location:Gloucester, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I won't go into the details of this movie, as not to "ruin" what happens in your heart while you watch it!
This movie is LITERALLY the best movie I have seen in my lifetime (so far)& I've seen thousands of movies. I was in the Sony Music business & THIS MOVIE WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE, BAR NONE. If you could only have 1 book & 1 movie on a deserted island 1) The Bible & 2) "Faith Like Potatoes!"
Watch this movie and as a "mov-ie" should-it will MOVE you to a place in your life with a REAL relationship with God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent testimony of faith changing lives.

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Islander
Location:British Columbia
Age:55-65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of a farming family in South Africa who find God in the face of hardship and danger. There is a radical change in them when they make Jesus Lord of their lives. Throughout, they display a deep respect for their neighbours of all races in spite of the norms of society at the time. God uses this family mightily but does not spare them from hardship and disaster. Their lives are a testimony to the grace of God in the midst of blessings and trials on earth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unwavering faith. Plain and simple.

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
JDWILLS
Location:West Palm Beach, Fl.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie helped me with some of my own struggles with life. It re-opened my eyes to accept that God is there, always. You don't have to see with your eyes. You only have to believe in your heart, without question, (have faith) and God will be there for you. Most people live life through the five sences. This movie gives you a visual experience of how much fuller your life can be if you take that extra step, faith. He will fill your life in ways you never dreamed possible. Thank you for such a wonderful movie. And thank you for letting me experience the life of a very wonderful man.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyce
Location:Providence, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could not understand what the people in the movie was saying. Would not recommend it to anyone. We did not even get through half of the movie before we decided to just turn it off and watch something else. We have bought several movies from Christianbook.com and loved them, but this one was just not very good.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must See!

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Believer
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is no doubt in my top 3 Favorite movies! This movie made me cry and It really shows that jesus is the savior and give second chances! A++
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gotta Dig to Get Potatoes

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
PatW
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
at first my wife and I were bored & disappointed. But that night I dreamt of the movie and understood more. It has a LOT of this man's life squeezed into the short span of a movie and I am afraid that adequate time/effort were not put into leading into and expressing salient points...or maybe we are just spoiled by great productions from other churches. Sound was not up to par and,frankly, the accents were difficult at times. But, and most important, there are fantastic, Godly things presented in this movie. With a little work and thought they are just beneath the surface. So, get the movie and dig a little to be rewarded with a bounty.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Faith Like Potatoes DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!!

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie was great! I truly enjoyed it and it really encouraged me in my faith to keep trusting God no matter what people think or say about the situation!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345 ...8Next >>>