Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Buena Vista Glory Road, DVD

Buena Vista Glory Road, DVD

If you liked Remember the Titans, you'll love this thrilling true story of the team that changed college basketball forever! Witness coach Don Haskins of tiny Texas Western University break tradition by starting the best players he finds---history's first all-African American lineup! Their 1966 NCAA Championship showdown sends shock waves through the sport and the nation! Rated PG. Approx. 118 minutes.

Bonus Features:

  • Highlights of Coach Haskins' Illustrious Career
  • Inside Look Into Coach Haskins' Training Regimen
  • Extended Interviews with Players and Colleagues of Coach Haskins
  • Alicia Keys Music Video - "Sweet Music"
  • Deleted Scenes
  • Director, Producer and Writers' Audio Commentaries

DVD Specifications:

  • French and Spanish Language Tracks
  • French and Spanish Subtitles
  • Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Glory Road, DVD
Review 1 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Granny
Location:Sequim, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it when the underdog wins and this is a true story.
Great story, good characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patience Okananwa
A great movie to watch with the children. A great lesson to learn about the racial hatred of the 1960'S!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i loved this movie

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kellyann
Location:Maryville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a wonderful movie with a wonderful christian message
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this movie!

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
anniesgram
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family loves this movie! It involves two subjects dear to our hearts - basketball and racial reconciliation. The acting is superb, the story is inspiring. I'd recommend this movie to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shows Truth of History

Date:December 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Moreland
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is not a total Christian film. There are bibical truths in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Inspirational Movie

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
missnurse
Location:Mali, West Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great movie about the fighting against the accepted norm for a higher goal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Schwartz
I was shocked to hear the improper language in this movie. I bought this to show at a Men's Reteat and had to turn it off after hearing words that Christ never used. H*ll.sh*t and as* are just a few.I am very dissapointed after reading all the good comments. Should never be in a christians home.I burned it.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melis
Awesome story, poignantly demonstrating racism and the struggle to overcome it. A little sensual references/dancing that could have been excluded. Really appreciated this depiction of fighting for what is right and of self-sacrifice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Penner
CBD catalog is a great tool to give to my daughter to select appropriate gifts for Christmas giving for all ages of the grandchildren and grownups too! This one looks like a sure hit with the son-in-love coach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Kathy J Heitz
I found this to be a most excellent life-based movie. If you have liked "Remember the Titans", this is a must add to your collection of another True Story. It just shows how it takes a special person without blinders to make a difference in the world. Coach Haskins started out as a Dorm Monitor, but went much farther than that. Great, Great movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Hughes
Team building and leadership are necessary skills for all of us to learn. The lessons taught by this true story offers hope and encouragement for everyone...young and old!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Carle
We watched as a family and enjoyed it very much. Will be putting in our church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Graves
I have not had time to watch this yet, but my grandsons have. My 12 year old grandson told me that it was the best movie he had ever seen. He told me about many of the parts that he liked. Any movie that draws this type of comment from him has to be a good movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Maclean
Great! My family, including grandsons 7 and 9 years of age watched it. Highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janine Stroble
A great movie for the family. It shows how lucky we are today and how the hate in America has subsided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Randell Cheddie
This movie is very inspiring,exhilarating,moving and interesting.I recommend this movie for all to see.It shows us how to work at what we believe in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Connie Patterson
I enjoyed this movie so much. I buy these types of movies b/c I'm a director of a Christian women's rehab home and buy family friendly, feel good movies. This was definitely one I recommend. All of the women enjoyed it as well! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lighthouse Community Church
Can't beat it for the price. Great movie based on a true story. Strongly conveys the truth of the evils of racial discrimination. It is beneficial for those of the younger generation who have not seen the mid 1900's to see and appreciate the freedoms we now take for granted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steven Lowman
Not explicitly Christian this is a good movie. It takes a historical event and brings it to life. It is a well done movie and fun to watch but may not be for smaller children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Glory Road, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dawn Wright
GREAT MOVIE! Not specifically Christian, but has great morals about doing what is right, not what others tell you to do. About determination to change the world's view of people that were treated as second class for so long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.