Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HarperOne Mere Christianity

HarperOne Mere Christianity

Arguably the 20th century's most influential Christian writer, C.S. Lewis sought to explain and defend the beliefs that nearly all Christians at all times hold in common. His simple yet deeply profound classic, originally delivered as a series of radio broadcasts, is a book to be thoroughly digested by believers and generously shared with skeptics.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 out of 2095%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mere Christianity
Review 1 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mercy
Location:Downey, CA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought provoking & inspiring. Puts instinctive beliefs into logical perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, but poorly bound. Good for content only

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larry
Location:Lynden
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The outside page edges were rough, not sheared to make them even. The book, as supplied, looked like the edge of a stack of newspapers. Detective thrillers do better than this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just read it...slowly.

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
reddrum
Location:United States
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CS Lewis is a brilliant man. Through Mere Christianity God answered some questions I have had since my early twenties. As far as apologetist goes, Lewis is tops.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
LJHB
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought-provoking and logical, this easy-read convincingly shows the sensibility of the Christian religion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Old Chestnut, Gone Stale

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Philip Tutt
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is an "oldie", based on radio talks which the author, a Professor of Medieval and Renaissance literature at Cambridge University, gave during World War II. Much has been written about it. It is a genial work, good-natured, good-humored, intellectual (though not heavy-handed), and thoroughly unconvincing. For example, the author makes much of the idea that because generations of persons in disparate cultures share certain basic values of moral behavior, therefore there exists a Moral Law, embodying those values in some fundamental form, which is "outside" of, and independent of human existence. This sort of argument depends on the wholly specious thesis that "subjective" and "objective" are clearly (objectively) distinct, rather than simply (for the purposes of intelligent discourse) usefully distinguishable. Or, for example, the author claims that theology, understood in its classical sense as the study of God, is a useful road map to an understanding of God. This claim ignores the reality that theology is better seen as a history of false starts and dead ends, or a wellspring of religious schism and blood soaked persecution, than as a reliable guide to truth, rather a road map of places to be avoided, than places where the human heart can find, and learn to listen to, the quiet promptings of the Holy Spirit. Some readers may find the work useful as a summary of basic Christian doctrine. I do not, although I have no doubt that it will remain a "classic" of apologetics, if only for the engaging style for which the author is so well-known.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sooo good! My, Can this even be possible??

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clive Staples Lewis' Mere Christianity.
My gosh. Talk about an eye-opening read... more than a read actually, a revelation that is so interesting to unfold. Never has theology been so intriguing, so mesmerizing and what surprised me the most was how this work (written nearly 59 years ago) was able to resonate with someone of this generation like me. I found myself nodding my head of, laughing (the guy had wit!), reflecting, studying... this is not the kind of book you read page after page. Sometimes you have to read one paragraph twice before you move on to the next, just to fully grasp- and savour- what C.S wrote.
This is for everyone: those who are interested in theology or not. I believe you'll understand, because Lewis wrote in an understandable manner. (Never mind that at the preface I had to use the dictionary, after every two words..)
I'd like to end with this. I don't really consider this to be Gospel Truth. I agreed with many of the things C.S said, but I'm also questioning some others. In my opinion, this is -or was- the opinions and thoughts of a very intelligent man.
An excellent work, really.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mind-blowing

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mraziyen
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book explains the inexplainable. When the Christian finds it difficult to accept certain doctrine, CS Lewis--through logic-- was able to explain it! It's unbelievable, what new insights I got from this book. Everyone needs to read this, not just believers, but those who question Christianity as a whole. Great for those who want to become a Christian but find that their intellect is just getting in the way.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Merely the best!

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ronald Ramsey
Location:Jasper, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book offered affordably so that great thoughts can be spread. It just doesn't get better than that!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
mayd
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son needed the book for school, he is very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

After the Bible, "Mere Christianity" the Best!

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Armahda
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After the Bible, C.S. Lewis' "Mere Christianity" taught me more than any other Christian Apologetic about Faith in God the Father and salvation through His Son, Jesus Christ.
Lewis simple and straight forth style explains clearly the human sinful condition and how God plan of salvation works to appease His wrath for man's sin and save us His children He loves!
I bought this copy for a friend and have my self revisited "Mere Christianity" several times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
siggif
Location:Reykjavík Iceland
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think it is a great "theological" book,even if it is not it still is. It is simple and easy to understand,and i think no matter where you are in your walk with God or even if your not walking with God it is a great way to go to or go back to the fundamental issues of Christianity,the issues that all denominations have in common.It focuses on the things that unite and not division.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very informative book but somehard to read.

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandpa
Location:ga
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book is being used in our Bible study group, you have to realize that it was written some 50 years ago by a FORMER aethist . We have only completed the first section.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
mags
Location:Naperville Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great read, I would recommend it to everyone I know
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could have bought this book elsewhere but chose to support a great Christian business instead - good value overall!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read!

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shawn
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every reader of this book will say it is a great book. The basics of Christianity are presented in a way no other can compare to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put this down

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
gigi
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CS Lewis has a brillant mind and was a perfect book for me to read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nanny
Location:Brighton, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent resource for "beginners" or mature Christians or especially for those seeking to know more about Truth.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth Grundyson
Location:Braham, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book I read many years ago and thought it to be one of the best in convincing anyone to be a Christian. I gave that book away and when I saw it come up on the Midweek Markdowns I knew I had to have it. It is still one of my favorite books after 40 years!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bane
Gender:male
C. S. Lewis did an outstanding job on this classic, and his intellect challenges me often. This is probably his best book. I would have given this five stars, but I cannot help but question some of his "interests." Throughout some of his books he has claimed to respect pagan myths and the like! I just don't understand that because he seems like a devout believer, yet some of his rather liberal beliefs and assumptions cause me to wonder what he is thinking. However 99% of this book consists of the fundamental Christian beliefs, and I certainly recommend this to everyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mere Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must reading!

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Location:Kansas, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Mere Christianity Lewis gives one of the best defenses of the Christian faith in print and one that has shaped the landscape of modern apologetics for the believer and unbeliever alike. One of the most influential Christian books ever written.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.