Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook

Zondervan Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook

Ancient of Days, Lord of Hosts, El Shaddai, Abba . . . names did more than simply distinguish one person from another, they often conveyed the essential nature and character of a person. This is especially true when it comes to the names of God in the Bible. In Praying the Names of God readers will learn how to study and pray God's names by focusing each week on one of the primary names or titles of God. By incorporating these divine names into their prayers, and learning about the biblical context in which the name was revealed, readers will gain a more intimate understanding of who God is and how he can be relied on in every circumstance of their lives. Praying the Names of God is a unique devotional, one that offers a rich program of daily prayer and study, designed to lead people into fresh encounters with the living God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Review 1 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
traipster
Location:Cary, Il
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I have not read the book in it's entirety, I am looking forward to digging deeper. What I have initially read seems exactly what I have been searching for to aid in my understanding of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
JCat
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend and I are using this book as a weekly study together. We have found it thought provoking and challenging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Last year I received "Praying the Names of Jesus" by this same author and enjoyed it greatly. This is no less enjoyable! This is a book that seems so simple upon first look but it delves deeply into the richness of God's Word exposing the beauty and depth of the original language and the importance of the different names given to God. We are taught the words Lord, God, Almighty, the I Am - yet rarely do we truly understand the depth and meaning of these words or how they reveal the rich and wonderful character of God.
Upon reading a book like this it is hard to view the scriptures in the same context. For all of the sudden you have a more complete knowledge of what the author, under the divine inspiration of God, was trying to convey. It is like stumbling upon a treasure in the midst of what you already thought was good and unearthing more than you expected at each turn. It is like finding a well in the midst of a desert, then discovering it is actually a spring that runs eternally deep and will never run dry.
I really enjoy that only one Name is explored for the entire week. This gives the reader time to absorb the meaning - to make it personal and to experience the true character of who God is. The questions cause the reader to dig deeper and apply the knowledge that has been taught.
Absolutely worth the read - more than once!
Thank you Zondervan for this review copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My 1st EBook

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
KatieO
Location:Orange, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am enjoying this study very much. EBook is the way to go for me. I think I will do my reading this way from now on. I always know where to find my book, it is on my PC or whereever I download it to. Great way to do books and no trees need to pay the price!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patty Fuhr
This is a fantastic book on the names of God. I'm using it as a daily devotional. The author renders new insights.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Ada
the book praying the names of god .is a wonderful book.we are a group of ladies from rockhill baptist church and we have tues. nite bible study.and this is going to be a very powerful book about god please get this book and learn all the names of a great and powerful god.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheryl Maccullough
This book is just what I was looking for. A book that teaches what the names of God mean, as they are used in the Scripture, and how to pray God's namesI have been using this book as a daily "lesson" during my devotions. It has enriched my prayer time.It is an easy read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Woodworth
The names for God and for Jesus have always fascinate me. This book has all the information in one place. I am learning more about the characteristics of God.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
EVELYN M. SMITH
As a student of the Bible for over 30 years, I have come to love the names of Jesus. When I found the journal last year, I was impressed. This book was absolutely beautifully written; fully researched. The chapter on alpha/omega took my breath away! Read it 3 times! The Son of God chapter was so powerful!! The servant chapter stunned me with its insights. The redeemer chapter was humbling and the I Am chapter - there are not words to tell you what it means to me! I plan to recommend this one to several of my friends and to purchase at least two more copies for gifts - one to my pastor! Please transmit to Ms. Spangler my sincere appreciation of her ability. I hope she continues to write. I will look forward to reading more of her work soon!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ellyn
This is an awesome book to understand who God is and how much we need to believe His word and have faith in His will for our lives. It have become my witnessing tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ms. Johnsie Smalls
Easy to read and understand. An easy journey into praying the names of GOD. If you are a beginner, you will not remain the same when praying; if you are "seasoned" this is a reminder of whom you are praying to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donald Hood
This is a must have for every seeker of God.His names are who He is and what He does!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Smith
This is a great daily devotional to meditate on the characteristics of God. The daily readings are short but FULL of meat from God's Word. I highly recommend it to everyone on every level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janine Dekker
This book is enlightening and thought provoking. It makes a wonderful meditation and devotional book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Colleen Gerby
So far,I am finding the book " Praying the Names of God" to be helpful and practical!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harleen Teach
Praying the Names of God has been one of the best devotionals I've ever done.I learned so much. I looked forward to each new Name of God. I was truly blessed my this study. I gave Praying the Names of God & Praying the Names of Jesus(also wonderful) as gifts to my children and friends this Christmas. I intend to do more Ann Spangler devotionals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Laura Kaiser
This is a very well-written book. A small group of women and myself are using it for a Bible study with the journal of the same name. I'm learning a lot and am really being blessed! It's been an invaluable part of my walk with Christ and growing faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Savannah Tuggle
Praying the names of GOD gives you more insight on each of his names. I think its more insight than prayer. I am still enjoying the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lorraine Kowalski
I found this book an excellent resource to developing a more intimate pray life. Life changing with opportunity to see answered prayer. Everyday it spoke personally to my heart and showed me the many areas of God and his heart for us. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Praying the Names of God: A Daily Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Janice
What a magnificent devotional on HE who is All. To meditate daily on the depth of His Names is an experience to share. By the end of the book; you will realize that you are not the same as when you started it. Blessings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>