Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Church Publishing Inc. A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names

Church Publishing Inc. A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names

Do you ever stumble over all those tongue-twisting biblical names? This easy-to-use guide lists all the names and places in the Bible from Aaron to Zuzim and shows you the actual word, both the preferred and permissible pronunciations, as well as the syllables that should be stressed. A handy appendix includes explanations of Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek terms.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names
Review 1 for A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

When you're a Gentile teaching a baby Israelite it

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy F
Location:Stagecoach, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for my sister, who's son married a Jewish woman, and she's teaching her grandchild some of the blessings & nmes in Hebrew. Darby is only 4 and they learn so quickly at that age, she wanted to teach Darby how to pronounce the biblical names to impress her other grandparents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maxi
Location:Connecticut
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent source for reading biblical names. Recommended to all my students.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book gave me the help I was looking for.

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nance
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The books I ordered were exactly what I wanted. They came much quicker than I thought they would and I've aready used them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
William P. Bolton
I purchased these books for fellow members of my Church family who are called on to read lessons, during worship services, from both the OT and the NT. This book is a great help in that it makes them more comfortable in being able to pronounce Bibical names correctly.I have an out of print copy by W.Murray Severance "Pronouncing Bible Names" that I will never part with. It is really the best. I know he has written another, but it is a little to expensive for me to buy in the quantity that I wish to give, so the ones I have purchased fill the bill. Those to whom I have given copies of"Pronouncing Biblcal Names" have been very pleased with them. William
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fellowship Baptist Church
I am very interested in pronunciation. I like my name pronounced correctly. Therefore this a book small enough to carry with you and it is wonderful in helping me with Bible names.I recommend it to everyone who want to pronounce names correctly. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Eva Boscamp
This was an excellent little resource book. Easy to use with lots of helpful information other than pronounciation. It is small enough to carry along. The print is large enough for easy reading. Well worth the $5.99.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roberta Hosler
This is a great little book! I originally saw a copy of it in our priest's sacristy and was so excited to find out it was still in print and available from Christianbook.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joseph Rosica
Excellent reference. One time I mispronounced a Biblical name and someone approached me the following week and gave me a copy of this book. I have never mispronounced again. I now just present a copy of this book to new Lay Readers of the Church, I attend for a reference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Guide to Pronouncing Biblical Names
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Evonne Duke
Handy to carry with you. Some of the pronunciations will surprise!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.