Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church

Zondervan The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church

Andrew Farley was obsessed with sharing the Gospel. During his college years he found he couldn't go to sleep at night without sharing with someone. Troubled by feelings of guilt and worthlessness, he finally crashed. Seventeen years later, Andrew shares what he has learned in The Naked Gospel. Rediscover the power and truth of what Jesus' sacrifice on the cross has done for you.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Review 1 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book on the New Covenant

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
matt633
Location:Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This IS A MUST READ FOR THOSE WHO DESIRE TO KNOW ALL THAT CHRIST HAS MADE AVAILABLE TO US IN THE NEW COVENANT. IT CAN BE STRETCHING AT TIMES BUT WHEN YOU EXAMINE THE SCRIPTURES PRESENTED YOU WILL SAY WOW NOW THIS IS THE GOOD NEWS OF THE GOSPEL OF JESUS CHRIST,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for anyone claiming to be a Christian

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Danny
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other than the Bible, The Naked Gospel is probably the best book I have read concerning Christianity. It exposes many inaccurate interpretations that lead to unbiblical church traditions of men which in turn produce opposition to the abundant life that is in Christ Jesus. This book is a must read for anyone who claims the name of Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Doesn't pass the Berean test

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
SMET
Location:Germany
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I agree with Dr. Andrew Farley that many Christians struggle to understand that all their sins, past, present, future, were forgiven at the cross and we cannot add to this completed work. This is wonderful news, and he is right to share this with people.
One of the many areas I digress from his point of view is that everything before the crucifixion is Old Covenant, and does not apply to Christians, only to unbelievers. For example, this book says that the prayer Jesus taught his disciples to pray is an Old Covenant prayer. If so, then why does the prayer start with "Our Father"? We cannot call God our Father under the Old Covenant, only the New.
There are other areas where it seems that Dr. Farley is trying to hard to make the Bible fit his view, instead of allowing the Bible and the Holy Spirit to change his to match God's. I cannot recommend this book to anyone who does not follow the example of the Bereans and compare everything to the Scriptures to make sure it is true.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michael
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Naked Gospel helped to answer all thoughts questions I've had about "Who am I", and "What does it mean to be in Christ".
I am now teaching a bible study class and using the Naked Gospel as our guide.
What a blessing it is to see other Christians who have found themselves bound by religion, "SET FREE" by the truth of the New Covenant.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is really The Gospel unvarnished.

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
booboo
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author goes to the point so that anyone seeking the truth about Jesus can see if they want to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book can lift mountains off your shoulders

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steven Standley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was like a fresh breath of spring air after a long cold winter. It provides a new look into the gospel message. It strips away years of human hype and legalistic mumbo jumbo. It has allowed me to shuffle off confusion and burdens (self imposed) that were keeping me from my Christ's plan for my life. Jesus plus Nothing could not say it any clearer. We are not soiled dirty refuse betting on the roll of a dice for forgiveness we are righteous and clean.
This is definitely a must read for all who struggle with questions on sin and doubt.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
From back cover copy: "Jesus plus nothing. 100% natural. No additives. It's the truth you may never hear in church. The Naked Gospel is a chapter-by-chapter assault on the churchy jargon and double-talk of our day. It puts forth a message that is simple but life changing. With a fresh take on Scripture and an unapologetic style, The Naked Gospel will challenge you to reexamine everything you thought you already knew."The Naked Gospel is a deep, thought-provoking book, yet the Scriptural truth is presented clearly, in a way that is easy to understand. The book contains many Scripture quotes, which are explained in context. Farley clearly explains the difference between the old and new covenants, the place of the law, grace, the cross and Jesus' blood sacrifice, once for all. He also challenges misconceptions we may have regarding forgiveness, and what it means that we are in Christ, and that Christ lives in us. Farley hopes that the book will serve as a catalyst, enabling the reader to wrestle with his/her belief systems. What is offered to us as Christians is a life of true freedom, in which we live from the heart.The book is thoughtfully written, and is based on the personal journey of the author. This book would be an asset to any pastor's library. I also recommend it for personal and small group use. Discussion questions are provided.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jared
When one handles the Scriptures carefully to grasp the progression of salvation history from the Old to New Testament (i.e. old and new covenants), one finds a profound joy in the work of Christ and the release from any sense of self-salvation. Andrew Farely has done this in "The Naked Gospel". How easily we add to the gospel burdens Christ never intended. If you walk in debilitating fear (not reverential, worshiping, glorifying God fear), this book is essential. Farely provides a readable work that documents his discovery of the New Testament teaching on the depth of salvation given through grace alone by faith alone. Read it slowly and thoughtfully. Know that it will challenge your assumptions. You will find if you take the time to read the Scriptures, the truth will set you free. I highly recommend this as a reboot to your Christian walk.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daniel
This book has been an amazing blessing. Having read the Bible many times, the doctrine of this book gave meaning to those referenced scriptures like I had never experienced before. Now the witness of the Spirit confirms the truth. And the radical freedom we have gives us a choice: to live life walking daily in the leading of the Spirit that gives life, or by the LETTER of the law which brings death.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steve
"how can I be a new creation and yet still fall to temptation" was one of the many things that baffled me for years. "why am I asking God to only forgive me as I forgive others" as part of the recital of the Lord's prayer.. I thought I was forgiven... Andrew's book answered these questions and addressed a lot of misunderstanding's I had for years. He was kind enough to set up a phone call with me so I could make sure I understood what he was teaching as well as answer some more personal questions I had concerning my walk with Christ.. he's genuine,he's a great teacher and my life "in Christ" has been forever enriched by him...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Matt
Absolutely a must read for believers. The ideas presented, which I have found to be 100% biblical, have really shown me the indescribable love that God has for us. The Naked Gospel is an eye opener to say the least. Since reading it, I have a new fire that is stronger than anything I've ever experienced. The words of the Bible jump off the page and speak directly to my heart. I cannot believe the daily revelation that I get out of the Word now. The knowledge of my true identity as a Christian will never be the same. It is like getting saved all over. again
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
karen
What I learned from reading this book is we live today from the new covenant, which began with Jesus at the cross. Simply put in Farley's writing, Jesus plus nothing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
greg
I would label this is one of the two best books I have ever read. I will never be the same again, having reconsidered how I live out my faith in the context of "Jesus plus nothing." The interesting thing is how much I had been missing the point, because I have been trying to "get it". This book brought these things to light and is challenging me. It has absolutely lit a fire I don't think I've ever known was there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Naked Gospel: The Truth You May Never Hear in Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan
I downloaded the Naked Gospel about a month ago and have read and will reread it over and over again. I thank God for giving such wisdom and intellegence to this young man. He reminds me of a modern day Paul.Before I read the book I was weary and discouraged inside from all this bondage and sin guilt I could hardly function anymore. From reading this book and the renewing my mind from wrong thinking, I now realize I have a woderful future with my Jesus for eternity in all confidence. There is so much more I could say but I am pressed for time right now. God bless you for printing this book. God bless Andrew Farley and may God keep using him to help others as he has helped me. I am looking forward to reading more of his books in the near future. Thanks again, Susan Eskildsen
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.