Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food

Zondervan Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food

Has food become your source of comfort? After a hard day at work, or a long day with the kids, don't you deserve that big piece of chocolate cake? Lysa TerKeurst used to think so, but that was before God showed her that what she really needed was more of Himself. In Made to Crave, Lysa won't tell you what to eat or how much to exercise, rather she explores why we make unhealthy food choices. She'll help you discover what it is you're really seeking, and how that need can only be met in our faithful Heavenly Father. And when your cravings are satisfied with His love, a healthy body will follow. Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (134 reviews)
5 stars
117
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
129 out of 13496%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Review 1 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a blessing

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heather Campbell
Location:Orangevale, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book and very helpful for me. I have been dealing with this issue for many years and I am thankful that this book has been such a help.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
molly mom
Location:ashland city, tn
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
finally an approach to my food addiction
that has not be covered before now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rejoice
Location:Waxhaw, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This excellent book offers the best solution for addictions I have yet found.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fresh view of communion with God

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin
Location:Aberdeen, Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lysa has really received a word from the LORD with this book. When I first got the book, I read it so quickly from cover to cover because it was so real to my life and my desires, and now I'm going through it a second time because I want to change my habits for life. It is absolutely NOT about dieting, but about giving God priority even in the area of health and food. I would like to get several copies to give to my girlfriends and my family members (the skinny ones and the larger ones) because it's not about our size or weight; it's about our value and freedom in Christ Jesus. Praise the LORD for giving Lysa such a relevant word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
KJoPhelps
Location:Columbus, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Price and Quality. Will order books again. I have ordered DVD's and several childrens books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

boring, useless

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reader
Gender:female
Bought the book bc I wasn't able to attend our ladies group dvd study which they said they enjoyed. The book was a yawner. The first half (don't know about the second half, it was so boring I quit reading it and eventually threw it out) repeated how we crave food instead of God but nowhere in the first few chapters did she EVER touch on the fact that many foods CAUSE cravings. You can't 'spiritualize' yourself out of that; you have to stop eating foods which cause cravings. Don't know if she got to it in the second half or in the dvd. I'm so turned off I don't want to read any of her stuff.
-12points
3of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth it

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
AK Gramma
Location:North Pole, AK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While I had trouble downloading to my android, thanks to the helpful ladies in customer service, I did get it. Although I'm not finished with it, I can take it with me on vacation with no extra bulk ;-) I would recommend Made to Crave to anyone who is tired of thinking about food instead of God, fighting the cravings to have what you know isn't good for you. Did the Bible study and that was great too.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

life changing

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
DBraun
Location:Blumenort, MB, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an eye opener!! I learned so much about who I am in Christ and this has really helped me to see where the real changes need to occur inorder to overcome the food cravings. This book would help anyone regardless of having a problem with food or not. I believe that we all have something we run to when we crave God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cecann
Location:Boise, ID
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this for people who struggle with their weight and people who don't. I think it is easy to medicate our tensions and frustrations and forget who is our provider of peace, joy, contentment. I know I get so busy sometimes and the demands of life are so loud that I don't hear that still small voice inviting me to spend time with Him. I forget to have Him fill the void made by life's pressures.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome tool!

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
kiki
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right to the heart of the matter!
This book is an excellent tool for dealing with strongholds with food and craving for the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Half way through this book and it is wonderful.

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cricket
Location:Trevor, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has been such a blessing. In years past I was motivated to diet & exercise mostly just to look better. As my relationship with Christ has grown closer, my motivation of "just wanting to look better", wasn't very motivating anymore. This book is incredible, I am SO thankful I bought it. I highly recommend this to people looking for a deeper and more meaningful reason to take care of your body.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A valuable resource by Lysa.

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
teacher
Location:Decatur, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In our Wednesday night Bible study we are going through the study...Made to Crave God not Food. This is my second time through her book. God has certainly shown Lysa many insights that I had never thought of...I would definitely recommend this book, participant's guide and her devotional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing study

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
lisagraysmiles
Location:Little Rock AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first weight loss material I have ever read or used that did not require my own "strength". Made to Crave will show you how to crave God and not food in Christ's strength and with God all things are possible. Dieting books and fads are no match for the power of almighty God and a surrendered heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Isabella Sacchetti
Location:Montreal, QC Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome study! A book you will read over and over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

interesting, practical, inspirational

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Contented in Him
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lysa TerKeurst has allowed God to help her through her struggles with weight, and is sharing her insight as a result of this journey. This book held my interest, offered biblical help and insight which is applicable to other struggles Christians face, and blessed me greatly.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is not what I had expected at all

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trish
Location:Tasmania, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this book is not about weight loss only or eating the right foods. It is about craving for God more than we crave for food and all that bad junk food we feed into our bodies. It is about feeding our spirit and soul daily on God's word and promises.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Homerun hit!

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patricia Hubel
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I have read this book, I can only applaud Lysa for her work! I feel that she is writing the very problems I have with eating but she is offering solutions that I haven't conceived. For anyone who struggles with motivation to quit eating unhealthy food or knowing when to say when, this book is a great place to start. It hits the heart of the problem by focusing your battle to a spiritual one through which you CAN achieve success. We are made to be more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abigail Peck
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Made to Crave isn't your typical "diet" book. It's not about your "how to", it's about your "want to". I found it helpful in realizing that my body is a temple of God, and He cares about that temple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it has the truth of how to succeed

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:chicago, Il
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is one of the best books I have ever read about losing weight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Soooo worth it!

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teri Clark
Location:SouthCentral, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received the books, video and one workbook. Excellent material, beautifully delivered. An excellent study for one or a handful of ladies. It has been quite worthwhile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...7Next >>>