Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Woman Called Sage

Zondervan A Woman Called Sage

Sage Morrow has everything---an adoring husband and a baby on the way---until five ruthless gunmen change her life forever. Now accompanied only by her magnificent hawk, she's a Colorado bounty hunter bent on retribution! But the stakes are raised when two young boys are kidnapped. Will the hunter become the hunted? 320 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Woman Called Sage
Review 1 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What an amazing treat this book was! A native american bounty hunter and expert tracker who is looking for justice when her family is murdered. When two young boys are kidnapped Sage must work with the local sheriff and put her mistrust of men aside to help find them. I loved the character of Sage. She had just the right balance of both strength and vulnerability that made her character likable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Woman Called Sage
This review is fromA Woman Called Sage - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Georgia Peach
Location:Kettering,Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Great story. Adventure, intrigue, love and God's love all rolled into one book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Woman Called Sage
This review is fromA Woman Called Sage - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book... keeps you eager to read on!!

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
locomama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great book ... looking forward to getting the next one in the series... Never a dull moment & keeps you wanting to continue on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Woman Called Sage
This review is fromA Woman Called Sage - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great insight into native american culture.

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:Goldendale, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an eye opener, and fantastic read. It gives good insight into the native american culture. Thank you CBD for this e-book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Woman Called Sage
This review is fromA Woman Called Sage - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
dorathy
Location:edmond ok
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good story , made me want to read more stories of this arthor,
not this book
but many of the downnloaded books have been scaned in or typed with many misspelled words and letters and signs and other spaces sometimes several pages at a time which makes them hard to read.. Please relook at the books in the e nook file .. the last two i have read has many pages not readable,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
5 StarsA Woman Called SageBy DiAnn MillsZondervanReviewed by Diane A. BrownWhen dreams are shattered, life forever altered, revenge can encompass your thoughts and actionsDiAnn Mills has written another story to twist you heart, intrigue your mind, and send you back in time. Her characters are realistic and easy to visualize. The settings and descriptions come alive and the story flows well.Sage Morrow, once left for dead on her Colorado ranch, has learned much in the ensuing years. Armed with the skills of her Ute ancestors, her faithful companion Hawk, and a determination fueled by justice she begins her journey. Hunting for evildoers, she stands against the lawless. What will the future bring, danger for certain. The rest is up to Sage.Great read, I highly recommend A Woman Called Sage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
In this book, A Woman Called Sage, DiAnn writes a gripping story of a woman bounty hunter, Sage Morrow, who has a hawk as her traveling pet, who is seeking justice against the outlaws that ended her dreams of a life with Charles. Its a toss-up between justice and revenge. Which one will win out?Bounty hunters are typically rough and tough surly men, but Sage has the same grit and determination as her male counterparts, coupled with the tenderness of a woman. She has gained a reputation across the West because of her tenacity, determination and ability to bring in outlaws. She has the knowledge and sense of tracking that is equal to or better than some men.She teams up with Marshal Parker Timmons of Rocky Falls, CO, when she brings in one of the outlaws, Aiden McCaw, of the McCaw brothers gang, out from the Rockies.Once youve read one of DiAnn Mills books, youre hooked! Her stories are action-packed, page after page, chapter after chapter, all the way to the very end of the book. Shes very descriptive of the mountainous terrain and trails, the dangers her characters encounter, the intricate details of tracking, and the travails they endure. Danger, murder, tension, grief, love, laughterits all there. If you are looking for adventure, look no further than DiAnns books! There is no lack of adventure!DiAnn does extensive research on the territory and era, so you are living the scenes with the characters in the late 1800s in the West.DiAnns heart is to incorporate the Christian faith in her characters everyday life. Some have lost their way, others have yet to find it. Which ones will find their way back, and which ones will find it for the first time?This book was provided by DiAnn for my honest review. Its my great pleasure to recommend DiAnns book for adventure and inspiration.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sheila Deeth
Rumors fly in this small town and the local pastor denounces sins that may never even be committed. Rule of law, rule of religion, rule of pride all come before a fall. But the rule of hope survives them all, and maybe faith is worth more than religion after all. And love worth more than doubt wins out. A really enjoyable book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
This book was well put together. The way the writer connects the characters was intriguing. Not to give the end away but I was happy it was all good for Sage in the end. It is never good to think and have doubts about someone we love dearly. We can all recieve restoration thru the Lord's mercies. Great Read. Recommend it to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra
Wonderful book. Held my interest from beginning to theend. I loved Sage. The idea of a female bounty hunterwas great and the story was great!! Couldn't hardly putit down to do anything else!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela
I had to wait probably six weeks for my library to finally get this book because it was back ordered. But it was pretty much worth the wait! I enjoyed this book and the characters in it all played their roles very well. Preacher Waller will make your blood boil with his judgmental remarks and proud manner. Wirt Zimmerman will make you giggle with his overly abundant remarks about Sage's beauty and spunk. He'll also make you want to slap him up along side the head for being so arrogant and ignorant. Parker and Sage are both good characters that seem rather easy to relate with. A few things that made me a little disappointed were: part of a sentence that was repeated twice in two chapters, and how Sage keep on thinking Parker's widowed sister-in-law, Leah, would be just right for Parker. I suppose even I would think like Sage did about Parker and Leah but it made me a little let down because that made it just a regular romance, other than the fact that Sage is a bounty hunter. I thought it was rather clever of DiAnn to mention Casey O'Hara, one of her characters from another book who was an outlaw, in this book. I really liked that. Over all I say, "Good job, DiAnn Mills!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ashlye
A Woman Called Sage was an amazing book! I loved it from the moment I read the first words. The idea of a female bounty hunter is an amazing idea and the way this story was written did not leave me disapointed. I loved it from start to finnish and have told everyone I know to read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Schmid
Mrs. Mills writes exceptional stories. The characters are a reflection of real life. Not too perfect and very relatable. I read this book all in one sitting. I could not put it down. My favorite of hers so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Huddleston
In the late 1800s Sage has everythinga husband, a child on the way, and a beautiful ranch in Colorado. Then she has nothinga band of lawbreakers shoot and kill her husband and wound her, causing her baby to be stillborn. Half Ute Indian, Sage becomes a bounty hunter in the Rocky Mountains, especially looking for the men who killed her husband. They find her first, kidnap two children and force her and Marshall Timmons to come after them. Her hardened exterior guards the heart of a woman, a heart she feels warming as she gets to know Marshall Timmons. Mills gives us a story of murder mystery, kidnapping, romance and strengthened faith. The first few pages will grab you and not let you go till you read the last page. Great characterization of a strong woman with a heart capable of love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Thank you to CFBA and Zondervan for my copy of this western mystery. The plot keeps the reader interested as Sage, a part Indian bounty hunter searches for the killer of her husband and unborn child. She's been trained in the ways of the Ute Tribe to survive in the wild, and these skills enable her to hunt for the killer. Her adventures keep the pages turning.In addition, romance weaves its spell with three suitors! That's the only glitch I see: after all, how can one disinterested woman capture so many hearts?An interesting character is Hawk, a red-tailed hawk that Sage has nursed from infancy. They have a unique bond, and he communicates with her--not verbally, of course. If you like western adventure stories, you'll like this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Mabry
I generally don't read historical romances, but I'd really enjoyed DiAnn Mills' Call of Duty Series, so when I received a review copy of A WOMAN CALLED SAGE, I plunged into it. Glad I did! Mills hooked me from the very beginning, and didn't let go until the last page. The adventure starts early in the first chapter and doesn't let up. Her heroine, a half-Ute woman named Sage, is a bounty hunter who's out to capture and bring to justice the men who killed her husband and unborn child. Along the way, she has to make some difficult personal decisions. There's romance, intrigue, and danger throughout the book. Mills' characters are, as always, well-drawn, and she's done a great job of incorporating the setting of frontier Colorado into the story. Plotting and pacing are good, and the ending is satisfying. This book should appeal to a wide audience
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Althea Berry
It was well worth the wait and I rate it awesome. Wish there was more like this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Woman Called Sage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anita Bosley
This was a great book. I could not put it down and read the book in one day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.