Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Double Minds - eBook

Zondervan Double Minds - eBook

As talented singer/songwriter Parker James struggles to make her mark on the Nashville music scene, she finds the competition can be fierce - even deadly. When a young woman is murdered at the recording studio where Parker works, Parker is drawn into a mystery where nothing is as it seems. Unraveling the truth puts her own life at risk when she uncovers high-level industry corruption and is terrorized by a menacing stalker. As the danger escalates, Parker begins to question her dreams, her future, and even her faith
Average Customer Rating:
4.436 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Double Minds - eBook
Review 1 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Bells TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another "can't put it down book" - which is normal for Terri Blackstock's books. I had already read this book from the library but bought this for my own shelves. I had to re-read it again and was not bored at all, reading it a second time within the year.
Debbie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
This book captured me from he start and kept my attention all the way through. I loved reading Terri but with this book I now adore her writing. I am very picky about what I like and she really kept me intersted with this one. I could not put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joann
Another great suspence book from a great author. This one did not grab me from the start as most of her books do, but still worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paula Good
This was slow getting started but now I am a little of half through and I can hardly put it down! Terri Blackstock has done it again! I love how she always finds a way to quote scripture and witness through her characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
robert
excellent reading, as all Terry Blackstock books are. Holds you spell-bound from start to finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Selagea
Terri Blackstock is one of my favorite author. I loved the 911 Newport series so I couldn't wait to read this book but I was sort of disappointed. It is not one of her better books. The story just seemed to drag on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
I finished this one in a day, not because I couldn't put it down, but because I wanted to get it over with and move on to something else. This looked like a good book, and it does have some good qualities, but the negatives outweigh the positives here. Parker and the other characters are two-dimensional at best--for example, all we know about some of the characters, like Serene and Pete, are their problems and/or sins. Meanwhile, characters like Parker and Gibson have a bit more depth, but not much, and oftentimes, they aren't that likeable. Terri tends to spend way too much time telling her readers about events instead of showing them, and so her descriptions and dialogue fall flat. She does inject a bit of good suspense with Marta, but as with Marta's brain, it doesn't seem to be "all there." Finally, Terri often seems to be exploring the dark side of humanity without much of a lantern for a good deal of the book, which wouldn't be so bad if everything else wasn't so flat. Sorry, Terri...better luck on the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
masherri8
Double Minds, and the Newpointe 911 series are some of the best fiction I have read. Terri Blackstock has just the right ratio of mystery, romance, and Christian teaching. I hope there are more, but I doubt there are any I have not read. Right now I am reading the Sun Coast Chronicles series. Thank you for many happy hours of reading - both to Ms. Blackstock and to CBD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Whitfield
I really enjoyed this book, Terri Blackstockis one of my favorite authors, she seems to know how to create a great story while including Christian values and dilemma's in her stories. This story was a great example of that...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Terri Blackstock is an amazing writer. I've read her Newpointe 911 series, Cape Refuge, Suncoast Chronicles, and her Restoration Series. Each one of them was uniquely different. This is true for Double Minds as well.This story takes you behind the scenes of Christian Music in Nashville. The characters have different issues that they need to overcome. You watch their lives unfold and in some cases unravel and through it you may see yourself in one or more characters. (I know I did!)Again Terri does a great job with the suspense and I was somewhat surprised at the "whys" behind whodunit. (Ok, I was a lot surprised)If you like a story with solid characters, a storyline that moves a good pace and of course, a dead body within the first few pages, then this is a great read for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2009
Excellent Christian suspense!Terri Blackstock is one of the Best Christian 'edge of your seat' Authors.My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed this Book!Bravo! Great New Ride!!The only negative, is while the main character Parker James, has 2 interesting brothers...There is no series to follow.We're always looking forward to more of Terri's books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori Allsbrook
I love all of Terri Blackstock's books. This one exceptionally good. Ms. Blackstock's books always keeps you on the edge of your seat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Phelps
I love Terri Blackstock and this latest book was everything expected and more. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori
Fiction writer Terri Blackstock, other wise known as the author of "Up-All-Night" fiction does it again! Singer/Songwriter Parker James has been working during the day to pay bills while moonlighting as a song writer during the night. Following God is Parker's first passion, music is her second. Parker's talent as a song writer is recognized when one of her songs sung by popular singer Serene, hits the charts. Competition in the music world is tough even deadly.A young woman is murdered in the recording studio where Parker James works. High level corruption is discovered by lead investigator Gibson, who is also Parker's brother. Parker realizes even in the Christian industry compromise and corruption runs rapid. Parker is also asked to compromise what she believes in and the result could mean her dreams coming true."Double Minds" deals with the subject of compromise and insecurity while taking you on a wild ride through corruption in the music industry. Parker struggles with figuring out God's will for her life. I love the authenticity of Parker's struggle to compromise her beliefs with the temptation of fame. This book opened my eyes to the pressures many Christian music artists have while trying to stay faithful to God. How far does a Christian go to reach non-believers through secular means? This book will have you thinking even after the last page is turned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Selenski
Good book. Terry Blackstock always leaves you on the edge of your seat. Found it hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brita Carlson
Double Minds was the most difficult, of Teri Blackstock, books for me to get into. Parker James was difficult to relate to from the get go. Half way through the book I was finally getting in to it. I did enjoy learning more about the Christian Music industry. From the beginning I was shouting (in my mind) for Parker to just write the songs that God blessed her with and not so focused on being the singer and super star, which she finally came to grips with in the end. I hope she got together with Daniel and her father becomes sober:) I would read a sequal if Teri should write one:)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diana Dilbeck
Terri Blackstock has always been a favorite of mine. Unfortunately, this book was not her best work. Her heart was in it, but it did not grab me from the beginning-seemed slow, so I had a hard time continuing. I did, tho, as always, and it did have some redeeming qualities as it went along. This is not one I will keep as I have her others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2009
Another fun, entertaining Blackstock read. I love her books, if you do you should read this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trish Gillis
This book had some incredible twists and turns as to who did it. I am glad that I took the time to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Double Minds - eBook
This review is fromDouble Minds.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Edith Clark
This is a very good book. I am a Terri Blackstone reader it is as full of suspence but it definately has a new twist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>