Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Chop Shop, A Bug Man Series #2

Howard Books Chop Shop, A Bug Man Series #2

An autopsy room is where secrets are revealed...or buried. Young Dr. Riley McKay has worked hard to earn a fellowship at the renowned Allegheny County Coroner's Office in Pittsburgh. But her promising future is threatened when suspicious activities incriminate her supervising pathologist, Dr. Nathan Lassiter. Bungled autopsies, concealed evidence, and unexplained wounds accumulate at an alarming rate. When Riley is ignored by her seniors and threatened by Dr. Lassiter, she turns in desperation to Dr. Nick Polchak, the Bug Man, to help her uncover the truth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Chop Shop, A Bug Man Series #2
Review 1 for Chop Shop, A Bug Man Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
I just finished this 2nd book of the series & loved it as much as the 1st one.The characters come alive as if you're watching a movie.I loved how Riley taught Nick how to live again, but I may have chosen a different ending though it was very appropriate.Can't wait to start book #3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chop Shop, A Bug Man Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2009
I thought that chop shop was lame compared to Shoo Fly Pie,it made me not want to read the rest in his series.I don't recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chop Shop, A Bug Man Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Mirandona
This was the first "Bug Man" book I read and fell in love with the lead character, Nick Polchak. His dialogue is witty and very reminicent of the clean, often funny, and rapid-fire dialogue of an old Bogie (Humphry Bogart) movie. The lessons you learn in entomology are facinating, but not for the weak in heart! The ending totally took me by surprize. Never saw it coming. Great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chop Shop, A Bug Man Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Colette
I was furious after reading this book. The mystery is fascinating and the author shows a good grasp of forensic science. I would say it is well written, except that the last half of the book is not appealing emotionally. Life has enough tough stuff to deal with. I don't need fiction to depress me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chop Shop, A Bug Man Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bethany
I almost don't know how to rate this book. I laughed INSANELY hard, yet when it was over I wanted to shoot myself (or the author). On second thought, yes, the author should be shot. But, hey, it's gotta be a pretty good book to evoke that much feeling. Right? I'd rather hate a book than be bored with it. However, neither of those was the case. I loved this book. Just don't read it if you're in a fairy-tale princess mood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chop Shop, A Bug Man Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
Fabrizio
What an excellent book! A great improvement over the first in the series Shoofly Pie which I liked very much. Not as funny but much more intense. Both books had excellent endings. A lot of thought went into the writing of Chop Shop and it shows. Deep character, intelligent plot and sharp wit. Tim Downs is rising on my list of favorite authors. Now for the problem; theres very little thats Christian about it. Its clean, no sex, no cursing and it brings up some good ethical points (absolutes being the big one) but as far as spiritual growth its not really there. Dont get me wrong this book is excellent but I do miss knowing our God just a little bit better when its all over. If it had that element it would get a 5 star rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chop Shop, A Bug Man Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2005
Customer Avatar
Roxanne M.
I couldn't put Chop Shop down. My husband & I heard Tim Downs speak about 10 years ago and we never laughed so hard...and still remember some of his one liners! So glad to see him writing good, funny, thought-provoking, clean, surprising and riveting stories.Nick Polchak is a delightful character and his relationships (especially with women) take some very interesting turns. Shoo Fly Pie was harder on us sqeamish types, but I still couldn't stop reading it. Can't wait for your next book, Tim! How long do we have to wait?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.