Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours

Zondervan God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours

Do you long for meaning-to know that your life has purpose beyond what is seen in the day to day? On the surface, life can seem like a disconnected string of events. One day you're celebrating the birth of a child, the next you're mourning the passing of a beloved grandparent. At times, we soar with victory and at others, we languish defeat. Is there a through-line to the ups and downs of life? Max Lucado uses the structure of the New Testament as a guide in God's Story, Your Story, and weaves together Biblical and personal stories. In order to understand our own personal place in the cosmos, Lucado offers us a change of perspective-the opportunity to see beyond the microcosms of our own lives, into our place among the greater whole of God's work.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Review 1 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good study book.

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
annie
Location:Big Spring, Tx
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed reading and studying this book. Max Lucado is such a good writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best book I have ever read, (except the Bible)

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
heidi
Location:Wanganui, New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado is a great author who uses the most beautiful language. His use of adjectives is wonderful and allowed me to get lost in his book. He uses great examples and stories, which he weaves into his narrative to add another dimension to the experience. I loved it and have already told everyone I know to read it. In fact, we are going to use it as our cell group study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can always count on Max Lucado to put out a book that God will use to touch and convict me at the same time. In his traditional style Mr. Lucado uses storys both biblical and contemporary to bring his points home. I always look forword to the next book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great Lucado book!

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoyJoy
Location:CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always uplifting to read a Lucado book, this one does not disappoint!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Traditionally Max

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
decoy69
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is easy to read and understand and the points made will touch your heart. I have already loaned it to a friend to read and will read it again when it is returned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
lrcp
Location:NH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado is a wonderful author and this book didn't disappoint me - excellent read, meaningful content.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
farmer boy
Location:Upstate NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't gotten vary far into the book, but so far have enjoyed it. Especailly knowing it is a Max Lucado book, I look forward to contining reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Max

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max has done it again. Readable and inspirational.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Gem from Max Lucado

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was completely engrossed in this book from start to finish. This is Max Lucado's best book to date. I appreciated each and every story that was shared in the book, and I found myself near tears many times.
I think the thing that struck me the most is that the emphasis of the book is that God is there in every single circumstance, and He is guiding you through the hard times. All of us go through struggles. Some of us live a life fraught with struggles. Does that mean that God is not in control? Absolutely not!
There was a time I did not like Max Lucado. I used to feel that he did not dig deeply into the wisdom of the Scriptures. I am happy to report that is not longer the case! In recent years, Lucado has delved so deeply into the Word of God, and he always brings encouragement even in the midst of utter chaos. Everything happens for a reason, and everyone is here for a purpose.
This is an easy read written in Lucado's fantastically readable style. You will find true encouragement as you surrender your will to the Lord of the universe!
This book was provided to me free of charge in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great message

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Eastman
Location:Hiram, Me.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reality of taking the Bible's light and shining it on our own is a new way of saying the gospel truth. All fresh insights to the old story is very valuable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Skibo
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another good book by Max Lucado. Each of his books apply to our lives today. Looking fowrard to purchasing more of Max's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

was a blessing to see my place in Gods plan

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
rod c
Location:Waterloo, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max has a unique way of showing you the meaning of The word and its application to our daily lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring and Encouraging

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Filled with inspiring messages and encouraging stories, Lucado traces ten vital occurrences of the New Testament and simultaneously intertwines our daily lives and choices. While reading familiar passages accompanied by Lucado's insights and applications, I was challenged and encouraged. For instance, in chapter 7, Lucado appeals his readers to "Learn to wait, to be silent, to listen for his voice. Cherish stillness." These words challenged me to consider my own pace of life. Am I waiting and trusting on the Lord? Or am I rushing ahead? Other chapters held an atmosphere of encouragement and grace for me. With titles like "The Right Doors Open" and "All Things Work for Good," Lucado points readers to the peace and assurance that the Lord is in control and working all things for our good. These reminders were timely and reassuring to me. The book concludes with a beautiful analogy of death and graduation. This is definitely one image that will remain with me for many years to come. Overall, the book is well worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Story! What a Reminder!

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is it possible to pick up a book penned by Max Lucado and not be blessed? I haven't read one of his books that did not bless my socks off. He is that guy that can relate to everyone. We can all pick up his books and say, "Hey, that's me your writing about." The same is true for his latest, God's Story Your Story. As we read God's story we can see our story. If we can only remain focused on Him and not the circumstances around us.
I truely enjoyed this book. Sure, it may be words we have heard over and over again, but who doesn't need to be reminded on a daily basis that everything always comes back to our Savior? Life is all about Him and He is all about us. Those no's that we often hear and are upset about? Well, for each and every no there is a yes waiting. A yes that will open another door to big possibilities. Our journey is one that is paved by His plan and carries His grace for each step.
Through these pages we are taken back through New Testament stories. Some of my favorite are of Paul. His struggles and his over coming obstacles thrown in front of him. He was able to see past his circumstances and see that God had a plan all along. That is what this book is all about. Reminding us that God is here. We are never alone and in the midst of our trials and joys He is right there in the midst of it all. After all, He does have a plan for us. I love how Max Lucado speaks of graduation day. Can you imagine when we see our Savior face to face? What a glorious day that will be. But until then, we must strive forward with hope and a renewing of our faith.
I love the scripture Max Lucado shares throughout the entire book. This is one that stands out to me. "My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts, says the Lord. And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine. For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts." Isaiah 55:8-9 NLT
This is one of those books to keep on your desk and go back to over and over again. This book even comes in a youth edition, along with a small group curriculum.
This book was a gift from Zondervan for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
tompenny84
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, Max Lucado spins God's story with his gentle story-telling style; drawing the reader into a deeper understanding and connection with the author of their soul.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The format and the quality is great!

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Indi
Location:Central Coast, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I absolutely love Max Lucado's books! He has taught me more than many years in the Catholic Church had done. Thank you for making this available.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
hje1
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book for everyone to read. i would suggest for all to check it out now
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovebug225
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is what should be on reading list! I think sometimes it's just as simple as it really should be. Just read the book....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like the freedom

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
donnyb
Location:nc
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's nice to be able to turn on my comuter and read at my leasure and not worry about where I put the book down the last ime I was reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye opening experience

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
byrdi55
Location:Claremore, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was an eye opener for me. It was my first download of a ebook, and I really enjoyed the way I could bookmark a page and highlight information by bookmarking it with specific words to catch my attention. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>