Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Spring Hope - eBook

Realms Spring Hope - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spring Hope - eBook
Review 1 for Spring Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely series

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
toots0457
Location:Halifax, NS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thoroughly enjoyed the Seasons of the Heart series. I was anxious to read #4 in the series and was captivated by the stories. Though each book is a self contained story that captivates you, I would recommend starting at #1.
Enjoyable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spring Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Spring Hope

Date:August 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Libby Cantrell is on the run,and never wants to go back to her home in Louisiana. Since the death of her mother, her pa had made her work as a prostitute in the local saloon, and when she rebelled he would beat her into submission. She decides her only hope is to run so far away that he wont be able to find her. She makes it to Portersfield, Texas where she is found in an alleyway by Sheriff Cory Muldoon. When he asks for her name she hesitates, not wanting to lie and start out on the wrong foot, but fearful if she gives her real name her pa will find her, she decides to use the last name Bradley, her mother's maiden name. Will she find a new life in Portersfield,or will her pa find her? What will the people of Portersfield think of her if they ever find out about her past?
It's February 1891 in Portersfield ,Texas, and seems to be one of the coldest nights so far that winter. As Deputy Cory Muldoon is doing a walk thru of the alleys in town he finds what he first believes is a pile of garbage turns out to be a young lady,and she tells him her name is Libby Bradley. Cory is suspicious of her, and is determined to figure out just who she is. When he starts having feelings for her though what will he do?
Libby was such an easy character to like, she was running from a past that wasn't her choice. It was easy to understand why she would question God's love.I thought the author did an amazing job of allowing her character to flourish as the story progressed. As a fan of historical inspiration I feel like Martha Rogers writes top notch stories. She always draws me back in time, provided a rich story, and characters that touch the heart.
While "Spring Hope" is the fourth and final book in the Seasons of the Heart series it can easily be read as a stand alone work. Although if your like me your going to want to read all four stories. Fans of historical fiction that blends together a bit of romance as well as a positive inspirational message will certainly want to check out this book.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spring Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Libby is running scared. Her life changed the day her mom died. Suddenly she was thrust into the position of woman-of-the-house, cooking and cleaning for her dad. As she grows older, and her body begins to change into that of a young woman, her dad decides to use her to make money, which he quickly gambles away. Libby finally breaks free, disappearing just as winter is on its last leg. She finds herself in a small town, being rescued by a kind stranger. Little does she know that stranger doesn't want her around.
Cody knows her type. The loose women that flock at the local saloon are always asking for trouble, in his book. He doesn't need to know anything else about her. He just wants her gone, and the other prostitutes in the town he helps care for. As deputy, he feels responsible for this town, and its inhabitants. Little does he know how much he should have stopped to listen, instead of judging her first.
I enjoyed reading, and watching the relationship develop between theses two unsuspecting people. With God's grace and mercy evident throughout the story, this book will keep you hooked, looking forward to the "happily ever after".
---------------
I received this complementary book from Charisma, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spring Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spring Hope (Seasons of the Heart)

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Libby Cantrell has had a hard life ever since her mother's death four years ago. This left her with a grieving father that turned to alcohol and gambling. Then when he lost his job he put Libby to work in a saloon. She refused him and he beat her after that the beatings kept coming. One night he brought a man home and made her service the stranger. This was her life now selling her body and being abused. She tries to build up her courage to escape her father and the abuse. She can't bear for another man to ever touch her ever again.
Deputy Sheriff Cory Muldoon makes his night rounds in Porterfield, Texas and as he enters the alley he finds a young women wrapped in a quilt unconscious and burning up with fever. He carries her straight to Doc Jensen's infirmary. The doc not only finds she has a high fever and a bad cough, he also finds signs of being abuse with new marks and old scars from past beatings. The bruises are not reported to Deputy Muldoon but he could tell she was scared and running from something. He was determined to find out who she was and what she was running from.
Libby told the Doctor her name was Elizabeth Bradley because she did not trust anyone to know her real name for fear of her father finding her. Cory's sister was a nurse for the Doctor and came up with a plan to take Elizabeth to her parent's ranch, that way if someone came looing for her she would be well protected. Besides a stranger would not know to look for her on the ranch. Cory was not happy with this idea but how could he convince his mother and sister to abandon this plan. Will the people of Porterfield protect her once they find out who and what she really is or will they make her leave their town?
As bad as Cory wants to protect her he just seems to not trust her. But why does he keep thinking about her? Could he really be developing feeling for this young woman?
Women did not have many rights back in these days. They were at the mercy of their husbands and fathers. If they were beaten people would turn their heads. There were no laws against abuse. But some would do whatever they could to stop the abuse. There were also limited jobs available for women and they were looked down on if they tried to become doctors, nurses or lawyers.
The people of Porterfield had faith in God and went all out to disciple and minister to one and all without prejudice and if anyone tried to stop them they better change their mind real quick because the whole town will be praying for them.
From book one to book four the books just kept getting better. I enjoyed reading about the growth of Porterfield, Texas and also the spiritual growth of the community. I admired the bravery and fortitude of the women especially Ada Muldoon, Aunt Mae and let's not forget Kate Muldoon.
I am ready to read more of Martha Roger's books. I hope there will be a book five in this series.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Charisma House for review. I was in no way compensated for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spring Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Giving Forgiveness

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great book by Martha Rogers and her Seasons of The Heart Series. Once started I didn't want to leave Portersfield, TX. This is a return visit for me, and was great to be reaquainted with old friends. Although this is a stand alone book, I recommend reading the other three, as they are equally good.
We begin our journey as Libby Cantrell has literally dropped into this caring town. Sheriff Cory Muldoon stumbles by the alley, and see an unattended horse, and a bundle, which turns out to be a very ill Libby.
We find out she is fleeing her horrible father. Only because of what he forced her to do, she is ashamed...so she doesn't give her real name or what she is fleeing.
You see Cory start to have feeling, and his family, especially his Mom and sister's begin to love her. Cory though makes remarks about the woman working in a brothel, and Libby knows nothing can come of her feeling for him.
I love the faith of these people, and Cory is one who is struggling along with Libby. They both have to learn how to trust God and find forgiveness. I myself would have a heard time forgiving her father, what a horrible man, how could he do what he did to his child??
Love the ending of this book, and you will have to read it to find out if any or all are able to forgive? Enjoy a return visit with this great family, and town.
I was given a copy of this book by the Publisher Realms, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spring Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Story context more for young women.

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was OK. Nothing exciting. Ending was predicatable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spring Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2012
Spring Hope is the conclusion to the four-book Seasons of the Heart series by Martha Rogers. When Deputy Cory Muldoon finds Elizabeth Bradley in an alley, he knows he must do whatever he can to help her. He begins to suspect that Elizabeth has secrets and commits to finding out the truth. What will the truth do to their budding friendship?
While I enjoyed going back to Portersfield to catch up with the Muldoons and others we've met in previous books, Spring Hope didn't capture me like the others did. I had trouble keeping up with who all the characters were. It was difficult to remember who each person was and their relationship to the others. The book really seemed to be more introspective than others in the series—with Elizabeth and Cory each evaluating their own lives—and therefore moved fairly slow at times. The relationship and romance was not really the main focus of the book, but I still enjoyed reading their stories.
If you've read and enjoyed the previous books in the series, I think you'll enjoy this one as well. (I would suggest reading them in order, though.) [3 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Charisma Media and FIRST Wildcard Blog Tours in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spring Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An exceptional Western Romance!

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a huge fan of western romances, I am always thrilled when I receive a request to review a book in that genre. Today was no exception. I received Spring Hope by Martha Rogers compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and think this one was exceptional. This is book 4, in the Seasons of The Heart series and what's perfect is being able to read this one as a stand alone. I hadn't had the delight to read the previous three but now, I know I will be going back to pick those up as well based on Martha's ability to create a character readers can relate to.
In Spring Hope, we meet Libby Cantrell who is running away from a painful past. After her mother died, her father found that he could profit off of Libby's beauty and sold her into prostitution at the local saloon. When she tried to resist, he beat her into submission. Finally she find that by running away from her father she might be able to start a life over again someplace far away. Unfortunately, God had different plans for her.
Cold, weary and sick, Libby falls quite literally into the town of Portersfield, Texas late one night and Deputy Sheriff Cory Muldoon finds her behind the general store. Taking her to the doctor, she soon finds that every person she encounters in this small town offers her a second chance of acceptance. If she is only willing to share the truth and with that facing the judgement of the town, she falls back into hiding provides them with a false name of sort, Elizabeth Bradley, her real birth name but her mother's maiden name.
Cory Muldoon fears she is running from more than she is willing to let on, and struggles to find out just what that is. Searching wanted posters, he can't seem to locate the reason for the fear in her eyes and why she pulls away from those wanting to help her. He also can't seem to keep his feelings for her in the right place, when he fears that she may very well break his heart if he is honest with himself. Cory prays that God will lead him in the right direction and that He will guide him on his path to finding out the truth.
But when fate comes calling and a man shows up in town that knows Libby's past, will all hell break loose and cause Libby once more to run from a life that she believes God has placed in her path, or will she finally come to believe that God does care enough about her despite her own unwillingness to forgive her past and come to accept the life He has laid out in front of her? Guess, you'll have to pick this one up to find out the answers! I easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and was able to finish this one in a matter of hours. I really is a wonderful story set in the late 1800's and has a powerful message about forgiveness and judging people.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.