Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Chameleon - eBook

Realms Chameleon - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 1587%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chameleon - eBook
Review 1 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1818 England suspenseful adventure

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An intriguing story filled with suspense and danger. This regency set in 1818 England connects readers with Lady Victoria Grayson, who desires freedom and adventure following years of illness. Her brother, Lord Ravensmoore, wants to protect her but she becomes entangled in the mystery he has been called to deal with. Someone or something is attacking some of the lords with the intent to kill them. Who is the wicked Talon, who claims to be perpetrator of these evil deeds?
Victoria befriends Lady Phoebe and wonders about the girl’s brother, Lord Ramsey. Victoria joins Lord Witt, a friend of her brother, in trying to unravel the strange goings-on. When her own life grows endangered, how will she escape? She draws on strength from God to withstand this life-threatening trial.
Each chapter of Chameleon opens with an appropriate quote that helps establish the mood. Jillian Kent has woven a masterful tale, as noted by the awards lists on which the books appears. It’s the second in a series, but strong enough to stand alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not your normall Regency Romance!

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryLu Tyndall
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Far far better! I have to be honest, most historical romances tend to bore me. I write in this genre, and I love romance, but for me to be engaged in a story, there must be something else.. some intrigue, some adventure, suspense! That's why I loved this book so much. It has everything I love in a great novel. If you're looking for a mild, sweet story, this may not be the book for you. But if you want a heart-throbbing romance, a truly creepy-evil villain, a great mystery (who is trying to kill off members of Parliament?), and lots of adventure, then I'm sure you'll enjoy this book as much as I did. Don't get me wrong, there are your typical balls and haut-ton and the heroine is a sweet lady. There is also humor and some very tender moments. But Ms. Kent takes the reader into some of the shadier sides of Regency England and into the mindset of true evil. I applaud the author for delving into topics that most avoid. I note the author works as a counselor and has a degree in Social work which would explain her knowledge and interest in these areas. All in all, the entire novel was refreshingly different and highly engaging, and contains deep spiritual truths that stay with the reader far beyond the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An OK read

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lauretta
Location:South Africa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While the plot is something different and unusual and actually very good, the character and relationship development was lacking. I found that Lady Victoria did not behave as a lady of Quality should when found alone with a man at night. I trust that the story of Mercy which is to follow will be handled a bit more tastefully.
It is to be hoped that the purpose of a "Christian" romance is to encourage virtue in the lives of young readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Regency Romance with a twist

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The regency time period is becoming one of my favorite historical time periods. This book mixes romance with mystery. Someone is targeting members of Parliament for a vicious death. The heroine has been sheltered due to an illness and is now determined to experience life to the full, even if that means inserting herself into the investigation. I found it amusing how she wouldn't take no for an answer. Her naivety softened some of her decisions that might have otherwise stretched the possible. The time period is captured well, and I hope to read more books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too many errors to enjoy...

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chameleon has a really strange character: Talon. Very strange and a bit creepy. Ok, a lot creepy. Talon trains birds to attack people. Did I mention creepy?
The whole story revolves around the dark mystery of Talon. Who is he? Why is he using his birds to hunt and maim or kill members of Parliament? The whodunit ending was very surprising - I hadn’t guessed it.
When I noticed that a main character in the book, Ramsay, was misspelled on his first and second appearances in the book as Ramsey, I was afraid there might be trouble.
Sad to say, the editorial errors were numerous and more glaring than just spelling. These mistakes made reading difficult and confusing.
I really like the Regency style of Jillian’s writings. Her subject matter of mental health practices of the day makes her books unique and different (although Talon was almost too much for me in this book). Unfortunately, the editorial errors made the book hard for me to enjoy, and Chameleon ultimately couldn’t win me over.
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Charming!

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A delightfull regency era novel, with a dash of dark mystery.
Enter a whole new world full of romance, chaperones, murder, and deceptive charm. Victoria is a young woman full of innocence, with an eye for observation, quick mind for thinking.
The mystery element of this book definitely added a darker edge to it, because the rest of the tale had a sort of Austen feel too it.
This might just be me, but I felt there were times when the book moved too slowly for my preferences and I felt like the book could have been a few pages shorter.
Overall this was a lovely book, that though part of a series works wonderfully as a stand alone. This is a book that will please those who are both mystery lovers and the regency fans!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will it compared to the Chronicles of Narnia?

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam77
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WILL CHAMELEON BE COMPARED TO THE CHRONICALS OF NARNIA?
I’d read about two-thirds of the way through Chameleon when I decided I didn’t like the book. It didn’t appear to be the genre I read. Characters drank liquor, which I don’t usually see in Christian fiction, and this predator hawk flying about symbolized danger.
Yet, I was hooked. Lady Victoria and her physician brother, Lord Ravensmoore, are determined to change the cruel or neglectful treatment of patients at the asylum for the insane.
Then there is the handsome former spy, Lord Witt, looking into a human attack by a hawk where the victim is near death. Witt allows Lady Victoria, whom he calls “little snoop,”to help investigate sometimes because he has an affection for her and she likes to solve mysteries.
I hated the character who trained hawks, that I deducted was the vicious Talon, the object of their search. But no one knows who Talon is.
A mental health institute was on my beat as a newspaper reporter and I was astonished at the diagnoses thought to be linked to insanity in the late 1800s: Paralysis, syphilis, Down’s Syndrome, epilepsy, deafness, and a whole lot of physical problems that later experts learned had nothing to do with insanity. This book is set in 1818.
So it wasn’t Lady Victoria’s visits to the asylum and reading to patients that bothered me most, but the dreaded mammoth hawks who attempts to kill Ravensmoore and Witt.
I don’t know if the author intended this book to be an adult allegory using imagery to reflect a spiritual message such as C.S. Lewis used in the The Chronicles of Narnia, but a message came through loud and clear to me as the mammoth birds circled their prey.
First, Jesus warned that when the seeds of the gospel are sown in our hearts, some falls on the wayside and birds come in and devour it. In his explanation of the parable, Jesus said the birds symbolize Satan (Matthew 13 KJ).
Then we’re told in John 10:10 the “thief,” Satan, comes to kill, steal and destroy, so I see the hawk, as Satan, pecking spiritual eyes out, ripping away faith’s flesh, as well as destroying the eggs, chicks and squabs.
Yet, hawks are majestic beautiful birds with characteristics of the eagle. The Word reminds us the devil takes on many forms and could disguise himself even as “an angel of light” (2 Corinthians 11:14).
In Chameleon, the characters fight against the killer falcons, but according to scripture all we have to do against Satan is to resist him and he’ll flee from us (James 4:7) — for greater is He that is in us than he that is in the world.
Jillian Kent, the author of Chameleon, has written a unique novel that satisfies the reader because there is victory, as well as romance.
The novel didn’t follow through quite as far as I expected with the imagery, but it’s still a great read if you like suspense and allegories. As I said, I don’t know if the author meant for it to be an allegory, but it seems so to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical England

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this look into Historical England...this book takes place in 1818. We begin with an attack by very big bird...a Hawk...on Lord Stone. What is going on? We are at the beginning of a a big scary mystery.
Lady Victoria Grayson, has journeyed to London, now in good health, she wants to enjoy life. She has gone to the home of her physician brother, Lord Ravensmoore.
With all that is going on her path crosses with Lord Witt. Sparks begin to fly between the two, and the mystery deepens. Love how Victoria embraces her new healthy life, and how she lets God lead her.
Don't want to get away the ending, but it will surely surprise you and sadden you at the same time.
I received this book from First Wildcard Tours, and the Publisher Realms, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intriguing Second in a Series

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glenda Fowlow
Age:35-44
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took my first breath at page 52. Great opening scene that drew me in for the rest of the tale.
Lady Victoria has recovered enough from her childhood illness to come to London for the first time and is immediately met with adventure and mystery. She has a load of spunk, but I'm still surprised her health stood up to all the comings and goings required.
Meet Lord Witt who is on his own mission for the Prince Regent. He gets stuck entertaining Lady Victoria since her doctor brother's expertise is necessary to heal Lord Stone, injured at the beginning of this story.
There are enough twists and turns to keep you attentive to details and questioning who Lord Talon is. Ms. Kent displays solid writing and a keen eye to tortured souls. I appreciated the continuation of characters from the first book and look forward to reading the third novel in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical Romance with a Suspenseful Twist!

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
STuttle
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Within the first few pages you're smack-dab in the middle of a mystery, one that comes to quite a unique end. While I would, at times, have liked the story to move at a slightly faster pace--and I think that's more my personality than anything to do with the author--Jillian did a masterful job of drawing you into the early 1800's and the lives of her characters. I especially loved watching the interplay between Victoria and her older brother, Lord Devlin Ravensmoore and I smiled each time he called her Snoop. So tender and cute.
The relationship between Witt and Victoria grows slowly throughout, and though I would have liked to learn more about Witt, he makes a wonderful leading man. Between falling in love with him and helping to solve the mystery that plagues both her brother and Witt, Victoria finally gets the adventure she's always longed for. So, if you love Historical Romance with a suspenseful twist, then I think this is one you'll enjoy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Grand Adventure

Date:June 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carole Towriss
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jillian Kent’s Chameleon is Book Two in her Regency romance series, “The Ravensmoore Chronicles.” In Book One, we met Lord Ravensmoore and Madeleine, who became his wife. Chameleon introduces us to the lord’s sister, Victoria.
It seems there is a plot against members of Parliament, and the first victim is taken on the night of Victoria’s arrival in London to visit her brother. On that night she also meets Lord Witt, who protects her from the gruesome scene and summons her brother.
From there, the plot thickens, as they say. The villain, Lord Talon, has trained hawks to kill. A desperate search is on to determine who exactly “Lord Talon” is. All are in danger until he is apprehended.
Against his better judgment—and that of Lord Ravensmoore—Lord Witt begins to fall in love with Victoria, which comes in handy when she is put in danger. Their relationship is sweet—and entertaining, as they are in many ways complete opposites. They learn, however, that they complement each other quite nicely.
Though Chameleon is part of a series, it can be read without having read the first book. Like the first, this novel deals with human behavior and the workings of the mind. The treatment of those who were mentally ill in this era is a major part of the plot, and again there are visits to the asylum. The prejudices against a lord practicing the “trade” of medicine, as well as the discrimination of women are accurately represented. A fascinating twist at the end—that I did not see coming—brings the book to a nice conclusion.
Jillian’s characters are wonderfully drawn. They are neither stereotypes not caricatures, but individuals with flaws and strengths. It was delightful getting to know them as I read this book. I eagerly await the third, the story of Lord Ravensmoore and Victoria’s sister, Mercy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Five Stars for Suspense

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane Stortz
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jillian Kent created intriguing characters and startling plot twists in her debut novel SECRETS OF THE HEART. Now, in CHAMELEON, she does it again.
Mix hawks trained to kill, a beautiful young woman seeking adventure, a handsome mystery man, lords of Parliament, a giant dog, a dwarf, and secrets behind asylum doors ... you're holding a page turner you won't want to put down.
Kent weaves faith and awareness of mental health issues quite naturally throughout this second title in The Ravensmoore Chronicles. Although related, each book stands alone.
Set in Regency England and well researched, CHAMELEON is sure to please and surprise!
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful

Date:May 28, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Romance, intrigue, and trouble - that's what Lady Victoria finds on her first day in London. That's also what you will find throughout this novel.
I loved Lazarus. He was such a lovable fellow. I just wanted to hug him. :-) I wasn't particularly fond of Lord Witt at first, but he quickly grew on me, as he did Lady Victoria.
The twist at the end, ah ha, well, that's all you're going to get out of me. Just know there is one and it is rather unexpected, but then that's why it's called a twist. :-)
I thoroughly enjoyed the book, which took me ONE day to read, and several hours of that day were spent doing other things. I devoured each page and dreaded having to put it aside for other activities. I stayed up late because I just couldn't stop reading.
Kudos to Jillian Kent for an awesome second book of the Ravensmoore Chronicles. While this is book two in the series, it is also stands alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intriguing Adventure

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An adventure in London is the heroine’s quest, and she gets plenty of adventure and brings many interesting characters along for the ride. All of the characters are well thought out and have lots of personality. Our villain, Lord Talon, is almost likable in caring for his hawks and slowly reveals his motivation for evil. Descriptions add to the 1800’s setting and the asylum reform introduced in the first book is just one of the social issues brought out in the book. There are several twists in the mystery which keep you reading and a surprise in the end.
This is the second in the Ravensmoore Chronicles, but it can stand alone. Having read an intriguing excerpt from the next book, I will put it on my Must Read list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chameleon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jane Austin Meets Sherlock Holmes in this novel!

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a MUST read book for anyone who happens across this title in their local book retailers who love a bit of Jane Austin and Sherlock Holmes blended perfectly together to keep you glued to the pages until the very end. In the second novel from the Ravensmoore Chronicles, Chameleon by Jillian Kent takes the readers on a mist-filled journey in the early 1800's in London.
Here we find ourselves introduced to the characters of Lady Victoria Grayson and her maid, Nora who are arriving by coach in the fog on their way to her brother, Lord Devlin Ravensmoore's home. After recovering from a long battle with illness, Lady Victoria is hoping for a bit of adventure as she returns to London and finds it with a bump in the road. When the carriage halts, they discover a body of Lord Stone who has been brutally attacked and left for dead on the road.
It is also where she meets Lord Witt, Joanathon Denning, who keeps her from seeing too much of the murder scene and who takes Lord Stone for medical treatment. When her brother, Lord Ravensmoore is called to attend to the injuries of Lord Stone as a practicing physician, she is left at home to wonder just what happened to this poor man.
When they search the body, Lord Witt discovers a prophetic note of warning:
"You have been found guilty of conspiring with sinful men for sinful purposes. I will now handle the situation as I see fit. Stone is only the first. Repent, you lords of parliament. ~ Lord Talon"
Now it seems that the injuries have been inflicted by some type of animal with large claws that attacked Lord Stones, face, neck and arms. Not sure if he will make it through the night, a meeting is called to warn the Lords of Parliament that a murder is on the loose. Plans must be made to possibly set a trap to catch this chameleon who walks among them and has such ready access to their whereabouts that he knows when and where each of them will be the most vulnerable and easy to reach.
I received Chameleon by Jillian Kent compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. Not having read the first book in this series, this one can be read as a stand alone. I was immediately hooked from the beginning due in part to the historical background Jillian Kent uses to establish this suspenseful mystery and being a huge fan of Jane Austin, this one really hit home for me. Jillian provides just a taste of what's really going on to tease the reader but not enough you have the book figured out before you get through the book which is a sign of a great writer for me.
I love the dark, misty feel of the 1800's in London where times were tough and the answers to questions were not always the easiest to find. The character of Lady Victoria Grayson is well-written and it was nice to follow her investigative instincts even though that was considered man's work back in those days. I am completely hooked on this series and will now be going back to find and read the first novel. I can't wait to see how this one will conclude. For me, this novel rates an amazing 5 out of 5 stars for romance with a suspenseful mystery thrown in!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.