Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Black Sea Affair - eBook

Zondervan Black Sea Affair - eBook

Navy Commander Pete Miranda is chosen to lead a top-secret military operation to sneak a U.S. submarine into the Black Sea. His mission: to sink a rogue Russian freighter carrying stolen nuclear fuel. The attack brings the world to the verge of nuclear holocaust. The Black Sea Affair is one of the most dangerous games of brinkmanship since the Cuban Missile Crisis.

As the U.S. Navy searches for weapons-grade plutonium that has been smuggled out of Russia by terrorists, a submarine mishap escalates the international crisis. JAG Officer Zack Brewer is called on to defend American submarine skipper Miranda and his crew at a military tribunal in Moscow. It is a heart-stopping race against the clock.

Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Black Sea Affair - eBook
Review 1 for Black Sea Affair - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
The rating goes for all four of the Naval Justice books. Could be 5 stars, but I dislike cussing, euphemistic or otherwise, in a "Christian" book. Good authors, like Mr. Brown, should be able to give the readers the scenario in such a way that they can imagine the utterances. I don't need to read it in print. Having said that, it's edge of the seat suspense! Hope there is going to be more in this vein, even if perhaps not in the series. Stand alone would be good. The romance between Zack & Diane might be nice to persue, though, once settled, that would also end the story line(s)?One reviewer commenting on the switching of locales etc. I feel a little like that - it does detract at times and / or make it harder to follow the main line. My reason for today's comments is this question: When is Mr. Brown's next book coming? Or did I miss one?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Black Sea Affair - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Madigan
I enjoyed the whole series. The first book was a gift from my daughter. Once I read that one, I had to have the rest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Black Sea Affair - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
melissa
When you start to read this book you can't put it down until its done! The drama and storyline is excellent, however I really want to see what happens with Zac and Diane. I'll be waiting for there story! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Black Sea Affair - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melanie Robinson
Don Brown is consistently great. I love all of you books. Great if you love military novels. I'm a Navy fan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Black Sea Affair - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lt Col Glenn D Scott
Absolutely riviting. I could not put it down until the end. I'm putting you on notice...Don Brown, you must continue the series and bring Zack & Diane's love together, expose the Democratic Congressman for the killer she is, and destroy the Council of Ishmael. I can not rest until I read that book. If need be I will help you write it. Glenn D Scott, Lt Col USAF Retired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Black Sea Affair - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
patti
Story line was riveting, kept one turning the pages...but lost me on page 160 with the "intercom system in the Apache's cargo bay"! Brown has served in the Navy; he thanks both an Air Force and Army veteran for their input on the book and yet a "cargo bay" on an Apache, slips by them. Makes me wonder what else they missed?!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Black Sea Affair - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karen Peale
Well, I read the other three books from this author and loved them. I did not like this one for the most part. I HATED the constant scene jumping. I was very hard to keep track of the Russian characters for this reason. I was very disappointed and it took me a long time to finish it. I am an excellent reader, but I found myself really struggling with this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Black Sea Affair - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sandra Robinson
This book is just as engrossing as the three previous books in this series. I started reading and couldn't put it down. I will anxiously await any other upcoming books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Black Sea Affair - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mhullinger
This was a very gripping read ... but, I too missed the court room and Zack Brewer. (I really felt let-down by no follow-up on the story line from the previous books, come on, whatever happened to "don't ever leave me again"!!! Surely Brown could've done better by his readers in this area) BUT, don't let this deter you from a really great book ... I hope to hear more about Pete (and, maybe Masha).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Black Sea Affair - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2008
Don Brown's latest military thriller takes a different angle than his previous books, Treason, Hostage and Defiance. Black Sea Affair introduces Commander Pete Miranda, the Los Angeles-class submarine, the USS Honolulu, and her dedicated crew. Most of the story takes place on the submarine providing significant detail regarding the life of a submariner and the particular risks faced by such sailors. Political maneuvering takes place in the Russian and American capitols as each president suspects the other of warmongering as hidden terrorists carry out their deadly plans. I was a little surprised that Black Sea Affair does not continue Zack Brewer and Lieutenant Colcernian's story nor is there the previous books' emphasis on the legal proceedings. Zack does appear towards the end of the novel but this is primarily a Naval story about a submarine commander, his crew who have their mission complicated by some orphan children and a young Russian woman whose faith may make all the difference. Pete is in many ways a broken man, however his shortcomings don't lessen his commitment to his crew, the Navy and his country. He is a great counterpoint to Zack Brewer's seemingly flawless nature in the previous three novels. I am hoping this is not the last story about Commander Pete Miranda. Any reader with an interest in naval operations who loves a tense and fast paced read will be enthralled by Black Sea Affair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.