Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Howard Books Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover

What happens when the person who makes everyone happy isn't happy? Comedian Chonda Pierce was supposed to be taking a winter break from her busy tour schedule. Instead, she had what she refers to as a winter breakdown. In Laughing in the Dark she chronicles her visits to emergency rooms, hospitals, and clinics prior to her diagnosis of clinical depression. She vividly describes her lack of feelings and emotions during this dark time and also of her journey back into the light.

Each chapter includes a look into Chonda's personal journey, insights learned while laughing in the dark,and expert advice from a psychotherapist for those struggling with depression. Hardcover.

Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover
Review 1 for Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosa Gonzalez
Have it in my waiting room and as soon as patients start reading it they can't seem to put it down. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dollie Evans
Thanks for a inspiring book about depression, I have gone through some very depressing times and only God got me through it. I could not put the book down once I started reading it because Chonda told her story in such a honest way that so many could identify with her. Keep writing and making ussee the good and humerous side of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Connie Worley
It is nice to know that someone else out there has some of the same feelings as the rest of us. I am not chronic depressent but it did help me through some feels of on set depresstion and gave me a better understanding of how and why I was feeling the way I was feeling. I am not crazy! Who knew?! Thanks Chondra and Christian book .comConnie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karena
All I can say is WOW! Chonda's honest account of her experience with depression touched a very deep spiritual place in me. While she is extremely funny with her account, I was balling like a baby by the second chapter. Not because her experience was so sad, (that is much later in the book) rather because I realized that I have been depressed for a long time. When I read the "10 questions" she lists in the book to analyze whether or not I may be depressed, I answered 7 of the 10 as yes. This was a turning point for me. I looked over at my husband with tears streaming down my face and said, "Honey, I think I'm depressed." He looked at me like, "YEA, it's about time you realized it!" Well, don't mean for the review to be about me! Just letting readers know that this could be a life changing book for you. After reading it, you may be moved to get some help without feeling ashamed or embarrassed. After all, even really funny, talented folks like Chonda can get depressed...and so can you. It doesn't mean that you are wacko psycho; you just need a little help and God has provided some wonderful tools and people to help you get through this.I pray that this book will be a blessing to others as it was to me. For some reason the Christian community seems to judge those who need mental health help rather than reaching out in God's love; using Christ's example to love hurting people back to health again. Chonda briefly discusses this in her book and I hope she has the courage to continue to remind the church (in her funny way) of this.Thank you for an excellent book and for being transparent about the realities of depression, Chonda. God bless you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marlin Johnson
Excellent resource for anyone that has any type of depression. God will use this book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lauren Caldwell
This book began with a humorous touch, but did not wind up being a light hearted look at depression, and nor should it have been. Chonda is gut-wrenchingly honest, and shares painful childhood memories and experiences, not dealt with, that contributed to her painful plunge into depression. The book winds up being almost a bit too painfully graphic when Chonda recounts experiences with her father, at one point. (Some readers may find it unsettling). Overall, though, its an honest account of a comedian who did not hide behind laughter the truth of her walk down the dark road of depression.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Kelley
How lovely it is to hear from the heart of a celebrated comedianne like Chonda. She is such a blessing to me, as is her book. Even if you are not going thru depression or menopause, it is a quick easy read into that journey. The smiles are still there too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Barbara Clark
I thought the book was wonderful. I was in San Antonio, TX when Chonda announced that she no longer would be speaking & it made me so sad. She is the encouragement I have always long to be to others - so I am glad that there was a book that explained up to this point in her life. She is such a neat person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Laughing in the Dark: A Comedian's Journey Through Depression, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Boswell
Laughing in the Dark is a mustread for anyone who has bipolar -better known as manic depressionand see how a brother, sister-in-law and true friend stuck byher side and never turned theirback on Chonda.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.