Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1

Howard Books Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1

Maggie Anderson comes to a realization as she is being carjacked: she is more afraid of the abusive boyfriend for whom she is picking up alcohol than the carjacker. In this moment, Maggie understands that she can let her life stagnate where it is, or she can stand up for herself and her freedom. In order to be free, she must leave behind and forget everything about her old life and begin anew.

Trevor Ashlock is another person trying to forget, in the small town of Clayburn, Kansas.

Will God's love, grace, and forgiveness be able to eradicate the past, or will Maggie and Trevor be able to come to terms with their devils and start over again? Deborah Raney, softcover, 355 pages.

Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Review 1 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikki Studebaker Barcus
Maggie Anderson isn't who she once was--in fact, she's trying to become someone else entirely, at least until she's safe. In Deborah Raney's Remember to Forget, we meet Maggie, a formerly abused woman, who is being pursued by three men: Trevor Ashlock, who has his own secrets; her abusive boyfriend Kevin; and the God who she doubts even exists. As she struggles to remember all the lies she's told and keep them straight, she attempts to forget all the pain in her past. Could little Clayburn, Kansas hold the keys to unlocking her heart for love and her life for healing? Raney writes more than a contemporary romance. Remember to Forget is also a story of romance between the God who created us and desires a personal relationship with each one of us.Raney does a beautiful job of creating interesting, yet flawed, characters who strike a cord within us. Tackling the uncomfortable subject of domestic violence, Raney allows the reader to see the effects of such abuse on the heart, mind, and soul of the survivor. Giving the reader a peek into the thought processes and rationalizations of why woman stay in such situations, and how that past colors every aspect of their future. Raney's writing keeps the reader turning pages, rooting for the characters, and absorbing the lessons about forgiveness and new beginnings right along with Maggie, Trevor, and the residents of Clayburn. Unique secondary characters, interesting plot turns, and delightful instances of humor will make this a book you pick up time and again. A recommended book for anyone who enjoys women's fiction and romance. Women in or from abusive situations may enjoy the themes of restoration and healing, especially.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cathy Elliott (www.cathyelliottbooks.com)
A fast-paced romantic adventure that reads like a thriller. Deb Raneys novel, Remember to Forget, had me flipping the pages with eager anticipationreading just one more chapter. And thenjust one more! I loved visiting the little town of Clayburn with its mostly charming inhabitants, meeting Wren and Trevor, and rooting for Maggie as she struck out on what became a quest for freedom. Filled with both tense and tender moments, Remember to Forget is a delight to the heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joanne
This was a good book! I've enjoyed everything I've ever read by Deborah Raney. Though this wasn't a big "can't-put-downer", it did draw me in from the very first chapter (and that's hard to do with me) and kept me interested enough to keep wanting to pick it up. The ending was a little sketchy and Trevor seemed to make an awfully big jump from "can't ever get over or stop thinking about my wife" to "I'm in love with this girl"...a bit unrealistic, I thought. Characters were a bit flawless, I thought...but it was a great story and I'm glad that I read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
MOPS at Oakbrook
Our main character, Maggie Anderson, is in need of a major life over-haul! Her childhood wasnt good and her adult life isnt promising to be much better. That is, of course, until she is carjacked! How can that be a good thing? Youll have to read the book to find out! God can use ANY situation in our lives to bring us to Him, and Mrs. Raney shows that beautifully in her book. Another important character in the book, Trevor Ashlock, has had his fair share of problems as well. But he has kept his faith in God through it all and is used by God to point Maggie in the right direction. And though Maggie has to hide the truth from him as first, he finds himself in a position to help her escape from her past forever. Will he help her do it and be able to forgive her for the deception?I HIGHLY recommend this author for a smooth read and a DEFINITE feel-good book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2007
A woman's worst nightmare turns into an opportunity for freedom for Maggie Anderson. Her spirit has been crushed by an abusive boyfriend and when a carjacking provides her with an escape, Maggie grabs it and finds herself in the small town of Clayburn, Kansas.Clayburn is a close knit town but its inhabitants have their own struggles especially grieving widow, Trevor Ashlock and the kindhearted Bart and Wren Johanssen, owners of Wren's Nest B & B. Maggie is welcomed by these people but will she ever find a home when the truth of her deception is revealed?Deborah Raney has written a compelling story of Maggie's efforts to escape her broken past as she struggles with fear and anxiety trying to create a life she feels is undeserved. The pacing of the book is gentle and the story develops slowly creating a small town feel and contrasting with Maggie's frantic city life. Trevor's grief is palpable and the growth of both main characters is authentic and moving. Remember to Forget is a beautiful story of friendship, hope and love and is highly recommended. I am looking forward to the release of the sequel, Leaving November, which releases in March, 2008 from Howard Books/Simon & Schuster.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2007
I loved this book! When I would have to stop reading, I couldn't wait to pick up the book and begin reading again! This is an excellent look at how Christ can work in lives...even when situations seem hopeless. Deb's characters seemed so real...I'm ready to visit Clayburn and stay at Wren's Nest!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
Small town kindness and big city doubt meet in Deborah Raneys latest masterpiece. From the frightening streets of New York City across the country to Clayburn, Kansas you will find love and the mercy of God. . . .Maggie Anderson escapes a controlling abusive relationship late one night when she is carjacked. Through a series of circumstances and lies she finds herself in a bed and breakfast in Clayburn, Kansas. As she starts a new life in this town, she must keep her past a secret from the kind people she meets. How could they forgive her of all the deception? Her heart has never known nor can it understand the grace she witnesses.Trevor Ashlock is almost living. Hes the shell of the man he once was. His faith is all that carries him through his grief. When he meets Maggie, new feelings stir in his heart. He sees the hurt behind her lies. As he offers her grace and safety from whatever haunts her, can his heart find love again? . . . Within the pages of this book you see an image of Gods love, grace and forgiveness more beautiful than the Kansas sunset across the plains. You rejoice at a Savior Who always remembers to forget our sin. Prop your feet up and visit the lovely little town of Clayburn, Kansas. Youll linger long after the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Pattie (FreshBrewedWriter.blogspot.com)
Maggie Anderson is on her way back to deliver her boyfriend his liquor, when she is carjacked and left stranded on the side of the road outside New York City. Knowing that this may be her only chance to escape Kevins tyrannical rule over her life, she makes the most of her opportunity by depending upon the kindness of strangers. Eventually, Maggie finds herself in the rural town of Clayburn, Kansas.Trevor Ashlock, publisher of the Clayburn Courier, is trying to make it from day to day. Its been two years since the tragic accident that claimed his family, but he keeps busy with the paper and working on the Wrens Nest Bed and Breakfast remodeling project.When Trevor meets Maggie, he feels as if he is coming back to life. And Maggie as Meg begins to feel safe, even though she is trapped in a web of lies she has spun about her past, having always to remember not to reveal too much so that Kevin will never find her.I really enjoyed the way Deborah Raney told the stories of Maggie and Trevor. Their stories are not uncommon, yet they are fresh and new. I found myself alternating between wanting to shake Maggie and wanting to hug her and be her friend. Thankfully, she finds a great friend in Wren, another lovable and huggable character.The people of the town of Clayburn are sweet and kind, which I found refreshing. (No gossip or backbiting here!) No one preaches at Maggie. Rather, they show her the love of God through their love and actions toward her. I like that. I believe this sets a good example for those of us who belong to Christ.Remember to Forget deals with some unpleasant topics, to be sure, yet Raney somehow writes them in a kind and gentle way. The characters are sympathetic, and that appeals to me as much as the story. I would recommend this book to fans of Christian fiction and sweet stories that are not saccharine. I look forward to reading more of Raneys novels in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Linda Rondeau
When Trevor Ashlock lost his wife and son in a fatal car accident, he found the will to go on. But he exists rather than lives. In a small town like Clayburn, he cannot hide from those who want him to find a new life. When he agrees to help the Johannsens with a remodeling project, he does not expect to find a reason to make life worth living again.Maggie Anderson finds an opportunity to flee from an abusive relationship. But she abhors the lies and deceit she feels forced to inflict upon the Johannsens and others who have shown her nothing but kindness. Even though she changes her name to Meg Anders, she fears her past will find her. Can she truly find hope and release in a little town like Clayburn? Deborah Raney has told yet another stirring tale. The topic of domestic violence is not brought up enough in Christian Fiction. Ms. Raney has handled the issue with sensitivity and understanding. She helps us remember that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. There is forgiveness for anyone who asks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Megan DiMaria
Deb Raneys Remember to Forget takes readers on a journey from desperation to hope. The vehicle used to transport both reader and main character, Maggie/Meg, is the warmth of a small town in Kansas. Raney skillfully weaves Maggies life story throughout the plot in a natural, pleasing way. Her characters and setting are welcoming and wonderfulit makes you wish you could go to Wrens Nest for some pie and coffee.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brenda Lott
Deb Raney's latest romance is aptly named for a heroine who must forget her previous life, and a hero's struggle with the haunted memory of his wife and child. Deb has written a sweet love story surrounded by delightful characters set in a small fictional town, but so very believable that you long to live there. The town of Clayburn is filled with such a comfortable peace and likeable citizens, so strong in thir faith, that Maggie glimpses what real happiness could be like, and is desperate to have. With a taste of suspense and mystery, Maggie stretches beyond herself to embrace faith, and a second chance at life and love. A touching story that will surely capture your heart, and one that you'll find hard to forget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Annette M. Irby
This book is a treat. Ms. Raney does a fantastic job taking the reader into the setting and making you feel at home. Her characters are believable and relatable. I recommend this book for anyone looking for women's fiction with a dash of romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Engstrom
Get used to running, lying and escaping. Remember to Forget is not a traditional Deb Raney novel. No missionaries battle jungle diseases and face horrible death. The disease is different, the possible impending death sentence just as frightening for Meg. Or, is she really Maggie? Even Trevor who fights daily to surface above his own personal pain while battling a growing affection for Meg isnt sure who she is, or why she behaves the way she does.Maggie, or is she Meg?, takes advantage of a providential escape route to embrace a new existence, maybe even a future without fear. When small town innkeepers Bart and Wren temporarily adopt her, she begins to trust for the first time in her adult life. Just when she starts to feel safe from harm and secure in her new life, Kevin finds her. This time he demands total submissiveness or death. Running to the river, her fantasy since childhood, seems the only escape.Deb Raney weaves a plausible story of despair interlaced with hope. Every character is so believable the reader gets into his or her skin, even the despicable Kevin. Although Remember to Forget is set in present day, its message of love, trust and forgiveness is timeless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2007
This book is a treat from the words carefully crafted by Deb to the beautiful layout of the book. Each chapter begins with a pull-quote on the face page a mechanism that pulled me through the book. I kept thinking, Ill read just one more chapter and before I knew it another thirty minutes had evaporated. I could hardly put this book down, and when I did I kept wondering about what would happen next with the characters. A theme that challenged me was the picture of Gods hand extended to Maggie through the people who reached out to help her in her journey. Through their actions she gently becomes aware of Him and that He might be more than a myth. This made me ask the question whether I am doing what I need to on a daily basis to extend His love in an active way in my daily life.I highly recommend this book to readers who like romance mixed with women's fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Remember to Forget was a page turner from the outset. It's not going to make you pull your hair out with anxiety, but there is enough tension to keep you wondering when the boyfriend will show up. This is a great example of a story containing a heroine in a desperate situation who may be perceived as weak, but in actuality has always been a survivor, so in a way that makes her strong. However, she really did grow a lot as a person once she arrived in Clayton, Kansas. The hero did a lot of growing as well. Trevor is a guy any woman would want. They truly made a perfect match. I loved how the author left out the sometimes contrived tension that often occurs in stories where there is a character who lies about some things. She was desperate, didn't trust anyone, and did what she had to do. The details were also fabulous in this story. I could see the interior of the bed and breakfast and the design work they did on it. I could taste the food and was sweating when I read about the dust, the heat, the town, etc. And the romantic element was perfectly done, as usual. So if it's cold where you live right now, this baby will warm you to your toes. The ending was also perfect, though it could've included one small element that would've made it even better. Those of you who have read Over the Waters will know what I mean. They were both great stories. This novel ranks toward the top of my Deb Raney favorites. Her voice is unique and her style is elegant and yet, homey with a small town feel to it. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Hickey
When Maggie went to the liquor store for her boyfriend Kevin, she had no idea how stepping out her door that morning would set her free. When her car is carjacked, and she's left stranded, she heads West with nothing but twenty dollars in her pocket. Fear drives her to lies and deception. Guilt burdens her as she settles in Clayburn, Kansas and finds a place to call home, wanting to accept the love that is offered her.In, Remember to Forget, Deborah Raney takes the reader into small-town life, God's forgiveness and acceptance, and a simple love story as Maggie embraces the love and life-style God designed for her. A pleasurable read for those who enjoy a warm-hearted love story. Beautifully written. - Cynthia Hickey, author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
DiAnn Mills
Remember to Forget is a tribute to every woman who has found the guts to leave an abusive relationship and start over. Deborah Raney packs an emotional punch that rings of courage and triumph in the middle of desperation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Penny Moore
I think I have read almost every book that Ms. Raney has ever written and every one of her books manages to touch the heart of the reader. And "Remember to Forget" is no exception. It's a beautiful reminder of God's unconditional love for us, and his amazing grace, no matter what our past mistakes are. "Remember to Forget" is a fast paced story, with characters who come to life through the talent of Ms. Raney. I didn't want the story to end. God has certainly blessed Ms. Raney's pen, and is using the talent He gave her to bless her readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Remember to Forget, Clayburn Novels Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2007
Raney's done it again! With artistic panache, she's penned a unique plot filled with rich characters that spring to cinematic life. Although I've never been in an abusive relationship, I easily identified with Maggie's fear of divulging her past. Each of Raney's characters is believable, created with thoroughness and a unique past that adds depth. I was gripped by the imagination from the first page and didn't set it down until I finished it. I've found all of Raney's books to be page-turnerseven her first book. Deborah Raney is a born story-teller. One of the best. And she keeps getting better and better, although this one will be hard to top. Novel Reviews gives Remember to Forget its highest recommendation 5 stars and prediction of it being a 2007 Best Book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.