Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook

Zondervan Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook

Learn how to bridge the gap between understanding God's plan for your life and actually carrying it out with Brazelton and Leith's enlightening 40-day journey. Focusing on eight essential character traits---humility, confidence, courage, self-control, patience, contentment, generosity, and perseverance---they show you how to take incremental steps to becoming the woman God created you to be.
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Review 1 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
S. Eastham
I came across this book while in our local bookstore. The Lord had been working with me for 6 months on character/faith. This seemed like a possibility of help. Well, to my surprise, everything in the book speaks to me. I know now that I didn't just run into that book - I was led to that book. I had no idea how the things I did and felt were intertwined with all that I had learned since birth. I didn't even know that some of those things existed in me. It seems like there is an amazing discovery around every corner and I can't wait until the next day so that I can go on to the next chapter. I even took my lunchtime to read and study yesterday. The contents of this book are much more important right now than things and people - only because I know that when I get finished I will be able to communicate and celebrate all the things I learned with all the people I know. Thanks for the opportunity to learn how to be what God intended me to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Dakin
This book is definitely worth reading. I really like how it includes space to journal and reflect on each chapter. I also like how it encourages spending time with God since He is the only one who can bring about lasting change.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
charleen borger
I haven't finished yet, but I love the depth of the bible study and personal examination. It's the most intimate and God-focused time I have spent in awhile--and I am an established student of the bible, leader and teacher. Promoting a high view of God and whole view of man, this book is doctrinally and psychologically sound, as well as user-friendly and fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Miche
I stumbled upon this book through a friend, and I believe that it was a gift from God. It was God's way of showing me how to get my life back on track. I am a busy college student, so I needed something that was easy and did not require a lot of extra time. This was the book for me! It teaches you scripture straight from the Bible and teaches you how to apply these characteristics into your everyday life! I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
judi
I swear this book was written specifically for me...each chapter is chalked full of scriptural challenges and wonderful insights. I must admit I was a little skeptical that a book would bring about much change - but it did! It's like sitting in a dear friends living room or garden - having an in-depth chat about life's challenges. It has been wonderful seeing my perspectives change from mine to God's vantage point. I recommend anyone starting this book to commit to the 40 days (it goes very quickly) Each day is a new adventure of discovering about yourself (past and present) and opening your heart and eyes to the future God has in store. I couldn't wait to begin each day's study. This book is warm and reader friendly - it'll awaken your spirit to loving, learning,and embracing God's purpose for your life. You can go at your own pace...many times I spent longer on a chapter or re-read it til it "sunk" in. The added bonus is completing an action plan -- very helpful and exciting. I am definitely going to keep using this book as an annual Life tool. My outlook on life has a new refreshed perspective and deepened relationship with my Lord and Saviour. Thank you Katie and Shelly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie Herrington
This book is worth reading. My own life feels transformed by the tools presented in each chapter. It is flexible enough to accomodate my schedule, I did not do all the days consecutively but it worked out just fine. I can even use this material in youth ministry with the teens I serve. There is a special teen small group curriculum available from the authors as well. In my opinion you won't regret buying and reading this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Catherine Harris
This book is an opportunity to study, journal and self-reflect about where you are personally, on your spiritual journey, based on the character traits that all believers need. I like the format of the book. I am using it as an individual, but it could work well in a small group, also. The action planning guide is very positive and something I can refer to periodically.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wiebke
This book could not have come to me at a better time! I feel as if I have embarked on a major journey to get to know myself and how much God loves me all over again. Every morning when I wake up, I cannot wait to read what I have to work on. The prayers at the end of each day are so profound that I cry every time I read them. I have recommended this book to three other friends so far, and they all love it. It will become one of the books that I will keep on reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
D. Ward
It's like having a best friend be honest with you; giving you real life advice and encouragement based on God's Word. Genuine instruction on how to apply God's principles to our inner life so that our outer life becomes worship to Him. Website resources and on-line help is an added bonus and the format keeps you on track and motivated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barb
This is an excellent book with practical help and daily exercises to work through. I've especially appreciated all the scripture that is used, the practical examples of women who exhibited the various characteristics, and the prayers based on scripture that are provided. I chose to work through the book in order and I'm almost finished with my third week (courage). I was recently laid off from my job after 32 years with the same company and this book has helped me focus on God during this very difficult time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
erin
I just completed 'Character Makeover' and it is one of those books that you know you will keep going back to for the rest of your life. There may be lots of books that talk about "becoming a better person" but this book is truly transforming. With Biblical insights and practical application, the foremost issues women deal with are graciously covered with application like I've never seen before. If you really want to change those things about yourself that you know God is asking you to - you can do it! This book will help. Or, if you don't realize you need to deal with something - you may discover you do, afterall, and it will make such a difference. Never before have I understood the things we deal with as women to the extent that is outlined in the book and the good news is, now I know why I am the way I am, what it's rooted in and how I can change. Way to go Katie and Shelley - this is a must-read for all women endeavoring to be all God created you for...with a smile, even.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pam Butler
Reading Character Makeover was incredible. However,doing the lessons was an eye opening experience. There is little choice, if you select to participate in the lessons be prepared to change negative character traits that bind your soul into the freedom that the Bible promises. I never believed that my soul could fly like an eagle with the sovereignty of the breath of God beneath my wings, until I read Character Makeover. If you like where your heart is, and there is no need for change perhaps this is not the book for you. However, if you are ready to change into what Christ intended... read on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim Grimes
I absolutely love this study and the way God is using it to change my heart and my life. I am learning how character traits that I thought were nice to have (humility and patience) are really critical to surrendering my heart to God. The daily activities allow you to really focus on one topic for the week and let God work in the little things throughout your day to show you what he is revealing. Whether you do this study in a small group or on your own I believe God will use this to greatly impact your perspectives and your life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maria Marino
Whether you need to cut away pride or dig up courage, Character Makeover is like having the Swiss Army Knife for character construction in your back pocket. And a coach extraordinaire in your corner. Conveniently set-up as a 40-day bend, stretch and strengthen program, the exercises are far from routine. The 3-demenional interactive approach and extra tools meet you where you are and let you customize every step of the way. You will be in good company as Character Makeover trains you to keep your chin up, push up on whats holding you down and sitting up to take notice while working on the 8 traits that relay Gods renovating power. Get ready to be transformed by biblical characters, contemporary role models, and transparent coaches. Put your dukes up and be prepared to spar with your inner Pinocchio, Fred Flintstone, Shrek and a few other ridiculous rivals poised to knock you out. You actually do feel warmly enveloped by a real live coach as you journey and pray together through the Character Makeover adventure. Each session vaults you inside the heart of the God who spared nothing out of His love for you and motivates you to jump in to do your part to be the best me I can be for God. This is more than a book it is an engaging, practical and challenging tool that is guaranteed for life. You will want to keep it handy for all your character touch-ups and overhauls as long as you live. Because it really works, even in those hard to reach places.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Knight
So far, I am really liking it. For someone that needs time to digest what she is reading, this book takes it in chunks. It doesn't overwhelm you with steps to do. Great idea!!! A book that isn't all about a quick fix.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2008
"Character Makeover" is an incredible journey of self-discovery with a little help from the authors. The exercises are challenging, and help the reader to deepen their relationship with Christ and develop some wonderful habits in the process. But you only get out of this book what you are willing to put into it! Initially, I was disappointed that the website wasn't structured the way the book described. For example, there was no blog to interact with the authors. There were only a few web materials at all. The ones that were there were useful, though. But I must compliment the attentiveness of the webmasters. I emailed them a comment about the resources being missing and received a response that they were working on the issue. Then, they took it upon themselves to notify when the resources were available. This is an incredible book that will help you to work with God to change you for the better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
jd
Great book - easy to follow on a personal journey of character building. Love the side stories and the ability to go to the author's website and hear her words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pamela Gibson
I heard about Character Makeover in my home town on a Christian radio station. I began reading Character Makeover and God began to show me areas of my life where I was not exhibiting His character. My pastor began to preach on this very subject that following Sunday. I knew that God wanted to remake my character. This book is absolutely awesome. I have not put it down since the day I received it. I am just excited to see what God is going to do in my life through this book. I would recommend this book to every woman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Angela
Character Makeover allows you to review who you are. You are able to look deep into yourself and see how God recommends you to live. The self tests backed up by scriptures at the end of every chapter are very helpful. It reinforce what you read and allows you to apply the different tools into your daily life. I recommend this book to anyone that is looking for spiritual guidance on how to carry themselves. Excellent book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Martha Jo Dendinger
Whether youre gearing up for an overall overhaul, or just need a refreshing look at yourself in a particular area, this book is a great tool. By approaching our weaknesses in character as strongholds for the enemy, the author provides insight into the areas of our relationships to God, to ourselves, to others, to things, and to the future. A customizable plan for building character, which includes probing questions, journaling exercises, and prayers designed for each relationship area make this an excellent tool for individuals or discussions in small groups. I highly recommend this book. Dont get it from the library. Youll want to keep it on your shelf and reuse it frequently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>