Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Familylife Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Familylife Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit

Teaching kids about the facts of life is so much more than just "the birds and the bees." It is surely one of the most awkward parts of parenting-especially in today's permissive society. FamilyLife founders Dennis and Barbara Rainey have created a fun, non-threatening way to connect with your children while teaching them godly principles of sexuality with the Passport2Purity program, a weekend getaway that will be life-changing for both of you.
Average Customer Rating:
4.822 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Review 1 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Memorable PP2P Weekends

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
manatina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used the product three different years for my girls and now my husband is taking our son. It is very helpful material for showing God's plan for our bodies and how we work. It helps preteens/teens set boundaries before they find themselves in difficult situations. Opens up dialogue and allows for a special bonding time between parent and adolescent. Parents must review and prepare object lessons before the weekend. Optional message isn't for everyone so know your material before you start the weekend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good materials

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bamboy
Location:Ferndale Wa
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Materials were good and C.D...I especially thought that the projects (balloon, puzzle etc) were very helpful. Music was not helpful..Singing the verses..kind of "hokey"!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
tammom
Location:Holland, Mi
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent program which allows kids to start THINKING in a non threatening way about how they will behave BEFORE the time when society thinks it is ok to date. It also bolsters the parent/child relationship in such a way as to prevent the youth from seeking a relationship to fill a need for love that is lacking in their life. If the kids KNOW you love them and most of all that Jesus loves them, that love will protect them from making unwise choices. Thanks Dennis and Barb Rainey so much for this wonderful opportunity to learn and grow with my preteen!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great program!

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
afont73
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had an awesome weekend with our oldest son. It really touched on everything I fell that is so very important for teenagers these days. It made it easy to talk about subjects that are not always easy to talk about. I would have loved to have experienced this program when I was a teenager. We have a great relationship with him already and I felt like it made us even closer. I would recommend this program to everyone with children. Thumbs up!!! :)) Can't wait for our 2nd sons weekend!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Coldwater, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It would have been nice if Dennis Rainey would have ordered the items at the cliff for parental reference. It may also have been more effective to view the program on DVD. He should also go to the "trouble" of saying he/she throughout, rather than gearing the program toward males. However, an exceptional resource that will serve in laying a much-needed (clear) foundation for morality in the lives of our preadolescents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Acworth, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a great weekend celebrating my daughter's 14th birthday. I surprised her with a weekend getaway to a cabin in NC. Her best friend and her mom came also, making it even more fun. This was the perfect time to do Passport to Purity. We loved how well each session was presented especially the nitty gritty! The object lessons were fun and helped us all. It was not as difficult to discuss these sensitive issues as I thought it would be, thanks to your program. We have already recommended this to many. Thanks for sharing this with us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A "must do" for fathers and sons.

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
kirkk
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you think that "Passport 2 Purity" is just about the Birds and the Bees, I think you'll be in for a pleasant surprise.
I first purchased this program when my oldest son turned ten. I've just returned back with my third son from our getaway. It has been awesome. "Passport" is a great program that I've recommended to fathers for the past 8 years. Here's what I like:
1. Introduction to the "Birds and the Bees"
2. Teaches kids about the dangers of peer pressure and teaches them how to prepare for standing up for what might be facing.
3. Helps kids be intentional in the decisions they will face later in life; a whole section on making up your mind in advance.
4. Scripture based.
5. The father-son getaway
6. Planning guide for your trip. You don't have to remember everything. My wife and I make a date to go shopping for all the supplies and putting all the stuff together.
Make sure you spend a couple of nights working on your letter to your son (I typed my letter and taped it into the book). As I mentioned, there is a trip involved, but it doesn't have to be expensive. We go on our trip in the summer and go camping. We listen to the CD's with a portable player or use the one in the car.
The projects are very simple and have a straight forward message that is worked into each presentation. My son's have also all liked the projects.
Don't wait too long. My wife and I have decided that 10 is a great age; just before the 6th grade. That's seems like the age when girls aren't so icky anymore, and the boy's curiosity in girls is just starting.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helped me bond with my 12 & 13 year old daughters!

Date:July 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mom4God
Location:Laguna Hills, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was so thorough and very well done! It went above my expectations. I decided to take both my daughters at the same time, and I am so thrilled I did. Not only did we draw closer, but the 2 of them did as well. It opened up so many conversations and re-affirmed so much of what my husband & I have been instilling in them since they were younger. I am recommending this to ALL my friends that have adolescent children. Please don't hesitate! Buy it today, take the time to prepare, and get ready to have a weekend with your teen/pre-teen that you will treasure forever! Praising God for Passport2Purity!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great way to have the talk

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dadof6
Location:Glenwood Springs, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the program for 4 of my 6 child and have loved it. I am looking forward to the rest becoming of age.
If wish every 12 - 14 year old could hear this message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
GoofMom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our 13 year old son and have just finished previewing and listening to the materials to prepare ourselves for the weekend. It is very well done, and we are very excited to use it. We have three older children that we talked to and they all made a commitment to purity but this program takes it a step further by defining lines that a child won't cross before they put themselves in those tempting situations, something we didn't do well enough with our older kids. I think this is going to be a great resource for our 13 year old son and our 11 year old daughter when she is ready. We allowed our son to pick out a purity ring and we will present it to him when we have completed the curriculum. My kids are homeschooled so there may be some information that is a bit over his head, but I know he is going to hear it anyway and we would prefer he hear it/discuss it with us rather than friends. I would highly recommend this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Highly recommend this to anyone with a pre-teen!

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
bellamamma
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything was very educational! The music portion was a little "old school" - my daughter thought it should be more upbeat, more teen-friendly (like Toby Mac rap) or similar. Other than that - it was all good!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every parent should do this with their child.

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Location:SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very satisfied with this! You cannot purchase a better tool to help your preteen be prepared for the road a head! To top it off, the price is excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We very much enjoyed this kit...

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trisch in WA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We took our oldest son (yes I said WE) camping and together took him through this kit and it made a wonderful impression upon him. He has stood by his commitment and cherishes his purity ring. We choose to do this together as we feel it is important for our children to be comfortable going to either parent so that if anything were to happen to either of us it doesn't break down the communication between child and parent. I sat in and participate in everything up until the "just for boys." At that point we let our son decide if he wanted me to stay or not. I went into another room of the camper while he and his dad had a good father son talk. This was good as our son admitted that he was more comfortable talking with me than his dad so this gave an opportunity to chat with dad and open up lines of communication.
We are now preparing to take son #2 and then will do son #3 next year and our daughter a couple years after that. We will use this program for each of our kids.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great information!

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa
Location:hanover,PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't wait to share this info. with our children. I love the way this is presented.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We're planning 2 get this 4 r subsequent children

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Freed
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 'big weekend' has not yet taken place, but is planned and 'on the ready'... we are very excited, and know that it will be a good weekend for both parent and child.
This package comes with all the 'how-to' and helps to make it fun, successful, and thought-provoking.
I love the scripture base, and the music the scripture is set to, to make scripture memory easier for both participants!
We can't wait to make it a tradition for the rest of our kids.
(Now to see if I can buy just the student book replacement for the others~) :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great product!!

Date:November 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
vicki
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just took my 11-year-old daughter "away" on an overnight trip to go over this material. We had a great time. The CD's had all the information I needed to discuss and she really enjoyed the projects. The parent's guide was very thorough. You definitely need two days to cover all of it, though, and we only had one day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Olivia Moffett
I thought this was a FANTASTIC product. It was easy to understand and use. The topics covered within the material were very thorough, but also provided a great springboard into other topics. The object lessons were perfect and really drove home the session being studied. I love it. I am looking forward to doing it again in two more years with my daughter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
The BEST! Every parent should use this kit. It is well laid out, presented, and effective. The weekend is great!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Very informative and was easy for my daughter to understand. My friend had a different set and after listening to the Passport to Purity CDs decided the information was much better. I would definately recommend this to anyone. Even if your kid(s) are not ready for "the talk" the series also touches on peer pressure and refers everything back to biblical standards. I was VERY pleased with purchasing this kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Passport2Purity-Weekend Retreat Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michele Pierce
A friend told me about this program which I immediately ordered. Remembered reading in the reviews that you need to do your homework. So glad I did b/c I was able to plan appropriately, especially the object lessons which are fantastic and they shouldn't be skipped. Had the "pollution" one measured out so that my daughter could listen for my instructions and put it together while we were driving to our destination. Had a beautiful overnight getaway in NYC and the hotel we stayed at even upgraded our room I believe b/c they knew why we were there. Only thing is, like others have said, the stories got a bit long and were a little corny. I made a photo book from an online company and included pictures of the things I used for the object lessons. This way my daughter will have it as a memory. Need to schedule my son for his getaway. Difficult topics to approach but so worth the investment to build a stronger bond with your children.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.