Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for No Greater Joy Ministries Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook

No Greater Joy Ministries Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook

Created to be His Help Meet mentors women on how to have a heavenly marriage. The author makes the argument that men and women were created by God to play different roles in society. A woman acting like a man creates a unisex society, which is a senseless society. Each chapter provides instruction, examples, letters from women, and concludes with a "Time To Consider" section. Paperback.

From the author: "... I had no idea God had so much to say to us ladies until I began going through God's Word verse by verse, writing the different sections of Created to be His Help Meet. Many times as I read a passage, I would say to my husband, "I'm not going to include those verses in my book because if I do the ladies (of any religious group you can think of including my own) will not like my book or promote it." My dear husband would say to me, "If God thought it was important enough to inspire it as part of his Word to us, then you should include it." And so I would cringe and add one more controversial subject after another..."

Average Customer Rating:
4.078 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
15
24 out of 3373%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Review 1 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can Change Your Life for the Better

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Readermi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Biblical book with Christ-centered teaching.
As a single woman, I was curious whether or not this book could help me. It could! Not only is it preparing me for a Godly marriage, but it also helped me immensely with my relationship with my father.
I found the vast differences in the reviews posted intriguing. Some made me strongly wonder if the reviewer had truly read the book, just skimmed it, or went off of another's interpretation of the book since I found a lot of false and misleading information. So, this is one book you may need to read for yourself before concluding what you think about it.
If you are a woman looking for someone else to blame or to do the work in your struggling relationship, then choose some other "feel good" material (there are some suggestions listed on negative reviewers' posts). However, if you are willing to return to the basics of the Bible and to be honest with yourself and God, then you have found the perfect aide to your journey to a God-blessed, Bible-based marriage.
Notice that the reviewers who followed the suggestions given by Debi Pearl are now calling their marriages "deliriously happy" and "blessed". There is a reason why.
My sister-in-law read the book, changed her marriage, added two more little ones to their home (love being an auntie), and recommended it to me. I've read it, altered my bad relationship habits, readjusted my worldly thinking, bought a copy from christianbook.com to be shipped to my Christian sister with an atheist husband (Lord willing he, too, will come to know the Lord through her testimony), and bought it for one of my former high school Sunday school gals who just got married this summer.
When I moved to a foreign third-world country and had very limited suitcase space, I made sure this book was packed along for the journey. Even now I can see it sitting on my bookshelf.
Don't miss out on a blessing from Heaven!
-6points
4of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book for married and single woman.

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Summer
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book. It's a little hard to get into at first but then it really picks up once you stick with it. I'd recommend this book to single people who are about to be married. I would strongly recommend this book to newly weds and those that have been married a long time. This book will improve any marriage. I gave away copies to friends and family for Mother's Day.
-10points
2of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Two warnings

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
momof2ormore
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Warning 1: In chapter 7, the author does away with older women and our hopes for sanctification/improvement as wives. She shuts the door on us, killing off any hope for a better marriage, arguing we cannot be transformed because of older age. (How unbiblical is that?)
Warning 2: This book may mislead wives into replacing God with their husbands. I have seen former godly women become husband-idolaters, following the advice in this book almost sectarianly.
+7points
14of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debadoo
Location:IL.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book for any woman who would want to learn how to truely love their husband in the way God intended. I received alot of insight about men and marriage.
-11points
4of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

POISON! DO NOT BUY!

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
TexasGirl
Location:Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is a great book to beat yourself up with if you have been trying to keep a failing marriage together, or to leave laying around for your abusive husband to find (he can justify his behavior very easily by what's written in this book - even an affair, because it's your fault you didn't giggle at him enough or give him enough sex). The author even claims that a woman's *response* to an adulterous husband is the reason for a divorce, not his adultery!
Among other bad behavior on the part of a husband which is excused is sexual abuse of the children. According to this book, if your husband has sexually abused your children, you just put him in jail and then take the children who were abused and go visit him! Then when he gets out, you welcome him back home. This will help the children "heal".
With all that said, I think the most dangerous thing about this book is that it is full of the Pearls' opinions which they present as Biblical truth. There are many unBiblical things in this book, but here is just one example: that a wife doesn't need to worry about her own time with the Lord, she needs to focus on her husband first - he is her "mediator" or "high priest" with God. As we all know, there is "now one Mediator between all of us and God - Christ Jesus". NOT our husbands. This book presents the idea that our salvation is based on the way we treat our husbands. It also attempts to say that a woman's sole purpose is to be a wife, and yet we know in several verses in the NT, we are told that if we don't marry, we can focus more on the Lord's work.
There are many other examples. Debi and her husband, Michael Pearl, insinuate their own ideas about vaccinations into the book as well - like others I have known who tie their Christian walk to issues like vaccinations, growing your own food, etc., etc. These people make you feel like a bad Christian if you vaccinate your children and buy your food at the grocery store. UNBIBLICAL.
Debi Pearl is a mean, un-Christian woman. One quick look at her descriptions of other women would make one think one was reading a non-believer's book. "Hillbilly ugly", "very obese", "long faced, sickly complainer", "wench", "slut", "hussy" - not normally things I, as a Christian, say to describe other women. Not to mention that apparently not only are men not to blame for their sins, but they are easily manipulated and that's what a good wife does - manipulate her husband - that's how you get him back. Mischievous giggles, etc. - that'll do it!
The statements in the book about a woman blaspheming God if she doesn't completely, mindlessly obey her husband (Titus 2:4-6), are the worst cases of re-writing the Bible that I've ever seen. Every time I've ever been taught this Scripture, it has been that the women set a good example so others can't blaspheme God because they present themselves as followers of Jesus and then don't set a good example. To claim that a woman is blaspheming God by not following the instructions of "submission" in this book is just insane! But that's what the Pearls say.
In my opinion, there aren't enough good points in this book to justify the bad - because the bad is horrible. Please do not give this book to someone else unless they have asked for it. After being transparent in women's group and with my church friends about MY bad attitudes and sin, I had two different church friends give me this book and tell me it was just what I needed - when they had also been told that my husband had already had one affair, was verbally and sometimes physically abusive, verbally and physically abused my son, and spent all our money to keep us in debt and me unable to leave. Just what I needed ... a mean-spirited book telling me everything was my fault and if only I would stop being sad and be "cheerful" toward my husband everything would be okay. I went from depressed to suicidal. Praise God that He is faithful and merciful and loving - unlike the "god" the Pearls seem to serve. I threw both copies of that book in the trash, which is where it belongs!
+20points
26of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Changing yourself to help your marriage

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Krystal
Location:Southern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I read this book years ago. About every 6 months or so I have to pull it out and reread it, to get me back on track. I have been married for 30 years and can honestly say this book has helped. A lot of the book contains "hard teaching" and is not easy to read or implement, but when i do my husband adores me and i am treated like a princess. At times, Debi Pearl, seems harsh and critical of certain ladies she writes about, but it was very effective in helping me see the consequences of the bad behavior. Truth can not be sugar coated. This book is not for couples, as it does not address the responsibilities of the husband. This book is about how a woman can stop tearing down her house and start rebuilding it. If you want your husband to love you more, implement the suggestions in this book.
-6points
6of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From desperate to deliriously happy

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Older Wiser Happier
Location:Honolulu HI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Filter the results by age and see who "hates" this book! These women are in my age group! I was totally there until I was desperate enough to try anything, even humbling myself and trying obedience to the Word. It IS a hard book to read, Debbie kicks ya in the shins... but the Word of God is true. I decided to become a doer of the Word and now we have unbelievable blessings, joy, happiness, and peace in our marriage, children and home. So what's with the one-star crowd? Being spiritual is different from being godly. "Believe" is only the first step of this journey, "the demons also believe..." (James 2:19) We must ACT on what we read or we deceive ourselves into thinking we are followers of Christ, Who said, "Why do you call Me, 'Lord, Lord' and do not do what I say?" (Luke 6:46) The Holy Spirit is with those who obey Him. (Acts 5:32) Some of these ladies are still rebels who haven't yet decided to obey and some will stay rebels who call themselves "Christians" though someday Christ will say He doesn't know them. Want a new husband? Be a new wife! God will pour out blessings on you for your heart of obedience toward Him. You're gonna be amazed!!
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leann
Location:Kodiak, AK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good book. :) it will help a struggling marriage or improve a great one. :)
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am astounded that this book can be recommended by any Christian. Debi starts out with a few good truths of how women have a tendency to undermine their husbands authority but beyond that it all goes downhill. There is so much unbiblical information and taken-out-of context Bible verses included in this book that I would not recommend it to anyone.
I have been married for over 25 years and have given many women Biblical counsel on their part in restoring their marriage relationship and submitting to their husband's authority. However, there is no Biblical truth to any person (woman) created just to please another human (man).
My Bible tells me we are all created in the image of God and are given talents, abilities, and passions to be used for His glory and to draw others to him.
The book is so full of fallacies that it is scary. The putdowns and name calling of women shows no love and compassion. Letters written by women that are in desperate need of answers are responded to with blame and sarcasm. Even scarier is the recommendations of what to do with a child molesting or abuisive husband. However, scariest of all, I find this book to be an assault on the beauty and heart of women and the role they are created to play in God's marvelous plan.
Don't waste your time on this book. If you want to understand a man and your role as a woman read "Capitivating" and "Wild at Heart" by Jon and Stasi Eldridge. For a woman or man looking to do their part in restoring their marriage "The Love Dare" and "Boundaries in Marriage" are full of great Bibcal advice.
+1point
14of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Incredible truth for strong, believing wives

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
heatherjoy
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a young married woman and I am BEYOND grateful to Debi for writing this book. The truths in it are very straightforward and can be hard to swallow. I have told my friends it is a "kick you in the seat of your pants" kind of book...which, I need!
She has taught me how to love my husband for the man he is, to support him and be his number one cheerleader.
I also really respect her use of scripture. She is a very learned, wise woman who knows the Bible well, by the grace of God. It is not often we come by women who know the Bible, and what God has to say about women so well. She has definitely been given a gift.
A few things to heed warning to: many times she gets very dramatic about the result of a possible divorce between you and your spouse, such as: a single woman on food stamps living in her parents house having someone else raise your children who could possibly be treating them badly, or mental illness. This point is brought up many times, which, she has valid stories from women who have written her to back up her saying these things, but I do not think that will be the result of EVERY woman who gets a divorce. However, I do appreciate the bold stance she takes on fighting for your marriage!
All in all, this is a very good book, but should not be read by new Christians. Once you have a solid Biblical foundation and worldview, come to this book with an open-mind to truly see what the Lord could have for you out of it!
-3points
7of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
laurenlacorte
Location:Danville, IN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even better than expected. Made me think about things I couldn't believe I had overlooked. Very thought-provoking.
-6points
6of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

don't read it- don't pass it along

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
so not sara
Location:vermont
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book was a huge disappointment and misleading of scripture continually taken out of context. I have never been so angered by someone twisting truth and throwing others "under the bus" so to speak for living in denial of their own sin.
If anyone knows the character of God, they know God is love. This book is quite unloving in the way it beats women down. Jesus didn't talk like that to women in the bible, what makes Debi Pearl an expert on her interpretation of His own words?
I agree with other comments about making "some" good truthful points, but overall, to someone not sure in their own relationship with their creator; this book will mislead and confuse those who don't know the truth in their hearts!
+7points
16of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for anyone married or to be married

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Thammy
Location:Montreal, Canada
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is excellent. Mrs Pearl stays biblical and her exposition of the scriptures is truly challenging!! If you're ready to reexamine your marriage and see how you can change for the best, this is a book for you!
It was for me and has influenced me to live in obedience to God in my marriage.
I now recommend it to women who are getting married or already married.
The only thing about the book is you have to be ready to receive the message, even if it's delivered very roughly. Mrs Pearl does not take time to be gentle in the way she says things, so you might think she lacks compassion, but I think it's just a writing (or even talking) style...
-6points
6of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

BUYER BEWARE

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cris
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to get this book in the mail and could not wait to get it out of the box and begin reading it. I have never been so disappointed in a book. I wish that I had read ALL the reviews good and bad, before purchasing. For a seasoned Christian, some points she makes are valid, but when reviewing this book in it's entirety, I feel it to be misleading and somewhat dangerous for newly saved Christian women. Heed the warnings of other reviewers and do not be mislead by this book. Do your research before you buy. I sure wish I had!
+10points
18of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't recommend highly enough!

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Savedandhavingablast
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read sooooo many "good Christian wife" books. After reading "Created" for the first time about a decade ago, I stopped searching! So many books say, "If you do x,y,z your husband will instantly change into Prince Charming and you will live 'happily ever after'". That only left me wondering what was I doing wrong. Did I not follow the 'formula' right?
"Created", on the other hand, reminds us of our obligations to God as wives. We are to be faithful to Him - period. No excuses. We are only responsible for ourselves. We are NOT our husbands' Holy Spirit.
We are given a beautiful promise in I Peter 3:1-2 that we can cling to, but it may take time (decades even). Until God works in our husbands, however, our responsibility before Holy God is not diminished. On the contrary, I Peter 2:19-24 clearly shows that sacrificial obedience is expected of ALL Christians, not only wives.
This book gives us the Scriptures as our objective authority as opposed to subjective fads. Our marriage vows are a holy covenant. Our marriage is its own living, breathing organism. Divorce is tantamount to abortion. We have a sacred duty and clear directives. We need to stop worrying so much about what makes us happy and get serious about what God considers holy.
I have read this book through probably a dozen times or more. I have given several copies away and have to keep buying myself another copy. Of all the women who have either rejected this book or assented but refused to change, their marriages have either ended or stayed in the same joyless state. Of all the women who have opened their eyes to the sacred role of a wife and its depiction of the Bride of Christ, their marriages have begun the beautiful process of healing and glorifying God - sometimes with AMAZING results of salvations in the family!!!
I am so grateful to Debi Pearl for rising above the duty ascribed in Titus 2:3-5. She has taught not only the younger women around her, she has taught women around the world!
-2points
8of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful, Godly, Scriptural

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
eli6
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. Helped my marriage greatly. Very scripturally based.
-3points
7of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
RayJay88
Location:PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Created to be His Help Meet," is a great book for any woman wanting to better understand her role as a godly wife. It is full of scriptural encouragement and examples to help us live a joyful and rich life with the man God created us to love and serve. It's a good book to sit with your coffee and notebook and be open and ready to learn and laugh.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tricia Wilson
Location:Augusta, Ga
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book - teaches women to be Godly wives and how God views the institute of holy marriage. I will be purchasing this again as gifts for ohters.
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I give this book to every woman that I can. It is great and very helpful to show a wife what she is to her husband.
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Created To Be His Help Meet: Discover how God can make your marriage glorious - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A life changing read...

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:Whidbey Island, Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has ministered to me in so many ways. It is hard to read the severely negative reviews about it. Debi Pearl is straightforward and tells a hard truth, so maybe that is part of the problem that some women have with it. It can be a truly painful book to read, especially if you have based your idea of marriage on worldly standards, but I think God uses a little pain to change us sometimes. Nowhere do I feel that Debi uses biblical passages to twist or manipulate the truth. Also, nowhere does she advocate staying in an abusive situation. She deals explicitly with this at the end of her book. Perhaps some women never bothered to finish it. I have personally read this book many times, used the journal, and worked to apply its principles in my life. I have found that I have changed for the better, and so has my marriage. I have nothing but praise for this book. I have never read a message for women that was more empowering.
+1point
9of 17voted this as helpful.