Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Daring Chloe - eBook

Zondervan Daring Chloe - eBook

When Chloe Adams' fianci dumps her-the night before their wedding-two girlfriends from her book group decide a little adventure is in order for the three of them. After all, why let a perfectly good honeymoon cruise go to waste?

Adventure? Chloe Adams? No way! Chloe's lived in one town her whole life. The closest she's ever gotten to actual adventures is reading about them. But her girlfriends won't take no for an answer.

One good adventure calls for another as Chloe's friends try to coax her out of her post-dumping funk, and soon she finds herself living out the adventures in her book club's latest selections. Hiking. Sailing. River rafting. Traveling to new places and eating exotic food. The play-it-safe Chloe begins to blossom into a new, daring Chloe. A Chloe who just might be ready to take on her biggest adventure of all.

Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Daring Chloe - eBook
Review 1 for Daring Chloe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy Cilpston
When Chloe is dumped the night before her wedding, her life is thrown into flux. Before she realizes it, shes doing things shes never dreamt of, including swimming with sharks. This was the first book Id ever read by Laura Jensen Walker, and I couldnt put it down. Ms. Walker is a poet of emotions. I found myself going through Chloes emotional roller coaster with her and rooting for her the whole way. I could relate to Chloes feelings, and I even found myself reflecting on my own life and the journey Id taken with past relationships. Ms. Walker is a very gifted writer and I look forward to Turning the Paige. I highly recommend her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Daring Chloe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2009
Laura Jensen Walker has captured my heart once again with her latest novel.This book was exciting and creative and it made me want to re-read several classic (and some soon-to-be-classic) works! This book also made me long for the friendship of other women who love books and would be willing to participate in some of the adventures these characters experienced. This would be a terrific book club pick!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Daring Chloe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Emily
This was the first book I read by Laura Jensen Walker and it is my new favorite! I love Paris and reading so for me it was a great combination. I can't wait for the next book, "Turning the Paige," from this series. I highly recommend it if you love a great chick-lit book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Daring Chloe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kaye Dacus, Author
Laura Jensen Walker's books are always fun to read, and usually when I pick up one of her books, by the bottom of the first page, I wonder exactly when it is that she tapped into my brain. I didn't connect with the main character, Chloe, that directly in this novel, however it is for the most part a very enjoyable read. One of the things I appreciate about this work of chick lit is that it doesn't revolve around the heroine's job---or loss of her job. Though she's fearful, she's not angst-ridden like most chick-lit heroines. She's down-to-earth and relatable. The idea of a group of women of different ages and backgrounds not only forming a book club but planning "adventures" based on the novels they're reading makes me want to go out and start a similar group. However, a couple of times, I found myself skimming through a lot of their discussions of the books (or the rabbit-trail conversations these discussions led to) because they didn't seem to further the plot much---and they came across as somewhat of an advertisement for certain books or movies. But each adventure the ladies went on were fun and reasonable. I love the fact that they had to save for a year to take their trip to Paris instead of being able to just pick up and go at a moment's notice, as would happen in many other chick-lit books. Where I did get a little frustrated was in the last 25% of the book, which is basically a travelogue of Paris. Not being enthralled with Paris/all-things-French myself, the frequent use of French words/phrases/sentences and the blow-by-blow of everything the ladies do in Paris got a little tedious for me. But if you love Paris and have always wanted to visit, you'll probably thoroughly enjoy that part. All-in-all, though, an enjoyable read and a great start to a new series by one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Daring Chloe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pamela Fortner
Okay, so Laura Jensen Walker is a personal friend of mine. That's not why I'm writing this review and why I loved the book so much. When I sit up in bed until midnight to finish a book, it's good. No--it's very good. Laura has created characters full of vim, vigor and vitality. Not a word is wasted. Excellent summer reading, right down to the satisfying ending. You'll not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Daring Chloe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather Harwood
I am a big Laura Jensen Walker fan, but this book didn't entertain me as much as some of her previous novels. I get the feeling, though, that this is the first in a series of books based on a reading group's members and adventures; so perhaps as part of the whole it will be more satisfying. LJW's hilarious one liners are still found aplenty in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Daring Chloe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
paula
Another hit from Laura Jensen Walker! Chloe is dumped by text message the night before her wedding. She decides to start getting on with her life by going on the cruise that was supposed to be her honeymoon. She starts to learn that fears can be faced, if not overcome. Her book club, The Paperback Girls, decide to start living out some of the adventures in the books they read- everything from boating on San Francisco Bay to camping to going to Paris! Along the way, Chloe learns the importance of not letting her fears (the ocean, flying, etc.) limit her life, and she learns the importance of friends- not just her age peers, but those younger and older than herself. By the end of the book, the title fits Chloe very well. Highly recommended!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Daring Chloe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda
I really enjoyed this book. I liked the dynamic of the book club and the experiences that they shared. This was a unique story with lots of fun! I highly recommend this book. It definitely makes you want to travel. I look forward to book two in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Daring Chloe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cathy Elliott (www.cathyelliottbooks.com)
Chloe survives being dumped just before her wedding - just barely - but will she live through her honeymoon? When she and a couple of gals from her book club go on the cruise Chloe was supposed to share with her almost husband, she experiences adventures she's only read about, including swimming near a shark! But the trip is only the beginning for Chloe, who confronts her fears and learns that there is a great life to be lived beyond the pages of a book.Laura Jensen Walker has crafted a keeper in DARING CHLOE, the first of the Getaway Girls series. I was charmed by the story, Walker's fine writing, and matchless wit. The authenticity of the settings gave it a sense of reality that pulled the reader into every page. I was sorry to see it end and comfort myself that the next in the series, TURNING THE PAIGE, will be coming out soon. Do yourself a favor and get a copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Daring Chloe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2008
Laura Jensen Walker's books are always a joy to read. Her stories are always hard to put down and I usually find myself staying up late into the night to finish the novel. The characters are so relatable that you wish you could jump right in and be part of the book. Her latest one is no exception. Chloe's character makes you just want to hug her from the get go. I really detest guys like Chloe's fiance who decide to do the breakup right before the wedding. I felt that this was one of the worst ways to do a break up too. It just irks me how he couldn't let his feelings be known BEFORE all the planning had taken place. I felt Chloe's pain and I wouldn't wish feelings like that on anyone. I love reading books about book clubs. The selections chosen in this book were really interesting and has piqued my interest to look into them. I wish I could be a member of the Getaway Girls Club. They are probably the most energetic and fun to be around group of women I have ever read about. I loved reading about their adventures and wish I could be a part of them. I absolutely loved reading about all the yummy French food. I so wish I could go to Paris now! Between this book and the movie Ratatouille, I am reading to take on France! I think the best part of the novel was seeing how Chloe changed throughout the book. This was one of the most engaging books I have read this year. I cannot wait for the next book in the series to come out. Anyone who loves books, food and traveling will love this book! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.