Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook

Policewoman Rachel Troyer loves peaceful Sugarcreek, where her elderly Amish aunts run the famous farmhouse inn. But when stranger Joe Matthews lands on her aunts' doorstep begging for shelter for himself and his son, it's clear to Rachel that he's no tourist. Who is he---and will she be able to keep her heart in check?
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic, unique story!

Date:July 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I've ready by Serena Miller and it won't be my last. I thoroughly enjoyed this story. It's a unique story, in and of itself, because it is written around the Amish community, but the main characters are not Amish. This put a unique perspective on the Amish faith and lifestyle and kept the story interesting.
Rachel Troyer is a fantastic woman. I absolutely love her from the moment I meet her. She is strong and courageous with just enough doubt in herself to make her more human. She is beautiful without realizing it, loyal, kind, and strong in her faith. Joe Matthews - Micah Mattais - is haunted by recent events in his life. He is trying to be strong for his son, and his humility and dedication to do what is best for his son is endearing. Rachel's aunts make for a phenomenal cast of secondary characters that add a great amount of depth to the story.
Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - By: Serena Miller The message of the story, clearly written at the beginning of the book, is expertly written into the story. We, as Christians, are to treat each other with respect, be helpful, not judgmental, and love one another as Christ loves the church."Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares." Hebrews 13:2
Overall, this was a fantastic story and I will certainly keep Serena Miller on my "to-read" author list!
I also can't wait to see the movie that was inspired by this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Mystery Man, A Mystery and Romance

Date:June 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Serena B. Miller in her new book, “Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio” published by Summerside Press takes us to Sugarcreek, Ohio and into the life of Rachel Troyer.
From the back cover: Love finds you
A mysterious outsider casts a long shadow on Ohio’s Amish country.
Policewoman Rachel Troyer has always looked after her three elderly Amish aunts, proprietors of a farmhouse inn near Sugarcreek, Ohio. The idyllic town is popular with tourists, who come to sample its famous Amish goods. But one thing is clear to Rachel – Joe Matthews is no tourist. When the bearded stranger lands on her aunts’ doorstep, begging shelter for himself and his young son, Rachel is suspicious. Will she be able to uncover Joe’s secrets despite her aunts’ – and her own – growing affection for him?
Let me start off by saying that I sincerely hope that Ms. Miller has a sequel to this story cooking in the pipes somewhere. This story is absolutely terrific! Sugarcreek, Ohio seems like a really nice place to hang out in with the people to meet and the places to see. Rachel Troyer is the kind of cop you always want around and to be friends with. Joe Matthews is a mystery and Rachel doesn’t trust him. Then there is a murder and a killer to catch. On top of that there is the romance. “Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio” is great fun to read. Ms. Miller has a great way of telling the story and moving it along at a nice pace. Her characters are wonderful and she give them life and unique voices. All this and Sugarcreek, Ohio also. A really enjoyable read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love and Mystery in Sugarcreek

Date:May 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel Troyer, lives in the middle of Sugarcreek, Ohio's Amish community. Although she is not Amish, her father was, before he chose to leave the Amish faith. After she was left orphaned when she was eleven years old, her three Amish aunts (Bertha, Lydia, and Anna) had taken her in and raised her. Now an adult, she is a police officer in the small town of Sugarcreek, and feels that it is her responsibility to take care of her elderly aunts. The problem is, they are not cooperating with her plan. They own and run a bed and breakfast style inn and they do not understand why Rachel insists they stop taking in guests.
After an accident leaves Aunt Bertha injured, Rachel insists no more guests, and they agree, but because they are strong believers in Hebrews 13:2 (KJV) -- Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares. -- they insist that they will continue to provide shelter to those that they feel that the Lord has brought to their door.
When Joe Mathews and his young son, Bobby, appear on their doorstep they desperately seem to need the help of the aunts. They allow them to stay in one of the cabins, much to Rachel's consternation. In exchange for room and board, Joe makes himself very useful, by doing much of the work that has been needing to be done. Because of this the aunts ask him to stay and continue to work for them.
Rachel feels uneasy about Joe, and senses that something is not right about him, but just can't put her finger on what it is. Although she intends to find out. Her investigation turns up nothing and as she spends time with him she discovers that she likes Joe and his son. When she finally figures out who Joe really is, she knows her world is going to be turned upside down, and to make matters worse she has fallen in love with Joe.
The book is full of forgiveness, love, hope, romance and mystery. There were even a few surprises thrown in. Now that I have finished reading the book, I really would like to see the movie.
**Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio by Serena Miller was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT!!!

Date:May 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never really was a fan of the Love Finds You series, but when I saw Serena B. Miller was the author of this one I HAD to give it a shot! I was NOT disappointed! I absolutely loved Serena's Under a Blackberry Moon, so much so that I jump at the chance to read anything written by her! From the beginning I was intrigued and Serena has this amazing way of writing that keeps me laughing and interested all the way through. I love her God given gift of stringing words together in such an inexplicably awesome way! Whenever there is a moment where the pace begins to slow she throws in another twist that kicks it back up into full gear! And the way she writes about a little kid is excellent! Along with the secrets that unravel in this story a murder mystery is revealed. I always love all of Serena's characters and this is probably some of my all time favorites. This is the the first of her Amish books I've read, and I absolutely love how she portrays these amazing people. The whole concept of an Englischer with Amish relatives is fascinating to me, and I haven't read many books that explore this scenario. I truly fell in love with Joe, Rachael, and the many other characters that make up this awesome story! I could read this again and again and it has made me re-think giving the Love finds you Series, as a whole, another chance...Maybe. I don't really think there can be a better one than this though. I can not wait for another opportunity to read more from Serena who is fastly becoming one of my all time favorite authors!!! Love, mystery, secrets, fascinating back stories, beauty, pain, healing, and SO much more awaits you in Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio. A MUST READ and one of my Favorite Books list picks!!!
Songs: "Rock Of Ages" by Johnny Cash, "Before the Morning" by Josh Wilson, and "He Leadeth Me" by The /Cluster Pluckers
Songs etc may be change or added at any time. ~ASC
Hebrews 13:2
~ASC
*I received this book for the purpose of reviewing it. This in no was affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio. ~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Loved This Book!

Date:May 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:St Joseph, Mo
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh ~let the Summer Reading begin! I am switching gears for the lazy days of summer. No better way to start the celebration than to curl up on my front porch with a great Amish book.
This book starts out with ~ what appears to be~a homeless man showing up with a small boy at Rachel's aunt's Amish Bed and Breakfast in Sugarcreek, Ohio. He is homeless, penniless and seems to be running from only God knows what. The Amish aunts are all about taking in this pair of drifters. Their motto is to entertain strangers for you never know when you may entertain strangers unaware.
Only Rachel ~who just happens to be a Police Officer~ is suspicious that this man is only after money. She will discover the secret and protect her beloved aunts at any cost. Only she really never expected her heart to get involved.
I think my favorite part of this book is the mystery around the verse to be hospitable for we never know when we may entertain angels unaware. I so enjoyed starting out my summer reading list with this book. I give it 5+ stars. Great Job Serena Miller!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I can see why this was made into a movie

Date:May 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderfully written book. I can see why it was made into a movie.
The story touches on so many aspects that you do not generally see in an Amish fiction book and, in my opinion, it's beautifully done.
Serena B. Miller is an exceptional writer and she blends the Amish characters with the English characters seamlessly. It is clear she is quite knowledgeable about her subjects and you feel an instant connection with them.
The story is engaging and intriguing - one that is difficult to put down.
I would love to say I read it in one sitting, that's what I really wanted to do, but I wasn't able to carve out the time. However, I did come back to it every spare second I had.
Now I can't wait to see the movie.
I'm excited to see if the film-makers realize what a gem there already was within the pages or if they try to "Hollywood-ize" the story. Hopefully, since it's being made by Mission Pictures International, they will hold tight to the wonderful message Serena has already written about the healing power of God's Love.
Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down until I finished it!!!

Date:May 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What happens when Criminal Minds falls into the land of the Amish living in Sugarcreek, Ohio? We have the makings of an exceptional novel in the Love Finds You Series, this time from best-selling author Serena B. Miller. Joe Matthews is tired of running and hiding with his young son, Bobby. Now that his truck has broken down in the small Amish community of Sugarcreek, Ohio, Joe just needs to find a way to make enough money to pay for the repairs to his truck and get back on the road. It would have not been an issue, had someone not stolen his wallet, along with all his credit cards and cash. There is no way he can call anyone right now to have those items replaced because then people would know where he is, and for now, that is not an option.
Police officer Rachel Troyer has always tried to maintain peace and order in their small Amish town, and now in the midst of the Swiss Festival, she knows tourists from all over will be descending on them for the next week and she can only hope nothing will go wrong this year. It's not the Amish she has to contend with or even the tourists but the Amish teens who are in their Rumspringa period of running around that has caused her concern. Not to mention her three aging aunts whom she has tried in vain to talk out of running their Sugar Haus Inn and take some time to retire. She can't imagine if something were to happen to one of them in the midst of this time, where she will be putting all her efforts. She just never imagined a strange man and his young boy would be the next guests needing a place to stay.
Rachel can trust her instincts enough to know that Joe is hiding something, but she can't figure out what. Her aunts are only too willing to lend them a place to stay and food to eat in exchange for some work that needs to be done on the Inn and surrounding land. But Joe hopes this will only be long enough to pay for the repairs on his truck before he will be on his way. Something that pleases Rachel more than she is willing to admit, however Bobby has had enough of being on the road and just wants a place to call home now. Will Rachel be able to help or hurt them in the end?
I received Love Finds You in Sugarcreek Ohio by Serena B. Miller compliments of Summerside Press and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. By far, some of my favorite Amish novels are the ones where they blend worlds of the English and Amish seamlessly into one compelling novel you don't want to put down until the end. Couple that with a great mystery as to what Joe and Bobby are running from and you truly have the best of three amazing genres woven together in a masterpiece. I especially love the ending I didn't see coming but LOVE the way Serena closed this one with an exclamation mark on my heart! The best part is this novel is being made into a movie slated to be out in June!!! Hands down a truly deserving 5 out of 5 stars and one that holds a permanent place in my personal Love Find You collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First book from an AWESOME new Christian writer!

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladybady
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book captured me from the first page and never let go. Ms. Miller captures her characters in such a way that they become real. This is one of the BEST books I've ever read and I'm an avid reader. You will NOT be disappointed whether you are 12 or 102!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't Put it Down

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hebrews11
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book was loaned to me by my sister and she warned me that once I started it, I wouldn't be able to put it down. She was correct. I have read many amish inspirationals and this has been one of my favorites! It makes it even more interesting that she is from the same little community that I am!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing approach to the Amish

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sams
Location:Durham, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Surprised from the very beginning that this was not a run of the mill Amish fiction book. I love Amish fiction, but have been finding that they are all getting boringly the same, this book was so refreshing, a complete change, hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice, easy read with a touch of mystery.

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was an enjoyable read. It was a bit different from other Amish fiction I've read. It focused more on the Old Order Amish, but the main characters were the "Englischers." It had an interesting mystery subplot that came together nicely at the end. I loved the plot of the famous person hiding from the media, and the father-son issues that occurred throughout the story. This was well done and realistic. And of course, there was the token buggy accident. Sometimes I wonder if it's a required plot element for Amish fiction. I do think I learned a bit more about Amish beliefs from this book than from other Amish novels I'd read in the past.
I wasn't too fond of the minor subplot regarding the aunt with Down Syndrome I also found the epilogue at the end to be pretty sophisticated for someone with Anna's mental capabilities. I didn't feel like it matched her capacity to understand and reason as demonstrated by her behavior earlier in the book. Since I've worked with people who have this diagnosis for many years it's hard for me to see something like Anna's characterization and not comment. At her age (late 50s) Anna would not be acting so immaturely. In fact, most people with Down Syndrome have Alzheimer's type symptoms as they age, so they wouldn't giggle and play games, but would be more likely to act forgetful and a bit crabby, because someone who is forty with Down Syndrome will feel like they are about 80. I believe Anna's age was 57. So her character didn't fit the profile of any of the people I've become familiar with in the last ten years. Of course, there are always exceptions. This was a minor issue, but it did bug me a bit.
Overall the story was good. I read the book very quickly and enjoyed the romantic element. It was a sweet romance, but not so sweet that there was no heart to the story. I appreciated that there wasn't a lot of angst and drama in the relationship between the hero and heroine, and that the hero admired the heroine's strength and found it attractive. That was portrayed with a different twist. I loved the underlying theme about pride (as demonstrated at the baseball game) and how much it can often interfere with our good intentions. I also thought the message about the restoration of relationships and forgiveness was nicely done. The way the Amish bounced back after their tragedy was admirable as well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
I just finished reading this book and I had a very hard time putting it down. Ms. Miller paints such vivid pictures of her characters and their surroundings that I truly felt immersed in their lives. The wrapping up of the story through Anna's eyes at the end was a precious choice to make and I thought every detail she honed in on concluded the book in a heartwarming way. One of my favorites in quite some time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Wonderful book! Just enough twists & turns to keep you guessing. Good story line, wonderful characters--just an all around great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anna Lykins
Great book! I looked for more books by this author, but was not successful in finding any.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eileen Tarpy
enjoyed this book very much. read anything that has to do with the amish & their way of life & beliefs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deanna
It's been a long time since I've started a book I couldn't put down - even to sleep! Serena has created a story with so many twists and turns that I couldn't stop guessing what would happen next. I fell in love with the Amish in this story, wanting to be more like them. What a great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonita Lucas
I have read many Amish books, as you can see by my order history. This book is one of the best books that I have read. It has suspense, tender romance, humor, respect for the elderly and the love and simplicity for a girl with Down's syndrome. They have such a loving spirit and it was represented well in this book. It was a book that I could not put down. I love the series books and look forward to each book, but I also loved this book for its entirety in that it was a book that contained individual characters that is not locked into another book coming. The author needs to keep on writing books like this one. Very, very good. I would recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
You will fall in love with this book. Serena keeps your attention from page 1 to the end. You get so caught up in the characters that you feel like you are right there beside them urging them on. You will cry with them, get angry at some and love the Aunts. we wish we all that such a wondeful support system as Rachel. Tjis is one book that was hard to put down. I will recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good book. This book has alot of things going on but Serena keeps your attention and when it ends it leaves you wanting more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.