Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook

Policewoman Rachel Troyer loves peaceful Sugarcreek, where her elderly Amish aunts run the famous farmhouse inn. But when stranger Joe Matthews lands on her aunts' doorstep begging for shelter for himself and his son, it's clear to Rachel that he's no tourist. Who is he---and will she be able to keep her heart in check?
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First book from an AWESOME new Christian writer!

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladybady
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book captured me from the first page and never let go. Ms. Miller captures her characters in such a way that they become real. This is one of the BEST books I've ever read and I'm an avid reader. You will NOT be disappointed whether you are 12 or 102!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't Put it Down

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hebrews11
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book was loaned to me by my sister and she warned me that once I started it, I wouldn't be able to put it down. She was correct. I have read many amish inspirationals and this has been one of my favorites! It makes it even more interesting that she is from the same little community that I am!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing approach to the Amish

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sams
Location:Durham, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Surprised from the very beginning that this was not a run of the mill Amish fiction book. I love Amish fiction, but have been finding that they are all getting boringly the same, this book was so refreshing, a complete change, hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice, easy read with a touch of mystery.

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was an enjoyable read. It was a bit different from other Amish fiction I've read. It focused more on the Old Order Amish, but the main characters were the "Englischers." It had an interesting mystery subplot that came together nicely at the end. I loved the plot of the famous person hiding from the media, and the father-son issues that occurred throughout the story. This was well done and realistic. And of course, there was the token buggy accident. Sometimes I wonder if it's a required plot element for Amish fiction. I do think I learned a bit more about Amish beliefs from this book than from other Amish novels I'd read in the past.
I wasn't too fond of the minor subplot regarding the aunt with Down Syndrome I also found the epilogue at the end to be pretty sophisticated for someone with Anna's mental capabilities. I didn't feel like it matched her capacity to understand and reason as demonstrated by her behavior earlier in the book. Since I've worked with people who have this diagnosis for many years it's hard for me to see something like Anna's characterization and not comment. At her age (late 50s) Anna would not be acting so immaturely. In fact, most people with Down Syndrome have Alzheimer's type symptoms as they age, so they wouldn't giggle and play games, but would be more likely to act forgetful and a bit crabby, because someone who is forty with Down Syndrome will feel like they are about 80. I believe Anna's age was 57. So her character didn't fit the profile of any of the people I've become familiar with in the last ten years. Of course, there are always exceptions. This was a minor issue, but it did bug me a bit.
Overall the story was good. I read the book very quickly and enjoyed the romantic element. It was a sweet romance, but not so sweet that there was no heart to the story. I appreciated that there wasn't a lot of angst and drama in the relationship between the hero and heroine, and that the hero admired the heroine's strength and found it attractive. That was portrayed with a different twist. I loved the underlying theme about pride (as demonstrated at the baseball game) and how much it can often interfere with our good intentions. I also thought the message about the restoration of relationships and forgiveness was nicely done. The way the Amish bounced back after their tragedy was admirable as well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
I just finished reading this book and I had a very hard time putting it down. Ms. Miller paints such vivid pictures of her characters and their surroundings that I truly felt immersed in their lives. The wrapping up of the story through Anna's eyes at the end was a precious choice to make and I thought every detail she honed in on concluded the book in a heartwarming way. One of my favorites in quite some time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Wonderful book! Just enough twists & turns to keep you guessing. Good story line, wonderful characters--just an all around great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anna Lykins
Great book! I looked for more books by this author, but was not successful in finding any.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eileen Tarpy
enjoyed this book very much. read anything that has to do with the amish & their way of life & beliefs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deanna
It's been a long time since I've started a book I couldn't put down - even to sleep! Serena has created a story with so many twists and turns that I couldn't stop guessing what would happen next. I fell in love with the Amish in this story, wanting to be more like them. What a great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonita Lucas
I have read many Amish books, as you can see by my order history. This book is one of the best books that I have read. It has suspense, tender romance, humor, respect for the elderly and the love and simplicity for a girl with Down's syndrome. They have such a loving spirit and it was represented well in this book. It was a book that I could not put down. I love the series books and look forward to each book, but I also loved this book for its entirety in that it was a book that contained individual characters that is not locked into another book coming. The author needs to keep on writing books like this one. Very, very good. I would recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You in Sugarcreek, Ohio - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
You will fall in love with this book. Serena keeps your attention from page 1 to the end. You get so caught up in the characters that you feel like you are right there beside them urging them on. You will cry with them, get angry at some and love the Aunts. we wish we all that such a wondeful support system as Rachel. Tjis is one book that was hard to put down. I will recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good book. This book has alot of things going on but Serena keeps your attention and when it ends it leaves you wanting more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.