Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good well written book

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alice Stratton
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am part of a book club with members from my church and this was the the book we just finished and everyone enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Poetry Texas, there are men that are desperate for wives, willing to do almost anything. So when Belinda Bauer see's this as a opportunity "from God" to help her friends and neighbors, she decides that she will place ads in newspapers for brides. As the responses come in, she finds someone to write poetry based on the women's likes, but when the women start arriving, Belinda soon finds that her matchmaking is nothing like what God has in mind.
I truly enjoyed this book. It was the first time I have read anything in this series and I was impressed. It had a good story line with lots of interesting characters. It didn't drag and I wasn't bored anywhere within these pages. It was light and fun and I found myself laughing out loud in several places. I look forward to reading more in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edith Jane
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great read when you're looking for something more on the "fun" side. I'm use to the Tracie Peterson "serious" tone with a hint of laughter. I love a good love story and this book was a good one. I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chelsea
Janice Hanna is an amazing author with an uncanny ability to bring her characters alive and make you feel like you know them. The main character in this book is definately my favorite, Belinda is so funny as she goes about her match making!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Poetry is an interesting method of communication. It was amazing and good writing in my opinion to find poetry woven not only through out the prose of this story, but also into the metaphors and descriptions of a Christian life. God is the ultimate poet if only we would listen for the next stanza of our lives before jumping on our own. This book contained a great matchmaking and mis-matchmaking love story for the inhabitants of the town of Poetry, Texas and Janice Hanna was also able to weave historical elements of famous poets through out.As my first experience with a Love Finds You novel I was entirely pleased and look forward to reading more of them in the future. The love between the main characters was palpable and described very well in a realistic manner of friendship and assumptions. I love the writing of Janice Hanna aka Janice Thompson, and cannot wait for more both historical and contemporary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
This is an amazing book! I would love to see it made into a movie. The whole time I was reading this book, I was laughing. The characters in this book are so funny! I loved them all. The way Janice paired them all off was genius. She really showed how Gods plan isnt always our own, and when that happens we need to be joyful and realize that God has something better for us than we had for ourselves. I dont normally like poetry, but in this book it is very down to earth. The poetry isnt so deep that I cant understand it. (Ill admit it I dont get deep poetry. Dont like the stuff at all.) Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas is an excellent book that I think anyone will enjoy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
serena miller
Janice Hannah's Love Finds You In Poetry, Texas was a wonderful surprise. Not only was it a lovely visit to a beautiful town, it was so much fun watching the heroine try to match up arriving brides with hometown grooms--only to discover that God was in control of the love matches all along--including her own! Hannah manages to make great scriptural applications without even once becoming the slightest bit preachy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Keli Zsolcsak
From the very beginning this story captured my heart. This book is a delightful read! I never wanted to put it down! The humor, and the story of each Bride and Groom.... was fantastic, the twists and turns kept me on the edge of my seat! The characters were real. It made my heart ache for Blenda and Georg! It made me realize that God is in control of our lives if we will just give Him the chance! Janice Hanna is an amazing writer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Courtney Smith
I thoroughly enjoyed reading every page of this delightful story! Quite honestly, I was sad when it was over! Janice Hanna always has a way of pulling you into her stories from the get go and Love Finds You in Poetry was no different. Janice paints an absoultely beautiful picture in this book. Not only with the characters and story setting, but by showing the reader how utterly important it is that we trust God completely! He really does know what He is doing! Wow. Thank you so much for the reminder! I will definitely be recommending this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas is another delightful, fun filled story from Janice Hanna. When Belinda Bauer decides to be the matchmaker in Poetry, she chooses the town poet to help woo her prospects to the town, but she sets off a series of events that have all the couples ending up with the wrong partners, that is they were not the partners she chose, but they are all perfect for each other. Her desperate attempts to find a wife for Georg Kaufman end up in situations that keep you chuckling and turning the pages. Hannas characters are a little larger than life, but so delightful that you will fall in love with them. When Belinda finally fulfills her goal to find a wife for Georg, what a surprise she has in store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Annette O'Hare
Love Finds You in Poetry TexasBy: Janice HannaBelinda Bauer realizes her quaint home town of Poetry, Texas is overrun by single men and only a few women. She decides to take matters into her own hands and becomes the towns marriage broker. Thanks to some serious searching on her part, the streets of Poetry are soon flooded with brides-to-be. The problems arise when some of the brides marry the wrong men!Janice Hanna weaves a wonderful story full of poetic charm in this prairie romance set in 1904. Hanna is famous for getting her characters into complicated fixes and she didnt let me down in this book. When the town minister decides to re-marry, Belinda sends for a bride-to-be who seems to be perfect in print. When the parsons intended arrives, she is more suited for center stage rather than hidden behind the pulpit!In the end everyone ends up with the match God has planned for them despite Belindas attempts to join the hopelessly mismatched. Even Belinda who has vowed to stay single for the towns greater good finds herself falling for one of her own clients.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leslie Nott
Love Finds You in Poetry Texas, the entertaining story of a matchmaker without a clue. Belinda Bauer decides to become a Marriage Broker in the small town of Poetry, Texas. She sets out on her endeavor and her first act of business is to find a bride for her close friend, Georg Kaufman, who is convinced that he doesn't need a bride at all! Along the way she finds many brides for many would be grooms in her small town, not always the ones they ordered! However, Belinda is beset by the inability to find a bride for Georg. Neither party realizes that Gods plans for Geoge do not include a mail order bride! The story returns again and again to the idea that you should never attempt to get ahead of God's plan for yours or other peoples lives. While some matches don't work out well for some, they all work out just as God intended them too. The prevailing theme is that no matter how well intentioned you are, you can't rush Gods plans. In every situation in this book, you can clearly see the hand of God move.All in all this book is quite delightful to read. The plot is engaging and draws you in rather quickly. Predictable in some places, but rather unpredictable in others. The setting is well described, without being wordy. Reminiscent of old western movie sets. You feel as if you are in the mercantile, or barber shop or any other place the action is taking place in. Characters are well developed, you almost feel like you know someone just like them! Obviously Janice has drawn inspiration from people around her! I would highly recommend this book. It is a great read, easy to follow, but not dull. It pulls you in and makes you feel as though you are witnessing the entire amusing ordeal. Very much worth curling up with on your sofa!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Eleanor Clark
Whoohoo! I could not put the book down. I have never seen so much Godly wisdom wrapped in one cover. It is a masterpiece of literature, psychology, and of course, biblical principles. I will recommend it to everyone, especially those who have issues in which they are dealing. This book should be a movie.Truly, it is the best Inspirational romance that I have ever read and I read several each month.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jamie Canter
What a delightful story! I really appreciated how she crafted an interesting and strong main character with a big heart who constantly seeks God through prayer. Great characters, great book! I can't wait to read Fools in Love that comes out in August.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bev Blackstone
I am an avid Christian fiction reader, but never much in the romance genre. "Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas" was a complete treat. What a lovely, lively, often rollicking good story of creative marriage matches (and mismatches). It caused me to reflect on the "knowing" of love that cannot be explained to another person, and the blessings of integrity which flow in relationships. The author's weave of engaging characters and poetry is loaded with rhyme and reason that will satisfy to the last page. I previously read and loved Janice's historical novel "Hurricane," and this one joins as a new favorite. Can't wait for what she writes next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Featherling
Janice Hanna has crafted a novel well worth the reading. This delightful romance keeps the reader enthralled with just how many of Belinda's mistakes the Lord will have to correct...or are they mistakes? Things seem to be more than working out matrimonially speaking in Poetry, Texas. Maybe even for Belinda. One you'll want to keep reading way beyond bedtime. Let's see more from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Shocklee
Love Finds You in Poetry, Texas was a wonderful, fresh story. I thoroughly enjoyed reading of Belinda's highs and lows as a marriage broker, all the while resisting the idea of marriage herself. The town of Poetry came to life through Janice Hanna's imaginative names for businesses and through her wonderful description. This is a book I will read over and over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.